Interview with Carrie Lofty!

Today’s guest is the fantastic, Carrie Lofty!  Her Zebra Debut release, What a Scoundrel Wants, is available later this year…
Her current release “Sundial” was released in December 2007 and became a #1 bestseller from The Wild Rose Press…

Please tell us about your book.
What a Scoundrel Wants is a hot, swashbuckling romance that picks up Will Scarlet’s story where the Robin Hood legend leaves off. Will is renowned for his talents with a sword and has finally stepped out from his legendary uncle’s shadow. When he’s set up by the Sheriff of Nottingham, he rescues the alchemist who can clear him of murder–but she’s blind, obsessed with fire, and sister to the woman Will arrested.

What a Scoundrel Wants will be a December 2008 Zebra Debut release (ISBN 0420104752). You can read an excerpt here.

What inspired the story?
I was set to begin a book set in the silent movie era when my girls rented Disney’s animated Robin Hood. I realized I hadn’t seen Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves in years. It’s shlocky as all get out, but I love it–not for Kevin Costner or men in tights or even the delicious Alan Rickman–but because of my obsessive fascination with Christian Slater. Girly hormones at their worst! That got me thinking: Whatever happened to Will Scarlet anyway?

Is there anything you would like to write, but haven’t? For example, any other genre you’d like to try?
I’m plotting a sci-fi romance at present, something where I have permission to base the setting on my own imagination rather than the dictates of history. I’ve always loved sci-fi movies like Terminator, Aliens, and the original Star Wars trilogy–especially when they blend action, new worlds, and romance.

What would you like to tell aspiring writers?
Be gentle with yourself when it comes to rejections, but be disciplined with regard to meeting a daily word or page count, reasonable deadlines, and treating your writing career with the respect it deserves. My family took me seriously only when I took myself seriously. And any healthy work habits you can develop now will help in the future when you sell!

Describe yourself in 3 words.
Diplomatic, intelligent, sappy.

If you had a time capsule to be opened 50 years in the future, what would you put in it?
A nice bottle of wine from this year. Someone would have a nice evening!

Complete the following…
I dream: crazy, crazy things.
I wish: everyone could have their happy ending.
I pretend: I can talk to my characters.
I fear: harm coming to my girls.
I appreciate: patience.
I am annoyed by: rudeness.
I read: far less than I’d like.
I cannot live without: touching.
I am happy when: I get a good night’s sleep.
I would like to meet: Bono.

Where can readers find you online?
My website
Unusual Historicals

Is there anything you’d like to ask readers?
sundial_w1663_300.jpgI’m always, always interested in historical romances set in unusual places and times. My award-winning time travel short story, “Sundial,” for example, is set in 1958 Italy. Do readers share my interest? Why don’t we see more variety in the historical romance genre? I’m curious! And if you have any to recommend, I’d love to know which ones have tickled your fancy…

Thank you so much for that great interview, Carrie! 

So readers, how about answering Carrie’s questions…and don’t forget to check out her website! 

Remember, every comment left is an entry into the giveaway…this is the last week to enter…details here!

29 Responses to Interview with Carrie Lofty!

  1. Paula says:

    Italy sounds like a lovely setting, but I have to confess that a historical set in 1958 is too “new” for me. The whole 20th century feels too close yet, even if I wasn’t there for the most of it.

  2. Beth R says:

    I think different time periods are interesting as well, but I don’t seem to find many that are written in different times, I guess I’m not looking hard enough

  3. Carrie Lofty says:

    Hello! Thanks for stopping by today. If you’re interested in finding more romances set in unusual times and places, try the multi-author blog I found: Unusual Historicals.

    Every Sunday we host a book party, featuring either one of our contributors or a guest, where we give away a free book. So that means every Sunday offers a chance to try out a new author, from ancient Egypt to the London blitz. Good stuff.

    Thanks agains for stopping by!

  4. Carrie Lofty says:

    “…the multi-author blog I found” should read “the multi-author blog I founded.” Sorry!

  5. Cherie J says:

    I love different time periods and countries as well. I love seeing books about the Romans. Nothing quite like a sexy Roman lord or centurion

  6. Hey Carrie!!! *waving*

    I love your question. Funny, I am currently writing in Italy during the renaissance. I, however, still love the Scottish books, so I tend to start go to a far off place and always end up back in Scotland! 🙂

    I would like to see a book written during the time of Moses. You rarely see anything dating back that far. I’m certainly not the person to write it though.
    Enjoy your day blogging!

    ~Kimberly

  7. Cindi Hoppes says:

    A swashbuckling read sounds great to me! I haven’t read this type of book for awhile!
    Thanks for the interview and another amazing contest! Cindi

  8. fedora says:

    Hi, Carrie, thanks for the lovely interview today! I do enjoy reading about different times and countries. I haven’t read many set in Asia, and would love to read more set there. Will be popping over to check out your multi-author blog!

  9. Helen says:

    Robin Hood one of my favourite stories your books sound fantastic. I love Scottish set historicals I haven’t read any set in Italy but they sound great. I read one set around World War 2 once can’t remember the name but I loved it. Off to check out the Unusual Historicals.
    Have Fun
    Helen

  10. Carrie Lofty says:

    Cherie J: If you like Roman-set historicals, try Michelle Styles. She’s on our Unusual Historical blog and writes for Harlequin Historicals. Great stuff.

