Another Character Interview!

Today I welcome a very special guest…

 

Caro Torrington from No Regrets by Michèle Ann Young

 

Caroline Torrington is large, and she wears glasses. Not the sort of woman to attract the attention of London‘s most notorious rake. 

 Lucas, Lord Foxhaven, noted for his wild and reckless behavior, is once again in dispute with his father over his financial excesses. Only his childhood friend Caro can help him out of his predicament.

 

Little does Caroline know that her voluptuous curves are driving Lucas to distraction.

In the midst of deepening mutual attraction, Caroline gets embroiled in a scandal and is kidnapped.  After a dangerous escape, Caroline tells Lucas the whole marriage thing was a huge mistake. Can Lucas convince her that he loves her for herself and not her fortune? 
 

To read an excerpt from No Regrets and get information about forthcoming books go to www.micheleannyoung.com 

 

Here comes our guest now.  Thank you, Caro, for joining me today.  May I call you Caro?
Please do, all my closest friends do.

 

Well, thank you.  So, how are you?  What have you been up to lately?
I am very well, busy preparing my sister Alex for her come out. She is so excited. She has been looking forward to this for an age, and at one point we had given up all hope of any of my sisters being able to make their bows in
London.

 

How exciting! So, the book, No Regrets, tells your story.  How do you feel about your story being published?

At first I felt a little shy about everyone reading about me, because it is so intimate, but since I hear people enjoyed it, I took a deep breath and tried not to feel so nervous about them knowing so much about me.

 

Have you read it? 
No, having lived through it, and it really was quite terrifying at times, I thought it better to leave it unread. I did not wish to be reminded of all the dreadful things that occurred. If things hadn’t turned out the way they did….

 

I can understand that. What about Lord Foxhaven?  Did he read it?  What does he think?
Lucas is braver than me, although he says I am too daring for my own good, but he enjoyed it. He especially liked the sexy bits. He has all the corners turned down. I told him I preferred real life to reading about it. That provided for an interesting afternoon down by the river. Oh, now I’m blushing.

 

That’s okay. So would you mind telling our readers a little about yourself?
Oh, if you are sure? I grew up with my sisters in
Norfolk. My father was a vicar. Despite my mother dying in childbirth, I had a wonderful childhood. Father was a lovely caring man, who believed in lots of exercise and hearty eating. Lucas was my best friend and we used to ride all over the countryside together. That was before he went off to school. Before he fell out of favor with his father. Before he turned into a rake. After that I didn’t see him very much, until his father decided we should marry.  Not a good thing, to try to force Lucas into anything, I must say. But my father’s death left me in a bit of a predicament, very little money and three younger sisters. Anyway, we worked out a plan. Trouble is, it started going wrong the moment we tied the knot.


Your life sounds very interesting!  Can you describe yourself in 3 words?
Fat, plain, shortsighted.

 
You’re too hard on yourself. How would Lord Foxhaven describe you?
Lucas says I need to be more confident, that I am voluptuous, that my face glows when I’m happy, and he loves the way I walk as if there is no one else in the world but the person I am beside. Well there wouldn’t be, unless I am wearing my spectacles — I can’t see anyone else. Lucas has a silver tongue.

 

Well, having spent a little time with you, I have to say that I agree with him.  Can you tell us more about Lucas?  May I call him that?
Well, really you should call him Foxhaven, but for a Viscount he is pretty informal. From working with his orphaned musicians, I suppose. Of course, no one knew about that for a very long time. Lucas wanted to be a pianist when he was a boy, but his father was horrified. Not at all the sort of thing for a nobleman. And that was a big part of their estrangement. So he decided to start a school for boys he found playing for pennies on the streets. I have made him add girls to the mix too. Not that there are many.

 

Oh, okay, so can you describe Foxhaven then in 3 words?
Tall, handsome and good at hiding his artistic sensitivity from everyone except me. Oh, too many words. But then Lucas is far too complex for three words.

 

What do the two of you like to do for fun?
Apart from afternoons by the river? We ride. I love to ride with Lucas, both in Norfolk and in Town when we go there. I also like to go to the opera. Some of Lucas’s boys are already making names for themselves. Not all of them turn out so well, but I suppose that is a story for another time.  I am looking forward to introducing my sisters to the ton. I am much more comfortable in society than I used to be, so I hope they will make a good impression and meet wonderful men.

 

I am sure they will.  Do you have any secrets you’d like to reveal?
Now, it wouldn’t be a secret, if I revealed it. Oh dear. Here I am being practical again. Still, someone has to think of the practical side, I always tell Lucas. But I would say, be careful whom you trust. Appearances can be deceiving.

 

Very good advice.  I know Foxhaven is waiting on you, but before you go, is there anything you’d like to tell or ask my blog readers?

Oh, perhaps just to believe in yourself and not to try to be someone else’s idea of the ideal woman. Remember that real women deserve a hero, as I discovered in No Regrets.

 
If any of your readers would like a bookmark, or a signed bookplate, have them write to me at
Michele@micheleannyoung.com, and I will send them along. 

 

I will offer one free copy of the book to one winner, which Jennifer will pick from those that ask questions. Thank you so much for talking to me today. I usually like to hide in a corner, and this was so much fun.


Please watch for Michèle Ann Young’s next book, The Lady Flees Her Lord, coming out in October 2008.

