Interview with Erin McCarthy!

I asked Erin a few questions and here are her responses…

 

So, what have you been up to since you were last here? 

Probably trouble. 😉  No, seriously, Kathy and I have been writing and going to conferences and hanging out together.  I have seven new releases out in 2008, and two reissues, so it’s been a busy year for me.

Here’s my release schedule for the rest of 2008:

May- Fallen

June- Bit The Jackpot (mass market reissue)

June- The Power of Love (anthology with Lori Foster and others, where author and agent profits go to the Battered Women’s Shelter)

August- First Blood (this is loosely connected to the Vegas Vamps)

August- You Don’t Know Jack (mass market reissue)

October- The Magical Christmas Cat (the second Cuttersville witches’ story)

November- Speed Demon (a Young Adult novel written as Erin Lynn)

November- Flat Out Sexy (my return to sexy contemporaries!)

 

Wow, that’s a lot of books. *makes notes*

 

Tell us about your latest release, Fallen.

The second in my Seven Deadly Sins series, FALLEN features the sin of gluttony, or addiction, which I see as the ultimate over consumption.  Fallen angel Gabriel St. John loses himself in the throes of absinthe and opium in the nineteenth century and wakes to find his mistress murdered.  Unsure if he is responsible for the heinous crime or not, he spends one hundred and fifty years trying to reconcile his morality with his sins.  When a similar murder occurs in contemporary times, Gabriel contacts the victim’s daughter to see if modern forensics can solve both crimes, and ultimately exonerate him.

 

Sara Michaels is struggling to accept her mother’s death and to live with her own fears that somehow she too will become a murder victim.  Traveling to New Orleans to work with Gabriel St. John is supposed to be a sabbatical, a way to achieve a sense of closure, but the instant chemistry between her and Gabriel is anything but peaceful.  A recovering addict herself, she knows that their passion might lead them to the ultimate destruction.

 

Once you have surrendered to the obsessions that have stained your soul, how can you ever trust your heart to recognize love… once you have fallen?

 

What inspired the story?

Not every book that I write pops into my head so cohesively as FALLEN, did.  It was September of 2006 and I was in New Orleans, when Kathy and I walked into a bar on Bourbon Street and saw a man playing the keyboard.  He had long, elegant fingers, and his eyes were closed, like he appreciated the music he was creating, and I instantly knew there was a story there.  (Okay, to be honest, that was after I confirmed with Kathy that he was a guy, because for a second, from behind, I thought he was a woman. LOL)   Over the next day, Kathy and I wandered around the French Quarter and came up with the basic outline for what would become FALLEN.  Kathy named the hero Gabriel, for which I owe her thanks. 🙂

 

As an aside, the keyboard player on Bourbon Street has become a friend of mine, and is responsible for choosing the piano piece Gabriel plays for Sara in FALLEN.  It plays in the background of the book trailer for FALLEN on my website, www.erinmccarthy.net, if you’re interested in hearing it.

 

Since the creation of The Impalers, what has been your favorite moment?

I think for me, standing there watching them play at Heather Graham’s conference in New Orleans and thinking, “We did this.  We created this band.”  It was a very cool moment.  Sort of like throwing our own prom. LOL.

 

What’s next for The Impalers?

Someone is going to die.  We just haven’t decided who yet, but we definitely plan to kill off a member on the website.  Oh, the power… LOL.

 

Thank you Erin for taking the time to answer my questions.

 

Readers you can learn more about Erin by visiting her site: www.erinmccarthy.net

And you can learn more about the fictional vampire band, The Impalers, and their human counterparts by visiting:  http://www.vampireband.com/

 

Check back later for my interview with Kathy and scroll down for posts you might have missed.

Also, later this week I have more with the fabulous band, The Impalers, so be sure to come back and check it out!

16 Responses to Interview with Erin McCarthy!

  1. Jane says:

    I’m really looking forward to “Flat Out Sexy.” I love Erin’s contemporaries The cover is hot.

  2. angie-la says:

    “Fallen” sounds so good. I can’t wait to read it.
    Erin…next time I wanna go to NO with you and Kathy so I can meet cool musicians and hang with the interesting crowd!! 😉

  3. limecello says:

    Hi Erin,
    Wow – a busy book schedule for you! For some reason “The Magical Christmas Cat ” jumped out at me – maybe it’s my mood 🙂

  4. Jolene says:

    wow thats one crazy schedule.. i am so anxious for the Power of Love antho to come out.. i think its going to be a wonderful read..

  5. Cherie J says:

    Enjoyed the interview! Wow! That’s alot of releases.

  6. Blanche says:

    Great interview and lucky us……all those releases this year!! 🙂

  7. Virginia H. says:

    Great interview, Fallen sounds like a fantastic book!

  8. Greta says:

    Erin release that are coming out this year, all sound really good. I’ve said earlier and I’m sure I will say it many times. I see both my TBP list and TBR pile growing.

  9. Ann M. says:

    Looking forward to some of your releases this year. Wow… looks like you’ve been busy.

  10. fedora says:

    Thanks for the interview, Erin and Jennifer! And that’s definitely a packed schedule! Congrats on all you’ve got going! (And how exciting that You Don’t Know Jack’s being reissued in MMP! I really enjoyed that story!)

    Wow, the Impalers are probably quaking in their boots… do they have any idea what’s about to hit them? 😉

  11. Lori T says:

    Hi Erin,

    Great interview Erin. Thanks for having such a fun week Jennifer.

    My goodness, you have a lot coming out this year! Fallen looks really good.

    Wow, you are going to kill one of the Impalers??

  12. Thanks, everyone! Sometimes it is a true mystery to me how I end up with so many releases… I looked at that schedule myself and said, did I really write all those?? No wonder I’m tired. 😉

    We are definitely going to kill off an Impaler… just mulling over how to do it. Should he just stumble drunk into the sunlight or should it be something with more impact like a murder? What do you all think?

  13. angie-la says:

    Erin, if you are going kill off an Impaler, it has to be dramatic!
    Y’all think real hard and come up with something spectacular! 😛

  14. Stefanie D says:

    Hi Erin!

    Great interview! I’m really looking forward to reading FALLEN (and all of your other outcoming books):D

  15. bunnyb says:

    Wowwee! The whole list looks interesting!

  16. Cindy says:

    *waving* Hi Erin!

    Awesome interview!! And WOW at the releases this year! LOL

Leave a Reply

