Introducing…Nancy Haddock!

 Today I welcome author Nancy Haddock!

Nancy visited my blog back in November and told us more about the inspiration behind her new release, La Vida Vampire.

Now she is back to talk more about her wonderful book and more…

 

lvv.jpg

Please tell us about your book.
LA VIDA VAMPIRE is the story of 227-year-old Cesca Marinelli, a vampire who was turned in 1800 and has been buried for over 200 years.  Maggie O’Halloran rescues Cesca during a house renovation and gets her up to speed with the 21st Century.

 

Cesca is determined to make the most of her new lease on afterlife, and everything is peachy until she finds a body. Now she’s a murder suspect who must join forces with hunky preternatural investigator Deke Saber to find the real killer.

 

What inspired the story?

Cesca was conceived while I was watching a peanut butter commercial, but the city of St. Augustine was a huge piece of the inspiration as I built a world for the main character and her cohorts.

 

Who would you cast in a film adaptation of your book?
Wow, great question!  I’ve actually talked that over with someone in the industry, but we didn’t come up with many names.  I have adapted the book to a screenplay, and am revising that now.  The project isn’t sold, but there appears to be some general interest, which is waaaay cool!

 

What is your favorite part of being a writer?  Least favorite?

My favorite part of writing is going out to play with my characters, finding out what they’re up to, what new insights on life they have.  My least favorite?  Hmmm, as a woman who is without makeup most of the time, I’d say dressing up for an appearance is my least favorite part of being “a writer.”  Love the meeting people, not the prep for it. <g>

 

Do you have a “call story” you would like to share? Or how did you learn you would be published?
I learned I’d be published when Leis Pederson call me on February 21st of last year.  When she said, “We want to make you an offer,” I almost fell over!  After all the years of work and hope, I was selling?  I have no idea what I said initially, but I finally allowed myself a little squeal of excitement.  Then I stood in my office absorbing the news for about two minutes before I ran up stairs to my hubby’s office to tell him the news.  I think he was more excited.  I was still stunned.

 

Since becoming a published author what has been your favorite moment?

My favorite moment has been an on-going one, and began when I told my mother I’d sold.  She is still so excited, it just tickles me.

 

Who has inspired you as a writer?

Oh, gosh, so very many authors have inspired me!  Lorraine Heath, Judith McNaught, Maggie Osborne, Pearl Buck, Georgette Heyer, Kathleen Givens.  There’s a huge list just of mystery authors who’ve been an inspiration!

 

What would you like to tell aspiring writers?

Be real with yourself.  If you love writing, the entire process, warts and all, then go for it with conviction, and persist in your path!

 

Describe yourself in 3 words.
Spiritual, idealistic, pragmatic.  (My hubby said beautiful, lovely and cute, but he was just after the Honey Points. <g> )

 

How do you relax?

I walk on the beach, sit on the beach, meditate on the beach, think about being on the beach … I guess you see the trend, huh?  In addition to beachy activities, I relax by reading, doing Sudoku puzzles, and watching TV or a favorite movie.

 

What do you like to read?
I read a bit of everything in fiction and nonfiction, but utterly devour mysteries and romances.  I tend to like the light tone in any entertainment, but a walk on the dark side is fun, too!

 

If you had a time capsule to be opened 50 years in the future, what would you put in it?

You know that feeling when you experience an incredible moment of joy — your heart opening wide to complete, unconditional, pure love?  That’s what I’d put in.  One moment of that joy for everyone who’s ever lived, or ever will.

 

What is next for you?

I’m doing polish revisions on Book Two in Cesca’s series, and hope to be writing more of her books in the near future.  I’m also working on a cozy mystery series, and on several screenplays.

 

What would you like to ask readers?

What is your favorite “classic” book, and what’s your favorite you’ve read recently? (If you can pick just one. <g> )

 

Thank you Nancy for that great interview!

 

Nancy is giving away a copy of LA VIDA VAMPIRE to one lucky commenter to be chosen at random by a drawing.

