Interview with Laura Drewry!

Today’s guest is the fabulous Laura Drewry!
Laura wrote western historicals for Zebra.
Her upcoming release, The Devil’s Daughter is out this April from
Dorchester and I can’t wait to read this western with a twist!
 

I invited Laura here to tell us about the book and more… 

Please tell us about your upcoming release, The Devil’s Daughter.
dd.gifThe Devil’s Daughter is the story of Lucy Firr, sent from Hell to claim an unborn child’s soul, and Jed Caine, a man determined to help his dead brother’s widow through her confinement so she will deliver a healthy baby.   To get to the baby, Lucy needs to go through Jed, but he’s not about to let anyone – not even his new wife – do anything to risk the baby’s health.  

Here’s the back cover blurb: 
GIVING THE DEVIL HIS DUDE

Shoveling sulfur and brimstone could really get a girl down.  When her dad offered freedom for the fiery depths in exchange for one simple soul-snatching, Lucy Firr jumped at the chance.   With her considerable powers of seduction, she threw herself at rancher Jed Caine.  Yet instead of taking her to bed, he made her muck out the pigsty.  

It would take the patience of a saint to resist the likes of Lucy Firr and Lord knew Jed was no saint.   The temptress fired his blood like no woman he’d ever met.  Why she’d suddenly latched on to him, he had no idea.  But the safest place for her and her virtue was out in the barn.  

Lucy could see the heat in Jed’s gaze.  But it was the tenderness of his touch and his hard-won smile that undid her.   She was supposed to steal his soul, yet here he was capturing her heart. 

What inspired the story?
This isn’t exactly how most books come to be, but. . . .I was having a meeting with my then-agent at a conference and she suggested I come up with a proposal for a western paranormal.   I’d never written a paranormal before and wasn’t convinced I could create a completely believable world of vampires or shapeshifters.  As I walked around the hotel after our meeting, the title popped into my head for no apparent reason (as ideas often do) and The Devil’s Daughter was born.   I loved the title so much that the story simply grew from it, instead of an actual character or plot line as is often the usual way.  I was absolutely thrilled when my editor told me I could keep the title!  

Which of your characters is most like you?
I hope none of them.  I certainly don’t set out to make any of them like me because I think I’m a fairly boring person.   I don’t do well with conflict and tend to be a little. . .wishywashy.  LOL Who wants to read about a character like that?   Not me.  I want characters to be exciting (even if it doesn’t seem exciting to them), and I want them to stand up for themselves, or at least get to that point in their character arc where they can.   
 

What is your favorite part of being a writer?  Least favorite?
The best part of being a writer is the writing, of course.  I love creating a new character, giving her a history, making her imperfect, and then finding her a man who will love her – warts and all.   Oh, and I absolutely love envisioning the final scene; the one where you can’t help but sigh and smile, maybe even shed a tear or two. 

The worst part is, hands down, the rejection.  But it’s a big part of the process so you put up with it.   And one acceptance outweighs ten bazillion rejection letters, so it all works out in the end.  🙂 

Is there anything you would like to write, but haven’t? For example, any other genre you’d like to try?
I’d love to write children’s books.  Some of my favourite times are reading to the kids at bedtime and if I could write one of those books – one that kids and parents both love – that would be perfect!  

Who has inspired you as a writer?
Dr. Seuss because he makes up words that we, as readers, have incorporated into our lives as though it was perfectly natural.   LOL 

Stephen King because his books have scared me so much, I no longer walk over storm drains and avoid clowns at all costs. 

And every author who has ever made me sigh, laugh, cry, cringe, or yell at a character.   

What would you like to tell aspiring writers?
Put butt in chair.
Write what you WANT to write, not what you think you SHOULD write.
Repeat. 

Describe yourself in 3 words.
I had several different lists ready to put here, but my son told me they were all too self-depreciating, so maybe I’ll skip this one.  

If you had a time capsule to be opened 50 years in the future, what would you put in it?
baby pictures of my boys and recordings of their voices
Stephen King’s book “It” (I read it years ago, and figure I might get over my terrorized mind in another 50 years or so)
All my Mary Balogh books  

What is next for you?
I’m working on the sequel to The Devil’s Daughter, called Dancing with the Devil.  It’s the story of Deacon (Lucy’s brother), his bumpy ride through the world of humans and one woman’s hard-headed love.   I also have a few more proposal out with editors, some historical, one contemporary and I’m working on a non-fiction proposal, too. 

Is there anything you’d like to ask readers?
What makes you pick up a book off the shelf?  Is it the cover?   The title?  The back cover blurb?  First page? 

What do you love most in a hero?  A heroine? 

Are there some plot lines or character traits you love/hate? 

Do reviews (good or bad) affect your decision to purchase a new book? 

