Writeminded Week Begins with Larissa Ione

So as I mentioned yesterday, all this week I am welcoming the Writeminded Authors to the blog. 
I asked them all to complete the sentences and they graciously agreed.

 

First up is author Larissa Ione.

 

Larissa’s upcoming release, Pleasure Unbound hits stores this July!

 

In a place where ecstasy can cost you your life…

She’s a demon-slayer who hungers for sensual pleasure—but fears it will always be denied her. Until Tayla Mancuso lands in a hospital run by demons in disguise, and the head doctor, Eidolon, makes her body burn with unslakable desire. But to prove her ultimate loyalty to her peers, she must betray the surgeon who saved her life.

Two lovers will dare to risk all.

Eidolon cannot resist this fiery, dangerous woman who fills him with both rage and passion. Not only is she his avowed enemy, but she could very well be the hunter who has been preying upon his people. Torn between his need for the truth and his desire to find his perfect mate before a horrific transformation claims him forever, Eidolon will dare the unthinkable—and let Tayla possess him, body and soul…

 

You can learn more about Larissa and her books at her website:  http://www.larissaione.com

She is also one half of Sydney Croft (along with Stephanie Tyler) and you can learn about those books here:  http://www.sydneycroft.com/

 

So let’s see what Larissa had to say when she completed the sentences…

 

I am: politically, a centerist

I like: Pizza

I love: Animals

I dream: When I’m really tired

I wish: The world was a better place

I pretend: I’m rich

I know: How to snow ski

I fear: Balloons, heights, and spiders. Oh, and tubes of refrigerator biscuits scare the crap out of me. Yeah, I’m a freak.

I appreciate: Courteous people

I hope: The world doesn’t end in 2012

I look: Like crap in the morning

I read: Everything

I want: To live in England

I need: My friends and family

I will: Write a Star Trek novel

I can: Tie a cherry stem in a knot with my tongue (lame, I know, but I can’t think of anything else)

I dance to: Country music

I wish I had thought of: Those tools that open hard plastic packaging.  I hate that packaging!

I cannot live without: Coffee

I am happy when: I’m riding a horse

I would like to meet: Princess Diana

I am annoyed by: people who drive slow in the passing lane, bullies, bigots, narrow-minded people, people who text while driving…how many of these can I list?*g*

I have always wanted: To have a theme park all to myself for a day
I encourage people to: see the world

I think it would be cool if: No one wore fur

I love to sing when no one is looking.

I write romance because: I love to fall in love
I would love to know what readers think of: Author acknowledgements and dedications

 

Thanks so much Larissa!

So how about it readers, what do you think of author acknowledgements and dedications?

Do you read them?

Ever been in one?

 

Comment below and you will be entered to win a mini-Writeminded promo pack with bookmarks, magnets, a pen, and goodies from me!

Tomorrow, I will announce the winner and begin another giveaway as I welcome Jaci Burton!
So please remember to come back!

34 Responses to Writeminded Week Begins with Larissa Ione

  1. bunnyb says:

    What fun 🙂

    I read author acknowledgments and dedications when it looks short, fun and witty. If it’s just a long list of names, I don’t really bother. (Maybe that’s cos I’ve never been in one) 😛

  2. […] is Writeminded Week over at Jennifer’s blog, and I’m up today! She did fun interviews with us, so if you want to know what really irritates me, […]

  3. Larissa Ione says:

    Interesting, bunny! I’m pretty much the same way about reading dedications!

  4. limecello says:

    Hi Larissa,

    Cute sentences! Thanks for visiting today. As to the author dedications… I usually read them. [I’ve discovered some are hidden on the copyright page for certain books – so I read those too.] If the dedication is heading on 3 pages, I do skim. Otherwise, I like getting some idea as to what research the author did [people that helped are usually mentioned] – and sometimes the dedications are really witty. There’s one I read years ago but still remember.

  5. Lori T says:

    Hi Larissa,

    I love the list of questions that you asked. It was fun reading them. Many of the same things annoy me, too.

    I do read author dedications even when they are long…I think that they are interesting to read.