So how about answering her questions…

 

And do you want another chance to win … all year long?  Visit Nancy’s website, www.nancyhaddock.com, and go to the Beach Party page.  Read the center section (Where’s Cesca), and take a guess as to where Cesca is spotted each month.

 

You can also join Nancy on

My Space — http://www.myspace.com/nancyhaddock

Shelfari — http://www.shelfari.com/nancyhaddock

 

And check back tomorrow when I post my review of La Vida Vampire! 

59 Responses to Introducing…Nancy Haddock!

  1. Ana says:

    Hi Nancy and great interview Jennifer. One of my favorite classic authors is Charles Dickens and his book “The Haunted-House” and of course “A Christmas Carol”. What I just finished reading was “The Lure of the Wolf “by Jennifer St. Giles and “Seduced by Magic” by Cheyenne McCray.

  2. Kath Calarco says:

    Nancy, great interview, and Jennifer, fabulous question. I found myself answering them as if they were directed to me.

    Favorite classic, if it qualifies as a classic, is J.D Salinger’s “Catcher in the Rye”. Timeless, which to me makes it a classic, and maybe because I still have the paperback from when it was a required read. (Class of ’72…*sigh*)

    Other than Nancy’s book, which pulled my butt out of an abysmal day, I’ve read Stephen Dunn’s “Between Angels” a collection of his poetry, and Samantha Hunt’s “Invention of Everything Else” a novel about Nikola Tesla.

  3. Hi Ana!

    Oooh, I forgot all about Dickens’s “The Haunted-House!” I’m putting that on my TBR list along with “The Lure of the Wolf” and “Seduced by Magic” — two books that are already on the list!

    Thanks so much for stopping by to share, and have a wonderful Friday … and the weekend beyond!

    Light,
    Nancy

  4. Hi Kathy!

    Thank you so much for stopping by! I’ve heard great things about “Invention of Everything Else,” and I’m fascinated with Nickola Tesla. What was your take on the novel?

    Happy Friday and weekend, Kathy! You’re such a sweetie!

    Light,
    Nancy

  5. LaDonna says:

    Nancy, great interview and your positive energy just shines, girl! Your time-capsule answer made my day and had me smiling!

    Hmmm, I’m a little behind on reading now. I absolutely loved Nancy Drew mysteries growing up, priceless! And my most recent read was the TWILIGHT series, I’m on the third now. Stephenie Meyer is the author. And, of course, yours is on the way! Can’t wait to read it btw, the buzz is stunning! And I love the beach so much too…I live for vacations there! FL here I come!

  6. Edie says:

    Nancy, great interview! So, is eating peanut butter the key to creativity? I’m game for that. Love your time capsule answers!

    My favorite classic is probably Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen. I’ve just re-read Save the Cat! by Blake Snyder, and that was worth reading a second time.

    I have your book, Marcia’s, and LaDonna’s coming from Amazon. Can’t wait to get them and go on a reading frenzy.

  7. Amberkatze says:

    HI there Nancy!

    We have to stop meeting like this 😉

    Hope you are doing well!

    Amber

  8. Hi LaDonna!

    Thank you for stopping by! I have your book and Marcia’s on order, and am eager for them to arrive on my doorstep!

    I loved Nancy Drew growing up, too. And The Hardy Boys, and about anything else I could get my hands on. I need to get back to the Twilight series, too — thanks for the reminder! (I love building my TBR pile! 🙂 )

    You are so sweet to Order La Vida Vampire, and I hope you’ll enjoy it! The buzz has been incredible — I feel most blessed! And, when you come to FL, come see me! We’ll “do” St. Augustine!

    Light,
    Nancy

  9. Edie, my darling! How great to see you — thank you for coming by!

    Jan Austen is an ongoing favorite of mine, too. And I do love the movies made of her books! I haven’t read Save the Cat! yet, but keep hearing raves about it.

    Oh, and since were tossing out classic titles, I have to share something fun with ya’ll. While I was in Tulsa seeing my mom and having a few signings, I was in an independent bookstore that’s been in Tulsa for 50-60 years. Steve’s Sundry, Books & Magzines still has a soda fountain! They also have a lot of children’s books — the Little Golden Books from my childhood. While browsing with one of the two friends I’ve known since the cradle, we found some of the books we used to have — including “Nurse Nancy!” It’s a big joke that I had a book “named” after me, but my two friends from the cradle were the ones who became nurses.

