Interview with Kathryn Meyer Griffith!

Please give a warm welcome to today’s guest, Kathryn Meyer Griffith!
Kathryn’s book, Winter’s Journey, was released today from The Wild Rose Press! 
  

inthishouse_w1269_150.jpgWelcome! Please tell us about your books.
Hello everyone! I’m Kathryn Meyer Griffith and I’ve been writing for 36 years; published for 24 of those years…with eleven books, and number twelve coming out in mid 2008, and various short stories. 
 

My earlier books were paperbacks with Leisure (Evil Stalks the Night, 1984; The Heart of the Rose, 1985; Blood Forge, 1989) and Zebra (Vampire Blood, 1991; The Last Vampire, 1992; Witches,1993; The Calling , 1994) and  hard cover murder mysteries with Avalon Books (Scraps of Paper,2003; All Things Slip Away, 2006).  egyptianheart_wrp409_150.jpg

Recently I’ve been e-publishing with The Wild Rose Press. Since November 2007 I’ve had two e-novels (Egyptian Heart, an ancient Egyptian time travel romance and Winter’s dontlookback_w1219_150.jpgJourney, a suspenseful romance coming out April 4, 2008 – with paperbacks six months afterwards), with a third one, The Ice Bridge, a contemporary romance with a dose of murder mystery set on Mackinac Island, coming out later from them in 2008; and two short stories (In This House, a ghostly contemporary and Don’t Look Back, Agnes, a serial ghostly contemporary). I started out as a horror writer (always with a subplot of romance) but now write murder mysteries, paranormal romances and romances. 

What inspired the story?
Which one? My ideas don’t come from one source. For instance, Winter’s Journey, the book coming out April 4, came about because a while back my husband, Russell, of thirty years, tried his hand for a short while as an over-the-road truck driver (ooh, I hated that job because he was gone way too much, so it didn’t last long) and it gave me an idea. What if this woman, Loretta, was a widow with a child, owned an eighteen-wheeler that she and her husband used to wintersjourney_wrp511_150.jpgteam drive but to raise her truck and home payments had to take a long haul load to Wyoming with a snowstorm coming…and out of desperation to make the deadline and get a much needed bonus she picks up this helpful hitchhiker, Sam, to drive team with her? What if there’s a series of trucker murders along her route and she starts to wonder if Sam – the man she’s falling in love with – could be the murderer? The book grew from that. I could go into the ideas for all my other books, but hey, it would be as long as another book.
 

What is your favorite part of being a writer?
A sense that I’m doing what I was born to do. The pure joy and contentedness I feel as I’m working on a book or a short story when I’m transported to another world, another place or time. The happiness I experience when someone says they’ve read my story and it touched them in some way. I was a graphic designer for 23 years in the corporate world, I’ve always been an artist and still am, but writing has been the love of my life…besides my husband and family, that is. 
 

Least favorite?
Not being able to make a real living at it. The income has always been a steep roller coaster. Some years a writer can make a halfway decent amount of money (I had a few years like that during my Zebra days) but most years it’s pretty dismal. I’ve (as many writers do) always had to work a full time job until the last few years when my husband has held down the good job and let me stay home to write full time. We’ve taken turns. It’s his turn to work full time now until retirement. 
 

What would you like to tell aspiring writers?
Never give up. I just published a book I originally wrote fourteen years ago. Writing isn’t something you do for the fame or fortune, for a month or a year. You must write because it’s in your soul and heart. You must desperately want to weave stories alive with characters and emotions. A writer must write because they can’t not write. It’s a marathon sort of life, not a sprint. If someone had told me that I’d be writing after thirty-six years but still not be famous or rich I would have laughed at them. Now I write because I love it. It’s great therapy and makes me happy. It’s who I am.
 

Who has inspired you as a writer?
Early in my life it was the great science fiction writers like Ray Bradbury and Robert Heinlein. Then Nora Lofts, Mary Higgens Clark, Stephen King, Anne Rice and Joyce Carol Oates. Now I have so many favorite writers I couldn’t list them all. I’m always looking for a good book to read whether it’s traditional horror, a clever murder mystery or a heart-wrenching love story. If the book is written well and has a heart, it’s for me. 
 

