Interview with Diana Cosby!

Last month I reviewed Diana Cosby’s wonderful book, His Captive, here on my blog (which you can read by clicking here) and today I have an interview with the talented author! 

hiscaptive.jpgPlease tell us about your book, His Captive.
It’s a Scottish medieval romantic suspense set in the Braveheart era.   Sir Alexander MacGruder is a guilt-ridden man with nothing left to lose.  He seeks the most dangerous missions and when the need for a Scottish rebel to abduct an English lord arises, he volunteers.  Except when he arrives in England, the wealthy English noble is absent and the noble’s sister, Lady Nichola Westcott is there instead.  Believing the siblings are close, he abducts her.  As the story unwinds, he comes to care for Nichola, which is at odds with everything he stands for.  He must answer the question if he can betray his country or his love of a woman who should be his enemy.

What inspired the story?
After watching the movie Braveheart, I knew I had to write in that era.

What is your favorite part of being a writer?
The characters – they’re amazing! 

Least favorite?
Dragging information out of my characters. *G*

Is there anything you would like to write, but haven’t? For example, any other genre you’d like to try?
I would love to write a romantic suspense fantasy.  I even have a rough trilogy plot worked out.  I’m still trying to figure out all aspects of the world. 

Who has inspired you as a writer?
Nora Roberts, Linda Howard, Loreth Anne White, Karin Story, and many many other writers throughout my life.

What would you like to tell aspiring writers?
Follow your heart, be true to yourself and persevere!

How has your real-life influenced your writing?
As a military brat, a retired Navy Chief, and now a military wife who has moved 29 times in my life, I would say travel and my diverse life experiences.

Describe yourself in 3 words.
Dedicated.  Trustworthy.  Sincere.

If you had a time capsule to be opened 50 years in the future, what would you put in it?
Writings and photos of people who have touched my life or made a significant positive difference in others. 

What is next for you?
My second novel, to be titled, comes out late in 2008.  It’s another Scottish medieval romantic suspense that I love!

Is there anything you’d like to ask readers?
What do feel is the most important aspect of a romance novel, how it makes you feel, the hope it offers you, or a temporary escape? 

Thank you Diana for that great interview! 

Readers, you can learn more about Diana and her books by visiting her website:  http://www.dianacosby.com/ 

Check back tomorrow when Diana guest blogs about her travel experiences…in the meantime, how about answering her question for readers… 

Remember, every comment is an entry into the giveaway…details here!

50 Responses to Interview with Diana Cosby!

  1. Hi Diana!
    Great interview. His Captive recently came in the mail and now I’m more than eager to move it to the top of my TBR pile. As a writer and reader, I live for the temporary escape from the mundane chore of being a wife, mother, teacher, keeper of way to damn many people. 😉

    Have fun blogging.
    ~Kimberly

  2. Ann Ambrosio says:

    Diana,
    As I read your book, which is wonderful by the way, I keep wondering how long it took to write, (from research, plotting, whatever) the beginning to the end.
    It amazes me; it is so good. If traveling is what gives someone such a good education then perhaps it should be in the education system curriculum.
    Sincerely, Ann

  3. Dawn McClure says:

    Hi Diana! When I read your book I felt like I was experiencing a blast from the past…Jude, Johanna Lindsay, Julie Garwood. You’re voice and range is right up there with the great historical romance writers. I can’t wait to read Duncan’s book. :o)

  4. Diana Cosby says:

    Kimberly said:
    Hi Diana!
    Great interview.

    ~Thank you, Jennifer asked wonderful questions.

    His Captive recently came in the mail and now I’m more than eager to move it to the top of my TBR pile.

    ~I sincerely appreciate you buying His Captive. I hope you enjoy Alexander and Nichola’s story. 🙂

    As a writer and reader, I live for the temporary escape from the mundane chore of being a wife, mother, teacher, keeper of way to damn many people.

