Christie Kelley Interview!

Today’s guest is the lovely Christie Kelley! 
I reviewed Christie’s debut book, Every Night I’m Yours last month on my blog.  You can read that review by clicking here.
 

Today I have an interview with the talented author! 

eniy.jpgPlease tell us about your book, Every Night I’m Yours.
I’m really awful at summarizing my own books so I thought I’d better give you the back cover blurb instead:

At twenty-six, aspiring novelist Avis Copley intends to wear spinsterhood as a badge of honor. But when she discovers a volume of erotica that ignites a searing fire within her, Avis realizes just how much she doesn’t know about the actual pleasures of the flesh. Determined to learn more, she devises a daring plan… 

Avis chooses Emory Billingsworth, a fellow novelist-not to mention a beautiful specimen of manhood-to instruct her in carnal pleasure. But when the brash earl of Selby, Banning Talbot, a man she has known for years, unearths Avis’ true intentions, he claims she’s made a dangerously bad choice. Volunteering his services for one wicked night of reckless, abandoned passion, Banning promises he will satisfy all of her deepest longings. Yet Banning cannot begin to imagine the effect his willful, voluptuous, and very eager student will have on him-or how far an innocent lesson in desire can go…  

What inspired the story?
I seem to get my inspiration from dreams.  I was writing a book with both Banning and Avis as secondary characters.  This book was supposed to be a stand alone book, not sequels.  Never had I thought when I started the manuscript that Banning and Avis would become hero and heroine for a different book.  But the minute I put these two on paper, there was so much sexual tension between them I could help but think about them as a hero and heroine. 

But back to the dreams.  I woke up one night while writing the “other” book to hear Avis saying to her friends, “I’ve decided to take a lover.”  I sat up and thought to myself, “No, that’s not right. Regency spinsters don’t take lovers.”  And darn that Avis refused to accept the idea that she couldn’t, at the age of 26, take a lover to discover what she was missing.

Who would you cast as the hero and heroine in a film adaptation of your book?
This is probably the hardest question to answer because both characters appeared so clearly to me but didn’t remind me of any specific actors.  If I had to guess, I’d say that Pierce Brosnan in his Remington Steele days is about as close as I get to Banning. 

Avis is a bit harder to cast.  I never pictured her as drop-dead gorgeous.  She is more the girl next door.  I think the closest I could get to her would be Jennifer Garner, only Avis has curly hair.

What is your favorite part of being a writer?  Least favorite?
What’s not to love about being a writer?  I create worlds and stories that can make people happy or make them cry.  I can do my job any time day or night, in my pajamas with no makeup on.  How great is that!

Least favorite?  Revisions.  The editor sees something that perhaps you didn’t and then only gives suggestions so you’re left guessing if what you’re changing is what he/she wants.  It’s a little intimidating.

Who has inspired you as a writer?
So many writers have inspired me that I would never be able to list them all.  Johanna Lindsay, Christina Dodd, Victoria Alexandra, and Julie Garwood to name a few.  Also, my husband has inspired me greatly.  He encouraged me to chase my dream and never give up.

What would you like to tell aspiring writers?
Oh, I love easy questions!  For all aspiring writers, keep learning your craft, keep writing, keep submitting and NEVER GIVE UP!  I came close to giving up writing about two years before I received the call.  That year I decided, at the last minute, to enter the RWA’s Golden Heart Contest in 2006 and became a finalist.  Finaling in the GH was such a boost to my writing self-esteem that it never again entered my mind to quit writing.  I sold the book about a year after the final. 

Describe yourself in 3 words.
Introverted, Determined, Thoughtful  

If you could save one book from destruction, what would it be?
Only one book?

That’s not right! If I was smart, I’d say my book, Every Night I’m Yours.  But honestly, I’d have to save Pride and Prejudice.  It’s one of my all-time favorite books and everyone should have the chance to read it.    

If you had a time capsule to be opened 50 years in the future, what would you put in it?
Hmm, this is a tough question for me.  Of course, I want all my books in there, plus my husband’s CDs. (he’s a musician)  Pictures of my children and my family.  Being a history lover, a couple of current newspapers, more books, and then some of the current technology of the day so people can see our iPods, PCs, cell phones. 
 