    Yes, I snapped up the book, laughed about it with my friends and my mother, and I’m treasuring the memories it stirs each time I so much as glance at the cover. (Original cover art — with bandaids inside! :)) Have ya’ll ever run across a favorite book from your childhood?

    Edie, enjoy your reading frenzy, and have a fabulous weekend!!

    Light,
    Nancy

  10. Hi, Amber!!

    LOL, dear heart! Anytime and anywhere we meet is terrific!

    If ya’ll don’t know Amber, she is a lovely lady who originally hails from Wales, and is now living in Vienna, Austria. She also has a super blog, and is a reviewer to boot!

    Have a wonderful weekend, Amber!

    Light,
    Nancy

  11. Stefanie D says:

    Hi Nancy!!

    Great interview!!

    My favorite classic is Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen. My favorite I’ve recently read is (hmm, this is hard) DARK LIES by Vivi Anna. But I read so many good books, that my favorite could be a different one tomorow.:P

  12. Hi Stefanie!

    Oooh, DARK LIES sounds very intriguing. I believe that’s the sound of my TBR pile tipping over. Time to triple stack books! 🙂

    Thank you so much for stopping by to visit and leave a comment! Have a delightful weekend!

    Light,
    Nancy

  13. Hi Nancy (From one of your new DARA members). Terrific interview.

    Your book sounds wonderful and I must confess, I haven’t read it yet.

    Best book lately would be Night Mischief by Nina Bruhns. (But as a side note to Stefanie D, I read Dark Lies and it was wonderful)

    Classic would be the Scarlet Letter.

  14. Crystal B. says:

    My favorite classic is Ernest Hemingway’s A Farewell to Arms. A recent book I have enjoyed is Maverick Wild by Stacey Kayne.

  15. Cyndi! How great to see you!

    Okay, my TBR may consist of 10 stacks of books by the day’s end! Thanks for recommending NIGHT MISCHEIF and DARK LIES!

    If you elect to read La Vida Vampire, I’ll be tickled to hear back from you. If you don’t, no sweat. LVV is not a dark read, so it may not be your preference.

    Thanks so much for dropping in, Cyndi, and have a fabbo weekend! BTW, are the dogwoods in bloom in Arkansas? They weren’t in Tulsa, but the red bud trees and tulips were gorgeous! 🙂

    Light,
    Nancy

  16. Dogwood blooms are falling off the trees as I write this. My azaleas are in full bloom. Look at my bio page of my website. I posted pictures of my dogwoods in bloom a couple of years ago.

    I plan to read La Vida Vampire. I’ve just had a boatload of contest book entries to get read and scored! Plus, I got hook on Robert Crais’s Elvis Cole series and can’t stop reading one after another, etc.

  17. Cindi says:

    Hello, A very interesting interview! I enjoy learning about the person behind a book. My favorite classic book is “To Kill a Mockingbird!” It seems I pick up something new every
    time I reread it! The book I have read most recently is “Marley & Me” by John Grogan. I loved the book; partly because I am a dog lover. Thanks,Cindi

  18. Aunty Cindy says:

    Hi Nancy!
    GREAT interview, and like LaDonna, your time capsule answer made my day!

    Gosh, it’s hard to pick just one classic, I loved so many… During Christmas vacation my junior year of high school, I read “Gone with the Wind”, every last word of it! WHEW! My nose was buried the entire two weeks and I was enthralled. Oh, and I had a huge collection of Golden Books too! My fave was “The Pokey Little Puppy.” 🙂

    A book I finished lately and can’t wait to read the sequel is “Silent in the Grave” by Deanna Raybourn. But currently the TOP of my TBR pile is occupied by “La Vida Vampire!” I loved St. Augustine and can’t wait to see it portrayed in your book.

    Cindy

  19. Hi Crystal!

    Thanks so much for stopping by to share your classic and recent favorite books! I have added Stacey Kayne to my list of authors to read!

