Interview with Devyn Quinn

Today’s guest is the fabulous erotic author, Devyn Quinn!
Yesterday I spotlighted Devyn’s books and today here’s an interview…
 

Please tell us about your books.
attba5ec.jpgI debuted as a Kensington Books author with Flesh and the Devil in March 2007, a dark vampire/erotic novel. Though I write in both the contemporary and gothic genres, lately my attention has turned to very dark erotica. Most of my full length novels focus on the struggle of the ordinary person to accept extraordinary happenings in their lives-usually from a supernatural source. It is why I have recently tagged me writing “goth-erotica” and where I will focus my attention on my next single title releases with Kensington’s Aphrodisia line, including my Kith & Kynn books, Sins of the Flesh (Oct 07) and Sins of the Night (March 08) and Embracing Midnight (Nov 08). 

What inspired the story or stories?
I enjoy telling dark tales, LOL. Inspiration just hits out of the blue. One moment my mind is empty and the next it is brimming with characters who have stories to tell. 

Which of your characters would you like to switch places with? For how long?  What would you do?
Oh, I would love to switch with Morgan Saint-Evanston, the immortal Irish assassin of the Keepers series. I’d do it for freaking ever and I would have an ever-loving blast having his magical powers and slaying the baddies.<G>  

What is your favorite part of being a writer?  Least favorite?
My favorite part of being a writer is hearing from people who have read and enjoyed my books. The least favorite is starting a new book.  

What would you like to tell aspiring writers?
This is not a business for the faint of heart. You have to have grit and determination to make the cut. A little talent helps, LOL.  

Who has inspired you as a writer?
I draw my inspiration for many places, but can’t pin it down to a single source. 

What do you like to read?
I mostly enjoy history and biographies. I tend not to read much fiction because I write it! When I do read fiction, I love Kate Douglas’s Wolf Tales. Her series is smashingly original. 

What is your favorite way to relax?
Renting a few movies and settling back with a glass of wine and my pets! 

Describe yourself in 3 words.
Intense, demanding, capable. 

If you had a time capsule to be opened 50 years in the future, what would you put in it?
All my books, LOL  

What is next for you? 
I just finished a novella, Personal Possessions, for the Dangerous Ties anthology that will be out in April 09. I’m about to do a novella for the Sexy Beast 6 anthology with Kate Douglas, Heart of the Wildcat. Then I have three more single titles contracted, including the first book of a new series and a follow up to Flesh and the Devil, as well as a tie-in single title to my Sexy Beast novella.
 

Thank you, Devyn, for that wonderful interview! 
Readers, you can learn more about Devyn’s books by visiting http://www.devynquinn.com/ 

eilarge.jpgDevyn has donated two copies of Eros Island to two lucky winners…
So leave a comment below letting me know you want to enter! 
MUST BE 18 TO ENTER and don’t forget to read the
Contest Rules before entering! 
Devyn has mentioned that if you already own the giveaway title you may substitute another title if your name is drawn.
Winners will be announced Friday, March 21 so check back to see if you are a winner!

26 Responses to Interview with Devyn Quinn

  1. Laura J says:

    Good morning Jennifer and Devyn.

    Devyn you are really going to be busy the next year!

    Eros Island is a fantastic book and I highly recommend it.

  2. limecello says:

    Hi Jennifer and Devyn,

    Great interview – Devyn, my goodness you have a lot on your plate! Good luck with all of that :-).

  3. Danny says:

    Morning Devyn and Jennifer.

    Great interview. Funny to see you that you also Kate’s book. They are really unique

  4. fedora says:

    Hi, Devyn and Jennifer–thanks for the great interview! What kind of movies do you like to watch? Any favorites! And I do also have Eros Island also–it’s terrific! Can’t wait to check out some of your other titles 🙂

  5. brownone says:

    Great interview! I have sins of the flesh but I haven’t read Eros Island. Sounds like I have more buying to do…my poor husband!

  6. ThatBrunette says:

    What is the difference between Gothic and Paranormal? You mentioned writing a novella for an 09 publish date. Do you normally write one year in advance?

  7. Cherie J says:

    Great interview! I have been hearing great things about Eros Island. Would love to win a copy.

  8. Angie-la says:

    After reading the spotlight and interview, I am very interested in trying one of your books, Devyn.
    You caught my attention with Morgan Saint-Evanston, the immortal Irish assassin..
    That sounds too good to pass up!

