Question of the Week…Part 2

 Monday was Part One of my questions on series or connected books and here is Part Two…

  • Do you prefer a series where the books also stand alone? Or do you like books that share a story arc and should be read in order?
  • Do you read a series out of order? (I have been told this breaks one of the reading commandments and is a reading sin…LOL)
  • How many books is too many for a series? Or is there a limit for you?  I know there are some that have 20+ books out there.

Feel free to answer any or all…a curious mind wants to know!  🙂

11 Responses to Question of the Week…Part 2

  1. I like books that stand alone – I hate having to read them in order when I may not discover them in order.

    I do read out of order, depending on when I discover a series and what books I find at that time. (Forgive me, for I have sinned)

    Hmm – That’s a difficult question and depends so much on how well the author keeps the series fresh and different. There’s a point in every series where it’s gone stale and seems to start repeating itself. Some have done it at 4 or 5, some at a dozen but most seem to be at about 6. But there are exceptions.

  2. danette says:

    I like series that are connected as long as i start with the first on in the series. I don’t like to play catch up.
    Some of my favorite series are Sherrilynn Kenyons, (Dark-Hunters and Knights of Avalon)
    Maryjanice Davidson( Betsy Series)
    Kresley Coles ( Immortal Series)
    Stephanie Rowe( Immortal Bad Boy Series)
    Beth Ciotta( Her action romance series)

    I’m not sure what my limit on how many is too much in a series yet.

    Hugs, Danette

  3. Jennifer K. says:

    As I am a person that has to read series in order, I don’t mind if the books stand alone or are connected by a plot. In fact, I usually won’t buy a book if I can’t tell if it’s part of a series because I don’t want to start somewhere in the middle. And as for if there is too much of a series. I agree with Maura that you know when a series has run it’s course when it starts to get stale.

  4. Kelly Kirch says:

    I write stand alones. Sure if you read it in order you get the lives of all the people as they develop, but it’s not essential. But then I also only have one series of three and only one of those is out right now. So at least they release in order.

    Kelly Kirch

    Great questions, Jennifer.

  5. Lois says:

    Do you prefer a series where the books also stand alone? Or do you like books that share a story arc and should be read in order? Well, I’m anal regardless, so whether they are stand alones or not, I read them in order. If I happen on a series already in progress, then when I go back for the others, I’ll reread the others in their proper places. 🙂 Like I said, I’m anal. LOLOL

    Do you read a series out of order? Yeah, but at some point, I read them in order. 🙂 And if I totally enjoyed the books before (which is why I continue to get the books in that series from the author, obviously), I’ll reread the ones before reading the new. Sure don’t mind it since I liked them plenty the first time! 🙂

    How many books is too many for a series? Or is there a limit for you? I know there are some that have 20+ books out there. I haven’t picked up an authors that have that many. Trying to think of the books I have, I want to say the longest series I have are the Brigertons of Julia Quinn’s, and that’s 8. Even if that’s not the longest that I have, we’re not talking all that much longer. If I like an author, I imagine 20+ book types wouldn’t bug me, but just thinking about it, hmm, sounds tough!

    Lois

  6. Jane says:

    I like stand alone books more than series, but I enjoy them both. I try not to read books out of order, although it does happen sometimes. There’s no limit to how long a series can be, as long as the series and stories aren’t stale and contrived.

  7. Helen says:

    I love stand alones and series books but I am one of those people who must read them in order when I pick up a new book by a new author I always check their website to see if it is part of a series I have a lot of books on my TBR pile that I need to get others in the series before I will read them LOL

    If the series is good which it usually is I don’t mind how many books there are I think the longest series I have read so far is Victoria Alexander’s The Effingtons and not sure but I think it has 12 in it and of course there is Stephanie Laurens Cysnters which still has more to come YAY.

    Have Fun
    Helen

  8. fedora says:

    – Do you prefer a series where the books also stand alone? Or do you like books that share a story arc and should be read in order?

    I think either can be good–I have a slight preference for those where they stand alone simply because I’m impatient, and I hate waiting for the next book to come out! (Never been a fan of those season-ending cliffhangers…)

    – Do you read a series out of order? (I have been told this breaks one of the reading commandments and is a reading sin…LOL)

    I’ve done it before, but usually once I figure out what the order is, I try to line them up and go in order.

    – How many books is too many for a series? Or is there a limit for you? I know there are some that have 20+ books out there.

    My husband read the Star Wars New Jedi Order series, which was something like 19 books. I’m not sure if I’d like a series quite that long–it seems hard to sustain the same level of interest and character development and plot. I think somewhere between 6-10 seems reasonable. Sometimes the shorter ones (trilogies, for instance) might leave me wanting a bit more, while the longer ones I sometimes give up on when they go stale or flat (or maybe that’s just the soda and crackers in my pantry…)

  9. Beth R says:

    I like the stand alone better
    I have read them out of order not on purpose but because I didn’t know
    6 is about my limit maybe 7 or 8

  10. Greta says:

    I like both – books that have an ARC and books that can be read as stand alone. But I prefer something that has an ARC or them to carry through.

    If I know a head of time I’ll read the books in order. If I start a book and find out it is part of an ARC – then I will try and get the other books.

    I’d say three to four would be the typical limit. Some authors might be able to carry an ARC or a series to seven or eight books. I think an author would have to be exceptional to get a series past ten and for people to still be interested in it.

  11. limecello says:

    Stand alones for sure! I need a HEA – and if the book doesn’t stand alone but is only one in a part, it can’t have a HEA. If it’s a romance novel, it must stand alone. Otherwise, well, it’s more ok – but still has to be well written. Amazing books in a series stand alone. I mean, you know there’s more and they aren’t done- but you aren’t left hanging from the edge of a cliff by the tips of your fingers.

    As to reading in order or not, I prefer to read books in order. If I know about the order, and am able to get them in order, I’ll read them in order. Unfortunately, everyone knows what good intentions are worth, and about 75% of the time, I’ll read a book, finish it, only to discover it was book 2+ in a series.

    How many books is too many? I’d say a series should stop at 9. No, seriously. That’s enough for the world. Let’s not get too carried away here. Creativity is good – and new things should be tried. I’m all for revisiting old friends and letting a story develop… but really. Nine full length novels? That’s a lot of world. And, generally story lines get recycled, things get drawn out and stale, and I just need for it to end. Also, I find that authors unfortunately might get complacent, and rest on their laurels, and expect the hype to carry them through the end. It’ll definitely get them through 2 more books, in general, and the loyal will read on til the bitter end. So, stop the pain for everyone, and I say 9 is good. Plan well. In fact, 9 is generous. I’d say 7, max, really. 3-4 is perfect.

    Of course, this is easy for me to say since I’m a reader *angelface*

Leave a Reply