What is next for you?
I’m finishing my second book in the series.  I haven’t heard a definite release date on that book but rumor has it sometime around February 2009.  The book doesn’t have a name yet because the first title was immediately rejected by my editor, which was fine by me.  I think putting a title on the book is harder than writing the entire thing.

The story is about Banning’s sister, Jennette.  She has a deep secret that one only other person knows, and he’s ready to blackmail her to keep it secret.  Only blackmail turns to passion and then to love.  It’s been a tougher story for me to write because it is such an emotional book.

Is there anything you’d like to ask readers?
I want to know what plot readers love in a romance and what they hate.  If you read regency set historicals, what plot device are you completely sick of?   Then I’ll answer with my love/hates.

Great interview Christie!  Thank you so much! 

You can learn more about Christie by visiting her website:  http://www.christiekelley.com/ 

So, as Christie asked, what plots in romances do you love?  What do you hate? 
If you read regency-set historicals, what plot devices are you sick of?
 

Remember, every comment is an entry in the big giveaway…this is the last week to enter!  Details here.

41 Responses to Christie Kelley Interview!

  1. Helen says:

    Christie I loved ENIY and am really looking forward to Jennette’s story.

    I read a lot of regency stories I love them with some suspense and the Cinderella story line but I don’t think there are any that I really don’t like as long as the story is good and gets me from the start I enjoy it.

    Have Fun
    Helen

  2. Thanks, Helen. I’m so glad you enjoyed ENIY.

    Jennette’s story has been the most difficult story I’ve ever written. I’m still tweaking it before I send it off to my editor on Wednesday.

    Christie

  3. brownone says:

    Great interview! I’d say that the plot device that annoys me is the “evil stepmother” when it is overdone. UGH! I just feel myself rolling my eyes whenever she’s too evil to be true.

  4. brownone, I couldn’t agree more. I deliberately gave Banning a “nice” mother. And I gave Banning’s parent’s a loving marriage. I did it more to give balance to Avis’ parents but it really works in Jennette’s story.

  5. Beth R says:

    I don’t care for amnesia story lines they just don’t work for me

  6. Hi Beth,

    I think one problem with amnesia stories is that they were overdone in the past. I like the idea of the amnesia story but would find it hard to do something orginal with it.

    Thanks for posting!

    Christie

  7. Minna says:

    Revenge story lines. And it’s usually the guy with the revenge on his mind and they are often so awful towards the heroine, it’s hard to believe why any woman would fall in love with them.

  8. Cindi Hoppes says:

    Hello, I am new to you and your books. I am glad that I happened upon this interview. I would love to read your book. Thanks,Cindi

  9. Uh oh, Minna! What don’t you like about revenge stories? I’d love to know because I’m plotting one right now.

    Is it just that the man usually has to be so cruel to the woman? Is it that his motivation isn’t clear enough? Or you can’t see that he is warring with himself over what he’s doing? For me, I really have to see that the hero is struggling with what he’s doing in order for me to have any sympathy with him.

    I’d love to hear your thoughts!

    Christie

  10. Hi Cindi,

    I’m glad you found us. Jennifer has a great blog and Zebra month has been a lot of fun. I just with I’d had more time to pop in. Unfortunately, I’m in a major deadline push right now.

    Christie

  11. Danny says:

    Hi Christie,

    I really like Tortured Heroes stories as well wallflower reforms rake stories.

    What I don’t like so much are stories that are too much focused on spionage and such stuff, or that are set in France, as well as stories with actresses.

  12. I love Regency-era books, and I love ENIY.

    I don’t think there’s any particular type of plot I dislike. They’ve all been overused, so to speak. It’s the freshness and the voice that makes the story a delight to read. The same-old, same-old can become a book impossible to put down with a slight twist and an intriquing voice.

  13. Thanks, Danny! I love a good tortured hero. Jennette is my next heroine and her hero is pretty tortured. He took the fall for her and spent the next five years paying for it.

  14. Hi Donna! Thanks for the comment on ENIY. I’m dying for Moonlight to come out. For anyone who doesn’t know, Donna writes awesome Victorian romances. Absolutely great!

    And I have to agree that it’s all about how the author puts the twist on the same old story that works.

  15. Beth Andrews says:

    Great interview, Christie and Jennifer!

    I’m with Donna – I can’t think of any type of plot I don’t like. If an author’s voice grabs me and I fall for the charactes, I’m game for anything *g*

    Christie, I still haven’t found Every Night I’m Yours in town but I’m headed to Amazon right now to order it. I can’t wait to read it!!

