Devyn Quinn answers reader questions…and a contest

A couple of weeks ago I asked for your questions for Devyn Quinn and she has answered them…

 

From Cathy M.:

– What’s your favorite way to relax?

Answer: While I don’t own a television, I do own a DVD player and I love to rent movies and my favorite television shows when they come out. Waiting an entire season to see my favorite TV show like Lost or Dexter is hard, but when they come out I go and get them and spend the next few days just reveling in catching up.

 

– What kind of books do you read for pleasure?

 Answer: I write fiction, so I don’t read a lot of it. I primarily read biographies and history and enjoy a wide variety of subjects.  I just finished a biography on Diana Ross and am now reading one on the downfall of Elvis Presley. Next will be a bio of William S Paley, founder of CBS. 

 

– What was your favorite book to write?

Answer: I have to admit that Sins of the Night was the fun one for me, as I got to cameo characters from the Eternity series. Since Morgan Saint-Evanston is so serious in his own series, I decided to let readers see another side of the character. It was a hoot to let him cut loose and pull the strings as he saw fit with Devon Carnavorn and Adrien Roth.

 

From Cheryl McInnis:

– What sort of materials do use for your research; websites, books, films etc… ? And do ever get any negative comments from family or friends due to the “alternative” sort of style of your books?

Answer: I use everything I can lay hands and eyes on. 🙂 The internet is a huge help in research, though I have to take what some websites post with a grain of salt for accuracy. I also use the library a lot and depend on my stack of books on various subjects to get me through in a pinch. Otherwise I just make it up, LOL.

 

As for the second part of your question, yes I do get negative comments from my family. They do not appreciate that I am a writer, and they especially do not appreciate that I am a writer of gothics or erotica, LOL. For the most part they ignore my career choice and wish I’d get a “real” job.

 

From Dawn Moentenich:

– How do you deal with distractions like the phone, kids, significant other? Do you find it easier to write some place other than home?

Answer: Some days I pull my hair out over taking care of the demands of a home, pets and parents who have health issues (no hubby or kids, thank goodness) along with the demands of a job. Most days I try to get everything settled before I sit down to write, and that means all the errands are run, the house is cleaned and the cats and ferrets and napping for the day. Then I can write. I usually write through the afternoon and into the evenings, and I’m planted in front of the computer until it feels like my butt has been welded to the chair.

 

From Greta:

– For a person who has never read one of your books, which book do you recommended they start with?

Answer: I would love to know your read them all and loved them, but for a beginner I’d recommend Flesh and the Devil. It’s one of my favorites, and I’m writing the sequel now, Man After Midnight.

 

From Jill:

– What/when was the turning point, when you KNEW you had to tell stories (even if no one read them)?

Answer: My turning point began at age 7 when I learned to read. Once I discovered those things on a page were words that I could read and that those words would take my all over the world and beyond, I was hooked on books. I have been a devoted reader since that time. My turning point of knowing that I had stories to tell began when my favorite soap opera character was killed off.  I was about 13 and loved the character desperately. I began writing fan fiction to bring him back to life. That eventually evolved into wanting to write my own stories.

 

– If you had to pick a hero/heroine, who would it be – and why? And no smaltzy answers allowed *lol*

Answer: I must not have enough caffeine in me, as I’m not getting the gist of this question. If you will clarify in the comments section, I will try and answer it.

 

– If you could do ANYTHING in the world, other than write, what would it be and why?

Answer: I’d want to be a rock star or an actor. 🙂 Why? Who the heck doesn’t want to be rich and famous <G>

 

– What is the ONE thing in the world you hate to do? (ie. edit, clean the bathroom, buy groceries, etc.)

Answer: I hate to go to bed. There are days when I want the hours to keep on going, but I’ve run out of time and have to go to sleep. On the other hand, once I am snuggled down, I hate getting up! It’s so hard to drag myself out of bed after a night that’s stretched to dawn!

 

From Teresa W:

– Who is your favorite author and if you could meet them face to face for a sit down who would it be and what would you discuss?

