Reader Spotlight…

Today, I am doing another Reader Spotlight…

This time my guest is Greta from Texas.

 

Why do you love romances?

Because it is an escape from my life for a while and I enjoy the journey of the hero and heroine to get to the happily ever after.

 

Do you remember the first romance book that you ever read?

It was either Night Heat by Jan Milella or P.S. I Love You by Barbara Conklin (a teen romance published by Sweet Dreams)

 

What are some of your favorite genres of romance?

Romantic Suspense – I absolutely love Harlequin Intrigues, Contemporary, and Paranormals, Erotica 

 

Do you read other genres other than romance? If so, what?

Yes – Mystery & Suspense, Autobiographies, books about historical events

 

Who are some of your favorite authors?

The WM authors (Maya Banks, Jaci Burton, Amy Knupp, Stephanie Tyler, Larissa Ione, Sydney Croft) Lauren Dane, Jessica Andersen, Delores Fossen, Debra Webb, Julie Miller, Edna Buchanan

 

What books are on your keeper shelf?

Linda Howard – Mackenzie’s Mountain, Mackenzie’s Mission, Mackenzie’s Pleasure, A Game of Chance, Duncan ’s Bride

 

Elizabeth Lowell – Fire and Rain, Outlaw, Granite Man, Warrior

 

Dallas Schultz – The Vow

 

Edna Buchanan – The Corpse Had a Familiar Face and Never Let Them See You Cry

 

Laura Hillenbrand – Seabiscuit

 

Lance Armstrong – It’s Not About the Bike, My Journey Back To Life

 

Catherine Hart – Silken Savage and Summer Storm

 

Annette Broadrick – Love Texas Style, Courtship Texas Style, Marriage Texas Style and Temptation Texas Style

 

My Encyclopedia Brown, Dr. Seuss, and Little House on the Prairie books

 

All the print books by the WM authors that I have

 

Who is your favorite hero from a book?  Favorite heroine?

My favorite hero and heroine are Wolf & Mary Mackenzie.

 

What influences your reading choices?Author, blurb, excerpts, cover, reviews, etc.

The author of the book first, covers and blurbs play a second part, recommendation of other readers. Reviews – not so much

 

How do you learn about new books?

Up until recently, it would be either happen stance while walking through a bookstore, Wal-Mart, Target checking things out on Amazon. Now author websites, blogs, readers loops.

 

How important is a cover to you?  Reviews?

The cover has to be appealing and has to draw me in.  Reviews not so much, I have found that I like books that get bad reviews, and there are books that get outstanding reviews that I particularly do not like.

 

If you could switch lives with any character in a book who would it be and why?

It would have to be Mary Mackenzie because she is so strong and feisty, she is going to do what she believes is right, regardless of how Wolf feels. Wolf is going to love her and protector no matter what Mary thinks.

 

When you aren’t reading, what do you like to do for fun?

Playing with my kiddoes (my cats) Hershey, Punkin, and Taffy,  listening to music, watching NASCAR and the PBR,  and weight lifting.

 

Thank you so much, Greta, for being a guest.

 

I asked Greta if she had any questions for all of you…here is what she’d love to know:

 

– Who are your must-read authors?

– What upcoming books are you looking forward to for the rest of the year?

– Who are your favorite heroes?

– If you could marry any hero who would it be? (book & author)

– What books do you recommend that Greta add to her TBP list or TBR pile?

13 Responses to Reader Spotlight…

  1. Lois says:

    Hiya Greta! 🙂

    – Who are your must-read authors? Sure hope you don’t want my full list! LOL I’ll just put the authors from the books I want to get this month, my list is mostly must read authors — Vicky Lewis Thompson, Cara Colter, Julia Quinn, Christie Ridgway.

    – What upcoming books are you looking forward to for the rest of the year? More Lisa Kleypas Wallflowers! 🙂 And Marianne Stilling’s new one sure can’t get here soon enough!

    – Who are your favorite heroes? Mr Darcy. 😉

    – If you could marry any hero who would it be? (book & author) ah, maybe if I arm wrestle Elizabeth Bennet. . . you know. . . 😉

    – What books do you recommend that Greta add to her TBP list or TBR pile? Well, it looks like you like more contemporary types, so I definitely would suggest Marianne Stillings if you haven’t already tried her books — sooooo love her! 🙂

    Lois

  2. Larissa Ione says:

    Hi Greta! Great interview!

    And great questions! I have too many must-read authors to list, too many upcoming books to look forward to, too many heroes I want to marry…*g* You get the picture. LOL

    But to add to your TBR/TBP list? Susan Elizabeth Phillips! I just love her! 🙂

  3. WOLF!!!!!!!!!!!!

    SEALs!!!!!!!!!!!

    Sorry, couldn’t resist 🙂

    *waves to Greta, JenY and everyone*

    Okay, I think I’m most looking forward to is Archeron’s book from Sherrilyn Kenyon – I’ve been waiting so long for his book!

