Diana Cosby Guest Blogs!

Please give a warm welcome to author Diana Cosby… 

Diana Cosby – Romance Edged With Danger
www.dianacosby.com 

One aspect of writing that caught me off guard was discovering that my stories are filled with suspense.  I never planned to write action-packed novels, but that’s what my muse delivers.  I find myself becoming bored with my book if the story doesn’t keep me on the edge of my seat.  I owe my action-packed, suspenseful novels not only from living and traveling from the Far East to Europe, but also due to being raised as a military ‘brat,’ in addition to my own career in the Navy.  I am currently on my 29th move, with one last move to Texas once my husband retires from the Navy.

After living and traveling to many countries, with numerous interstate moves, I easily accept the differences in various cultures world wide.   For me, this translated into my initial choice to write in the medieval period.  As I said above, I owe my love of suspense to my military background.  I retired as a Navy chief who worked as a meteorologist/oceanographer.   When a person joins the military, at times, as with any branch of the military, personnel are sent to fulfill the needs of that organization.  This equates to jobs and traveling to places a person never even dreamed of.

While I was stationed on Guam, two memories remain vivid in my mind, each during a military exercise.  On a routine basis, the military holds practice sessions to ensure personnel are prepared for a myriad of real-life issues.  One such mission involved working with Army Rangers who played the role of insurgents determined to infiltrate and overtake our command.  I was assigned to external security, handed an M-14 with dummy rounds and sent to a position within the jungle.  I still remember that exercise vividly, the vibrant wet leaves of the surrounding vegetation, the hot, rich smells of the jungle, the tiny sounds of jungle life scurrying nearby, along with the weight of the M-14 in my hands.  Nerves ran high during the exercise, radio messages of insurgent attacks and victories ran rampant, fueling the tension.  Several times near my position, movement sent me on alert.  Early in the afternoon, several ‘insurgents’ came into view.  Adrenalin spiked, I took aim and fired.  Later results showed that indeed, I scored a direct hit.

Later that day, during the same military exercise, I was taken hostage.  The Army Rangers kept in character as the bad guys with scary effectiveness.  After reports that a commanding officer had been abducted from a nearby base, the Rangers stormed our command.  Integral parts of the compound were secure, but as an external guard, I was rounded up along with others members of external security and taken into a large room and held as hostages.  With the excellent role playing of the Army Rangers, had I not known we were participating in an exercise, I would have truly believed I was a hostage, with the consequences if their demands weren’t met, lethal.

In addition to the various jobs outside the duties of a meteorologist/oceanographer in the Navy, I believe my experiences as I traveled in my life owe to my love of suspense as well as how much I enjoy writing visual details.
-In Alaska, I remember going to high school, experiencing earthquakes frequently, watching the salmon run, working at a riding stable, admiring the eagles as common as seagulls on an ocean beach, and viewing seals in Kuluk Bay, Alaska.
-In Rhode Island I enjoyed clamming on the weekends, traveling to Boston, and the sounds of the surf.
-In Maine I enjoyed snow shoeing, trying to learn how to ski, fishing, hiking and the great variety of seafood.
-In Oahu, Hawaii, I loved hiking in the mountains and over Kilauea volcano before it erupted, and scuba diving in the crystal clear waters.
-In Guam, I participated in a variety of sports, with the most enjoyable being scuba diving at night.  Daytime dives are great, especially with the crystal clear visibility, but in the warm tropical water, diving at night with a full moon illuminating the ocean, with bioluminescent animals glittering all around you is an unmatched experience.
-In Tangier, Morocco, where I re-enlisted my final time in the Navy on the back of a camel.  To see the photograph, go to my space on the ROMVET’s page:  http://www.romvets.com/
-On Midway Island during my spare time, I was a radio DJ.
-In Korea the thrill of traveling from Osan Air Base to Seoul for a week of shopping with my friend was exciting, along with the magnificent architecture, the fascinating people we met and the enjoyment of bartering for everything from cab rides to merchandise.
-In the Philippines, the wonderful food and riding in the jeepneys.
-I was humbled as we traveled through the Ardennes Forest on the German/Belgium border where the Battle of the Bulge occurred.  So many brave men and women lost their lives in pursuit of our freedom, sacrifices I will never forget.

