Interview with Esri Rose…and a contest

Today I welcome author, Esri Rose.

 

Esri Rose lives in Boulder, Colorado, where elves could walk the streets without undue attention. Esri lives with her husband, Angel Joe, and her cat, Musette La Plume, only one of whom has pointy ears.

 

 

Welcome! Please tell us about your book, Bound to Love Her.

It’s the story of Erin, who owns a New Age shop but doesn’t believe in the supernatural, and Galan, a Tolkien-style elf who has good reason not to trust humans. Erin accidentally saves Galan from death, and the two are bound to each other in a mysterious way. Can they defeat the dark elf Fellseth, who wants to finish Galan off and turn Erin into a mindless slave? Probably they can, but you’ll have to read the book to know for sure.

 

What inspired the story?

Orlando Bloom as Legolas. That hair. Those ears.


How would you classify or describe, Bound to Love Her?

I call it an urban-fantasy, romantic-suspense comedy. It’s really all those things, and in about equal parts.

 

Can you share with us your “Call” story?

I don’t have a good call story, so I’m going to make one up. You heard it here first.

 

I am at a large and noisy Halloween party, wearing pointy latex ears and a glittery green leotard and tutu, when my cell phone rings. I hand my gin fizz to Angel Joe and answer it.

“Esri, you got a two-book contract on the elf book!”

“What?! I can’t hear you!”

“Your elves! They sold!”

“I know I am, but what are you?” I hang up, laughing hysterically.

“Who was that?” my husband asks, giving me back my drink.

“I don’t know. Some weirdo.”

When we get home, there’s a big box of money on the doorstep.

 

Who has inspired you as a writer?

Ann Patchett, David Sedaris, Laurie King (her Mary Russell series), Terry Pratchett, Nicholas Christopher, Dave Barry, and all my writer friends in the Wet Noodle Posse, who taught me that not giving up is the only sure way to get published. Also, every romance writer that ever made me feel the longing and magic of new love while telling a ripping good yarn.

 

What would you like to tell aspiring writers?

I’m going to assume we’re talking about commercial-fiction writers. If we’re talking literature, I usually just say, “Go to a fancy school and drink a lot.” But for populist writers like myself, I have come up with a helpful formula which I didn’t follow at all.

 

Write first drafts until you develop your voice and find the genre you like most. Then write two books in it. Polish them in such a way that they aren’t completely out of line with current trends. Now present yourself to agents. Don’t give up. When you sell, you’ll have two books that just need some editing, you can get them on the shelves close together (which builds readership), and you can spend some time promoting instead of scrambling to write more.

 

What do you like to read?

Biographies and history, romance (especially historicals), books about/by illusionists (Ricky Jay!), books on stuff (like buildings or tea), humorous essays by folks like Sedaris and Bill Bryson, occasional lit titles that people recommend, kid’s books, mysteries, and The New Yorker magazine.

 

Describe yourself in 3 words.

Curious, confident, and communicative. (Today’s adjectives are brought to you by the letter ‘C.’)

 

What is next for you?

I’m finishing the second book in the Elves Among Us Universe. Bound to Want Him will be released in May 2009 and has a lot of the same characters. I also have the first book in a mystery series that I need to polish and send to my agent. If enough people read me and my career doesn’t disappear with a tiny “gloop” sound, I’d like to have two series going at once.

 

Is there anything you’d like to ask readers?

How do you feel about bare-torsoed guys on book covers?

 

Thank you, Esri, for that fun interview!

 

You can learn more about Esri by visiting her website:  http://elvesamongus.com

 

Now onto the contest…

 

Esri donated two copies of Bound to Love Her to two lucky winners!

 

This giveaway is going to require a little work.

I am going to ask some trivia questions…all answers can be found on Esri’s website: http://elvesamongus.com and they are pretty simple so don’t worry. 


I will post two questions today and two more tomorrow and for every correct answer, you will get an entry into the giveaway…so if you answer all four correctly, that’s four entries! 
You can send the responses in separate e-mails or answer all 4 in one e-mail. 
DO NOT POST THE ANSWERS HERE, PLEASE!

 

If you have any questions, please ask!

 

Here we go…

Day 1’s questions:

  1. Watch the video of Esri Rose’s interview with “Colin” the “incubus-possessed ring,” (found on the Audio/Video page of her website) and tell me, which actor does “Colin” resemble in his owner’s dreams?
  2. According to Esri’s bio on her website, she once sold personalized letters from who?

 

E-mail your answers to jennifersrandommusings @ gmail.com (without the spaces) with “Esri Rose Giveaway” in the subject line!

All entries must be received by 11:59 pm EST on May 22!
Two winners will be randomly selected, notified, and announced here on the blog this Friday, May 23! 
 Please, DO NOT post the answers here!

 

Good luck to all!

 

Remember to check back tomorrow as Esri completes the sentences and for two more chances to enter as well!


How about answering Esri’s question for readers…How do you feel about bare-torsoed guys on book covers? 

 

*and don’t forget to check yesterday’s post to see if you were a winner!

21 Responses to Interview with Esri Rose…and a contest

  1. Ann M. says:

    Nice cover. Bare chested works for me. 🙂

  2. ThatBrunette says:

    Your ‘call’ story is the best I have read!

  3. azteclady says:

    Good Monday morning, Jennifer and peeps! Welcome, Esri.

