I’m Leaving on a Jet Plane…

I am heading out to San Francisco tomorrow morning for the RWA conference.  I am leaving a couple of days early to get in some sightseeing…look for special posts starting tomorrow including a special giveaway…

I’ll be sure to post more about my trip when I get back.

Right now I am a bundle of nerves and it has nothing to do with the traveling.  I am a really shy person and lack self-confidence so heading out into the great unknown is a big deal for me.  This is especially a big deal for me because it is romance authors…people whose books I have loved for years and people have chatted with online, but never met. 

I have all these fears running through my head, “What if no one likes me?”  “What if they don’t talk to me?”  “What if I don’t talk to them?”  “What if I embarrass myself?”  “What if…”  I could go on and on, but I’ll stop there.   

I once had an author tell me that I must be a hoot in person.  I replied back, “I am so much funnier online.”  And it is true…chatting and talking online to someone is so much easier for me than talking in person.  There’s no delete key in real live conversations.  🙂

I am going to do my best to set my fears and doubts aside and just have a good time…so we will see.  It won’t be easy, but I hope I come away from this trip with some new friends and as well as knowledge.  And hopefully, I will be able to let all of these great authors know how much their books mean to me without completely embarrassing myself.

12 Responses to I’m Leaving on a Jet Plane…

  1. Lori T says:

    Jennifer~

    I hope you have a wonderful time in San Francisco. I hope that someday I get to attend a conference like RWA…but I am a bit like you and I would be worried about all those same things.

    I can hardly wait to hear about your adventures and how great of a time that you had while there.

  2. jude says:

    Hey you,

    It’s not easy being an introvert at a conference of two thousand. I think for DC next year, I am going to get a bunch of cloth flowers that people can attach to their bags to signal their membership in The Wallflower Club — whereby we can all recognize each other and say hello.

    Enjoy SF!
    jude

  3. Jennifer Y says:

    Oh, I LOVE that idea! And you are right…it’s not easy being an introvert at these things.

  4. katiebabs says:

    Every fear you have is just like mine. Honestly, I think we will do fine. You can even hold my pony for luck 😀

  5. RobynL says:

    Jennifer Y, if you are the person I’ve seen and chatted with at NovelTalk, I believe you will do fine. I know you said it’s different in chats but I just believe you will be fine. Have a great time. Do tell when you get back.

  6. Jennifer Y says:

    Thanks Katie. LOL I’ll let you hug Bunny, too.

    And yep, Robyn, that’s me. I am a mod over at NovelTalk chats now.

    I am hoping that I am worrying for nothing, but we’ll see. Who knows? I may surprise myself.

  7. Karen Foley says:

    Jennifer, I get cold feet about two days before National every year! But I always end up having a great time. Come by and see me at the booksigning; I’d love to talk to you!! Have a great time!

    Karen

  8. azteclady says:

    First, here’s wishing you a most wonderful time at the conference, and smooth traveling (both ways!)

    Second, man, I’m green with envy *sigh* wish I could go too…

  9. kh says:

    have lots of fun, cant wait for the suprsies. enjoyt eh hto weather

  10. fedora says:

    Jennifer, you’re going to have an amazing time! I’d be having the exact same nerves! Yikes! But hopefully it’ll help to remember that many of the people you’ll meet may be feeling the same way (including some of the authors) so if you think about how you can help the other person feel at ease by breaking the ice, you’ll be having a terrific time pronto! Thanks in advance for keeping us posted!

  11. Helen says:

    Jennifer you are a treasure but I know exactly how you feel I am the same.

    You are going to have a wonderful time and come away with lots more friends not that you don’t already have heaps I wish I could be there with you all.

    Enjoy and have lots of fun
    Helen

  12. Ryan says:

    Hey Jennifer….

    Very well written,,esp the lines..
    “I have all these fears running through my head, “What if no one likes me?” “What if they don’t talk to me?” “What if I don’t talk to them?” “What if I embarrass myself?” “What if…” I could go on and on, but I’ll stop there. ”

    I am sure you must have won over all ur fears… Its good to see some one share the same wavelength.

    Regards
    Ryan

Leave a Reply