    Have a happy weekend!

    Light,
    Nancy

  20. Ooooh, Cyndi!

    I LOVE Robert Crais and his Elvis Cole novels! I devoured him like you’re doing, and read his not-Elvis novels, too! I did the same thing with Robert Parker — I love all his series!

    I’ll go peek at your web site again. Thanks for the reminder that the dogwoods are there to enjoy!

    Light,
    Nancy

  21. Hi Cindi!

    TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD is one of my classic favs, too, tho I haven’t reread it in a long time. MARLEY & ME is another book I’ve heard great things about but have yet to read. Thank you for the recommendation. (I love dogs, too. And cats. :))

    Have an awesome weekend!!

    Light,
    Nancy

  22. Teresa W. says:

    My favorite classic would also have to be Gone With The Wind. I recently read Twilight by Stephanie Meyer’s and loved it, I have the nest book in the series and I’m looking forward to it. My favorite genre to read is paranormal (I’m all about the vamps). I’ve been an avid reader of all Sherrilyn Kenyon’s Dark-Hunter series and read every one of them. I’m also now a big fan of Colleen Gleason’s Gardella Chronicles. Your a new author for me and your release sounds right up my alley, glad to see you here today.

  23. Hi Aunt Cindy! It’s so wonderful to see you again — thank you for stopping by!

    Steve’s sundry had POKEY LITTLE PUPPY, too. I couldn’ve gone nuts in there just buying all the books I loved as a girl. (And, okay, still love. Nothing with being a child at heart, right?)

    Ahhh. GONE with the WIND! And you’ve been to St. Augustine, right? Did you go to Scarlett’s while you were here? Next time you’re coming to St. Aug again, let me know. We’ll “do” Scarlett’s. Without the hats and hoop skirts. 🙂

    I’m hearing marvelous things about Deanna Raybourn’s series, so thank you for the further recommendation! And, dear Aunt Cindy, thank you for putting LA VIDA VAMPIRE at the TOP of your TBR pile. I hope you’ll enjoy the book, and seeing St. Augustine through Cesca’s eyes.

    Wishing you weekend fun!

    Light,
    Nancy

  24. Hi Nancy!!

    Great Q&A. Love your answer to the time capsule question. Very well put, and a lovely thought. And wow!! I absolutely love the premise of your book. It’s not the usual vampire premise (big bad vamp with lots of powers, vamp who abhors being a vamp…). Can’t wait to read it! And best of luck in your career. You’re off to a fine start, and have been such a warm and giving person since I’ve known you. Thank you.

    As for your question… my classic? Not sure if I can pick just one. Charlotte Bronte’s Jane Eyre, Judith McNaught’s Whitney My Love and Kingdom of Dreams (actually, all her historicals do it for me), Jude Devereaux’s Knight in Shining Armor, and Lyyn Kurland’s The More I See You.

    Great book I read recently? Nora’s Circle Trilogy — Morrigan’s Cross, Dance of the Gods, and Valley of Silence. It’s a vampire / time travel / fantasy. Very well written. She has this one vampire character, Cian, who I’m completely in love with.

    Hugs,
    Mai

  25. Jennifer Y says:

    Thanks everyone for stopping by and commenting today…and thanks again Nancy for being a guest.

    I would highly recommend La Vida Vampire, by the way, for those who like fun paranormals/mysteries/romances…LOL. It was such a fun read and I loved Cesca! I was re-reading it last night, in fact, and I think the reason I love her so much is her personality and mine are very similar…LOL. She said things I would have said or would have wanted to say…did that make sense? Cesca is someone I’d love to be friends with. I was smiling throughout the book and it definitely made me want to go back to St. Augustine. It was so neat seeing places I knew. La Vida Vampire is a fun read…I will post my review of it here on the blog sometime tomorrow night.

    As for Nancy’s question…a classic book that I loved as kid was a Golden Book called The Store-Bought Doll about a little girl who owns a rag doll and receives a store-bought one as a gift. She loves her new doll, but soon realizes that she can’t do all the fun things she had done with her old doll because she might mess up the new one. It has probably been 20 years since I read that story and I can’t remember the author, but I can vividly recall all of the illustrations and the story.