Describe a typical day for you.
I get up about nine o’clock, check my e-mails real quick in case an editor has sent me edits or something, a review has come in or an agent has answered an e-mail, then (if I’m actually writing on a book or short story) I write all day until about five o’clock when my husband comes home or my brother and sister-in-law come by after work for a walk. After our walk I make a quick supper (it’s always an easy-make meal if I’m working on a new book) then check my reader/author internet loops to see what’s going on and answer messages, do promotions for new stories coming out, then I settle down with my husband to watch a little TV before he goes to bed. When he’s asleep I spend a little time reading other people’s books. Then bed. That’s when I’m writing. 
 

When I’m in between a book or short story (something I do on purpose at times…like to do spring cleaning…which is next month) I spend time doing Internet or real life promotions like book signings. I’ve learned how to make my own book trailers (see www.myspace.com/kathrynmeyergriffith for examples) with original songs written and performed by my brother, Jim Meyer, and I do most of my own advertising. I did all my own websites at places like My Space, Bebo and Author’s Den. Then there are times life just gets in the way. I have a husband, brothers and sisters, a son and grandchildren and a sickly mother in a nursing home. They all need some of my time. It’s great to be a writer but you need to live a real life, too. It’s a balance. Life goes so quickly.  

Describe yourself in 3 words.
Optimistic. Persistent. Dreamer.
 

What do you like to read?
Romantic paranormal, traditional (werewolf, vampires and ghosts) supernatural horror, well-written romances (not erotic), and murder mysteries. Anything with good characterizations. Heart.
 

If you could save one book from destruction, what would it be?
The Bible. Or some book called Smoky (I don’t know who wrote it) I read as a child about this horse. It was the first book I can recall making a huge impression on me. I loved that book.
 

If you had a time capsule to be opened 50 years in the future, what would you put in it?
Some of my books and a CD of my book trailers with my brother Jim’s songs. 

Is there anything you’d like to ask readers?
If you read a really great book would you try to read everything you could get your hands on of that same author’s works? Oh, yeah…have you ever written a fan letter or e-mail to an author (we love that)?
 

Well, Jenniferthank you for having me! Your readers can learn more about me and see all my book trailers with original songs by my brother Jim Meyer by going to my websites: www.myspace.com/kathrynmeyergriffith  or www.bebo.com/kathrynmeyerG or www.authorsden.com/kathrynmeyergriffith  

Thank you, Kathryn, for that great interview. 
Readers, be sure to check out the sites Kathryn mentions above.
Also, check back tomorrow to view some of the awesome trailers for Kathryn’s books!

4 Responses to Interview with Kathryn Meyer Griffith!

  1. ThatBrunette says:

    Great interview. I’m always happy to meet another fan of ghost stories.

    Yes, if I read a book I love, I try to collect all the books by that author. Most of the time, it is a good thing. On occasion, the author changes voice or focus for a different book or series. Sometimes, I like the characters or world for one book. If it is a series, I will go for the rest of the series. If it is a stand-alone, I might try one other book before going nuts and getting everything the author has written.

    No, I’ve never written a fan letter. I’ve told some authors how much I like them in chats and some I got to gush over at a live signing. I figured that writing a letter seems like a ‘fanboy’ thing to do and the author would think less of me as a reader.

    I tried to friend you on MySpace but couldn’t find the link.

  2. fedora says:

    Hi, Kathryn! (We chose that name for our daughter :))

    Thanks for a terrific interview, and I’m glad to learn about your books!

    To answer your questions, yes, if I love a book, I’ll often start tracking down that author’s back list. Assuming the next books I read are as good, then I’ll go all out 🙂

    I’ve never written a snail-mail letter, but in the last couple years I have started contacting authors by e-mail or their websites if I’ve really loved something they’ve written. Most of the authors I’ve contacted have been SO gracious in responding, it truly makes me appreciate them all the more! You’re all such busy people and yet you’re taking the time to respond to me! Amazing!

  3. Virginia H. says:

    Great interview, and yes when I read a really good book from an author I will go back and buy more of her books. I have every book Constance O’Banyon has written. I also have sent fan e-mail to authors about their books and they will answer my e-mails. If a book is really good I will graciously let the author know about it.

  4. Patti Fischer says:

    Great interview, Kathryn and Jenn!
    I haven’t had a lot of time lately, but yes, I will glom authors I discover. Did that with Linda Howard and Lori Foster when I first read them. They are still on my must read list. Emailing authors? Yes, to some extent, I have. Usually I’m terrified but then they turn out to be really nice people and realize authors are just like you and me, Nora Roberts included!

Leave a Reply