 

Again, wonderful advice, Caro.  And I was glad to have you here.  Thank you for taking the time to be here.  I wish you and Foxhaven the best and good luck with your sister!

 

Readers, as Caro said, one lucky winner will receive a copy of No Regrets from Michèle Ann Young and Caro.  So, if you have a question for Michèle Ann Young or Caro, ask away in the comments! 
Winner will be announced Thursday, June 5 so be sure to return to see if you won!

 

And you can find Michèle at her blog twice a week, where she talks about her research, and about writing from time to time,  www.micheleannyoung.blogspot.com.
And learn more about her and her books at her website: 
www.micheleannyoung.com

 

17 Responses to Another Character Interview!

  1. Teresa W. says:

    Glad to finally read about somebody who is larger in size and wears glasses. Sounds kind of familiar! Nice having you here today.

  2. Hey, Teresa,
    Thank you for dropping in and saying hello. it is nice to meet you.
    Best, Michele

  3. ruth says:

    Loved this interview and learning about this fascinating and lovely novel.

  4. Linda Wisdom says:

    A wonderful interview, Michele and gives great insight into your heroine.

    Linda

  5. Angie-la says:

    Oh, Michèle this book sounds SO good!!
    I totally enjoyed the excerpt. Now I have to know..does he or doesn’t he?
    Come on, you can tell us!!! 😉

  6. Thanks ladies, and does he or doesn’t he…. hmm, can I remember? I’ll have to think about it. Perhaps Caro will tell you! lol
    Best
    Michele

  7. RobynL says:

    “That provided for an interesting afternoon down by the river. Oh, now I’m blushing.” Lucky you!!

    Wow, that sure sounds like a great time was had by all; a very enjoyable time I’d say.
    I had a sense of knowing you while reading your interview; you must be very easy to get to be friends with and I’d like to be friends with you.

    What involvement, if any, did you have with Lucas’ orphaned musicians other than getting him to involve girls? Thanks so much for being here today.

  8. Robyn, I’m so happy you dropped in. I would love to be friends with you. Perhaps you could call one afternoon and we could have tea?

    Oh, those dear boys. Initially Lucas kept them a big secret. It didn’t quite fit with his too-cool image as you might say nowadays. But we ladies have our ways of getting to the truth and now I make sure those children get a good all round education, as well as their music lessons.
    Caro.

  9. fedora says:

    Hi, Michele and Caro–thanks for a great interview! I’m excited to read about a heroine who actually needs glasses (being one myself ;)) Michele, have you always written Regency? And will Caro’s sisters be getting their own stories told?

  10. Helen says:

    Great interview I have been trying to get this book but it is a bit hard to find here in Australia so I will be asking the bookstore to oder it in for me than I can read it.
    I love the thought that Caro is not slim trim and beautiful what made you write about a heroine this way I think it is fantastic seeing as how I am built that way and wear glasses as well I am really looking forward to reading this book.

    Have Fun
    Helen

  11. Fedora, lovely to see you here. Yes, I have always written Regencies — so far. You name reminded me that No Regrets has been purchased by a Spanish publisher, and will come out in Spanish later in the year. How cool is that? Just had to brag.

    As for Alex, Alexandra, that is, Lucy and Jacqueline, I would love them to have their own stories. There is this one young musician who has a very interesting past. Now… where is my quill?

    Helen, nice to meet you again. I am sorry you have had trouble finding No Regrets. I do know Rosemary’s Bookshop had some copies.

    You know, Caro found me and insisted that I tell her story. She arrived with glasses and voluptuous, and not very sure of herself, but definitely the woman to take on Lucas.

    Michele

  12. Lois Templin says:

    Caro: What a wonderful interview. I loved your story and it is so nice to see more of you (no pun intended) out and about in society!
    Lois

  13. azteclady says:

    Hi, Michele and Jennifer–and Caro 😀

    I don’t have questions, I’m afraid–I just enjoyed the interview immensely, and think that Caro’s advice is most excellent!

    Best of luck!

  14. Cindi says:

    Hi, At one point, I read where Lucas may want her for her fortune, but then she says after her father dies, she is left with her sisters and not much money. Am I reading into your story incorrectly?! Also, historically, how were women’s shapes described compared to today’s?! Thanks very much…..Cindi

  15. Virginia H. says:

    Hello, its great to see you here. I loved the interview. I would love to read a book about the heroine being on the larger size, it kind of sounds like me. In real life that is the way if is a lot of the time.

    Where did the idea come from to have the heroine to be of a larger size?

  16. Lois and Azteclady, all of us are so happy you dropped in.

    Cindi, At first Caro believes she has little money, but later, when her fortunes change, she wonders just how much Lucas knew about her expectations when he proposed their bargain.

    Regarding the history, we do know that people dieted then and that many of the cartoons of the day were directed at larger women wearing some of the skimpy costumes of the day. Most of the fashion plates show slender females. So, not unlike today, I’m afraid.

    Virginia, I wanted my heroine to resonate with women today, and this one of the things we all face, self image and society’s expectations, all those magazine articles. And let’s face it very few of us are perfect and we all deserve the love of a good man.
    Thanks for your question.

  17. Maureen says:

    I enjoyed your interview and am wondering if Caro’s sisters will end up in their own books.

Leave a Reply