    ~Writing is a wonderful escape. I love falling into a fabulous story as well.

    Have fun blogging.

    ~I enjoy meeting and talking with so many readers. 🙂 Thank you very much for stopping by to say hi! Enjoy your weekend!
    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com

  5. Diana Cosby says:

    Ann said:
    Diana,
    As I read your book, which is wonderful by the way,

    ~Thank you, you’ve made my day. I’m thrilled you enjoyed His Captive! I’m working on the third book in the series, which my agent will pitch soon, at the moment. It’s Seathan’s book. 🙂

    I keep wondering how long it took to write, (from research, plotting, whatever) the beginning to the end.

    ~Around 8 months.

    It amazes me; it is so good.

    ~*Blush* Thank you.

    If traveling is what gives someone such a good education then perhaps it should be in the education system curriculum.

    ~Traveling is an amazing teacher. I’d love this to happen. I assure you, when my son joined the Marines recently, I was happy for the travel and experiences the travel his job offered would give him.

    Thank you so much, Ann for dropping by. I appreciate it! Enjoy your weekend!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com

  6. Diana Cosby says:

    Dawn said:
    Hi Diana! When I read your book I felt like I was experiencing a blast from the past…Jude, Johanna Lindsay, Julie Garwood. You’re voice and range is right up there with the great historical romance writers.

    ~Wow! *Blush* That’s an amazing comparison! I’m humbled beyond belief. I’m thrilled you enjoyed Alexander and Nichola’s story. 🙂

    I can’t wait to read Duncan’s book. :o)

    ~Duncan’s book, His Woman, will be out December 2nd. I absolutely love this book and hope you love it as well. Thank you very much for dropping by to say hi!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com

  7. peggy says:

    the books sounds great..

  8. Diana Cosby says:

    Peggy said:
    the books sounds great..

    ~Thanks, Peggy, His Captive was an enjoyable abduction story to write. 🙂 I’ve learned that my books tend to have the same theme running throughout – all is not what it seems. 🙂 Enjoy your weekend and thanks for posting!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com

  9. Hi Diana!

    HIS CAPTIVE was nothing short of amazing, and I agree with the comment that you’re going to be one of the great voices in historical romance!

    Jennifer, wonderful interview … as always!

    Light (and Semper Fi to our Marine Mom),
    Nancy
    La Vida Vampire, April 1, 2008
    http://www.nancyhaddock.com

  10. Sandra Hughes says:

    Hi Diana!

    Just wanted to say what a great book HIS CAPTIVE is. You are a talented, hardworking and dedicated writer who has a great future ahead of her. I’m keeping my autographed copy on my bookshelf and looking forward to adding your future books to my collection. I know they’ll be “keepers.”

    Sandi Hughes

  11. Diana Cosby says:

    Nancy said:

    Hi Diana!

    HIS CAPTIVE was nothing short of amazing, and I agree with the comment that you’re going to be one of the great voices in historical romance!

    ~*Blush* Thank you very much for your belief in me, Nancy. At the moment I’m fighting with the oldest brother, Seathan. Why would I think he’d let me write his story with ease as he’s the ultimate alpha male. *G*

    Light (and Semper Fi to our Marine Mom),

    ~Thank you so much. Our oldest son is now in N.C. in a month of field training. After that, he’ll be in Pensacola for 5 months. He’s loving it, so I’m happy for him. Take care and thank you so much for dropping by! I have my copy of La Vida Vampire pre-ordered, so I can’t wait until it arrives! Enjoy your weekend.

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com

  12. Diana Cosby says:

    Sandi said:

    Hi Diana!

    Just wanted to say what a great book HIS CAPTIVE is.

    ~*Blush* Thank you very much, Sandi. I’m totally humbled on this end by all of the wonderful comments about His Captive.

    You are a talented, hardworking and dedicated writer who has a great future ahead of her. I’m keeping my autographed copy on my bookshelf and looking forward to adding your future books to my collection. I know they’ll be “keepers.”

