Susanna Carr Guest Blogs!

Today’s guest is author Susanna Carr!

 

So Not a Princess – Susanna Carr

 

My upcoming release, Red-Hot and Royal, is about three modern-day ordinary women who would never meet the requirements for fabled princesses. There were a couple of things that inspired this story, but a lot of it had to do with traditional fairy tale heroines.

 

Someone once asked me which fairy tale was my favorite. I said it was Sleeping Beauty because it’s about awakening. This guy didn’t see it that way at all and asked me to retell the story in my own words. So I did. And I explained it I realized that the heroine of the story didn’t do much.

 

When I got to the point of where the prince kisses Sleeping Beauty, I stopped and said, “You know, I would like it better if Sleeping Beauty woke up on her own power.”

 

I don’t know if I can say Sleeping Beauty is my favorite anymore. She doesn’t act the way I would want to. I need a heroine who is going to get up and do something. I can’t say Cinderella is going to be my new favorite because I want a heroine who stands up for herself. And Snow White just gets on my nerves.

 

What about you? Which fairy tale heroine is the LEAST like you?

 

Thanks Susanna for that great blog.

 

Readers, you can learn more about Susanna at her site:  http://www.susannacarr.com/

 

Go ahead and answer her question and check back tomorrow for a contest from Susanna!

 

20 Responses to Susanna Carr Guest Blogs!

  1. Angie-la says:

    Welcome Susanna!! I have read several of your novels and totally enjoyed them. I loved fairytales when I was growing up. But I’ve never really thought about fairytale heroines as related to myself because I am SO un-fairytalelike!
    Lets say I am least like the princess in the Princess and the Pea! I am no delicate flower and don’t have to pass any ‘tests’ to prove to others who or what I am! 😛

  2. Ann M. says:

    Which is LEAST like me? I’d have to say Sleeping Beauty. I’ve never been pampered and kept from the world. You are right she is not very proactive in her rescue and relies on others to help her out.

  3. azteclady says:

    Welcome, Susanna.

    Any fairy tale heroine who is both sweet and happy to perform household chores without any gratitude is my complete opposite. 😀

  4. Susanna Carr says:

    Angie-la, I’m glad to hear you enjoyed some of my books! I liked the fairytales when I was growing up, too. But I totally forgot about the Princess and the Pea. That woman was waaaay too delicate.

    Ann — yeah, Sleeping Beauty was sheltered. I can’t imagine her really having a happily-ever-after if she never lived it up.

    azteclady — LOL, I’m with you! I’m never sweet and happy when I’m doing chores.

  5. Beth R says:

    My favorite is Mulan because she goes against everything even risking death to follow her heart.

    I would say I’m least like snow white, cleaning after 7 men I don’t think so I don’t like cleaning after one

  6. Crystal B. says:

    I am least like Cinderella. I would not have taken the abuse she takes from her stepmother and stepsisters.

  7. Laura says:

    Hi Susanna,

    any of the early Disney’esc early princesses are least like me. I’m more independant and strong willed say like Ariel or Jasmine.

  8. Marisa says:

    Hi Susanna, I think I’m the least like Snow White – as you said, she’s just way too passive for the likes of me. I guess I’d have to say I’m the most like Gretel – I mean I’m always game for following trails of food into the woods and then eating a house!

  9. limecello says:

    Oh Ack. Fairy Tale I’m least like? All of them? 😛 My brain has left me … I’ll say I’m least like… uh… the frog prince? LOL. I can’t see myself befriending a frog. The only thing worse would be bugs.

  10. bunnyb says:

    Hmmm… I like Cinderella, but I’m so not like her. I’m guessing I’m more like Pocahontas or Mulan 🙂 Not so princessy.

  11. fedora says:

    Hi, Susanna! I’ve enjoyed some of your other books–this one sounds very fun!

    As for fairytale heroines, I’m not sure I’m much like any of them either–I don’t think I’m long-suffering or that hardworking, and definitely not princess-y or gorgeous… maybe I’m more like one of the witches? 😉

  12. Wendy says:

    Hi, Susanna!

    I don’t like any one of them – they’re a bunch of whiny weak girls! LOL 😀

  13. RobynL says:

    hi and welcome Susanna,
    I am most unlike Dorothy in The Wizard of Oz. I could never had kept on going upon facing all the obstacles she encountered along the way.

  14. LeeAnn says:

    Oh I always loved the little blue fairy from Sleeping Beauty. She was short and round, with an attitude 😉

    I always liked Beauty and the Beast because Belle was so strong and so was Dorothy from Wizard of Oz

  15. Virginia H. says:

    Sleeping Bearty is nothing like me. I have never been pampered. I have alway had to do things for myself. If I don’t do it no one else will.

  16. Greta says:

    Princess and the Pea. I completely forgot about that story. I would say either Princess and the Pea or Snow White are the fairly tale characters least like me.

  17. Susanna Carr says:

    I agree that the later Disney princesses are more interesting and independent. I remember seeing Mulan and thought it was great having the heroine take action, solve problems and lead.

    I wouldn’t have thought of Dorothy from Wizard of Oz as a fairytale heroine, but she really is, isn’t she?

    Marisa — I’m a lot like Gretel, too. I can easily be bribed with chocolate!

    Limecello — yeah, I would not befriend a frog. Too slimy, too reptile-y. I don’t think I would touch one, let alone kiss it!

    Fedora — There are days when I think I have more in common with the villainesses than the heroines!!

  18. Jennifer Y says:

    Hi Susanna and everyone!

    Hmm…I think I might have to go with Ariel…or The Little Mermaid…I am not like her at all really. I don’t like the beach or ocean.

  19. Cindi says:

    I think they are all unlike me! I think that is why they are called “Fairy (Tales)!
    I will say that I am not at all like “Sleeping Beauty!” Very interesting question.
    Thanks,Cindi

  20. jambrea says:

    Hmmm…I think I would be like Bella and the one I’m least like would be Sleeping Beauty. 🙂

    What a great question. I had to think. lol

Leave a Reply

