New Look, Same Ol’ Place

As I mentioned last week and as you may have noticed, the blog looks a little different.  I decided to change things up a bit…nothing too drastic (well, other than the look).

 

Here are some of the changes:

 

– The Look: 
For those familiar with the blog, this one is probably the most obvious change (Duh!).  I am still not sure if I am 100% satisfied with it, but my options were limited in the free templates so it will do for now. 

 

The sunset photograph was taken by my sister at the beach a couple of years ago.  I had a hard time finding a picture I liked for the header and decided to try this one.

 

– Blog Schedule:
I know, I know.  Many of you are probably thinking, “There was a schedule?”  Since I rarely followed it anyway, I decided to do away with the blog schedule.   I did warn folks that it could happen…LOL.

 

When I first started the blog, I had no idea what I would blog about or what it would become.  I figured it would just be me blogging about random topics (hence the name of the blog).  That is why I developed a “Blog Schedule” in the first place to help me think of things to talk about each day.  However, I was overwhelmed and thrilled by the number of authors who agreed or asked to be guests when I decided to make books a main focus of the blog.  This made following a schedule difficult as I tried to work them all in and so I decided to do away with it. 

 

However, some of the basic content of the schedule will still remain (and can be found on the “About the Blog” page, which has also been updated to reflect these changes) and when there are no guests scheduled, I will choose one of those options for the blog.

 

*NEW* Monthly Contest!
In addition to the random contests held throughout each month, I decided to hold a monthly drawing starting with this month.  Each month I will draw two winners from those that leave comments throughout the month.  Those two winners will win an author promo pack full of bookmarks, pens, etc. and maybe a surprise or two. 😉 Winners will be notified by e-mail and announced here on the blog.  Details will be available in the sidebar throughout the month.  Same contest rules apply!

 

Well, I think that about covers it.  I hope all of these changes are a positive thing for the blog!  I hope to continue blogging as I have really enjoyed “meeting” fellow readers and talking with authors through the blog.  And if any other changes are ever made, I’ll be sure to let you know!

 

Happy Reading to all!

 

And to celebrate the new look, I will draw one winner from the comments below to win a promo pack of author goodies and a surprise book!  
Winner will be randomly selected and announced next Sunday, June 8 so be sure to check back to see if you won!

32 Responses to New Look, Same Ol’ Place

  1. Cheryl S. says:

    Love the new look, Jennifer. And the sunset picture is gorgeous! Your sister is very talented with the camera.

  2. Greta says:

    I absolutely love the new look! And it does make it easier to read! The sunset photo is gorgeous.

  3. Paula says:

    Looks nice! The sunset pic is summer-y, which seems fitting right now on this (northern) side of the globe.

  4. Wendy says:

    I like the new look, Jennifer! especially the sunset picture, it’s so lovely. 🙂

  5. Blanche says:

    I love the new look Jennifer!!! That sunset is beautiful!! 🙂

  6. Lois says:

    I rather like it — I was thinking it before seeing someone else mention that it does seem summery. But I hadn’t even guessed that it wasn’t a stock photo. Congrats! 🙂

    Lois

  7. RobynL says:

    You have a very warm and welcoming site, Jennifer. I have enjoyed coming here and the new look is superb. The picture of the sunset is lovely; one can relax looking at the picture and pretending that you are there in that beautiful setting.

  8. Jennifer Y says:

    Thanks everyone for the compliments. The new look is growing on me and yes, it is a lovely picture. My sister took it with a regular digital camera one evening. We had no idea it would turn out so well.

  9. cathy m says:

    Great job on the blog, I like your new look.

  10. ThatBrunette says:

    Snazzy! I like the sun/beach picture. Although, I feel the need to go and get my sunglasses. A new coat of paint always spruces the place up.

    I mentioned your page to an ‘almost published’ author friend. Her genre isn’t romance but, she said she had heard of your page from an author site.

  11. Jennifer Y says:

    Very cool TB! It’s cool to know that my blog is getting around…I guess it is a good thing…LOL. Hmm….

  12. Jane says:

    I like the makeover. Congrats.

  13. Jennifer Y says:

    Oh, and TB, I welcome authors from all genres 😉 Romance is just the main one I read.

  14. Teresa W. says:

    The new look is great and looking forward to everything you’ll have for us this month!

  15. Helen says:

    Jennifer I love the new look and really love that sunset photo the old saying a change is as good as a holiday way to go Jennifer I love visting this blog I have found heaps of new authors here thanks

    Have Fun
    Helen

  16. Angie-la says:

    Another exciting episode of ‘Extreme Blog Makeover!”
    I very much like the sunset beach photo. It reminds me of Panama City Beach in Florida! 😛

  17. Jennifer Y says:

    LOL Angie-la…you got the location right!

  18. Pamk says:

    love the look nice and simple with a lovely pic

  19. Beth R says:

    I really like the new look

  20. fedora says:

    Wow, Jennifer–it looks awesome! More kudos to your sister for a beautiful sunset shot, and thanks for the update of exciting things to come–again, many thanks to you for all your efforts in bringing us exciting guests, and news of terrific books! My TBR thanks you 😉

  21. Virginia H. says:

    I like the new look and the changes you are making to the blog. Since the weather has gotten warm I have been doing a lot of work outside and I don’t spend as much time on the blogs, but do try to get around some.

  22. annalisa says:

    What a gorgeous picture! It really makes your blog look great! 🙂

  23. I think it’s unanimous Jennifer, the new look is GREAT! Plus, I personally have a much easier time with dark letters in a white or very light background, so BIG THANX for that!

    Cindy

  24. kim h says:

    look great keep the blog coming. congrat s on teh new site

  25. brownone says:

    The new look is great! Love hanging out here, you’ve introduced me to many great authors!

  26. Jolene says:

    I definitely agree with everyone.. the new look is awesome and i love that photo at the top.. gives it a whole new relaxing warm feel..

  27. Eva S says:

    I like your new look and the wonderful sunset! Feel free to post more great photos by your talented sister.. And thanks for all the great new authors you will bring to us!

  28. Laura says:

    Jennifer that is a gorgeous picture.

    I really like the new look of the blog. I’m one of those that believes sometimes change is good.

  29. limecello says:

    I really love the new look, Jennifer! I’m a huge fan of nature shots 🙂

  30. danette says:

    Hi Jennifer,
    The new look is awesome. Beach scene is beautiful. Congrats.

    Hugs, Danette

  31. azteclady says:

    I’m with everyone else, Jennifer, the blog looks really great, and that is one gorgeous picture for your header.

    Mostly, thank you for all the time and effort you put into making it such an interesting blog to read!

  32. Maureen says:

    I like your new look and your picture is very similar to one my husband took years ago and is hanging in our family room.

Leave a Reply