Answer: I would give my right arm to get to sit down with Frank McCourt (Angela’s Ashes) and discuss his life and his writing style. The man absolutely fascinates me!

 

From Jolene:

– Do you have a favorite genre to write? Or a new one you would like to try?

Answer: My favorite genre is gothic, hands down. It’s a tried and true formula, but one I love dearly and wish would make a comeback on the marketplace. As for changing genres, I’m going to try what I have tagged “urban contemporaries”. Not sure why I call it that except it’s a contemporary setting with no paranormal elements.

 

 From Amy:

– What inspired you to write your first book?

Answer: One day a character popped into my head and I could not get rid of him. Now when a manic depressive, alcoholic immortal Irish assassin with suicidal tendencies pops into your head, you’re thinking what can I possibly do with such an unappealing character? Unfortunately, Morgan Saint-Evanston insisted he had a story to tell and he wouldn’t go away. I had to write his story to shut him up, LOL.

 

– What was going through your head when you found out your book was going to be published?

Answer: I was delighted and cried like a baby.

 

– Which book is your favorite?

Answer: I have to admit that The Keeper of Eternity and The Price of Eternity are my favorites, probably because they are the first books I wrote and had published.

 

From Trina Pinksen:

First I would love to say thank-you for the free book Sins of the night that I won in the Kate Douglas contest.

Answer: You’re welcome

My question is, I like to write and have written a few short stories, I was just wonder what is the best way to go about making my short story into something more?

Answer: I think the first thing to ask yourself if you are willing to make the commitment of time and effort it takes to sit down and actually do the work. Writing is a lonely business and you’re going to have to spend a lot of time planted in front of the computer all by yourself, making your characters some to life as you expand their world. The time it takes to outline a plot, build a world, build personalities, etc…. is an incredible commitment for someone to make. It isn’t easy and it doesn’t always work out the way you want. Sometimes you have to write a story more than once to get it right. But if you’re willing to do the work, then you will make your short story into what you envision. Might take time, might take 100 versions, but you can do it.

 

From Cindi Hoppes:

– When did you become interested in reading and writing “dark gothic” literature?

Answer: I came out of the womb with dark and gothic tattooed on my forehead, LOL. I have always loved the gothic genre in films and books and my inborn interest in the occult and the paranormal naturally pushed me in that direction.    

 

 From Fedora:

– What’s on your keeper shelf? And do you finish every book you start reading? If not, why do you set a book aside?

Answer: The books I have on my keeper shelf are very few, mostly because I don’t have a lot of room for storage. For those I MUST have, are hardcover, such as Norman Mailer’s Marilyn, a beautiful if inaccurate biography of Marilyn Monroe. The photos alone are worth having the book. Another is a Phantom of the Opera playbook, detailing the history of the Phantom of the Opera, along with the playbook of the famous Webber Broadway production. Several are hardcover travelogues of Ireland and Celtic history. I absolutely must have The Night Stalker and The Night Strangler, the two Carl Kolchak books written by Jeff Rice, who created The Night Stalker series. The books are yellow with age, but I love them dearly. I also have a complete paperback collection of the old Dark Shadows paperbacks that tie in with the gothic soap opera of the early 70’s. Who doesn’t love Barnabas Collins?

 

As for the second part of the question, no I do not finish every book I start. I hate being bored and if a book starts to bore me, I toss it aside. If the print is too small, I toss it aside. There are too many good books to read for me to waste time on bad ones!

 

Thank you so much Devyn and to everyone who submitted a question.

 

As promised, one of the people who submitted a question will win their choice of ONE of the following books:
Sins of the Night, Sins of the Flesh, Trio or Eros Island.

 

That winner is:  Amy

 

Don’t worry if you missed the giveaway or didn’t win because Devyn has kindly offered the same prize to one lucky commenter today!

So leave a comment or question today and be entered to win your choice of ONE of the following books:
Sins of the Night, Sins of the Flesh, Trio or Eros Island.

 

           

 

I will announce the winner tomorrow so be sure to check back!

