Sunday Special…

Okay, so I thought we’d have a little fun today…

I have done this before and thought I’d go ahead and do it again here. 
As I mentioned the first time I did this, I love first lines of books.  The right first line can really hook a reader and make him or her want to know more.

So I thought I would ask:
What is the first line of the book you are currently reading?

Remember to tell us the author and title so we can give credit to the author because all lines are copyright of the authors who wrote them!

I’ll start…here is the first line of the book I am reading today:

“As assignments went, this one was odd.” – Riding Wild by Jaci Burton

12 Responses to Sunday Special…

  1. Teresa W. says:

    Blood had its own scent. I just received this ARC-Hidden by Eve Kenin.

  2. Jane says:

    “She had the look of a woman on a mission.”-“Into the Mist” by Maya Banks

  3. fedora says:

    After the carriage wreck and a bit before the horses ran away, Lady Georgina Maitland noticed that her land steward was a man.
    –The Leopard Prince, Elizabeth Hoyt

  4. Greta says:

    “I don’t want you to go back on the job yet.”
    Sweet Surrender
    Maya Banks

  5. Virginia H. says:

    Vampires are everywhere. Real Vampires Have Curves by Gerry Bartlett.

    Hey Fedora that is a fantastic book you are reading, I just loved it.

  6. fedora says:

    Thanks, Virginia–I just finished it and really enjoyed it, too! Looking forward to The Serpent Prince 🙂

  7. Eva S says:

    “We dare you to kiss the baddest boy at Western High”, Suzi said , wicked glee coating her words.
    -Does She Dare, Tawny Weber

  8. Kelly Kirch says:

    Not reading at the moment. Am writing my fingers into nubs. But the first line of the one I am working on is: ““Exactly how does one lose her voice on her wedding holiday?” Miss Marie Cunningham asked gamely.”

    Enh. It’s a rough draft but you get the idea.

    Kelly
    http://www.KellyKirch.com

  9. Lois says:

    Lady Lucinda Witherspoon paused in her reading and glanced at her rapt audience.

    It Takes A Hero by Elizabeth Boyle. 🙂

    Lois

  10. Paula says:

    Zzzft. Thud!

    – Cherry Adair: Edge of Darkness

    (Ok, that’s two lines if we’re splitting hairs…)

  11. Helen says:

    He was back
    I saw him once when I was very young, a creature who was not of this world.

    The Seduction Of An Unknown Lady Samantha James
    fantastic I am loving it

    Have Fun
    Helen

  12. ThatBrunette says:

    If Queen Anne hadn’t suffered so badly from gout and dropsy, Reading might never have developed at all. – Jasper Fforde THE BIG OVER EASY

Leave a Reply

