Welcome Writeminded Author Amy Knupp

First, yesterday’s winner of a mini-Writeminded promo pack and goodies from me is:  Stephanie S. (comment #19)
Congratulations!  Please e-mail me using the addy in the sidebar!

 

Today’s guest is Amy Knupp!

 

Amy’s last release, Doctor in Her House is still available online!

 

Living in the moment takes courage. So does love.

 

Katie Salinger has spent most of her adult life looking for the next big adrenaline rush. But the extreme sports journalist faces her greatest challenge when she returns to Lone Oak, Kansas…and meets the attractive, secretive doctor who’s intent on buying her beloved family home.

 

Ever since he returned from Africa, Dr. Noah Fletcher has been haunted by a tragic loss. His hometown thinks he’s a hero, including Katie, the risk-taker, who’s determined to uncover all his secrets. Noah can’t deny their mutual attraction. But he also can’t let her close. Because last time he fell in love, it almost killed him.

 

You can learn more about Amy and her books at her website:   http://www.amyknupp.com

 

Check out Amy’s completed sentences…

 

I am: a Libra and can’t make decisions to save my life.

I like: sugar. Cheesecake, cake, ice cream, candy and any combination.
I love:
my (mostly) sweet, noisy little boys.

I dream:
of finding a way to bottle little boy energy and sell it.
I wish: I could write faster.

I pretend:
I’m sane.
I know:
I’m not sane.
I fear:
the wrath of Sharon/Maya.

I appreciate: my husband’s willingness to listen to me ramble on about plot ideas at 2am.
I hope: my boys have long, happy, healthy lives (and that they don’t marry stupid girls who I dislike. *g*)

I look:
like I got dragged by a freight train.
I read: in the bathtub almost every night.

I want:
dessert that has no calories but tastes like heaven. And six more hours in every day.
I need: to lose 10 pounds.

I will:
start on that the day after tomorrow.
I can: justify just about anything.

I dance to:
make my boys laugh.

I wish I had thought of: post its.
I cannot live without:
banana laffy taffy.
I am happy when:
I can sleep in.

I would like to meet:
Bono.
I am annoyed by:
stupid people, bad drivers, insurance companies and category snobs.
I have always wanted: to like exercising.

I encourage people to:
have another drink.
I think it would be cool if: Sharon/Maya got totally drunk off her a**.

I love to
sing in the car when no one is looking.
I write romance because:
I looooove happily ever afters. And I love the psychology of two people falling in love. 🙂
I would love to know what readers think of: excerpt booklets.

 

Thanks, Amy!

So, what do you think of excerpt booklets, readers?

 

Just like yesterday, if you comment below, you will be entered to win a mini-Writeminded promo pack with bookmarks, magnets, a pen, and goodies from me!

Tomorrow, I will announce the winner and begin another giveaway as I welcome Maya Banks!
So please remember to come back!

29 Responses to Welcome Writeminded Author Amy Knupp

  1. BB says:

    I like them cos you can tell whether or not you’ll enjoy the book. Plus, they’re such teasers! Makes me wish I could read the whole story!! 🙂

  2. Jolene says:

    I enjoy reading excerpts.. makes me want the whole book…thanks for coming to share with us Amy.. the interviews are alway so much fun to read.. wouldnt a dessert like that be nice?

  3. Blanche says:

    Hi Amy!!

    I like excerpts…….I kind of depend on them when I am looking for new stuff to read and I enjoy reading them from authors I do know and love.

    Oh and if you find out how to bottle that energy let me know, I will be in the front of the line to get it!!!

  4. Stefanie D says:

    I love excerpts!! You can take a peek at a completely different genre without having to buy a book you might not like. Or you can take a look at a book you’re waiting for.
    But of course, excerpts also make my TO BUY lists soooo very long. I keep adding books and buying books… Sigh, will I ever have the time to read them all? 😛

  5. Virginia H. says:

    Hi Amy! I love reading excerpts! It gives you a chance to see what the book is all about. Trouble is. It leaves you wanting more. Then you want everything in your TBR list and a person can only read so many books. I don’t know about everyone else but my to buy list just keeps getting larger and larger. I read every night, never miss a night and would read during the day but I want let myself, because I need to exercise.

  6. Amy says:

    Hey everyone, it’s good to hear your opinions on excerpts and excerpt books. I think the reason I was interested is because I am NOT an excerpt person. If I start reading an excerpt, I want to have the whole book available to me! And if I do read one and then buy the book, my memory is bad enough that when I start reading the book later, I wonder if I’ve read the book. lol It’s great to hear you like them because I think most authors are happy to provide them. 🙂

    Blanche, I’ll call you when I get the patent! *g*

    Jolene, yeah, I’m all over dessert!

  7. trish says:

    I like excerpts, they whet the reading appetite and make me want more.

  8. Jane says:

    I’ve never gotten an excerpt booklet before, but I do enjoy excerpts in any form.

  9. RobynL says:

    Excerpt booklets are neat— a way to find out a bit about a book before deciding to buy or not buy. They are handy to tuck into your purse to take along to the next appointment you have where you probably will be sitting in a waiting room for a while before being called in.

  10. Cindi says:

    Hi, For the most part, I really enjoy reading excerpts from books! I think it has to be the right kind of excerpt to grab a person’s attention. I have never gotten an excerpt booklet before. Thanks,Cindi

  11. limecello says:

    Hi Amy,

    I really enjoyed your sentences :). As for excerpt booklets… I like them, but am not THRILLED with them. I think I prefer just the excerpts online. I don’t think they’re much of a prize :X and there’s the whole “save the trees” aspect. Otherwise, I love, need, must have excerpts!

