Question of the week…first lines…

I haven’t asked this in a while so I thought I’d do it today…

As I have mentioned before, I love reading first lines.

What is the first line of the book you are currently reading?

Here is the first line of my current read:

“Happy Birthday, Agrippina,” Valerius said as he laid a single red rose at the feet of the marble statue that held a sacred place in his home. – Seize the Night by Sherrilyn Kenyon

So what about your current read’s first line?

Remember to tell us both the book and author to give credit to the author who created it.

11 Responses to Question of the week…first lines…

  1. Luanna says:

    “Claire Keyes jumped to answer the pone when it rang, deciding an angry call from her manger was more appealing than sorting the pile of dirty clothes in the middle of her living room.” Sweet Talk by Susan Mallery.

    I’m only on page 39 and already finding it hard to put down. The heroine is spunky and witty, and I can’t wait to find out what she does next.

    *waves to Jenn*

    Luanna

  2. “Ma’am, I need you to move away from the counter and keep your hands where I can see them.”

    NOT WITHOUT HER FAMILY by Beth Andrews
    😉

    AC

  3. Jane says:

    “The first time Clare Wingate found herself in a strange bed, she’d been twenty-one, the victim of a bad breakup and too many Jell-O shooters.” Rachel Gibson’s “I’m In No Mood For Love”

  4. Ellen says:

    “Jo Carroll taped up the last of her moving boxes and set it by the door. Only her mother’s room remained for her to deal with.”

    from MORE THAN A MEMORY by Roz Denny Fox
    Aug 08 Superromance

  5. Angie-la says:

    “Had Eidolon been anywhere but the hospital, he would have kiiled the guy pleading for his life before him.”

    Pleasure Unbound
    Larissa Ione

  6. Greta says:

    “The vampire on her couch had a serious blood phobia.”

    Hotter After Midnight
    Cynthia Eden

  7. Lori T says:

    “The instant the phone rang at the Glass House, Claire knew with a psychic flash that it had to be her mother.”

    I am reading “Midnight Alley” by Rachel Caine. It is book three of YA Morganville Vampires. I have just read the first two and I am really loving them.

    I love the first line in Cynthia Eden’s “Hotter Than Midnight.”

  8. Teresa W. says:

    Family curses never die, they just mutate. This is from Wicked Game by Jeri Smith-Ready. I’m more than half way through and its great!

  9. Lois says:

    “Let me make this easy for you,” the man in the expensively tailored suit told Dani Buchanan. And it’s also a Susan Mallery book, only Tempting, not Sweet Talk. I’m waiting to get all three of those and read them one right after another. 🙂

    Lois

  10. Lisa Hendrix says:

    Not a current read, but a frequent re-read and my favorite first line of all time:

    He liked radical politics and had a fondness for chocolate.

    (Laura Kinsale, Flowers from The Storm)

  11. azteclady says:

    Two books–both re-reads–going right now:

    “Birthing a bastard wasn’t in the plans.” From the prologue of Nora Roberts’ Blue Dahlia.

    “According to legend, Steve McQueen once swam buck-naked among the cattails and lily pads in the pond at the Little Farm.” From Nora Roberts’ Tribute.

    Can you tell I’m a fan of Ms Roberts? 😀

Leave a Reply

