Q&A with Kendra Leigh Castle…

 Please give a warm welcome to author of Call of the Highland Moon, Kendra Leigh Castle.

 

In the haunting Scottish Highlands, one werewolf destined to be his clan’s next Alpha decides to chance fate and run away to Upstate New York.  Running into trouble and wounded in his wolf form, he never expects to find his soul mate so far from home.  Can their love survive against impossible odds?  Only the full moon will tell…

 

Welcome. Please tell the blog readers about Call of the Highland Moon. What inspired the story?

I’m not sure it was any one thing, really.  I’m famous in my family for having an overactive imagination (as well as what we can nicely call “attention issues”), which works great for putting together a story, if not for focusing on things like housework for extended periods of time.  With Call of the Highland Moon, I combined two of my favorite things in romance: Scottish heroes and sexy creatures of the night.  The whole basis of the story was something I stumbled over, actually, while trying to figure out a last name for my Scottish werewolf hero, Gideon.  For whatever reason, MacInnes was the first thing that came to mind, and lucky for me, that clan has a wonderful website about their history.  Call it fate, but they were originally in a secluded part of the Western Highlands (a perfect spot for a bunch of secretive legendary creatures) and were also involved in the safekeeping of the stone upon which all the kings of Scotland were once crowned, called the Stone of Destiny.  The British supposedly have it, but there’s a lot of speculation about whether what they got was the real thing…and if not, where that real thing might be.  Who could resist a story like that?  So my MacInnes werewolves are a secluded Highlands pack who guard the actual relic on the orders of a saint, never shirking their duty even though the knowledge of the true nature of the Stone of Destiny was lost to them long ago.  Throw in a conflicted future Alpha looking for a final taste of freedom in America, an animal-loving romance bookshop owner, a power-hungry MacInnes cousin who has enlisted the aid of some very powerful enemies to claim the Stone for himself, and of course, a Northern New York snowstorm just like the ones I grew up dealing with, and you’ve got my debut novel, Call of the Highland Moon!         

 

Describe Gideon, the hero, using 3 words.

Loner.  Warrior.  Sensual. 

 

And three words that describe Carly, the heroine?

Witty.  Feminine.  Strong.


 Will there be more in this series?

Yes!  I love connected books, and I had too much fun in the world I created to leave it after one story!  Dark Highland Fire, which is Gabriel MacInnes’ story, comes out in October, followed by another tale of the MacInnes werewolves sometime in the spring.

 
Is there anything you would like to write, but haven’t? For example, any other genre you’d like to try?

I’m not sure I could abandon paranormal romance, because I love having that magical aspect to my stories.  But that’s the great thing about paranormal romance…the sky is pretty much the limit!  If I were going to try anything else, it would probably be some sort of historical.  I’ll be honest, though…all of the research involved kind of freaks me out.  Still, you never know.

 
Describe yourself in three words.

Good-hearted.  Funny.  Over-caffeinated.

 

What do you like to read?

Romance, most of the time.  I am a happily-ever-after junkie.  I love Gena Showalter, Alyssa Day, Nora Roberts, Lisa Kleypas, Teresa Medeiros, and my all-time favorite, Julie Garwood (to whom I owe a lot of my writing style…I’ve had several reviews where the reader mentioned that my style is more about personal relationships and humor, less about blood, and that is totally my foundation in Garwood 101!).  I also have a serious Harry Potter obsession, love Stephen King, and have Douglas Adams’ Hitchhiker’s Guide books in a place of honor on my keeper shelf.     

 

Since becoming a published author, what has been your favorite moment?

I think the best moment was getting my first email from someone who had loved the book and wanted to let me know.  Books have been my comfort food for a very long time, and there are a few that I’ve read so many times they’re all ragged and dog-eared.  Hearing that I’ve managed to give that lovely escape to someone else, to know that I’ve earned a spot on someone’s keeper shelf because my characters became real to them, is an amazing feeling.  That connection is why I write.

 

What is next for you?