  9. Helen says:

    Another great interview Jennifer and Devyn these books sound really good I haven’t read any of them but I will be looking for them. I like to try something that I don’t normally read and these are on my must get list now.

    Have Fun
    Helen

  10. Jennifer K. says:

    I’d be interested to hear your definition of gothic too. Also, if you had to compare your writing style to another author, who would it be?

  11. Jane says:

    If you were to write a biography, who would you write about?

  12. Devyn Quinn says:

    Hi, All,

    I’m going to try and go down the list answering comments and questions, LOL:

    Fedora: I watch action films, and love comic book adaptations. I am a rabid Spiderman fan. I also love the new Batman franchise. The whole summer is going to be great. Indy 4, Iron Man, Incredible Hulk. I’ll be seeing them all.

    ThatBrunette: There is a fine line between gothic and paranormal. I believe the new paranormal romances of today are just what we called gothics in the 70’s, which mostly have the same theme: someone discovers something they should not

    Angie-la: I love writing for Morgan Saint-Evanston and hope to release more books in the Eternity series someday. Since he’s such fun to write, I tucked him into Sins of the Night as the assassin Devon Carnavorn hires to take care of the threat toward his wife and children. Won’t say how, but Morgan has his own way of taking care of things

    Helen: I hope you will give my books a try!

    Jennifer: I can compare my style to no one else’s because I like to think my style is fresh, unique and entirely mine. There are authors I would like to write like, such as Stephen King, John Grisham, etc…. but if I did that, I wouldn’t be original. I’d be an imitation. I don’t want to imitate. I want to be uniquely Devyn Quinn. 🙂

  13. Cindi says:

    Hi, Thanks for an interesting interview with Devyn! I enjoy learning about authors and insights into their writings! Please enter me in your drawing for a copy of her book.
    Thanks very much…..Cindi

  14. Virginia H. says:

    Gread interview, I really enjoyed it. Please enter me in the drawing. I would love to read one your books.

  15. limecello says:

    Hi Devyn,
    Now that I’m back from work and not worried about running late – I was hoping my brain would work better, but no such luck. Interesting way of defining gothic vs. paranormal. Gothic always makes me think dark and imposing [though not like Mrs. Radcliffe, which makes me chuckle more] – and paranormal has “supernatural” elements – like shape shifters, etc – though I guess they’re often tied. It’s much harder to find an all happy bubble gum vampire/werewolf story.

  16. Kate Douglas says:

    Hey Devyn! Thank you very much for the kind words and the mention. I’m one of the lucky ones who gets to read Devyn’s stories during the WIP (work in progress) stage. She has such a unique voice and the ability to take a totally unredeemable bastard and give him just enough good juju to turn him into the sexiest hero of any romance you’ll ever read. I’m as hooked on Morgen as Devyn is! I just met him in her book, Keeper of Eternity, a story I would highly recommend to anyone who loves a dark and mysterious read. Congrats on your success, Devyn. Now get your butt in that chair and write the next one!

  17. Teresa W. says:

    I have Flesh and the Devil and I’m looking forward to reading Eros Island.

  18. Devyn Quinn says:

    LOL, thanks Kate! I love Morgan the most of all my characters. I hope that readers discover him someday, too. 🙂

  19. Amelia says:

    Great interview! I haven’t read your books. I look forward in reading them.

  20. Jodi S. says:

    Great interview. I’ve heard great things about your books. Please enter me in the contest.

  21. Danny says:

    Kate,

    Morgan is a really intriguing character. He is mysterious and so sexy

  22. Pam P says:

    Morgan is definitely intriguing, dark and sexy – you want to hate him at times but can’t resist and end up loving him. Dark fantasy and very edgy, great series.

  23. Danny says:

    Pam, yeah sometimes you want to wring his neck.

  24. Eva S says:

    Great interview! These are books I’d like to read, dark paranormals! More on my TBB list… I’m a fan of Kate Douglas ,too and Heart of the Wildcat must be something!

  25. Valerie says:

    Wonderful interview!

    I haven’t read any of Devyn’s books yet, but Eros Island just made its way to the top of my TBR list.

    Valerie

  26. Devyn Quinn says:

    Thanks, all, for dropping by and commenting. Appreciate it. 🙂

    LOL, Eva, I LOVE writing dark paranormals. I can’t seem to write anything else!

Leave a Reply

