Beth Ciotta Complete the Sentences!

Today author Beth Ciotta was kind enough to complete the sentences!

 

I am: extremely blessed.

I like: losing myself in a great book or movie.

I love: my husband. I swear we’ve been together in other lives.

I dream: of living in Canterbury, England and writing full time.

I wish: people would be more courteous. Sometimes I long for the pleasantries of olden times.

I wonder:  why my dog Cheyenne eats gross stuff in the yard? Arrrgh.

I pretend: every time I sit at my computer and write adventures.

I know: my dog Billie is going to wake me up at 5:45am….or there about.

I fear: spiders. Big and small. Hairy or spindly. Eeek!

I worry: there aren’t enough hours in the day.

I appreciate: the opportunity to share my stories with readers. For me, it’s the ultimate thrill.

I hope: for world peace. I know it’s clichéd. I still hope.

I look: different every few months. I constantly change my hairstyle and color. Call me fickle.

I read: whenever I can which isn’t often enough. I enjoy contemporary and historical romance and mystery/suspense.

I want: A big bag of pretzels and a box of chocolates.

I need: a manicure. Or to at least take the time to file my own nails. What a mess.

I will: stick to my Weight Watchers plan and resist the pretzels and chocolate cravings.

I can: sing, dance, act, write, and I’m also pretty decent with the sewing machine.

I think:  a lot of kids’ spelling and writing skills are suffering greatly because of text messaging.

I have never: been arrested. Now watch. I just jinxed myself.

I dance to: anything with a strong groove. Faves are R&B and 70s disco. Yes, I’ll admit to the disco thing.

I cannot live without:  My laptop. Well, I could. But I wouldn’t be a happy camper.

I am happy when: A reader writes to tell me she enjoyed one of my books.

I would like to meet:  George Clooney. Although I might swoon and wouldn’t that be embarrassing?

I am annoyed by: rude people.

I have always wanted: to play the violin.
I encourage people to: pursue their dreams

I think it would be cool if: Telephone poles were pink.

I write romance because: I want to celebrate the wonder and adventure of love.

I would love to know what readers think of: the accessibility of authors. Are you more inclined to read the works of authors who participate on blogs and discussion boards? Or are good reviews and word of mouth enough to influence you?

 

Thanks Beth!
Readers, go ahead and answer Beth’s questions…remember, every comment you leave counts as an entry into the giveaway…check yesterday’s post for details.

 

And be sure to return tomorrow for a very special interview with Rome, the hero of The Fall of Rome!

15 Responses to Beth Ciotta Complete the Sentences!

  1. Mary Stella says:

    Cool questions and answers! Beth, I’ve known you for years and never knew that secret wish to play the violin! Knowing you, you’ll do it one day, too!

  2. sabrina says:

    Your books are unique and give me such great pleasure. I enjoy learning about new authors and having interviews is a great feature, but I do check reviews as well since they are helpful. Blogs do give me more information and are a great asset.

  3. Liza says:

    I enjoy blogging with authors. I usually find new authors by word of mouth, either from bloggin with other readers or authors. I usually don’t base my reading choices on reviews, as I’ve liked many books that didn’t get great reviews. I’ll take word of mouth over a review any day.

  4. Beth R says:

    I think its nice to “talk” to authors on blogs, you can gain excerpts and hear their “voice”

  5. fedora says:

    I do confess that I’m more inclined to gravitate towards books where I’ve had a chance to get to know the authors a bit (either through blogging, or guest visits to blogs or a chat). It definitely isn’t the only factor by a long shot–but if I feel that the author is more of a friend, I’m even more inclined to rush out for her books.

    But I don’t mean that authors need to spend all their time trying to make friends either–the most important use of an author’s time (as far as this reader is concerned) is to be writing and taking care of herself so that she can write. If she has time to blog or chat or that sort of thing, it’s a lovely way to let herself be known, but I don’t think it should take precedence over her writing or life. I think that if her books are good, I’m going to get them whether or not she’s my buddy.

    Hope that isn’t too self-contradictory!

    And loved your sentence-completions! You can sew, too?! Your surfeit of talent is incredible!

  6. Beth Ciotta says:

    I only had a moment to pop in and Im so glad I did. I loved reading everyone’s thoughts. Insightful and helpful. Keep ’em coming!

  7. Teresa W. says:

    Part of my reason for blog hopping is to be introduced to new authors and their current releases. I’m an avid reader of all genres and am always happy to discover a new author.

  8. ThatBrunette says:

    If you move to Canterbury, does that mean everything you write would qualify as Canterbury Tales? Sorry, I couldn’t resist.

    I second the chocolate and pretzel wish. Man, those two things taste great together.

    I would agree with you about the spelling and writing skills of the younger generation if people my age wrote better. I think writing well is a dying art. Writers need to do more than construct a good sentence. Oh, I feel a soap box coming on. I’ll stop here. 🙂

    Accessibility of authors…

    I have tried authors and genres that would not normally interest me because of blogs, chats and ‘meeting’ authors on line. I have only met two authors. I met Ed McBain about 15 years ago and acted like a silly fanboy. It’s easier to compose my thoughts on a keyboard and not sound like such a dork when I meet an author on-line.

  9. RobynL says:

    I truly enjoy blogs, chats with authors, etc. This gives one a chance to find out about the author and her/his books. At a chat or on a blog you can find out so much more usually.

  10. Maureen says:

    If I like an author I’ll look for her books but there are a lot of books out there so if she isn’t telling me through a blog or a newsletter that she has a new book out then I might miss it.

  11. Cindi says:

    Most definitely! I really enjoy reading author reviews and finding out more about the person behind the books. Thanks, Cindi

  12. Helen says:

    A good review will win me over but I love it when I get to “know” an author from blogs etc and will buy their books.

    Have Fun
    Helen

  13. Beth Ciotta says:

    I really appreciate everyone’s two cents on an author’s accessibility. This has been great. Also a huge thank you to those that mentioned they’ve read (and liked) my books. THANK YOU!

    And…THATBRUNETTE, I am still laughing about your Canterbury Tales comment. Funny, funny stuff! 🙂

    Cheers, Beth

  14. Ann M. says:

    Fun way to have an interview. I love your sense of humor that comes through with your books.

  15. Laura K says:

    O, Yes, I love it when an author is assessible. I think when they come out in this kind of format, or at a group/loop chat, I get to know more about the person. Many a time I have bought a book just because I liked the author’s vibe, and some of those weren’t genres I normally read! News quickly spreads, ladies, about those authors who are snarky. I love to meet my favorites and conferences and the like, but I don’t stalk someone. I respect that fine line between admiration and creepiness!

Leave a Reply