    To add to your TBR pile…hmmm, what about Suzanne Brockmann? My favs of hers are Out of Control and Over the Edge.

    Favorite heroes are Wolf Mackenzie, Larissa’s Demonica Heroes (OMG – so freakin’ YUMMY) and Sam from Brockmann’s book (SEAL!) I would marry all of them :):)

    Okay, need to get back to the writing pit – great interview, Greta!!!

  4. Blanche says:

    Hi Great!! I agree…..great interview!!

    – Who are your must-read authors? Well of course you know all the Writeminded ladies and I also love Beth Williamson, Lora Leigh, Linda Howard (YES I LOVE WOLF TOO!!) and I’ve collected Diana Palmer books for many years now!!

    – What upcoming books are you looking forward to for the rest of the year? There are so many good books coming out this year……again all the Writeminded books are a given and then I’m also excited about new releases by Beth Williamson, Sandra Hill has a new Viking book coming out, Lora Leigh has a few new ones coming out and Sarah McCarty has Sam’s Creed coming out! There are a bazillion more that I’m excited about being released this year!!!

    – Who are your favorite heroes? Wolf is at the top and then I love so many of the charachters in the stories I read…….they are all heros!!

    – If you could marry any hero who would it be? Well if I can’t have Wolf then I think I would love to marry Noah from Lori Foster’s Too Much Temptation….he’s a hottie!!

    – What books do you recommend that Greta add to her TBP list or TBR pile? I would recommend Sandra Hill….her Viking series is hot and funny and she writes about SEALS too!! I also love Karen Marie Moning…..she writes Highlander books…..very HOT.

  5. sandie says:

    Hi Greta, great interview. I see we both love and keep the older books by Linda Howard and Elizabeth Lowell.

    My auto buys are Christine Fehan, Lora Leigh, Stephanie Laurens, and Shannon Mckenna if its not ‘fluff’ “bad boys’. My new ebook one is Michelle Cary.

    For the nest year, I can’t say. Ebooks are still pretty new to me and I am finding a ton of great ones out there. Too many books, too little time.

    There are too many great heros to count them all. My favorite is probably Lora Leigh’s ‘Cade August’ from Marly’s Choice. I would love to have him.

    AS for recommendations, greta sees the ones I post on the cafe we both belong to. And My list would take way too much time. But the Hottest eBook on my recent list was SOME KIND OF HERO by Michelle Cary.

    Sandie

  6. Greta says:

    Wow I can’t believe people have actually posted :0
    I’m so glad that Larissa & Steph dropped by. I’m actually gonna check out the authors every one has mentioned.

  7. Jaci Burton says:

    Hey Greta (and Jennifer!). Great interview!
    My must read authors…wow, have lots of those. Right now I must read JD Robb. I just started the series last year so I’m in catch up mode.

    Upcoming books? Anything the Writeminded gals put out, of course. And way too many authors to mention here. My list is always way long.

    Favorite heroes? Roarke from the JD Robb books, of course. (Can you tell I’m deeply immersed in this series right now? *g*)

    I still want to marry Brandon Birmingham from Kathleen Woodiwiss’ The Flame and The Flower, since it was the first romance I ever read…even though he was a bastard at the beginning of the book. Ah, but how I fell madly in love with that man. *sigh*

    Greta, you really don’t want me to recommend MORE books to you, do you? 😉

  8. jambrea says:

    I agree Greta, great interview. 🙂

    – Who are your must-read authors?
    JR Ward, JD Robb, TA Chase, the WM group (still working on those:))and Sherrilyn Kenyon

    – What upcoming books are you looking forward to for the rest of the year?
    JR Wards new one, Maya Bank’s Reckless, and Achron’s story

    – Who are your favorite heroes?
    Roarke, Ender (I’m reading his book now) & Creed (the last two are from Sydney Croft books for those who don’t know.) 🙂

    – If you could marry any hero who would it be? (book & author)
    Roarke from the JD Robb books. 🙂

  9. Fun interview! Thanks, Greta!

  10. nettehawkins says:

    Great job Greta!

    – Who are your must-read authors?
    Linda Howard, anything from the Writeminded authors,Sherrilyn Kenyon, and Shiloh Walker

    – What upcoming books are you looking forward to for the rest of the year?
    The rest of the Raintree trilogy,Seduced by the Storm & Hot Nights, Dark Desires.

    – Who are your favorite heroes?
    Lycan: Lycan’s Surrender, Dante: Raintree: Inferno. I’ve got more but I’ll keep it short. 🙂

    – If you could marry any hero who would it be? Dante Raintree, Raintree: Inferno. He’s rich, good-looking and hot in more ways than one! 😛

  11. Greta says:

    I just want to say thanks to everyone for posting a comment. This was my first time doing anything like this and I was really worried noone would come by or comment.

    I’ve added a lot of authors to my list to check out.

    Jennifer, thanks for asking me. I had fun even though I was nervous.

    Greta

  12. Jennifer Y. says:

    Thanks again, Greta for being a guest.

    I’d love to have more reader guests.

Leave a Reply

