Questions for you…

This weekend I’ll be busy celebrating kids’ birthdays (my nephews and niece) and Father’s Day…

So in keeping with the Kids/Fathers theme, my questions for all of you are…

Do you enjoy romances with children in them? 
Or romances where the heroine is pregnant?

11 Responses to Questions for you…

  1. Jolene says:

    cant say as ive read too many with a pregnant lady, but i dont mind it, and i dont mind kids, i think it depends on the book. I like that a man can fall in love with a woman that has a past and a family, or isnt the perfect blonde, 5ft 10 inch size 2 with big breasts kind of book.. if that makes any sense..lol

  2. azteclady says:

    My kneejerk reaction is ‘no’ but in reality, it is all in the writing. In Nora Roberts’ Red Lily, for example, the baby is such a part of the plot–without taking the focus from the romance–that I cannot imagine that story without her.

    What can turn me off a book quickly is when the children in it are nothing more than a plot device–either so bright they guide the adults into the relationship, or only mentioned when it is necessary to move things along.

    Have a good weekend, Jennifer and everyone reading!

  3. Cindi says:

    I like ones with children in them! Cindi

  4. Ellen says:

    I enjoy books with children in them even if they are the ones leading the heroine and hero into meeting and noticing each other. And I don’t mind if the heroine is pregnant as long as it is well done. And actually if the story is well done any theme can work and be enjoyable.

  5. danette says:

    It depends on the book. A good series that has children in the storyline are Michele Bardsley’s Broken Heart series.
    ichele does an awesome job with the romance aspects of her books and the strong family ties her characters have.

    Hugs, Danette

  6. Laura J says:

    Only as long as the are intergral to the part. I don’t really like the “secret” children stories, although I have read a couple that were okay. One of my favorite books is Jennifer Crusies’ Welcome To Temptation. The hero has a daughter and she works with the story and the plot. Don’t just stick a kid in the book and have nothing for them to do but become a distraction.

    I just finished a book where the heroine ends up pregnant and I don’t think the story would have worked if it was written any other way. Hopefully that makes some sense. Sorry won’t say which book it is because that would be a big spoiler, but it is a recently release.

  7. I think it’s sexy for a man to be good with children, so I’m quite happy to have children in a romance story. In my current WIP, my hero is seperated from his wife and has two young children.

    Children actually feature in all my books, but particularly in The Cornstalk, as the heroine spends some time working as a governess. The hero is good with children, which I find appealing.

    Heather Garside

  8. fedora says:

    It depends–I do enjoy stories that include children and/or pregnancy if they’re done well and if the children are relatively normal (not way precocious, for instance–that’s always irritating). I do HATE the secret baby thing or any plot where the heroine decides to not tell the baby’s father. That’s pretty much guaranteed to make me not like the book. I guess in general, I like families and I generally enjoy stories that include the whole family in the romance.

  9. Lois says:

    Well, that’s one of those plot points that generally wouldn’t make it on my favorite list, but I never avoid them, and there certainly are plenty that I’ve liked or loved. The first to pop from the top of the old noggin is The Trouble with Harry by Sally Mackenzie (sure wish she’d write more Regencies!! LOL) 🙂 Just loved that one. But others have annoyed me too, like some of the Presents or SuperRomances. . . but it’s like everything else, some with come up with great stories and depends on what they do with it. 🙂

    Lois

  10. Lois says:

    PS — I was just looking at other blogs list of yours. . . could I make a tad suggestion? 🙂 Risky Regencies would look great there. . . http://riskyregencies.blogspot.com/ 🙂 Visit them everyday, even if I don’t comment everyday there. And nope, I’m not a paid spokesperson or anything. 😉

    Lois

  11. Beth R says:

    Yes I do as a matter of fact I love secret baby stories don’t know why just do

Leave a Reply