The MacInnes saga continues in October with Dark Highland Fire, and I’m working on the third book, which will be out in the spring.  I’m also running around like crazy with yet another Navy move and three young kids to chase…I’m not sure I would know what to do if I wasn’t overextended in some way.  Possibly sleep.  But that would get boring in a hurry!

 

Is there anything you’d like to ask my blog readers?

Sure!  What are your favorite romances of all time?  I’m always looking for new reading material 🙂

Thanks so much for having me here today, Jennifer!

 

Thank you so much Kendra for being here today.

 

Readers, you can learn more about Kendra and her books at her website:  http://www.kendraleighcastle.com/

 

So, what are some of your favorite romances of all time? 

9 Responses to Q&A with Kendra Leigh Castle…

  1. Greta says:

    Hey Kendra. I saw your post from mad’s blog and I just love the cover. I currently have it has my wallpaper on my computer. I even have ordered your book. I’m hoping to read it this month.

    May all time favorite romances – Mackenzie’s Mountain, Linda Howard tops the list along with the other Mackeznie men. Elizabeth Lowell’s Fire & Rain, Outlaw, Granite Man, and Warrior. I have to add Stay With Me by Maya Banks – I’ll still be reading that story in twenty years.

    It’s 5 am my time, I’m sure I can think of others later.

  2. Kendra says:

    Hi Greta! Wow, you’ve just made my TBR pile a LOT bigger…thanks! Also, I’m very impressed that you can think at 5 am. It’s 8:20 here, and I’m still struggling with a coherent thought process. The coffee seems to be helping. Sloooowly.

    I hope you enjoy the book, and that is so cool that you have the cover as your wallpaper! I was really thrilled with the way it turned out…the couple at the bottom is HOT:-)

  3. azteclady says:

    Kendray, I can’t find your book!!!! *wail*

    *ahem*

    Okay… with that out of the way (it’s already in the next online order, heavens help my poor and long suffering wallet)…

    Here’s wishing you great success!

    Ladies, have all a great weekend!

  4. Jennifer Y says:

    I hope that you all get a chance to read this book…I loved it.

  5. azteclady says:

    Jennifer, I know! I really really want to read this book–and I will. I just wanted to get it locally, but it seems it’s not going to happen that way. Oh well.

  6. Jane says:

    Hi Kendra,
    I love the premise of the story. My favorite romances include all of Julie Garwood’s historicals.

  7. Hello to Kendra, my Sourcebooks sister.

    I’m excited that your second book and my first will be released together this October! I’m dying to receive fan mail, as I feel like you, terribly honored that my writing touched a reader.

    “…Highland Moon” is at the top of my TBR pile. I may need an industrial crane to reach it at this point, but I WILL be reading it soon! 🙂

    I think my favorite romance read has to be “Outlander” by Diana Gabaldon — another Scottish hero. YUM!

    Cindy

  8. Greta says:

    Kendra – just so you know the Linda Howard and Elizabeth Lowell books I mention are old. MacKenzie’s Mountain originally came out in 1989.

  9. Kendra says:

    Wow, I go out for dinner and miss all the comments! You all are awesome for the compliments, and for wanting to read my book:-) Azteclady, where are you? Obviously I must go accost the bookstore managers there! Because, you know, I have superpowers that can bend them to my will. Okay, I’m actually just kind of obnoxious. But that’s almost a superpower!

    Jennifer, you’re so sweet to recommend Call of the Highland Moon. It was such a treat to write, I’m thrilled you enjoyed it too!

    Jane, Julie Garwood is my romance writer hero. Er, heroine, I guess. She rocks, I couldn’t agree more! Excellent taste:-) And thanks for the compliment on my premise!

    Aunty Cindy! I always love to see you ride in, I’m glad you came! I know, it’s so cool that we’re October releases together. We shall take the world by storm! And don’t feel bad…my TBR pile is soon going to need its own storage silo. Yours will be right at the top of mine as well. And you are only like the billionth person to mention Outlander to me. I give up. I’m going to have to read it and see what has ensnared so many people.

    Greta, thanks! I figured they weren’t new…some of my favorite books ever are outta the 80s. I’m going to look for these!

Leave a Reply