Do you read the dedication? (it’s the first thing I read in a new book) 

Would you like a free bookmark?  LOL 

Thank you so much Laura for that great interview!  I can’t wait to read the upcoming book…I have never read a western paranormal before. 

You can learn more about Laura and her books at her website:  http://www.lauradrewry.com/ 

So, readers…go ahead and answer Laura’s great questions… 

And check back tomorrow as Laura “Complete the Sentences!” 

Remember, every comment is an entry into the giveaway…only a couple of days left to enter…details here!

20 Responses to Interview with Laura Drewry!

  1. Jane says:

    Hi Laura,
    The idea of a western paranormal sounds intriguing. Do you think writing children’s books is more difficult or easier than other genres? The cover and title compels me to pick up a book off the shelf, but it’s the blurb that makes me want to buy the book. I love a hero who is trustworthy and faithful. I like reading about a heroine who is strong and plucky. I hate annoying heroines who are whiny and stupid. Can’t think of any plotlines I hate at the moment, I’m a sucker for old standards like rich boy/poor girl fairy tales. I do get swayed by reviews, but I’ve come to realize that a lot of times my opinion differs from the reviews I read on Amazon and other sites. I love reading dedications and I would love a bookmark.

  2. Danny says:

    Hi Laura

    What makes you pick up a book off the shelf? Is it the cover? The title? The back cover blurb? First page?

    The first eyecatcher is the cover/ title. I make the final decision after I read the cover blurb.

    What do you love most in a hero? A heroine?

    I love strong, mysterious heroes. Very often Alpha males with a touch of a beta, so that they are not too dominant and you would like to wring their necks.
    The heroine can either be shy or kick-ass, she just have to fit to the hero.

    Are there some plot lines or character traits you love/hate?

    I absolutley love tortured heroes as well as dark mysterious heroes. I don’t like whiny heroines.

    Do reviews (good or bad) affect your decision to purchase a new book?

    I read reviews, okay I am reviewer, but they don’t affect my decision too much, because if two people read the same book they will never have the same opinion about the book. I prefer to make my own opinion about a book. But I read reviews from people who have the same reading taste like I and listen to recommendation from friends

    Do you read the dedication? (it’s the first thing I read in a new book)

    Yeah, I read them and it’s always funny when I see people mentioned that I know.

    Would you like a free bookmark? LOL

    Sure, I just love them. everytime when I use one, they remind me to check if the author has a new book coming out.

  3. Hi Laura! Your book sounds fantastic. I love the idea of a western paranormal. Great premise.

    I can’t wait to read it.

    Christie

  4. Eva S says:

    Hi Laura and Jennifer,
    sounds like a great book, I love all kind of paranormal books, and a western would be something! Many questions, I first look at the cover and the hero should be a tall, dark alpha male, I seldom read the reviews, someone don’t like the book and I love it, what’s the point. A great book could be on the bookshelf…
    I like bookmarks,too. They remind me of looking for new books..

    It’s great to be home again,
    Eva

  5. Maureen says:

    Hi Laura and Jennifer,
    Your new book sounds completely different from anything I’ve read. I’m looking forward to it. I usually pick up a book because I’ve enjoyed the author’s stories in the past. If I’ve never read an author before then I need to know what the story is so I’ll read the blurb. I enjoy heroes and heroines who have a sense of humor and don’t take themselves too seriously.

  6. Laura Drewry says:

    Good morning everyone – and thank you, Jennifer, for having me today! 🙂 It’s so great to hear everyone’s thoughts and comments on why they pick up a book because most of the reasons are the same as my own! LOL

    Jane – I tried to write children’s books when I first started writing and it is very difficult. I’d still love to do it, and haven’t completely given up on that dream, but for now, it’s just simmering. . . 🙂

    Danny – regarding reviews. It’s funny, isn’t it? I love to read reviews, I love to hear other people’s views on a book (whether my own or someone else’s), but it doesn’t sway me one way or the other as to whether I’ll read it or not. Strange. . . 🙂

    Christie, Eva & Maureen – the paranormal element in this book is very light. I know that sounds strange, given that the heroine is the devil’s daughter (LOL), but it’s the truth. 🙂 My editor and I went back and forth on whether or not to make the story darker, but Lucy (the heroine) just didn’t lend to a dark story. And in my opinion, it’s the characters who determine the story, not me. LOL

    Thanks again for joining us here – hope you all have a great day!!
    Laura

  7. Beth R says:

    What makes you pick up a book off the shelf? Is it the cover? The title? The back cover blurb? First page?
    The cover reading the taste, seeing it on the internet, titles don’t really mean anything to me
    What do you love most in a hero? A heroine? I love a commited hero and heroine

    Are there some plot lines or character traits you love/hate? don’t care for amesia story lines

    Do reviews (good or bad) affect your decision to purchase a new book? not really if the review is good it might peak my interest but if a review is as that really doesn’t sway me

    Do you read the dedication? (it’s the first thing I read in a new book) Yes I always do

    Would you like a free bookmark? I would love one 🙂

  8. ThatBrunette says:

    What makes you pick up a book off the shelf? Is it the cover? The title? The back cover blurb? First page?