    Kim: Hi!! As for pre-Christian historicals, you might try The Red Tent by Anita Diamant. It’s told by Jacob’s daughter, Dinah. I believe Diamant has done other Biblical-style historicals too.

    Fededora: The reigning queen of Asian-set historical romances is Jade Lee. She’s written six tantric eroticas (White Tigress, Burning Tigress, etc.). Really intriguing use of culture and setting, and fabulously hot romances.

    Keep ’em coming. I’m full of reccomendations 🙂

  11. Jane says:

    Hi Carrie,
    I would love to read stories set in ancient Rome, Greece and Egypt. I also think romances set during WWII would be very interesting.

  12. fedora says:

    Ooh, thanks, Carrie! Those do sound good! BTW, I just wanted to say that some of your answers really clicked for me–sleep is such a good, good thing! And there’s nothing I’d like better than to be able to keep my kids safe (and yet we can’t cocoon them!) 🙂

  13. Virginia H. says:

    I love books set in different time periods. I also love books set in the highlands of Scotland. I am a big historical buff and like about all of them. There just doesn’t seem to be that many authors that right historical any more and I miss it. I guess they have moved on to other things. Paranormal seems to be the big thing right now, and I don’t like them as well.

  14. JSL says:

    Hi Carrie,
    I just blanked – but a while back I loved these murder mystery type books set in Ancient Rome. They were also pretty historically accurate, which was nice. I can’t remember the name of the author… but I think he may have been a professor, specializing in the Classics (which helps). I’m not sure why there isn’t more variety in historicals – maybe it’s just that other periods don’t sell, or people don’t know about them so it makes the story too pedantic to explain all the details. Now I’m just blabbing – but thanks for the great interview! (And thanks to you too, Jennifer – you rock!)

  15. Carrie Lofty says:

    Jane: In May, we’ll be featuring author Michelle Moran to promote her book Nefertiti. She’ll be giving away a signed copy of the hardcover edition. Also, Morag McKendrick Pippin writes WWII-set historical romances for Dorchester.

    Virginia: I hope you come over and give some of the authors at Unusual Historicals a shot. We’re not your typical historical fare, and I think we’re a fun break from paranormals.

    JSL: Do you mean Caroline Lawrence? All of her books are mysteries set in Rome, but I think they’re YA. Another possibility is Colleen McCullough’s Masters of Rome series.

  16. Howdy, partner!

    Don’t hate me, all, but I just got in my hot little hand the first to-be-critted draft of the sequel to What a Scoundrel Wants. The original Will Scarlet tale is a whirlwind ride–the second promises to match.

    Carrie exceeds at taking unredeemable, angst-ridden people and smooshing them together in a plot that tests their strength–and finds the gem of redemption within. As if that weren’t enough, she does it in a richly described environment snatched from varied periods of Earth history. My mouth is watering for the ms I’m about to crit–and if you haven’t had the pleasure of reading Carrie Lofty’s work, trot on over to The Wild Rose Press and get a copy of Sundial. Right now!

  17. Carrie Lofty says:

    Oh wait, there are also the Falco detective mysteries by Lindsey Davis. I think that’s it. Really, really good history.

  18. Jennifer Y says:

    Thanks Carrie for all the recommendations!!

    Ooh, I am envious Kelly!

  19. Lorelie says:

    Hi chickie!

    Well gee, I’d like to read more books set in the 20s. *cough mustfinishmine cough* lol But if anyone has any good recommendations, I’m totally game. It was such a wild time, I can’t figure out why there’s not more set then.

    And ladies, I’m one of the lucky few as well – I’ve got the sequel. 🙂

  20. Jennifer Y says:

    Hi Lorelie…Flo Fitzpatrick, who was a guest here last week, wrote a time travel using contemporary New York and New York in 1919 called Haunting Melody.

  21. ThatBrunette says:

    I love the process of getting to your book. I also lurve Alan Rickman. Something to do with his voice.

    I agree with your statement about not enough variety in historical romances. I like the occasional set-in-the-20th-century book. My only issue is with putting modern ideas in the heads of historical character’s heads. It’s hard to avoid.

  22. peggy says:

    i love t read the historal books with the setting in england. scotland, i enjoy the
    highland books .i only read a few books written in a france setting.
    and would enjoy seeing more of them

  23. JSL says:

    Hi Carrie,
    No, it was definitely a male author. His books weren’t romances – they were more focused on the history/murder mystery aspect. – I have heard of Colleen McCullough, recently, I think, but I haven’t looked into any of her books.

  24. Amelia says:

    Hi Carrie, I haven’t tried your books. I don’t mind reading romances set in different time and/or place. I do not have certain time though since I haven’t read that much.

  25. Maureen says:

    Hi Carrie,
    I too like historicals set in all different time periods. I really enjoy it when the author brings that period to life for me.

  26. Pam P says:

    Hi Carrie, I do like time travels, will have to get that one from WRP. I do love scottish historicals still, but don’t mind other settings. Madeline Hunter just had one in Italy I liked.

  27. Sue A. says:

    I like historicals in general, but I don’t have a favorite time period. My only problem with historicals is that some authors write too much of the language of that time period into the book making some settings hard to read for me. I have a hard time following heavy Scottish brogue, gaelic, or even some really early English.

  28. Nathalie says:

    I have to say I am not a fan of time-travel… I am maybe a bit too realistic to enjoy them!

Leave a Reply