 

You can learn more about Devyn and her books at her site:  http://www.devynquinn.com/

21 Responses to Devyn Quinn answers reader questions…and a contest

  1. Cheryl McInnis says:

    Hi Devyn!

    Thanks for answering my questions.
    I also love Frank McCourt, ” Angela’s Ashes” is one of my fav. books. My grandmother grew up in Ireland around the same time as Frank McCourt so the story was very personal to me.

  2. Jolene says:

    thank you so much for coming back and answering our questions and sharing with us.. I would love to win Sins of the Night, its the only one of the 3 i dont have yet.. shame on me..lol..

  3. Laura K says:

    I liked a lot of the questions that you answered because some of them would have been my own. So..what’s the worst job you’ve ever had AND have you ever incorporated it into a story? If so, which one? Thanks!

  4. Larena Wirum says:

    Great questions. I loved reading them and the answers. Very interesting.

  5. Cathy M says:

    Congrats to Amy! Which book did you pick? Thanks for taking the time to answer all our questions, Devyn. Really enjoyed your answers.

  6. Deidre says:

    Devyn is the best and I agree with her, I would love to be a rockergirl or movie star as well.

    Deidre

  7. Great post! I loved getting to know you even better, Devyn. I hope you have another story in the works that is going down well for you. 🙂

  8. Sara J. says:

    Hi Devyn,
    I enjoyed reading this interview. I was surprised to read that you don’t read fiction ~ don’t you get curious about say a competitor’s work?
    Thanks,
    Sara J. ~: ]

  9. Angie-la says:

    Wow, great questions everyone! I enjoyed reading the responses.
    I am kind of partial to McCourt myself, Devyn. Angela’s Ashes and ‘Tis are two of my faves.

    Dark Shadows! I loved that show. Barnabas was my favorite, but Quentin was pretty cool, too. That show was the catalyst for my love of gothic literature.

  10. Sue A. says:

    We’re all happy you didn’t listen to your family and stuck to writing! Although from what I’ve learned about you on this tour, I think you would have made a great actress too, making all the headlines! I’m not sure about you being a rockstar, since I haven’t heard you sing. 😉

  11. Amy S. says:

    Great interview! Congrats Amy!

  12. Caffey says:

    Congrats Amy!! Loved reading this interview

  13. Ellen says:

    Glad to know that I am not the only one who will toss a book if I get bored with it. I doubt I have had to do that more than half a dozen times, but I will continue to do so.

  14. Tami says:

    I am chasing you around again!! I am starting to feel like a stalker, lol.

  15. fedora says:

    Congrats, Amy! And thanks for taking the time to organize this, JenniferY, and Devyn, for taking the time to respond! I do agree that life’s too short to spend time finishing boring books! There are so many books… 😉

  16. Lori T says:

    Hi Devyn~

    Great answers…I loved reading them. I am so glad that you have chosen to persue your writing even though your family is not thrilled.

    Your books all have great covers!!

    How would you spend a perfect day if you could do anything that you wanted?

    Congrats Amy!

    Have a great weekend everyone!

  17. Cindi says:

    I love everybody’s questions and Devyn’s answers. It is very kind of her to offer a book for another giveaway. Have a wonderful weekend…..Cindi

  18. Tamsyn T. says:

    That was a great Q&A session. As a reader, its great to know something about the author and his/her books.

  19. Devyn Quinn says:

    Thanks for coming by all. Had a minor emergency, so I am late in checking the comments. I will try to answer all the extra questions in order:

    The worst job I ever had was waitressing, and yes, I put it in Sins of the Flesh, LOL.

    Curious about competitor’s work? Nope. Quite the opposite. I don’t want to be influenced by a competitor’s writing!

    My perfect day is sleeping without having to get up to attend to the pets, LOL.

    Thanks, everyone else for your comments. 🙂 I loved reading them!

  20. Gayle O says:

    I love learning more about you. Thank you for sharing so much with us.

  21. acdaisy77 says:

    Thank you so much for blogging here. I enjoy reading the Q&A.

    Congratulations Amy!!!

Leave a Reply