  12. Darla says:

    I love the completed sentences…its a fun way to get to know one!

    I haven’t read any of your books Amy, but I will be taking a look at your site to see whats avaliable.

  13. azteclady says:

    I like the booklets, but I like more things like what Ballantine does for Suzanne Brockmann–they have one or perhaps two short stories: “interviews” with one or more characters: the order, cover, blurb and list of characters for each book in the series, and more.

    Of course I understand that something like that is probably cost-prohibitive for most authors, but personally I love them.

    Something else that I’ve seen recently and that works great for me is the “character cards” (I have seen them for some of Shiloh Walker’s books, and for Patrice Michelle’s Scions trilogy–great idea, IMO)

    Thank you for visiting, Amy! And thank you for hosting, Jennifer Y 😉

  14. Beth R says:

    I really enjoy excerpt booklets

  15. Amy says:

    For those of you who haven’t seen excerpt booklets before, i think they’re becoming more common at conferences. We at Writeminded put one together for RWA national last year as well as RT this year.

    Limecello, glad you enjoyed my entries…it was fun (though a bit daunting) to fill them out! I do have to agree with you about saving trees…that’s the biggest concern with booklets. But i think we’ve decided that it’s probably more fun for people to pick up at conferences than, say, a pen or a magnet (though i love those too!)

    Darla, thanks so much for checking out my books! I hope you find something that appeals there. My stories tend to have very realistic characters you feel like you could meet on the street, and I strive for a combination of emotional circumstances and light-heartedness. 🙂

    Azteclady, I too love what suzanne Brockmann puts out…someday i aspire to such a pretty booklet! It’s so cool when an author has “extras” beyond her books. i haven’t seen the character cards but i’m going to watch for them at national. sounds cool!

    BTW, my shift key has decided not to work every time i hit it so please excuse my random use of capital letters! lol

  16. Ann says:

    Hey Amy, I love excerpts, just about anywhere and in any form: print, on blogs, on web pages. Love ’em. Paperback writer is the one who found the character card building software, so if you check her archives you should be able to find it. They look very well done, and are quite cool. 🙂
    As to the getting Maya drunk, I tried. I even left my bottle of rum in her room at RWA (okay, i forgot it was there).

  17. Valerie Tibbs says:

    Hi Amy! OK – so I’ve met you in person, and you sooooo do not need to lose 10 lbs. Seriously! I need to lose 100 lbs, but that’s a whole other story…

    I’ve never seen an excerpt/booklet. I probably would like them, but I do like them online. It’s fun to see them and to know what’s coming.

    Thanks ladies for this week of WM authors!

    😀

  18. Ann M. says:

    I love excerpts. It is great for those times I don’t get to the bookstore to browse. I feel I’m browsing as I read excerpts.

  19. Amelia says:

    I like reading excerpts booklets because it gives me an idea of what the book is about. But I think I have only seen a few of them given to me as prizes.

  20. Greta says:

    Okay excuse my ignorance but is there a difference between an except and an excerpt booklet. I like excerpt because it gives me a better idea for the feeling of the book, more than just the blurb does.

    Geta

  21. ThatBrunette says:

    My fave: I pretend I’m sane. Me too.

    As for the booklets…Meh. I have a few and haven’t read them. Why waste the paper? I would rather read the excerpt on a website or if it is attached to the end of another novel. I’m not strongly against them, I just see no reason for them.

  22. Jennifer Y says:

    Hi all!

    Greta, an excerpt booklet is a paper version of the excerpts you’d find online….sometimes they are longer, have more info in them, or cover more books than ones you’d read online.

  23. azteclady says:

    You know, I understand that on the one hand, an online excerpt can conceivably reach a bigger audience–and it’s way less expensive than printing one. Plus, I don’t know whether they are effective to attract new readers…

    I know that free content online does help–excerpts, short stories, etc–because it introduces the reader to the author’s writing without risk for the reader, and with relatively small investment for the writer.

    For established fans, though, those booklets with special content (like short stories revisiting favorite characters) are really cool to have.

    Jest sayin’ 😉

    Amy, a question: if a person *coughdon’tlookatmecough* prefers longuish books, is she considered a category snob?

  24. Cindy says:

    I have mixed emotions about excerpts and excerpt booklets.

    I love to read them, but then I usually want to buy the book and I have a TBR Mountain already. LOL

  25. Stephanie S. says:

    I love excerpts! I have found a lot of great books and new to me authors that way.

  26. fedora says:

    I agree with Cindy–I don’t mind reading the excerpt booklets, but then I usually want the books! Like my TBR needs any help!

    Thanks for the interview, Amy! Sorry I missed the first part of the week, Jennifer! Very cool to see Writeminded here 🙂

  27. Jaci Burton says:

    I raised boys too, Amy, though mine are adults now. Yes, you will survive them. 😉

  28. Amy says:

    Azteclady, (sorry for the late response!) I don’t think preferring longer books makes you a category snob. I think of a category snob as someone who shuns all category books, without ever having read any. I myself love long books…they’re great, especially when you want to get into a deep, complex story with lots of characters. But I think if someone never tries category books, they’re missing out on some really great stories! Yep, most of them are shorter (although my line, Superromance, is the longest line…they run about 300 pages.) But most of them have a meaty romance story, just in fewer pages.

    There are so many different category lines…something for everyone, really. All types of stories, so when someone declares that they don’t like category, I have to wonder how many lines they’ve tried.

  29. azteclady says:

    Thank you, Amy!

    I believe that it takes a very special talent to develop characters fully in fewer pages, so it’s not that. It’s just that I read fast, and I like the longer stories because I can stay with the characters and immerse myself in their world for a bit longer.

    Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