I am proud to belong to a fabulous group of women writers who have served or are serving in the military, ROMVETS.  http://www.romvets.com/.  As all of our soldiers who proudly serve, I offer them my sincere thanks for standing in harms way so that we maintain our freedom.

Travel along with my military experiences has definitely inspired the suspenseful edge to my writing.  I’m thankful for the experiences and events that will surely continue to feed my muse.

hiscaptive.jpgDiana Cosby currently lives in Virginia, with her oldest son leaving for the Marine Corps in November of 2007, and her daughter planning to go off to college in the summer of 2008.  After her husband, a U.S. Navy meteorologist/oceanographer and Iraq veteran, retires from the Navy in the summer of 2008, they will move to Texas with their youngest son, where they will build their final home.

To learn more about Diana or to sign-up for her newsletter, go to her website at www.dianacosby.com. 

Thank you Diana for that fascinating blog! 
And thank you and your family for serving our country!

Readers, do you have any fascinating travel experiences to share? 

Remember, every comment is a contest entry…details here!

41 Responses to Diana Cosby Guest Blogs!

  1. Jane says:

    Hi Diana,
    Thanks for your service to the country and to us. I’ve already asked some romvets what they thought of MREs, what about you? I hear they’re a lot tastier now. Did you enjoy the nomadic lifestyle that goes with a military career, do you think you’ll miss it once you move to Texas?

  2. Diana Cosby says:

    Jane said:

    Hi Diana,
    Thanks for your service to the country and to us.

    ~Thank you. I assure you, the support you and others give our military members are sincerely appreciated.

    I’ve already asked some RomVets what they thought of MREs, what about you? I hear they’re a lot tastier now.

    ~My dad’s retired, so I had a taste of the yummy [not] MRE’s back in the late 60’s/70’s. My husband did a tour in Iraq in 07, and I had a chance to taste the latest MRE’s. I assure you, they’ve come far. They even have heater packs in each one to warm the food if necessary.

    Did you enjoy the nomadic lifestyle that goes with a military career,

    ~I grew up a military brat, so until our latest move to VA, I’d never stayed anywhere for more than 3 1/2 years before moving. To me, it was a normal lifestyle. As for my own service years, yes, I looked forward to each move, regardless of where my job as a meteorologist/oceanographer took me. There is always so much to see and learn with each new duty station. Plus, I always met so many really nice people. We still keep in touch with our neighbor in Illinois from 19 years ago, and our baby sitter we had while we lived in Spain. 🙂

    do you think you’ll miss it once you move to Texas?

    ~No. I’m pretty moved out. I look forward to being around family, being there for the celebrations in life as well as there to support others in tough times. I do plan a trip or two to Scotland in the future. I’ve already checked. There is a direct flight to Edinburgh.
    Thank you very much for stopping by and taking time to post. Enjoy your Sunday!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com

  3. Marin Thomas says:

    Hi Diana

    For those who haven’t checked out Diana’s camel picture–it’s awesome! Loved HIS CAPTIVE and can’t wait for your next release–you’ve got me hooked on the MacGruder brothers! And I, too, would love to tour Scotland and see the beautiful castles.

    Marin Thomas
    In a Soldier’s Arms (Feb 08)
    http://www.marinthomas.com

  4. Diana Cosby says:

    Marin Thomas wrote:

    For those who haven’t checked out Diana’s camel picture–it’s awesome!

    ~LOL, thanks for the mention, Marin. I remember when I handed the request to my commander to go to Africa with me to re-enlist me on the back of a camel. He thought it was a joke – and agreed. It was a blast.

    Loved HIS CAPTIVE and can’t wait for your next release–you’ve got me hooked on the MacGruder brothers!