  16. Jane says:

    Hi Christie,
    I can’t wait to read how Banning convinces Avis that he is will be the tutor she’s looking for. I agree that formulaic plots can get tedious, but I still read these books because I’m counting on the author to make their story interesting and original by making their characters multidimensional.

  17. Thanks, Jane. I hope you enjoy it!

  18. JSL says:

    Hi Christie,
    Great interview! I haven’t read your book yet but I’m going to have to go find it… As to plot devices I’m sick of, one of them is “sex as eeevil.” I know that’s how it was for a long period, irl. I read a book recently where the hero and heroine were married but estranged because they were “incompatible” in bed. The heroine thought sex was disgusting, because that was what she was told. I was so annoyed. I wanted to have a “talk” with her – like, “Really? really? you don’t like sex? I mean, because you’ve had sex before… and you enjoyed the foreplay and everything, but you’re going to listen to your evil mother- the one you can’t stand just because she says sex is vile?”
    And the next is the jerk hero. The one who for 300 pages denies being in love, though he’s essentially acted as the heroine’s husband. He of course, married her just for her fortune/name. He’ll call her a whore, accuse her of betraying him, of betraying England, killing babies and kicking puppies. Then he’ll find out in about 30 pages he was all wrong and was a terrible person. At which point he’ll be sad, run after the hero, and after he says “sorry” she’ll say “No problem! Let’s get it on!” Maybe I’m a bit vindictive, but I can’t stand that. If I were the heroine, and the hero betrayed me, hurt me, and ruined my reputation/life… I’d need to see some genuine remorse, and probably some heartfelt groveling. (This goes for all genres.)

  19. JSL says:

    Whoops – some things to fix – the heroine will effectively end her perfect marriage because her mother tells her sex is bad. Scenario 2, the hero will either marry, or effectively be married to the heroine – and I meant to say he’ll run after the hero*ine*.

  20. Hi JSL…Okay, I have to admit I don’t think I could ever write a sex is evil book 🙂

    I’m writing Jennette’s story right now and I love the fact that her mother was straight up with her about sex.

    Christie

  21. Jo Robertson says:

    Great interview questions, Jennifer! Hi, Christie, popping over from the Bandita Lair to check out the interview. I just finished reading ENIY and it’s a great, sexy read. Can’t wait for Jennette’s story. She was so clueless about Banning and Avis in ENIY that I’m curious about her own secret.

    I love the higher level of sensuality in the newer historicals, the whole facade of gentility with underpinings of passion.

  22. Hi Jo!! I’m so glad you like ENIY. Jennette’s secret is definitely dark and you would never know it by how she acts. 🙂

  23. Aunty Cindy says:

    GREAT interview Jennifer and Christie!

    Another Bandita popping over from the Lair to wave HI!

    Christie, I just started reading ENIY and I’m really enjoying it! So much so that I’m having a hard time breaking away and working on my WIP. So I’m blaming YOU for not getting my pages written this week! Sounds like a great excuse to me. LOL!

    I’m with Beth and a few others. I don’t like to say there’s any particular story line I won’t read, because wonderful writers can always put a fresh spin on what I would otherwise believe to be a “stale” plot line.

    Can’t WAIT to finish ENIY!

    AC

  24. Oh, no! I’m causing Aunty Cindy not to write! Heehee, I’m not sorry. I’ll take the blame any day of week if it means someone is enjoying my story.

    Don’t worry, it’s a quick read so you’ll be done in no time.

    Christie

  25. Jennifer, as you know, I love your blog. Great interview with Christie who always gives the MOST interesting answers. Christie, congratulations again on the release and the success of Every Night I’m Yours! You must be pinching yourself now you’ve got a book on the shelves – I know I was. Actually if it’s handled right, there’s no plot I don’t like. It all comes down to the execution!

  26. Thanks, Anna. I’ve only had the chance to get to two bookstores so far. And I did pinch myself and of course forgot my camera both times.

    But really? I give the MOST interesting answers? I always think my answers are the most boring things ever.

  27. Nah! You’re much more interesting than you think you are 😉

  28. Okay, so I never fessed up about the plot device bugging me lately. I’m going duck down while I say this…the marriage of convenience.

