Question of the Week…Part 1

Okay, so this week’s question is actually a group a questions about…

…series or connected books.

I have noticed quite a few series popping up and several that seem to have been going strong for years.  This has made me curious about what my fellow readers think so I have a few (okay more than a few) questions for you…so many that I decided to break them up and post them on two seperate days.

Feel free to answer any or all of them…

  • Do you like to read connected books (or a series)?  If so, why?
  • Do you like series that are about a single character or couple?  Or do you prefer a different character or couple be the focus of each book?
  • What is your favorite series of connecting books?

Check back on Thursday for Part 2 of my questions

P.S.  By the way, apparently someone thought I might make an interesting interview subject (I happen to disagree, but hey, I couldn’t say no)…Author Kelly Kirch interviewed me over on her blog today:  http://kkirch.blogspot.com/  So go check it out…I was really nervous about answering her difficult questions and I tend to ramble (or suffer from foot-in-mouth disease) when I am nervous, so it should be amusing if not interesting…LOL.  She was looking for a reader’s perspective and I hope authors and readers check it out.

19 Responses to Question of the Week…Part 1

  1. Jane says:

    I do like reading series. They allow us to revisit with characters from previous books. I prefer to read about a different character or couple in each book of the series. It’s hard to choose a favorite series, but I really love Lisa Kleypas’s Wallflower series and Stephanie Laurens’ Cynster and Bastion Club series.

  2. Hmm….

    I like series – I like to visit a well crafted world multiple times and revisit characters from prior books.

    I actually am not fond of series with continuing characters for the most part if the characters were given a HEA in one book and then it’s called into question in the next. Don’t mess with me HEA….

    Favorite series — hard to say, actually. One of my favorites is Nalini Singh’s Psy/Changeling series.

    – Maura

  3. You were a more than interesting interview Jennifer. You made some very insightful points and I for one thank you. Feedback like that is invaluable. Thanks you. Happy reading!

  4. Mona Risk says:

    Jennifer, your interview on Kelly’s blog was really good. I was a reader only until four years ago. I like well written stories and I like characters that stay with me after I close the book. Sometimes I forget the name of a book but I remember the character. Nothing pleases me more than when my readers say they fell in love with General Sergei, the alpha hero of my first book, To Love A Hero, and they can’t let go of him. To Love A Hero is a romance set in a Russian country, the book of my heart in which I threw many of my personal adventures in Belarus. It’s available at Cerridwen Press.

    By the way, like Jane I like Stephanie Laurens’ Cynster and Bastion Club series, and Johanna Lindsey’s Mallory series. I can’t forget the heroes.

  5. limecello says:

    1. I do, to a point, because it’s nice to revisit characters/a world.
    2. Couples – I prefer having a different one each book, because my attention span isn’t strong enough for couples who should be “done.” Also, I like a HEA always, and with a series featuring the same couple, you can’t really have that.
    3. I can’t answer that – *laughs* Shannon McKenna, Lora Leigh, Nalini Singh, J.R. Ward, Lori Foster, the list goes on.

    A caveat, I feel that a series should end with 9 books. Otherwise, it can just go on far too long. Maybe I like “connected” books more than series.

  6. brownone says:

    Wow, you always ask the hardest questions!

    1. I love connected books and series! I enjoy the character development, it just makes them seem all the more real.

    2. Both. When it is a single hero/heroine throughout the series, you just get such a feel for the character and it seems like you just know them but I also like it where each story in the series are about a diffrent couple with the other couples weaving in and out. It just feels like a soap opera and I enjoy getting the little updates.

    3. Okay, now here comes the hard part! Sylvia Day’s Georgian series is great! That one is about diffrent couples but characters from the other books pop in and out. Of course, Lisa Kleypas’s “Wallflowers” and “Bow Street Runners”. The “Outlander” series by Diana Gabaldon. Heck, I find I’m drawn to series books when NOT reading romance: Abarat, Harry Potter, Percy Jackson

  7. brownone says:

    OOh…and I forgot to mention Brenda Joyce’s “Deadly” series which I am STILL angry she did not finish!

  8. Kelly Kirch says:

    This particular set of answers is fascinating to me. I’m finishing up a trilogy now through ResplendencePublishing.com in the historically set genre. Jenn, you have the first in the series.

    As a reader I don’t like to follow the same couple beyond one book. I want to know they had their HEA and we can move on. BUT I get really excited about one book’s sub characters and have to revisit them by giving them their own story line too.

    As a writer, I incorporate those thoughts (above) Marriage Mart is Ester’s story. Marriage Plot follows two of her friends Caroline and Penelope, and Marriage Proposal is Marie’s. They all stand alone which is something else I want to see in a trilogy. I don’t want to feel like I missed something if I pick a book up out of context.

    Jennifer, you did an amazing job on the interview. In fact, at last check around 10:30ish, there were already 11 comments. All of them authors and even a publisher in there. You were spot on and truthful. It’s what we needed to hear. Thank you.

    Kelly Kirch

  9. Lois says:

    Do you like to read connected books (or a series)? If so, why? Heck yeah — I love the fact that a) we get to revisit old friends that we liked the first time around and b) we have something to look forward to another time! 🙂

    Do you like series that are about a single character or couple? Or do you prefer a different character or couple be the focus of each book? Off hand, I don’t think I ever read any connected books that weren’t about someone new. So I’ll stay I prefer different characters/couples for each book.