    ~Thank you so much. I’m glad you enjoyed meeting the brothers. They’re amazing. At the moment I’m working on Seathan’s book, needless to say, he’s being stubborn. Why am I not surprised. 🙂
    Let me add if you haven’t read any of Marin’s books, her brothers are totally yummy! She’s a fabulous writer – check her out!

    And I, too, would love to tour Scotland and see the beautiful castles.

    ~I know it’s going to be an amazing visit. Thank you very much for taking the time to stop by and say hello! Enjoy your Sunday!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com

  5. Morning, Diana!

    Excellent blog! I haven’t traveled nearly as much as you, but I have very vivid memories of my month in the Soviet Union in 1979. The strongest is standing in a 14th century church and studying the frescos still visible on the walls, even though there was no roof or window glass.

    His Captive is a great read! Congratulatinos.

    Tracy G.

  6. JSL says:

    Hi Diana,
    Wow, have you done a lot! And your training in Guam – I know I wouldn’t like being on the opposite side of Army Rangers. Scary! Your travel experiences have inspired/convinced me I need to add more travel spots to my list!
    As to my own experiences… nothing huge to share- I’ve been to many of the large US cities… but I guess something else fun would be trips to Taiwan. It’s a beautiful country, and a really interesting mix.

  7. ThatBrunette says:

    Diana, you have had some amazing adventures. It is so nice of you to take time to blog here and respond to all of our wacky responses.

    With your travels and experiences, it is easy to see how suspense could make its way into your writing. I think your choice of time period given your path in life is more surprising. But, like I said, there’s just something about a man in a kilt…

    Had I been captured by big scary Rangers, even if it was an exercise, I would have been scared stoopid. I do surprise myself on occasion but, I don’t think I could have gotten out my name, rank, or serial number.

    “As all of our soldiers who proudly serve, I offer them my sincere thanks for standing in harms way so that we maintain our freedom.”

    That line got me a bit misty. While I would prefer they be home, I am glad someone stepped up for our country.

    I’m about an hour South of Turn the Page bookstore. Will you be doing RWA in DC next year?

  8. Diana Cosby says:

    Tracy Garrett said:

    Morning, Diana!

    Excellent blog!

    ~Thanks you, Tracy, but the credit goes to Jennifer’s great questions. She made answering her questions fun.

    I haven’t traveled nearly as much as you, but I have very vivid memories of my month in the Soviet Union in 1979. The strongest is standing in a 14th century church and studying the frescos still visible on the walls, even though there was no roof or window glass.

    ~Wow, I bet. There’s something powerful about standing in a building or sacred area that’s held incredible historical moments.

    His Captive is a great read! Congratulatinos.

    ~Thank you so much. I’m glad you enjoyed Alexander and Nichola’s story! I will add that Tracy has some pretty hot cowboys. 🙂 I appreciate you stopping by! Enjoy your Sunday!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com

  9. Diana Cosby says:

    JSL said:

    Hi Diana,
    Wow, have you done a lot!

    ~My military career has provided me with a lot of unique opportunities that otherwise I wouldn’t have experienced.

    And your training in Guam – I know I wouldn’t like being on the opposite side of Army Rangers. Scary!

    ~It was definitely a unique experience. *G* I owe these type of moments to story fodder, at least the emotional feelings of ‘those’ moments.

    Your travel experiences have inspired/convinced me I need to add more travel spots to my list!

    ~I enjoy experiencing the vast cultural differences and love seeing others do so. I have to say my time in Spain was amazing. But, so was my trip to Seoul for a week shopping. *Smile* The bottom line, enjoy every moment and every experience, which I’m sure you do.

    As to my own experiences… nothing huge to share- I’ve been to many of the large US cities… but I guess something else fun would be trips to Taiwan. It’s a beautiful country, and a really interesting mix.

