Taking Risks

So this post is all about taking risks.  Are you a risk taker?  Or do you prefer to play safe?

 

I have never really considered myself much of a risk taker.  I tend to play it safe and go for the sure thing. 

 

However, I got to thinking…maybe I am a risk taker.  I mean, don’t I take risks every time I pick up a new book to read?  Who knows what I will get as I open the pages and try something new?  Will I like it?  Will I find a new author to read?  Or will it be horrible?  Sometimes the risk pays off and I find a new fave author or a keeper to add to my collection and sometimes it doesn’t, but at least I took a chance, right?

 

I know, I know, it’s not exactly on par with bungee jumping or sky diving, but hey, I am taking baby steps. 🙂

 

Well, I was until last week when I took a big risk.  It may not be that big to many of you, but to me it was HUGE.  After some encouragement from a friend I entered a writing contest on another blog.  Keep in mind that I am a READER, not a writer, so this was a big deal for me.  I had never written anything like this before or entered writing contests or even let that many people read something I tried to write (well, other than my rambling blog posts).

 

But after much hesitation and a kick in the pants from a friend, I sat down and typed up a little 400 word scene based on the writing prompt, which was basically a girl telling a guy what she wants.  And after I did some editing (I seem to be wordy…I know, I sense your shock…hehe), I took a chance and entered.

 

Imagine my surprise when I learned that I am one of three finalists!  Me, the non-writer, non-risk-taker!  I couldn’t believe it!  And considering the great entries, this was an even bigger thrill and surprise!

 

You know, I am kind of proud of myself for taking the risk and entering and I like my entry (although I keep seeing things I’d do better, but I have been told that is normal for writers…hehe…I just called myself a writer…yeah, right).  Like any big risk, it was scary and nerve-wracking and it still is since people are reading and voting on the entries, but I dove in head first (okay, maybe I tip-toed into the shallow end…or rather I got pushed).  But regardless of the results at least I can say I tried and took a chance, right?  And isn’t that the point of taking a risk…taking a chance?

 

I do have to say that I have a greater appreciation for authors who put themselves out there with their work every day.  *claps hands in applause*  I don’t know how you do it with every book and story you write…this was just a little bitty scene.

 

Anyway, who knows where this latest risk will lead me?  But it has taught me a bit about myself and so far has been worth it…hmm…maybe I have a bit of a writer in me after all…

 

You can check out the contest and finalists here.  There are some great entries!

 

So, are you a risk taker?  What kind of risks have you taken?  Or do you prefer to play it safe?

15 Responses to Taking Risks

  1. azteclady says:

    Kudos, Jennifer!

    I don’t consider myself to be a risk taker–pretty much the opposite, in fact. I tend to wait and weigh all the potential (however unlikely) consequences of my decisions, before actually making any decision.

    Yet, somehow, I’ve ended up making some serious, life changing decisions (for myself and the kidlets), a couple of times now. (Getting a divorce, moving to a different country, going back to college, etc.)

    Life is funny that way, no?

  2. Jennifer, good for you. And to final. All that reading must be a great training ground. Why i wouldn’t be surprised if lots of us writers didn’t learn a good deal that way too. lol.

    Risks are scary, and do mean that you put yourself out there, but they are also exciting. And that is a good thing, provided they are not the kind of risks that put others in danger.

    Of course, writers take a risk everytime they send out a book, they risk rejection, and they take a risk every time a reader picks one up, they risk a bad review.

    I see myself as a risktaker-within-reason type. If that makes any sense.
    Best wishes,
    Michele

  3. Helen says:

    Well done Jennifer I loved your story I am so happy for you and glad you entered .Good luck Way to go girl

    I don’t take risks I like to play it safe always have but I am always happy to try a new author.
    Have Fun
    Helen

  4. Jennifer Y says:

    Thanks everyone! And feedback has been positive for the most part, so that is nice!

  5. Valerie Tibbs says:

    I really hate to break this to you, but YOU ARE A WRITER!!!!! Now, finish your story and get it published.

    It was great by the way! 🙂

    Valerie

  6. Cindi says:

    No, I am not much of a risk taker! It sometimes depends on what area of life is involved!
    Best wishes to you, Cindi

  7. Angie-la says:

    Go Jennifer! It is really hard to step outside your comfort zone. I prefer to keep the status quo, but lately I have been pushing myself to break out of my ‘box’!
    I guess we just have to ask ourselves…what is the absolute worst thing that will happen if I try this? And if the worse case scenario is acceptable, Go For It!!! 😛

  8. Angie-la says:

    Oh! I forgot to tell you above,,,great entry! Now we need to read the rest of the story! 😉

  9. Virginia H. says:

    I am not much of a risk taker. I really did enjoy your story, we just need the rest of the story. I liked yours the best. GOOD JOB!!!!!

  10. limecello says:

    Congratulations again, Jennifer! 🙂 I have to say… I don’t think I’m much of a risk taker. Haha – of if I do take a risk, I’ve always got a safety net of sorts – or at least I’d like to. Of course, I do push my comfort zones – get up in front of people and do potentially embarrassing things (speaking, choreographed dances… etc.) Do those count as risks?

  11. Congratulations, Jennifer! That’s wonderful news. Risk taking? Sometimes – it depends what’s involved. Sometimes I’m a big scaredy cat. 🙂

  12. Esri Rose says:

    Good for you, Jennifer! I hope you win!

    You know, those writing contests can become really addictive. Especially if you win. 😀

  13. Nannette says:

    I can honestly say I am now. It takes a lot to put your work out there. We all knew you could do it. Good luck girlie!

  14. Jambrea says:

    I’m not much of a risk taker. At least not until recently when I finally decided to do something with my writing and I do consider that a risky step. 🙂

    As for being a writer…what Valerie said…YOU ARE A WRITER. I too would like to see you finish your story. Get to it and good luck on the blog contest. The last time I looked you had the most votes. 🙂

  15. Jennifer Y says:

    Thanks everyone! And yay for taking risks no matter how big or small they may seem!

    Any time you step out of your comfort zone, I consider it a risk so I am sure we have all done it at one time or another.

Leave a Reply