    I also loved (and still love) Nancy Drew, Jane Eyre, Little House on the Prairie and other books.

    As for recent books that I have enjoyed those include Jory Strong’s Supernatural Bonds series (Books 1 and 3…still haven’t read 2), La Vida Vampire by Nancy Haddock, Learning to Breathe by Karen White, and many more. I can never pick just one 😉

  26. Jennifer Y says:

    Ahhh. GONE with the WIND! And you’ve been to St. Augustine, right? Did you go to Scarlett’s while you were here? Next time you’re coming to St. Aug again, let me know. We’ll “do” Scarlett’s. Without the hats and hoop skirts.

    When I went to St. Augustine that is where we had lunch one day and I loved it!

  27. Beth R says:

    My favorite classic is To Kill A Mockingbird. i love the way the main character stands up for what is right even at great sacrifice to himself and his children.

  28. Hi Teresa!

    Thanks so much for stopping by to chat! I love Sherrilyn’s Dark-Hunter series, too, and have been hearing of the Gardella Chronicles. Oh, boy! More books to put on my list — thank you!

    I’m honored to be a new author for you, and I hope you’ll enjoy LA VIDA VAMPIRE. As I’ve said, it’s a lighter tone – just fair warning. But I do hope you’ll enjoy it!

    Have a fabulous weekend!

    Light,
    Nancy

  29. Virginia H. says:

    Hi Nancy

    Glad to see you here. My favorited classic is Gone With the Wind. My favorite read lately has been Elizabeth Hoyt’s The Leopard Prince. Its a great book.

  30. Diana Cosby says:

    Nancy,
    I love that La Vida Vampire was inspired by a peanut butter story – too funny! My sincere best that your career is fabulous!!!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com

  31. Helen says:

    Great interview Ladies

    Favourite classic would probably be Ashes In The Wind by Kathleen Woodiwiss it is a classic to me loved it

    I have read a lot of great books lately Seduced By Sin by Kimberly Logan was fanstastic as well as Never Trust A Scoundrel by Gayle Callen and I am reading Tracy Garrett’s Touch Of Texas at the moment loving it

    As for the golden books I am reading those at the moment to my 2 year old grandson who loves them we have a nice collection of them for him Pokey Little Puppy and Saggy Baggy Elelephant are a couple that we have got for him alredy.

    Have Fun
    Helen

  32. anne says:

    Wonderful interview Nancy. Thanks as it was interesting and enjoyable. My favorite classic author is Daphne Du Maurier. I have read all of her novels and have been enthralled and captivated with the plots and the writing. A book that I enjoyed recently was A Thread of Grace by mary Doria Russell.

  33. Hello, Mai!

    Oooh, Judy McNaught’s historicals are wonderful, aren’t they? I like her contemporaries, too, though I’m behind on them! Jude Devereaux is another of my favorite authors, and I’ll have to find The More I See You. Nora’s Circle Trilogy is another group of books on my list. Oh, my, I’d better get crackin’ if I’m gonna catch up on my reading list!

    Thank you so much for your good wishes on my career (and thanks to all of you for your good wishes, too!). ALL my best wishes back at each one of you! Let’s create an ever widening circle of success energy!

    Have a fun weekend!

    Light,
    Nancy

  34. Hello, my gracious hostess, Jennifer!

    Thank you so much for your praise of LA VIDA VAMPIRE! And, next time you’re coming to town, let me know! We can hit Scarlett’s or anywhere else you’d like!

    Okay, I have to call Steve’s and see if they have The Store-Bought Doll. I love the premise, and I want to see the illustrations! This whole walk down the Memory Lane of favorite books is such fun — and I’m loving the books piling up on my list to read!

    I’ll talk with you later, Jennifer!

    Light,
    Nancy

  35. Beth wrote: My favorite classic is To Kill A Mockingbird. i love the way the main character stands up for what is right even at great sacrifice to himself and his children.

    I completely agree, Beth! That kind of courage is inspiring … and sometimes too rare. What a gift to be able to revist it whenever we like.