    ~Traveling to various U.S. cities really shows you how diverse our country is. I assure you, living in Maine is a huge difference from either Alaska or Illinois. I’ve never been to Taiwan, the Philippines is the closest I came. The tropics are a unique world unto themselves. Me, I say follow your heart! My sincere thanks for dropping by and posting! Have an enjoyable Sunday!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com

  10. Angela Hicks says:

    Hi Diana,

    Great blog! Thank you for sharing your interesting stories and thank you for your service to the country. I hope you and your family will be happy here in Texas. It’s a great place to live!

    Thank you,

    Angela

  11. Diana Cosby says:

    ThatBrunette said:

    Diana, you have had some amazing adventures.

    ~I’ve been blessed with experiences that fuel my muse. *Smile*

    It is so nice of you to take time to blog here and respond to all of our wacky responses.

    ~It’s my pleasure to be here. I thank you all for taking the time to come in and say hi.

    With your travels and experiences, it is easy to see how suspense could make its way into your writing. I think your choice of time period given your path in life is more surprising. But, like I said, there’s just something about a man in a kilt…

    ~:) Ahhh . . . that man in a kilt. Can’t go wrong there. As for the time frame of my suspense, when I first began writing ten years ago, I wrote three viking novels, then I saw Braveheart and moved into that era. I wrote six novels in that time frame, then moved to current day and wrote the rough draft of a contemporary romantic suspense. I moved on to write about 2/3rds of an inspirational, when I received the call for one of my Scottish knight books, so here I am. I assure you, I love this time frame, but I know that down the road a few years, not sure when, I’ll be writing contemporary settings as well. I love reading and writing across the board, so it’s no surprise that I write the same.

    Had I been captured by big scary Rangers, even if it was an exercise, I would have been scared stoopid. I do surprise myself on occasion but, I don’t think I could have gotten out my name, rank, or serial number.

    ~I kept very quiet I assure you. The last thing I wanted was to draw their attention any more than I did.

    “As all of our soldiers who proudly serve, I offer them my sincere thanks for standing in harms way so that we maintain our freedom.”

    ~Thank you for your support and let me add mine serving as well. I’m proud to say that our oldest son recently graduated from Marine Corps boot camp. Whether he decides to stay for a career or for one term, his training will give him a base that will serve him for a lifetime.

    That line got me a bit misty. While I would prefer they be home, I am glad someone stepped up for our country.

    ~My deepest wish is that everyone was home and safe, but until terrorists and other eager for power decide to step back, sadly, it’s not a reality.

    I’m about an hour South of Turn the Page bookstore. Will you be doing RWA in DC next year?

    ~I haven’t even looked at 09 yet honestly. We’re in the midst of putting our house up for sale, will move to TX in the spring, building a home, my husband’s retirement, and helping our daughter, who is a senior, to finish up her year and move to college. So, it’s kinda nuts here. Once we’re settled in our new home and life calms, I’ll plan my 09.
    I did have the pleasure of signing with Nora and several authors at her December signing at Turn The Page. It was a dream come true I assure you. Nora is a very nice and gracious person.
    Thank you so much for stopping by again today, I sincerely appreciate it! Enjoy your Sunday!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com

  12. Wow, Diana! I loved reading about all your experiences. If anything, it’d be hard for suspense not to show up in your work! And I love the photo – it’s priceless that you re-enlisted on the back of a camel!

    HIS CAPTIIVE is an amazing book on many levels, and I can hardly wait for your next release! You’re on my permanent “buy” list!

    Light and Semper Fi, Marine Mom,

    Nancy
    La Vida Vampire, April 1, 2008
    http://www.nancyhaddock.com

  13. Diana Cosby says:

    Angela Hicks said:

    Hi Diana,

    Great blog!
    ~Thank you, Angela. Jennifer asked fantastic questions. Kudos to her.

    Thank you for sharing your interesting stories and thank you for your service to the country.

    ~My thanks to you for your support to the troops, I assure you, it sincerely makes a difference.

    I hope you and your family will be happy here in Texas. It’s a great place to live!

    ~My husband grew up there, and I’ve had the pleasure of visiting many times over the years. The people are wonderful, and I’m looking forward to being part of the community.