    If I am not looking for author and the books are cover out, I look at the artwork. If I am looking for authors, I might look at the ones nearby. If only spines are out, I look at the titles. ‘Haunted’ or ‘Ghost’ in the tittle will get me.

    What do you love most in a hero? A heroine?
    I don’t know if I have a type. I do like passionate men.

    Are there some plot lines or character traits you love/hate?
    I don’t like Deus ex Machina. I’m a sucker for a good ghost story.

    Do reviews (good or bad) affect your decision to purchase a new book?
    If it is a new author, yes.

    Do you read the dedication? (it’s the first thing I read in a new book)
    If it is long, I might.

    Would you like a free bookmark? LOL
    Sure!

    You mentioned that your then-agent suggested western paranormal. Why? Was that the hot thing at the time? Why not Regency or modern? Just curious.

    Which age group did you have in mind for children’s books? My son and I are having a great time reading ‘Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus’. I would love to write something that would captivate my son.

    I like how you described writing the final scene. Go for the smile reaction! We need more smiles.

  9. Helen says:

    Another great interview Ladies
    What makes me pick up a book of course the cover first then the blurb on the back and recomendations are big for me. I have added a lot of books to my must get list especially since coming to this blog. Thanks Ladies

    Have Fun
    Helen

  10. peggy says:

    its the cover .and the excerpt for me

  11. Cindi Hoppes says:

    Hi, I think reading author’s interviews is so interesting. I like knowing about the person behind a book! I enjoy reading paranormal romance. It is funny that the Stephen King clown is mentioned. My youngest son, was around 3 and his 6 year old brother and his friend were watching that Stephen King movie. A. happened to walk by the tv when the clown was killing a child! He has never forgotten that and still dreads clowns. Thanks for the interview and review. Cindi

  12. Laura Drewry says:

    Hi again! 🙂 For anyone who would like a bookmark, please email me(lauradrewry@gmail.com) your mailing address and I’ll be happy to drop one in the mail to you.

    Cindi – I shuddered just reading about your kids watching that King movie! I have to admit that I have taken to watching his movies BEFORE reading his books because the movies don’t scare me nearly as much. But once I get reading, I freak myself out so badly that I have to sit with my back to a wall or with all the lights on. LOL Clowns are freaky at the best of times, but if you’ve read “It” or seen the TV movie, they’ll freak you out 1000 times more. Isn’t it amazing how one person’s imagination can cause that kind of reaction in readers? I love that! LOL

    As for children’s books – I have found that as my boys get older, I find brand new authors and stories to love. Dr. Seuss, of course, will always be one of my favourites, but my kids are all pretty much past him now. I’ve gotten to read all the Harry Potter books, which I probably wouldn’t have if the oldest hadn’t brought home the first one. The Magic Tree House books have fascinated all 3 of my kids and now the two oldest are into the fantasy type books like Eragon, etc. Can’t say those do much for me, but I love the fact that kids are reading and re-reading these books over and over again. As an author, there is nothing better than knowing you’ve had that affect on a reader.

    You guys are so much fun to talk to! 🙂

    Laura

  13. Aunty Cindy says:

    Thanx for another great interview Jennifer!

    Laura, I just read your agent singing your praises on another blog. 😉 LOVE the idea of a paranormal western!

    Lately (in the past year or so) I’d say the thing that makes me pick up a book is a recommendation from a friend. I’ve had sooo many good books recommended to me that I can barely keep up! I do still usually read the back cover blurb and a bit of the first chapter before I buy. And yes, I ALWAYS read the dedication! Sometimes they bring a tear to your old Aunty’s eye. LOL!

  14. Hi Laura,

    Great interview and I love your book cover and the title 🙂 Sounds like a great read.

    What makes me pick up a book is a blurb, excerpt, my favorite author and yes I have to admit sometimes it is the cover. Even if the cover is very nice looking I do read the blurb first to find out if I want the book or not.

    I love the hero/heroine to be strong and not the whiny type.

    There is one thing I hate that are in some of the books is rape. I don’t like to read about it. I love a book that grabs me from page one to the end. Now you know it’s a great story if that happens 🙂

    I do read reviews bad or good but even if it’s bad it doesn’t stop me from buying a book if I want it. There were a few times where I bought a book I wanted that had bad reviews and I didn’t agree with that review at all. I ended up loving the book myself. We all have our own opinions.