    Thank you so much for stopping by to comment today, and have a lovely weekend!

    Light,
    Nancy

  36. Hi Virginia!

    THE LEOPARD PRINCE is another book on my list — thanks for the recommendation!

    Does it occur to ya’ll that bookstores should give us HUGE discounts for buying all these books? Just something to ponder. 🙂

    Thank you for stopping by Jennifer’s blog to comment, Virginia! Have yourself a fantastic weekend!

    Light,
    Nancy

  37. Hi Helen!

    What a treat to have you stop by — thank you!

    I loved everything Kathleen Woodiwiss wrote, and I agree it is a classic. Thanks for your recommendations for SEDUCED BY SIN and NEVER TRUST A SCOUNDREL. I’ve read Tracy Garrett’s TOUCH OF TEXAS, and I loved it, too!

    Okay, ladies, I promise you I’m calling Steve’s next week. Or maybe tomorrow! I’m asing about POKEY LITTLE PUTTY, SAGGY BAGGY ELEPHANT, and THE STORE-BOUGHT DOLL. Heck, I may ask for a book list of Little Golden Book titles they carry! This is too fun!

    Enjoy your weekend!

    Light,
    Nancy

  38. Diana, you sweetie!

    Thank you so much for stopping by, esp. when you’re busy packing to move to Texas this summer. You must be so busy between the move and your writing. (Diana’s debut book HIS CAPTIVE is wonderful!)

    Thanks for your good wishes, Diana, and I hope you can creat some time to relax this weekend … or better, every day!

    Light,
    Nancy

  39. Hi Anne!

    Thank you for taking the time to stop by and comment!

    I have about a half dozen Daphne Du Maurier books -old copies, as my mom got me hooked not only on books but on old books. 🙂 She was an amazing writer!

    A THREAD OF GRACE is new to me, but it’s on my list now — too cool!

    Have a lovely weekend!

    Light,
    Nancy

  40. Hi All!

    I’ll continue checking in to answer comments, but will be away for a while to do a book signing at Starbucks this evening. I’m there so much, they graciously agreed to let me sign at the store. And, if no one attends the signing, I’ll get to feast on white mochas for a few hours. 🙂

    Until later,
    Nancy

  41. Jessica says:

    Nancy,
    So glad to see you back here! We’re loving La Vida! Congrats on the book signing – can’t wait to hear how it went . . .
    Hugs,
    Jessica

  42. Wendy says:

    Hi, Nancy! Great interview! 😀

    I love, love, LOVE A Hunger Like No Other by Kresley Cole. I’ve read several times and every time I like it even more, it’s definitely one of my favorites ever!

  43. Patti Fischer says:

    Jennifer has been raving about La Vida Vampire to me! It’s definitely going onto my tbb list.

  44. Hi Jessica!

    Thank you for the welcome back, and I’m so thrilled ya’ll are enjoying La Vida Vampire!

    The signing was very small and intimate, but nice. We sold enough books to donate $45 to Hospice of North Florida, and I think the Starbucks partners may be adding a bit to the pot. Not a fortune, but a book signing on a Friday night isn’t a big draw. 🙂

    Woohoo, it’s almost the Saturday! Have a super weekend!

    Light,
    Nancy

  45. Hi Wendy!

    Thank you for the compliment on the interview. That’s all thanks to Jennifer!

    I love A Hunger Like No Other, too! It was great to meet Kresley Cole recently at Dreamin’ in Dallas, wasn’t it?

    Create a lovely weekend for yourself, Wendy, and thank you so much for stopping by to comment!

    Light,
    Nancy

  46. Hi Patti!

    I’m honored you’re putting La Vida Vampire on your TBB list, and I hope you’ll enjoy it!

    (And Jennifer, dear heart, thank you for passing on your enthusiasm! :))

    Happy weekend, Patti!

    Light,
    Nancy

  47. I know it’s late, but it’s still Friday here in Tucson. 🙂
    Hi Nancy I have your book on my TBR for the next time I hit the bookstore. Can not wait to read it.! Congratulations and thanks for steering me to such a great site.