    What is your favorite series of connecting books? Oh geez. . . Lauren Willig’s Pink Carnation books, JQ’s Bridgertons (but I love the Catch an Heiress/Marry a Marquis two book series even more!), the Wallflowers, The Royal Brotherhood books of Sabrina Jeffries. . . oh boy, I’m forgetting so many more!!!

    Lois

  10. Jennifer K. says:

    I love series. In fact most of the books I own are part of series. And like most everyone, I think it’s the revisiting of characters that is the draw for me. For the most part, I prefer series that have new couples heading each story. That said, some of my favorite series following a single person… such as Stephanie Plum series, Harry Potter and Brenda Joyce’s Deadly series (brownone beat me to it, but I’m pissed that there isn’t an ending either!). I’m also a fan of JR Ward and Sherrilyn Kenyon’s series.

  11. Beth R says:

    Do you like to read connected books (or a series)? If so, why? Yes its nice to catch up on primary and secondary characters through the series
    Do you like series that are about a single character or couple? well I like when each book is about a couple but they are characters in the other books but not the main couple (does that make sense?)
    Or do you prefer a different character or couple be the focus of each book? Different couple
    What is your favorite series of connecting books? Elizabeth Lowells Blackthrone and MacKenzie books Fire and Rain, Outlaw, Granite Man and Warrior

  12. Helen says:

    I love reading books in a series I totally get into books when I read them and feel that I get to know the characters and therefore like to hear more about them all.Some of my favourites have been
    The Bar Cynsters Stephanie Laurens
    The Bastion Club Stephanie Laurens
    The Effington’s Victoria Alexander
    Last Man Standing series Victoria Alexander
    The Bridgerton’s Julia Quinn
    The Bedwyns Mary Balogh
    I like the different couple in each book and the fact that you hear about characters from past books and future books.
    Great questions Jennifer
    Have Fun
    Helen

  13. fedora says:

    Hi, Jennifer! Going to try to answer these and then head over to read your interview!

    I definitely like reading connected books, assuming that I’m enjoying the author/writing/characters. I enjoy getting to know the “world” a little better through the different books and often from the different characters’ viewpoints.

    I’m not sure I would enjoy a series about a single character or couple–I really prefer a tidy HEA, and that might be a bit too much ongoing angst and open-endedness for me. (That’s right, I haven’t read any of the Plums or JDRobb’s…) So yes, I do think I prefer a different character/couple star in each book.

    Some favorites–Julia Quinn’s Bridgertons; Lisa Kleypas’s Wallflowers; Nora Roberts Chesapeake Bay, MacGregors, Stanislaskis…; Debbie Macomber’s Midnight Sons; Marilyn Pappano’s Bethlehem titles; most of SEP’s Chicago Stars… I’m sure there are a TON more…

  14. Sandra says:

    Jennifer,
    I read your interview on Kelly’s blog. It was great:)

  15. Greta says:

    Yes I like connected books because you visiting old friends again in a familiar place. There’s just something comforting that the HEA from the first or second book truly does carry over into a third or forth book.

    I do have on frustration with connected books and that’s in the catagory romances those are only on the shelf for four weeks at the longest, and in some places less than that. So it’s possible to miss a book in the series.

    I really prefer a different character or couple for each new book. You meet more characters but you still stay in touch characters from Prior books.

    However, I am currently read Nora Roberts Cicle Trilogy (Morrigan’s Cross, Dance of the Gods, and Valley of Silence). It’s the same characters throughout the three books through out the books each characters has their own story).

    I’m going to go back and say Linda Howards’ Mackezie series (Wolf, Joe, Zane, Maris, the sister and Chance). Although Lauren Dane is close with her Witch Knot series and Chase Brothers.

  16. Virginia H. says:

    Jennifer, I thought you done a mighty fine job on the answers in your interveiw. I really enjoyed it.

    Do you like to read connected books (or a series)? If so, why? I do enjoy reading connected books because sometimes a story leaves you wanting more.

    Do you like series that are about a single character or couple? Or do you prefer a different character or couple be the focus of each book? I think I like the ones with the couples, but if the books are well written it doesn’t matter that much. I guess I prefer different couples for each book.

    What is your favorite series of connecting books? I started reading Shari Antons Magic series about a year and a half ago, but the third book has not come out yet, this bugs me. I think the third book come out this July, I can’t wait to finish it but I will have to refresh on the first two now. This is a great series and I would recommend it for anyone that love historical.

  17. Ashley Ladd says:

    That was a great interview you did with Kelly Kirch. I loved reading it and getting your insight. Like Kelly, I’m an author, so it’s so good to know what our readers think and what you like. Please keep telling us.

    I like series. My favorite series lately was the Left Behind books. I’m sorry it ended.

  18. Kelly Kirch says:

    I’m with Helen up there. I am a total Julia Quinn die hard. LOVE the Bridgertons.

    Kelly
    http://www.kellykirch.com

  19. ThatBrunette says:

    Do you like to read connected books (or a series)? If so, why?

    Yes! I like getting to know the characters and their setting(s).

    Do you like series that are about a single character or couple? Or do you prefer a different character or couple be the focus of each book?

    Before reading Jory Strong’s “Crime Tells” series, I would have said I prefer following a character rather than a location driven series. I like seeing past book characters show up to ‘visit’. It’s like keeping up with old friends.

    What is your favorite series of connecting books?

    Ed McBain’s 87 Prescinct mysteries. Elizabeth Peters’ Amelia Pebody series. Jory Strong’s Crime Tells. And, for pure brain candy, Lilian Jackson Braun’s The Cat Who series.

Leave a Reply