    Bare torsoed guys on book covers? Well, I like the aesthetics *ahem* of the (male) human body, so on principle I like them. The exceptions would be most poser covers and the extra cheesy ones.

  4. Esri Rose says:

    Thanks for the feedback. It’s so seldom that an author is pleased with her cover, but I’m starting to realize mine is pretty reasonable. Plus, I love purple. Nice job with the purple headings in the blog, Jennifer!

  5. […] 19, 2008 by Esri Rose I’m over at Jennifer’s Random Musings , making up stories about how I got my first sale and being all sound-bitey. Come over, answer […]

  6. Hey, Esri! Your personality, once again, comes through in this post.

    I like bare-torso covers as long as they’re not those cheesy clinch covers where the guy has more cleavage than I do. 🙂

  7. Esri Rose says:

    Ah, the dreaded man-titty. I guess the thing is, what would you put on a romance cover if you didn’t put the canonical images on them? It’s expensive to hire an artist to do somethin different for each book. cheap to order up the package of 100 NAKED MEN! Think of what they save on costumes and props.

    I think authors should have the option of offering artwork for consideration, whether they make it themselves or hire someone. In the future (Flying cars!), when we get away from warehouses full of dead trees (whether through print-on-demand or e-books), readers could make their own covers for their books. I mean, how hard would it be for publishers to keep an online repository of images that readers could drag, drop, color, change, etc.? The publishing houses could make more money by offering different packages: X dollars for a one-time cover. Y dollars a month for however many books you buy a month. extra money for access to better artwork. Plus, they’d be getting free artwork from all the artists who would submit free art in exchange for exposure and a hotlink to their website.

    I did email this idea to Penguin at one point. I predict that someday people will say, “You mean publishers used to just print one picture on a book and that was it? How bizarre!”

  8. Esri Rose says:

    That’s a lotta typos on that previous post of mine. Can you tell I’m on the treadmill?

  9. Jennifer Y says:

    What a cool idea, Esri…custom covers!

    And thanks for being a guest. I had so much fun reading your interview…especially your “call story.”

  10. Jane says:

    I love covers that feature a lot of man flesh. I do agree with Trish that it would be lame if the male model had more curves than a woman.

  11. Stefanie D says:

    I LOVE bare chests! Yummy!:D

  12. Esri Rose says:

    I have a follow-up question, if people are coming back and checking. Those of you who love a manly collarbone and everything below it, what are the top two things you look for in your romance novels?
    This is out of things like, yummy sex scenes, exciting plots, realistic characters, larger-than-life characters, great dialogue, humor, etc.

  13. Cherie J says:

    Enjoyed the interview. I love the cover to this book so my answer would be yes to the bare torso. It works.

  14. Stephanie S. says:

    I love the call story! Priceless. The book sounds fabulous!

    Bare-chested men are always nice to look at.

  15. Greta says:

    Esi Rose, I have to say I know Jennifer from the WM loop and in just a couple of months she has introduced to me to so many new authors, which of course you fall into that catagory. You book will definately be added to by TBP list.

    As long as the bare-chested/torso guy on the front cover has atleast a six pack – I’m all for it. No six pack go a different direction with the cover.

    As far your second about the top two things that I look for in a book. There has to be emotion and depth. I have to feel what the characters are feeling in their emotions whether heartbreaking, frustration, fright, insecurity, arrogance, humorous. I have to be able to laugh, cry, or cuss at the characters. So I guess tied in with that would be realistic characters.

    The second thing I look for is the journey the author takes me on for the couple to get to HEA. That can be a combination of things – plot, dialogue, sex scenes.

    Does any of that make sense?

  16. azteclady says:

    Esri, for me characterization is kingqueen… erm… okay, it rules. Particularly for romance stories; if I cannot care about the characters because I cannot believe them as people with foibles and weaknesses and so on, why would I care whether they solve their issues or not?

    Now, my favorite writers make the characterization part intrinsic of the action of the plot, which just is the proverbial coffee ice cream on top of the chocolate cake, as far as I’m concerned. 😉

    As far as sex scenes–whether of the ‘fade to black’ or the play-by-play-by-bit variety–as long as they are not gratuitous, I like them. And I rather have as little purple prose as possible, thank you very much 😀

    Best of luck with the book!

  17. Virginia H. says:

    You can’t judge a book by its cover but I do like me some bare chested men on the covers.

  18. Esri Rose says:

    This is great feedback, guys! Thanks for your thoughtful answers!

  19. fedora says:

    Hi, Esri!! Loved your interview today–had me laughing 🙂 I do love a yummy cover, but as Virginia said, the cover doesn’t tell the whole story! I love a good story, good characters with plot and character development that makes sense… I love for my emotions to really be engaged and I love sex scenes that make sense in the context of the story and for the characters. They can either be there and steamy or as azteclady said, sort of a “fade to black,” but I like them to make sense in terms of the characters and what’s happening…

    Anyway, I’m going to go look at your cover some more… 😉

  20. Esri Rose says:

    Hey, there’s a familiar gal! Fedora’s copy of my book has a speech-bubble sticker with her winning caption: “Oh, please don’t call on me…I have no idea how the electoral college works!”

    Here’s a picture of her winning entry.
    http://elvesamongus.com/2008/05/05/and-the-grand-prize-winner-is/

  21. Crystal B. says:

    Great interview. Your book sounds great. 🙂

Leave a Reply

