BFF…Best Friends Forever…

Okay, so the other day on one of the groups I am on we were discussing authors and books which led me to say how I thought books were like friends.  I posted a few reasons on the group, but this led me to think about even more ways that books were like friends… 

So I came up with this… 

A Few Reasons Why Books Are Like Good Friends 

·        They are not judgmental…they accept you for who you are. 
·        They don’t care what you look like, how you live, how much money you have, etc.
·        They are always there for you when you need them and you can always count on them.
·        If one lets you down, you can always count on another.
·        They can lift you up or bring you down.
·        They come in all shapes, sizes, colors, etc.
·        There is one out there for everyone and while not every one is the right one for you, it may be the right one for someone.
·        They can last a lifetime…the same favorite you had in childhood can stay with you until adulthood.
·        The more the merrier.
·        They keep all your secrets.
·        They are loyal and steadfast.
·        You can learn a lot by spending time with them.
·        They each have their own story to tell.
·        They are willing to be patient and stick around even when you get too busy.
·        They can bring people together who might never have met.
·        They are always willing to help you escape…they provide the getaway vehicle.

It seems I am not alone in my belief.  I love quotes and found these that express what I feel much more eloquently than I do: 

“Next to acquiring good friends, the best acquisition is that of good books.”
         Charles Caleb Colton 

“There is no friend as loyal as a book”
         Ernest Hemingway

“A good book is the best of friends, the same today and for ever.”
         Martin Tupper 

So like good friends, books can bring you comfort.
Do you have any comfort reads?  Books you return to time and time again?

10 Responses to BFF…Best Friends Forever…

  1. Virginia H. says:

    I agree with you but books are like good friend. I just hadn’t thought of them that way before. I am glad you brought up that point.

  2. Helen says:

    Totally agree with you Jennifer especially the last one
    They are always willing to help you escape….. they provide the getaway vehicle
    love that one it is so true for me especially seeing as how work is really bad at the moment very stressfull and my books help me relax and take me on adventures to wonderful places where I meet new people.
    As for books that I re read I am saving them all to re read them when I retire in case I can’t afford to buy them then LOL
    Happy Easter everyone
    Have Fun
    Helen

  3. fedora says:

    What a great list, Jennifer! I definitely have a few comfort reads on the keeper shelf 🙂 They good to have when you need a sure pick-me-up, or you’re in a reading slump (say it isn’t so!) 🙂

  4. Aunty Cindy says:

    GREAT post, Jennifer!
    And so very true! I hadn’t thought of books in terms of Best Friends before but they truly are. Some of the books on my keeper list (Like The Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit) I have had longer than ANY other friend. Definitely they bring people together and I’ve learned so much from reading.

    Helen, so sorry to hear that your work life is so stressful right now. 😦 But you know you can always escape for a little while with your books, or here online with your buddies!

    Hope everyone had a great holiday!
    AC

  5. Aunty Cindy says:

    P.S. If anyone has been to Hemingway’s house in Key West, remember his writing space? It was over the old carriage house, which was detached from the main house and could only be reached by a narrow, second story walkway across the garden. Our tour guide said Hemingway did it on purpose so that nobody would disturb him. Only he and his cats (whose descendants still live on the grounds) had the nerve to walk over it!

    Fascinating place! If you are ever in Key West, don’t miss it.

    AC

  6. ThatBrunette says:

    Great post! I agree, there are books I would rather visit with than some people.

    I got your package. My internet connection has been spotty, at best, this week.

  7. Helen says:

    My books are truly great friends and best of all they have helped me find so many new friends on the internet

    Have Fun
    Helen

  8. Helen says:

    Yes Aunty Cindy work is awful at the moment another bad day today but never mind I had fun at The Bandits and I am just about to pick my book up

    Have Fun
    Helen

  9. Laura J says:

    Jennifer those are so great!

    My favorite book quote has always been:

    Outside a dog, a book is man’s best friend, inside a dog it’s too dark to read. Groucho Marx.

    Hope everyone has a great weekend!

  10. Greta says:

    My first post here, Jennifer. You know I truly believe books are friends. You know one of my favorites MacKenzie’s Mountain by Linda Howard. I’ve had the book for nearly twenty-years and it still doesn’t disappoint. Four that I keep going back to are by Elizabeth Lowell – Fire and Rain, Outlaw, Granite Man, and Warrior. There are some others, but those are my top five that I go back more than one time a year.

Leave a Reply