    Limecello…what was the dedication that you still remember?

    Have a great day!

  6. Amy says:

    Hey Larissa, I’m truly impressed by your cherry stem trick! *g* I love reading dedications and acknowledgments…unless, like the others said, they are too long.

  7. azteclady says:

    *waving at Larissa* Yeah, she does love animals indeed–how are the baby cardinals doing, do you know?

    Hi, Jennifer! This is a great idea indeed.

    I like acknowledgments and dedications a lot–in fact, I’ve been known to check out authors mentioned in the acknowledgments of books I’ve liked 😀

  8. Ashley V says:

    I think it’s ok if you are scared of popping biscuits, I’m scared of sea horses!

    I like reading dedications and such…It’s a glance into someones life, and I’m damn nosey lol

  9. trish says:

    that was very interesting, in a good way 🙂

  10. Mad says:

    I love reading the dedication/acknowledgments page…I’ve found my name in several because of emailing or chatting with authors online. *G* It always gives me a thrill to see my name in the dedication page.

  11. Jennifer Y says:

    Hi all!

    Thanks for stopping by and a big thanks to the authors.

    I guess I will answer the questions. Like everyone else, I read them unless they get too long. Sometimes I will go back and read them after I have finished the book.

    As for being in any…I have been in two…one because the author had a contest and I helped her with naming characters and another because I begged the author to write a sequel to her first book (and she did and it sold…it was an ebook).

  12. catslady says:

    I always read everything – I figure if the author thought enough to add it to her book that it is important enough to read 🙂 It always gives me some insight.

  13. anne says:

    I enjoy reading the dedication and acknowledgments page always. It is interesting and provides me with new information.

  14. Jaci Burton says:

    I always read the acknowledgements and dedications. I find them fascinating and many make me go ‘awwwwww’.

    So now I know I can scare Larissa with a tube of biscuits. bwahahahahaha!

  15. Blanche says:

    Hi Larrisa!! Great answers to great questions!!

    I love to read the acknowledgements……..I read from cover to cover!!

  16. Jennifer Y says:

    LOL Jaci! I am still trying to figure out the tube of biscuits myself. They seem so harmless lying on the grocery store shelf.

    As for balloons, Larissa, do you mean the hot air balloons or do you mean the kind you blow up or fill with helium?

  17. Larissa Ione says:

    Wow–you guys have been busy while I’ve been on the elliptical and cleaning the house (inspection on Wednesday, and since I’ll be laid up with a root canal tomorrow, I figured I’d better clean today!)

    Azteclady, I haven’t heard anything about the baby birds recently. 😦

    As for the dedications, I always read them…and in the book I just turned in (the second Demonica book,) I mentioned the Writeminded Readers! *g*

    Jennifer, the balloons are the blow-up ones. I hate them. HATE THEM. I’m always living in fear that they’ll pop. That’s why the refrigerator biscuit/cinnamon roll/cookie tubes scare me. I can’t stand that little explosion when you twist them. I make my husband open them! LOL

  18. ThatBrunette says:

    It’s the return of ‘complete the sentences’!!!

    I would love to read your Star Trek novel. Which cast would you choose or, would you make completely new characters.

    I can tie a cherry stem into a knot, too. It’s a great bar trick. I’ve won a few drinks doing that. Okay…not recently.

    Princess Diana might be a bit hard to meet but, I know of a few people who insist they could help you get in contact

    I’ve been promised a spot in a dedication but was left out. Since I don’t plan on writing a novel, it is a close as I will get. I think it is kinda neat..

  19. Virginia H. says:

    Thanks for joining us Larissa. Its nice to see you here. I really enjoy your books. Great interview by the way.

  20. Jane says:

    I do read the acknowledgments, but I’ve never been in one. I just like to know who or what inspired the author and their story. Do you sing karaoke?

  21. RobynL says:

    I do read author acknowledgements Larissa.
    I, too, am afraid of the refrigerator biscuit tubes when opening them. Even though I know the tube is going to pop(actually explode) I get scared everytime and holler.

