Sports in Romances…

This weekend I haven’t been around much because I have been hanging out at the racetrack watching the various NASCAR events.  In fact, I won’t even be home when this posts, but I will be checking in when I can and responding to comments.

But going to the races got me thinking about sports and romances…

One of my favorite types of romance heroes is the athlete…whether he be a football player, a baseball player, or something else…there is just something about an athletic hero…the skill, the strength, the dedication…

And it seems I am not alone in my fascination as there have been many romances featuring or involving sports, such as football and baseball.

Since NASCAR inspired this post, the first books I thought of were the racing-themed romances (some might argue that auto-racing is not a sport, but I won’t go there…LOL).  I know Harlequin now has a line of NASCAR romances revolving around racing and they seem to be doing well.  I have read a few and have enjoyed what I have read.

In addition to auto-racing, there are also romance books featuring football…Susan Elizabeth Phillips has a popular series involving football (it currently sits in my TBR Mountain).

There are also some involving baseball (including The Words of the Pitcher by Kei Swanson), hockey (Deirdre Martin and Rachel Gibson’s books), and other sports.

However, I have noticed though lately that there aren’t quite as many new sports-related romances out there…or maybe I am just looking in the wrong place.  

So do you enjoy romances that involve sports or athlete heroes?
What are some of your favorites?
What sport do you wish there were more romances about?
Do you think you have to be a fan of the sport to enjoy the romance?

10 Responses to Sports in Romances…

  1. Danny says:

    Hi Jennifer,

    I am huge sports romances fans. Here are some of my favorites:

    Hockey: Deidre Martin
    Baseball: Kate Angell & Linda Winstead Jones
    NASCAR: Pamela Britton
    Wrestling / Fighting: Lori Foster, Pat White

    How about some more football or basketball books?

  2. Jane says:

    Hi Jennifer,
    I love sports, but haven’t read many sports themed romances. I did read “Match Me If You Can” by SEP, but the hero was a sports agent not athlete. I just recently heard about Lori Foster’s SBC series, so I be checking those out soon. I don’t know if there are any romances featuring soccer, but I think I would love to see that.

  3. Virginia H. says:

    Hi Jennifer, I am not much of a sports fan so I don’t read many romances about sports. It bugs me when all there is to watch on TV is sports.

  4. Cindi Hoppes says:

    Sports are okay. I like baseball the best. That is the sport I would like in the books! Thanks,Cindi

  5. Aunty Cindy says:

    Jennifer and other readers,
    Let me tell you a little secret, besides the fact that YES! Race car drivers ARE athletes!! (Okay, won’t go any further down that path.) Editors and publishers have openly discouraged us writers (unless you are a BIG name) from submitting books with sports athletes as heroes. Happily, with the success of the Nascar series, that trend seems to be lessening, but for quite a long time one of the unwritten “rules” of romance writing was “no actors, no rock stars, and no professional athletes” as heroes. 😦

  6. Helen says:

    I love watching sport here in Australia mainly cricket and rugby leauge and I love soccer as well but seeing as I mainly read historicals there is not a lot of sports in them I don’t think I would pick up a book because of a sport but I would read any book that the story is good and captivating.
    Have Fun
    Helen

  7. ThatBrunette says:

    Well, if the writer uses the sport as an analogy or uses terms only a fan or player of the sport would know, the reader would need more information to truly appreciate the book.

    Me, I’m a hockey fan. It was my first live sport and still my fave. Annette Blair has a hockey guy in one of her witch books. I just got it, forgot the name and plan to look it up later. 🙂

  8. fedora says:

    I don’t think you have to be a huge fan to appreciate a well-written sports romance–I’m not much of a sporty person or fan, but have loved reading SEP’s Chicago Stars and some of the NASCAR ones. I also have Deirdre Martin and Kate Angell on the TBR, and don’t think I won’t enjoy them as a non-fan… It’s sort of a way for me to peek into this world I’d otherwise know nothing about, while I think for fans, it’s a way to celebrate more of the great things they love already about that sport.

  9. kim h says:

    i love it, i love sports. i want more/.

  10. I just had to pop in (late) and say I’M SO JEALOUS! You got to see the Atlanta races in person?!! Watching on tv just isn’t the same – you can’t feel the subsonic roar and..Can you tell I’m a racing fan? 🙂

    And Aunty Cindy, you’d better believe race car drivers are athletes! The strength and endurance required is daunting. They don’t get to change positions, or rest. Even under a caution, they are driving 55-65 mph. There is no break until the race is over–or they hit the wall.

    Great post, Jennifer…and I’m glad you could report firsthand on Atlanta Motor Speedway this weekend.

Leave a Reply