    Thank you,

    ~Thank you for taking the time to stop by and say hello! Enjoy your Sunday!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com

  14. Diana Cosby says:

    Nancy Haddock said:

    Wow, Diana! I loved reading about all your experiences. If anything, it’d be hard for suspense not to show up in your work!

    ~*Smile* My military career definitely influences my writing, that’s for sure.

    And I love the photo – it’s priceless that you re-enlisted on the back of a camel!

    ~*Chuckle* It’s one of those keeper photos.

    HIS CAPTIIVE is an amazing book on many levels, and I can hardly wait for your next release! You’re on my permanent “buy” list!

    ~*Blush* Oh my gosh, I don’t know what else to say but thank you. I’m totally humbled. I hope that you enjoy Duncan’s book that comes out this December. He was so much fun to write.

    Light and Semper Fi, Marine Mom,

    ~Nancy, thank you so much for dropping by and saying hello, I sincerely appreciate it! Enjoy your Sunday!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com

  15. Debra says:

    Diana – I have been a fan of yours since I won a copy of one of your books at a WRW event. And now I’m hooked 🙂

    Obviously your vast experiences in life have helped fuel your imagination. Did being a military brat help serve your own need to read? As a somewhat military brat (moved 8 times before I was 5) and a continued military life then civilian life, I always turned to books as they were friends who stuck by you forever.

    Keep on writing them, and I’ll keep on reading them!

    Warm hugs – Debra

  16. Diana Cosby says:

    Debra said:

    Diana – I have been a fan of yours since I won a copy of one of your books at a WRW event. And now I’m hooked

    ~*Smile* I’m glad you enjoyed Alexander and Nichola’s story. And you won a copy of His Captive at a WRW event, very cool. Great chapter.

    Obviously your vast experiences in life have helped fuel your imagination. Did being a military brat help serve your own need to read? As a somewhat military brat (moved 8 times before I was 5) and a continued military life then civilian life, I always turned to books as they were friends who stuck by you forever.

    ~Great question, one I’d never considered before. With the numerous moves as a child, I tended to be very quiet and had a hard time making friends as I’d learned when you made friends, you soon moved away, which hurt. So, like you, I turned to books. By the time I was a teen, I was reading two Harlequin category novels a day. My all time favorite book was The Black Stallion by Walter Farley, which stole my heart and from there I continued reading.

    Keep on writing them, and I’ll keep on reading them!

    ~Thank you so much! I appreciate you stopping by to say hello. Enjoy your Sunday!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com

  17. I loved your blog post! I only spent 14 years in the active Army and didn’t get stationed in as many exotic locations (Germany, Saudi Arabia), but I can still relate so well with your experiences. In the Army they say, “We do more before 9AM than most people do all day.” That’s true, but all people in the military live more than most do all their lives because we love the adventure and the adrenaline. Thanks for the post!

  18. Diana Cosby says:

    Delilah Devlin wrote:

    I loved your blog post!

    ~Thank you, I’m glad you enjoyed it.

    I only spent 14 years in the active Army and didn’t get stationed in as many exotic locations (Germany, Saudi Arabia), but I can still relate so well with your experiences. In the Army they say, “We do more before 9AM than most people do all day.”

    ~So true. That reminded me of another saying we had, “I’ve done so much with so little that I can do almost anything with nothing.” *Smile*

    That’s true, but all people in the military live more than most do all their lives because we love the adventure and the adrenaline.

    ~Also, the military challenges us in ways we never considered and gives us confidence to handle any situation we will ever face.

    Thanks for the post!

    ~Thank you so much for dropping by to say hello. I sincerely appreciate it! Enjoy your Sunday!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com

  19. Virginia H. says:

    Great post I really enjoyed it. Thanks for all that you have done for out country. I don’t get to do any traveling. So I guess you could say I travel by way of books. If a book is well writen it makes you feel like you are in that place. That’s what I mean when I say I travel by books.