  22. Ann M says:

    I always read acknowledgments. I figure it was important to the writer to write them – they helped out with the book somehow, I should take the time to read.
    .
    I loved your finishing the sentences. You read everything.. do you find yourself reading cereal boxes and other material at the kitchen table? Our family is a family of readers and words in a row mean one must read. 🙂

    Found a way to connect with the world (dh purchased some internet time.) Waves hi from our serviced apartment. Can’t stay away from our WriteMinded Authors

  23. Greta says:

    I do read the author acknowledgements and dedications, it gives me a glimpse into the authors and where they were when they were writing the book. I have never been mentioned in an acknowledgement. I’d probably faint on the spot if I saw my name in an acknowledgement.

    I too also hopes the world does not end in 2012, I have too many books on my TBP to get and too many books in my TBR pile.

    Greta

  24. Jennifer Y says:

    See, this whole biscuit-tube discussion has me thinking of that episode of “Mythbusters” where they tested the biscuit tubes in a hot car to see if they would explode.

    Anyway, glad to see so many familiar “faces” here!!!

  25. Beth R says:

    I always read them

  26. Wendy says:

    Hi, Larissa!

    You can tie a cherry stem with your tongue?! Man, that’s some serious talent (really!) I can’t do that, and I’ve tried!

    Great post! 😀

  27. limecello says:

    Jennifer,

    Wait – now I’m curious. Did it explode? [Also – am I totally making this up? Will pop cans explode in your car if it gets too hot? I know for sure they do if it’s too cold…]
    And Larissa- we almost never have canned biscuits [I think we’ve bought them 3 times in my life?] but I looooooooooove opening them!
    Also, I’m super impressed with the cherry stem thing. I couldn’t even get the starburst unwrapped when I tried… [I’m convinced people cheat.]

  28. Helen says:

    I always read them love them I have never been in one though. Great answers to the questions

    Have Fun
    Helen

  29. Jennifer Y says:

    limecello: If I am remembering correctly, they tested different brands and types of biscuits and simulated conditions in a hot car….and yes, some of them did explode…eventually. They were testing the myth/story of the woman who thought she had been shot in the head when she got in her car and was holding her brains in, but when paramedics arrived they discovered it was biscuit dough from an exploded pack that was in the back.

    That’s my random rambling for the day…LOL.

  30. limecello says:

    Jennifer – *blink* …. *blink* … *blink blink blink*
    You jest. I know you don’t but… I wish you did. She [thought she] was … holding her brain in? I mean… was she holding the dough? [Did she notice the dough?] and… well there’s nothing more for me to say.

  31. Larissa Ione says:

    ThatBrunette, the Star Trek question is a tough one. I have ideas for the main characters in classic Trek, TNG, and DS9. I just need to settle on one!

    Thanks, Virginia!

    Jane, I SO don’t read karaoke! OMG, I suck!!!

    Robyn, so glad I’m not the only one afraid of those biscuits! LOL

    Ann, I do read cereal boxes and stuff! If there’s a word written on something, I read it! *g*

    Greta, it would definitely be a bummer to not get to read all the books in my TBR pile!

    Thanks, Helen!

    Hi Beth and Wendy!

    Jennifer — they did that on Mythbusters! It was so funny. I love that show!

  32. Stephanie S. says:

    I usually read dedications and acknowledgements. I read a lot of things. I have yet to be in one but maybe one day.

  33. Amelia says:

    Hi Jennifer and Larissa,

    I try to read the acknowledgements and dedications whenever possible. No, I have not been in the acknowledgements before. If I was, that would be amazing. 🙂

    Thank you so much Jennifer for have the Writeminded Authors here on your blog this week.

  34. Valerie Tibbs says:

    I didn’t get a chance to post here yesterday, but I’ve only read Snowbound – and I loved it. I do love the Sydney Croft books and am looking forward to the next one!

    I’ve never been in a dedication, but I always read them. Some are just hysterical!

    Thanks Jennifer for having the WM ladies here this week!

    Valerie

Leave a Reply