    I will agree that all plot devices can be fresh with a new twist and a great voice. And I’ve read some great marriage of convenience stories (I might even write one some day). But, I just feel like this one has been over done.

    What man is going to agree to this unless he is completely unattracted to the woman?

    Okay, I’m hiding in the closet so no one throws tomatoes at me.

    Christie

  29. Caren Crane says:

    Christie, so great to see you here! I love a reformed rake–a truly repentant, there’s now only one woman for me reformed rake. *g* Nothing better than watching him meet his match and get his comeuppance in the form of true love. *sigh* I do love a rake!

    And I totally see your point about the marriage of convenience being overdone. Then again, when it’s done well it can be a spectacular crucible for a couple. *eg*

    I hope everyone picks up Every Night I’m Yours–what a Regency treat! Jennifer, thanks for a great interview!

  30. Virginia H. says:

    I can’t think of any plots that I dislike. I just love to have the happy endings. That is why I read romance. I don’t like reading the same thing over and over. So I switch around books a lot. I might read a romance, then a paranormal or mystery. Although I am reading a paranormal right now that I am having a hard time getting into, I’m giving it one more night before I give up on it. I can say one thing I never have problems getting into historicals, if that tells you anything.

    Great interview by the way.

  31. fedora says:

    Great interview, Christie! And interesting question… I also dislike some of the ones already mentioned–amnesia is hard to pull off well, and I don’t remember seeing this much in Regencies, but I hate the whole secret baby thing–absolutely can’t stand that plot. I do love friends (or somehow have history)-to-lovers (I think I’m going to love ENIY) and also the plain-Jane/wallflower and reformed rake. I especially love that if the plain-Jane is really one (no magical make-over mid-plot, please–that’s such a cop-out!) and wins the hero’s heart because of her incredible character/brains/personality/skills.

  32. Pam P says:

    Hi Christie, looking forward to reading your book. I agree with many, not much that bothers me in plots and there are only so many really, it’s what the author does with it all, especially the characters and how they interact.

  33. ThatBrunette says:

    I love that the inspiration came from the character, herself in a dream. When I really get into something whether it be a book or a TV show, it has a tendency to make it’s way into my dreams.

    I’m not a big fan of Deus ex Machina. I like things to be resolved in a humanly possible manner (was that a real sentence?). No ‘rich uncle appears and pays off debt, buys them a house and they raise sheep and goats for their cheese’, for me.

  34. Amelia says:

    Great interview! I haven’t read your books yet and I’m glad that Jennifer have been introducing so many great authors. I’m still not sure what kind of plots I love, hate, or sick of since I am slow reader and I haven’t had a chance to try them all.

  35. I thought I’d catch up this morning. I’m on th east coast and not much of a night person. Caren, thanks for all the support!

    Virginia, I like to mix it up a bit too. One thing I can’t do is read historical when I’m writing. So I have a rather large tbr pile of historicals waiting for me to send my next book to my editor.

    Pam, thanks for stopping by!

    Thatbrunette, I understand completely. I struggled with whether to have a sudden inheritence come along to save the hero of my next book. I decided it wasn’t realistic.

    Hi Amelia, first I love your name and will probably end up using it one day in a book. And you’re right, Jennifer has been great to let us authors stop by for interviews.

  36. Jennifer,

    Thank you so much for the interview. I had a lot of fun here today!

    Christie

  37. Minna says:

    I suppose it ‘s mainly that the man or woman usually has to be so cruel. Well, I haven’t hated ALL revenge stories, but there was this one story in particular… The so called hero was just so awful, that when he was finally telling the heroine that despite all the terrible things he did, he really loved her all the time, I was just thinking “why doesn’t she just slap him silly and tell him they’ll see in court?” That story was just too unreal and the hero was just way too cruel. In fact, he would have fit much better in the role of a crook. And the heroine was too much of a wimp.

  38. Maureen says:

    I enjoy the arranged marriage and always like a story that has a new spin on that theme.

  39. Sue A. says:

    I’m having a hard time finding something I hate in terms of plots. But I am a little tired of the match up of a virgin female with a male that plays the field. This always creates a situation where all the power is in the hands of the male character and the female gets seduced. I guess I want the leads to be a little more evenly matched. I didn’t always feel this way–this must be a sign of my growing maturity.

  40. Nathalie says:

    WOW… You have done a lot of promo for your debut novel!

Leave a Reply