  20. Diana Cosby says:

    Virginia H. said:

    Great post I really enjoyed it. Thanks for all that you have done for out country.

    ~Virginia, my sincere thanks to you for supporting our troops. I assure you, the positive support makes a major difference to those who serve.

    I don’t get to do any traveling. So I guess you could say I travel by way of books. If a book is well writen it makes you feel like you are in that place. That’s what I mean when I say I travel by books.

    ~:) I hear you. One of my passions is writing description. I also love reading it when well done. Loreth Anne White’s shadow soldiers books are written with fabulous descriptions of the African jungles, which makes sense as Loreth lived in Africa for awhile. My sincere thanks for stopping by and posting! Enjoy your evening!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com

  21. Diana Cosby says:

    Jennifer,
    Thank you very much for inviting me, I had a blast. And I wish to extend another thanks to everyone who took time to stop by and say hi and for all of your kind words. Take care, my sincere best to you, and always follow your heart!

    God bless,
    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com

  22. Jennifer Y says:

    Thank you Diana and everyone for stopping by and sharing with us!

  23. ThatBrunette says:

    Jennifer, I vote that Diana Cosby is the nicest person you have ever had on your blog. She also gets my vote for most polite.

  24. Amelia says:

    Hi Diana,

    Great post! Thanks for sharing your travel stories. I haven’t done any traveling, so I don’t have stories to share. But I share would like to one day.

  25. Hi Diana,

    For those who can’t wait for your next release–you’ve got me hooked on the MacGruder brothers! And I, too, would love to tour Scotland and see the beautiful castles. by the way you can discover another pleasure its to visit morocco by hiking morocco.

  26. Kara Lennox says:

    Howdy, Diane! Wow, your list of travel destinations is mind-boggling. I love travel, too–wish I could do more of it. (And I wasn’t able to hike to the lava when I was on the Big Island–only way to see it was from helicopter. Darn it.)

  27. Diana Cosby says:

    Jennifer Y said:

    Thank you Diana and everyone for stopping by and sharing with us!

    Jennifer, my sincere pleasure. Take care and God bless!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com

  28. Diana Cosby says:

    Amelia said:

    Hi Diana,

    Great post! Thanks for sharing your travel stories. I haven’t done any traveling, so I don’t have stories to share. But I share would like to one day.

    ~Amelia, dreams are visions of what we can become and do. Empower your dreams, write them down, then break them down to doable pieces. They will happen if you believe they can. Enjoy and follow your heart. Thank you very much for stopping by to say hi!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com

  29. Diana Cosby says:

    hiking morocco said:

    Hi Diana,

    For those who can’t wait for your next release–you’ve got me hooked on the MacGruder brothers!

    ~I’m thrilled you enjoyed Nichola and Alexander’s story. They were a blast to write. And Duncan’s story, oh man, it’s a medieval roller coaster for him. *Smile*

    And I, too, would love to tour Scotland and see the beautiful castles.

    ~I can’t wait to go. I have no doubt it’ll be as amazing as the people.

    by the way you can discover another pleasure its to visit morocco by hiking morocco.

    ~Very nice site, and definitely a unique and fun way to discover Morocco. Thank you very much for taking the time to stop by and say hi. I sincerely appreciate it! Enjoy your day!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com

  30. Diana Cosby says:

    Kara Lennox said:

    Howdy, Diane! Wow, your list of travel destinations is mind-boggling. I love travel, too–wish I could do more of it.

    ~It’s tough with work and family responsibilities, but plot out your destinations and look for travel specials. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that your dream to travel more will come true.

    (And I wasn’t able to hike to the lava when I was on the Big Island–only way to see it was from helicopter. Darn it.)