    Elaine

  48. Mary f says:

    Hi Nancy

    Great interview

    As a kid I remember glomming Trixie Beldon.

    Enjoy Robert Crais anything. Janet Evanovich, Christine Feehan. Mary Janice Davidson, Susan E Phillips.

    Jennifer pulled me in since she knows I like paranormal…. sounds like a must read to me 🙂

    Mary f

    Thanks Jenn 🙂

  49. Amelia says:

    Hi Nancy, I would pick The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger.

  50. Elaine! How are you liking Tucson??

    Thanks for putting La Vida Vampire on your TBR list — and for stopping by!! Jennifer has a cool site, doesn’t she?

    Take care of you and have a mahvelous weekend!

    Light,
    Nancy

  51. Hi Mary!

    Ohmygosh! Trixie Beldon! I totally forgot about that series! Thanks for the reminder!

    I’m with you on your other favs — Crais, Evanovich, Feehan, MJ Davidson, and S E Phillips. All fantastic authors! I’m behind on the books by all of them, but catching up soon! 🙂

    I hope you’ll enjoy La Vida Vampire if you decide to read it. Not that Jennifer would steer you wrong, of course! 🙂

    Have a super weekend, Mary, and thank you for stopping by to comment!

    Light,
    Nancy

  52. Hello, Amelia!

    I’ve heard good things about The Time Traveler’s Wife, but haven’t snagged it yet. Thank you for the recommendation, AND for stopping by to chat!

    Happy weekend!

    Light,
    Nancy

  53. limecello says:

    Hi Nancy & Jennifer,
    Great interview. WOW I missed a lot yesterday! When I think “classic” books – I can’t help but go with Classics. My favorite… seems cliche, but it’s true. I love Jane Austen – Mansfield Park, Persuasion, Pride and Prejudice… but one less people know is Wives and Daughters by Elizabeth Gaskell. Or The Count of Monte Cristo by Dumas – or The Scarlet Pimpernel (also a hilarious movie) by the Baroness Emmuska Orczy.

  54. Hi Limecello!

    Oooh, you’ve named some GREAT Classics! I loved The Count of Monto Cristo, and the Scarlet Pimpernel. (The book and the movie!)

    Thank you so much for stopping by, and have a terrific weekend!

    Light,
    Nancy

  55. Kath Calarco says:

    Nancy, I’m such a slacker. I meant to return to this blog yesterday, but alas, I forgot.

    What I liked best about “Invention of Everything Else” was that it was written first person from Tesla’s POV, yet third person for everyone else. For instance, scenes that of just the other characters were third-person. It also involved an actual time machine, and has a very unexpected ending. Also, the author traveled back to when Tesla first arrived to the US, as well as keeping in the present. All in all, it was a historical, time-travel, bio and mystery rolled into one.

    I might purchase it so I can read it again.

  56. bunnyb says:

    Hi Nancy,

    Great interview! I love Sudoku too!

    My fave classic would be “The Picture of Dorian Gray” by Oscar Wilde and my fave current book is “The Goose Girl” by Shannon Hale! 🙂

    Hope you’re having a fab weekend!
    Ta!

  57. danette says:

    Hi Nancy,

    Great interview. I’m with you on the beach being the most relaxing place, anytime I need to calm my mind or kick back its where I go.

    The best books I’ve read recently is Personal Demons by Stacia Kane and Hotter After Midnight by Cynthia Eden, both have psycologist as their protagonist, but are two fast paced interesting reads.

    Hugs, Danette

  58. Judi - Sidhe says:

    Great Interview! I enjoyed reading it. 🙂

    Does Bram Stoker’s Dracula count as a classic? Or Anne Rice’s Interview With The Vampire? LOL Those are about as classic as I get.

    Recent favorite reads include Jennifer Rardin – Biting The Bullet and Adrian Phoenix – A Rush Of Wings.

    Happy Sunday!

  59. ThatBrunette says:

    Jane Eyre is one of my faves. I usually read it every few year.

    My question for you: Why vampires? Why not werewolves or zombies?

Leave a Reply