    Yes, I do read the dedication part. That is one of the best part about a book to me. I love knowing who the book is dedicated to 🙂

    Of course I would love a free bookmark 🙂

    Hugssss
    LindaH

  15. Virginia H. says:

    What makes you pick up a book off the shelf? Is it the cover? The title? The back cover blurb? First page? I go for historical first, then the cover catches my eye, then the blurb on the back, title doesn’t matter much.

    What do you love most in a hero? A heroine? honesty and being true to each other.

    Are there some plot lines or character traits you love/hate? As long as a book is well written most plot lines are good. But I do love the highlanders

    Do reviews (good or bad) affect your decision to purchase a new book? no, reviews help sometimes but thats always a few peoples opinion, the book still may be good to you. Poeple have different views of a book. I have read 5 star books that I didn’t care for at all.

    Do you read the dedication? (it’s the first thing I read in a new book) yes always

    Would you like a free bookmark? LOL yes would love one.

  16. fedora says:

    Hi, Laura,

    I’m totally intrigued by the premise of your book–I usually avoid paranormals because I’m a total scaredy-cat and cannot watch anything even vaguely creepy. (I’m embarrassed to admit that I’ve been done in by an episode of… Buffy. Yep.) Forget reading it! But lighter is good–I could do lighter! I think I read and enjoyed Jane Heller’s Infernal Affairs, and that was about as intense as I can do 🙂

    As for what makes me pick up a book–covers and titles are good if I’m out browsing, and the blurb and first page will hook me. If I’m shopping with intention, then these days it’s often because a blog or some other recommendation will have gotten my interest.

    I love heroes and heroines with strength of character, with a sense of honor, even if they’ve done bad things. If I can get inside their heads enough, I can probably forgive them 🙂

    I tend to hate secret baby plots (apologies if I’m offending), and love plain-Jane wins the hot hero. (I do dislike the ones where the plain-Jane is magically made over partway and she’s suddenly gorgeous as all get out.)

    Sometimes reviews help, but I take them with a grain of salt–like Virginia said, tastes really vary, and reviews really are just one reader’s opinion.

    I often read the dedications–it’s a little piece of the author’s heart in a way.

    And sure–I’d love a bookmark 🙂 I use those all the time, and it’s a great reminder of books I’ve enjoyed or ones to look for next!

  17. Amelia says:

    What makes you pick up a book off the shelf? Is it the cover? The title? The back cover blurb? First page? The first thing would be the cover and then the title.

    What do you love most in a hero? A heroine? I love for both the hero and the heroine to be strong, caring, and lovable 🙂

    Are there some plot lines or character traits you love/hate? ?

    Do reviews (good or bad) affect your decision to purchase a new book? I think it sometimes help, but I will try the book and read for myself.

    Do you read the dedication? (it’s the first thing I read in a new book) Sometimes.

    Would you like a free bookmark? Yes. 🙂

  18. JSL says:

    Hi Laura,
    I’m a bit late but…
    What makes you pick up a book off the shelf? Is it the cover? The title? The back cover blurb? First page? Generally I know what I’m looking for when I go to the book store. The author, cover, and title I think equally influence me on whether or not I’ll pick up the book.

    What do you love most in a hero? A heroine? I love a strong hero, who is strong enough to handle having feelings. The same goes with the heroine – I also really respect honesty in characters. A few flaws are a good thing.

    Are there some plot lines or character traits you love/hate? Yes. Haha – they annoy me so much I don’t even want to think about them right now.

    Do reviews (good or bad) affect your decision to purchase a new book? Yes, actually. Especially for authors I haven’t read before or don’t know very well, I’ll find myself holding back until I read the reviews on amazon. For some reason I find them the most honest and accurate. (If I want to find out about the book, which is how most review sites work – I’ll just check the author’s webpage. 😉 I don’t know how I read anything before the internet.)

    Do you read the dedication? (it’s the first thing I read in a new book) Yes! Some of them are so so cute.

    Would you like a free bookmark? I’d say yes, but I’d just lose it :-X. Same for cover flats. I’m not big on, or good with swag.

  19. Sue A. says:

    What makes you pick up a book off the shelf? Familiar author’s name, then attractive cover, and title last, but it’s the back blurb that’s most important to get me to reach into my pockets.

    What do you love most in a hero? Intensity A heroine? Tenacity

    Are there some plot lines or character traits you love/hate? mistress to wife because of pregnancy

    Do reviews (good or bad) affect your decision to purchase a new book? yes

    Do you read the dedication? (it’s the first thing I read in a new book) not always

    Would you like a free bookmark? LOL – I don’t use bookmarks.

  20. Nathalie says:

    Hi,

    I love your books… and usually when I like an author I pick up all her books 🙂

Leave a Reply