    ~I stayed a week on the Big Island before the volcano erupted. They used to have cabins near the rim of the volcano, which is where I stayed. It’s a very neat Island, and I was surprised to learn that you can ski on the higher peaks in the winter. Neat.
    Thank you very much for stopping by and saying hi. I sincerely appreciate it! Enjoy your day!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com

  31. Cindi Hoppes says:

    My husband is an Air Force Brat! I use the term lightly. He would not join the service after college because he didn’t want to life that life again. He was the oldest and was always left. He was left in a town to finish high school and then left to finish college. Thanks,Cindi

  32. Diana Cosby says:

    Cindi Hoppes said:

    My husband is an Air Force Brat! I use the term lightly.

    ~*Smile* I hear you. My dad was in the Air Force for 10 years, then switched over to finish up his last 10 years in the Navy. Way back when they’d let you swap like that.

    He would not join the service after college because he didn’t want to life that life again. He was the oldest and was always left. He was left in a town to finish high school and then left to finish college.

    ~The transitional life comes with the challenges of always being the new kid, not having roots and so on. But, it has amazing advantage as well, meeting neat people you never would have met, an education gained from living in various places and countries and so on.

    Thanks

    ~Thank you, Cindi, for taking the time to post. I appreciate it! Enjoy your Monday!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com

  33. Pam P says:

    Great blog, Diana. What an intriguing life and experiences, serving your country and traveling to so many interesting places.

  34. Maureen says:

    Hi Diana!
    What an interesting life you have led. Good luck with the book and building your new home.

  35. tasha t says:

    love susepnse
    could i be you for a year and experince such a wonderful life?
    when i read stuf like that,i realize im ssssssooooo boring, man you really LIVE

  36. Sue A. says:

    Diana thank you for great posts. I’ve done a little traveling, but I don’t have any interesting stories. I’m not a good storyteller. But thankfully I get to do a lot of armchair traveling through books with so many great authors who have and are able to write great stories that include some of that experience like you.

  37. Diana Cosby says:

    Pam P. said:
    Great blog, Diana. What an intriguing life and experiences, serving your country and traveling to so many interesting places.

    ~Thank you, Pam. My life has definitely offered diversity. 🙂 Thank you for stopping by and enjoy your day!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com

  38. Diana Cosby says:

    Maureen said:

    Hi Diana!
    What an interesting life you have led. Good luck with the book and building your new home.

    ~Hi Maureen. Thank you for the good wishes. We’re going over the details today with our builder. Very exciting! I received the cover for my December release, His Woman, yesterday, so I’ll have that up on my website soon. It’s totally hot!!! Thank you for stopping by! Have a great day!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com

  39. Diana Cosby says:

    Tasha t. said:

    love susepnse
    could i be you for a year and experince such a wonderful life?
    when i read stuf like that,i realize im ssssssooooo boring, man you really LIVE

    ~*Smile* Tasha, I loved the travel and the experiences, but everything comes as a tradeoff. My friends are scattered around the globe and I’ve missed so many family events over the years due to distance. But, my experiences give me a great draw base for my muse. Thank you so much for stopping by to say hi! Enjoy your day!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com

  40. Diana Cosby says:

    Sue A. said:

    Diana thank you for great posts. I’ve done a little traveling, but I don’t have any interesting stories. I’m not a good storyteller. But thankfully I get to do a lot of armchair traveling through books with so many great authors who have and are able to write great stories that include some of that experience like you.

    ~Sue, each of us has different strengths, but I also believe that each of us can achieve anything we dream of. If you are interested in writing, why not try it? If you’re looking for guidance, Alicia Rasley has some fabulous classes:
    http://www.sff.net/people/alicia/
    Other places that I like are:

    Writer’s University:
    http://writeruniv.com/

    A chapter I belong to, Kiss of Death, offers two lines of classes, those to do with suspense such as police proceedures, specialty jobs and so on. The other line is for writing. They usually have a fabulous line up. Here’s their website, check out the on-line workshops in the lower right of the page:
    http://www.rwamysterysuspense.org/alt/home.htm

    My sincere best to you. Thank you for stopping by. Take care and follow your heart!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com

  41. Nathalie says:

    I don’t have a lot of travelling experience… but travelling with the army must be quite diiferent than sight-seeing!

Leave a Reply