    ~*Hugs* Thank you so much for your belief in me. I can’t wait until I’m holding a Sandi Hughes book as well! ^5 Thanks for stopping by and have a super weekend!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com

    Sandi Hughes

  13. Jennifer Y says:

    Hello everyone!

    Diana, I truly did love your book (as I have told you) and can’t wait for the next ones. Thank you for being a guest this weekend!

  14. lori avocato says:

    Hey Diana, Fellow RomVet!

    Great job on the interview, and why not? You’re a veteran and talented writer! Way to go!

    Lori

  15. Diana Cosby says:

    Jennifer said:
    Hello everyone!

    Diana, I truly did love your book (as I have told you) and can’t wait for the next ones.

    ~Thank you so much, Jennifer. That totally warms my heart. *Hugs*

    Thank you for being a guest this weekend!

    ~My sincere thanks for having me as a guest author. I sincerely appreciate it! Enjoy your weekend!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com

  16. Diana Cosby says:

    Lori said:

    Hey Diana, Fellow RomVet!

    ~Hi, Lori, thanks to another fellow RomVet for stopping by. If anyone is interested in learning more about the RomVets, Romantic Veterans, please stop by our website:
    http://www.romvet.com

    Great job on the interview, and why not? You’re a veteran and talented writer! Way to go!

    ~*Blush* Thank you so much. Jennifer made the interview easy with her fabulous questions. Thank you very much for stopping by to say hello, I appreciate it! Enjoy your weekend!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com

  17. Danny says:

    Hi Diana,

    I just got your book today and I can hardly wait to start reading.

    I love to read books that take me on a journey back in time. Books are a way to get my mind of everyday problems and at the moment my only way to relax

  18. Hi Diana,

    Can’t wait to read your book – so glad to know about it!!! I write “political thrillers” with a romantic twist (CHECKMATE and GAMBIT – http://www.karnabodman.com), but I love to digress, read other genres, especially stories like yours!!! When I write I’m always focusing on current events/political intrigue/international plots…but at the end of the day, when I want to relax and dream a bit — yours is the perfect type of book to have on my nightstand! Keep writing!

    Karna Small Bodman

  19. Diana Cosby says:

    Danny said:

    Hi Diana,

    I just got your book today and I can hardly wait to start reading.

    ~Thank you so much, Danny. I hope you enjoy His Captive.

    I love to read books that take me on a journey back in time. Books are a way to get my mind of everyday problems and at the moment my only way to relax

    ~I hope you find Alexander and Nichola’s story enjoyable. Thank you very much for stopping by, I sincerely appreciate it! Have a nice weekend!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com

  20. Diana Cosby says:

    Karna said:

    Hi Diana,

    Can’t wait to read your book – so glad to know about it!!!

    ~Thank you very much, Karna, I hope you enjoy His Captive! BTW, love your name.

    I write “political thrillers” with a romantic twist (CHECKMATE and GAMBIT – http://www.karnabodman.com), but I love to digress, read other genres, especially stories like yours!!! When I write I’m always focusing on current events/political intrigue/international plots…but at the end of the day, when I want to relax and dream a bit — yours is the perfect type of book to have on my nightstand! Keep writing!

    ~With your background, I can see why you’re drawn to political thrillers. 🙂 And how very exciting to have met so many distinguished people. I would have loved to have met Ronald Regan, but I only had a long distance view while I was stationed in Guam. My sincere thanks for stopping by. I wish you every success in your career as well. Enjoy your weekend!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com

    Karna Small Bodman

  21. brownone says:

    Hi Diana,
    Well, for me it’s an escape. I’ll read pretty much anything fictional. I think I love the resolution to the problems. It may not be that I always agree with the outcomes, but I still enjoy it.

  22. Cathy P says:

    Hi Diana,
    I am thoroughly enjoying His Captive! I don’t usually read romance novels, but I am finding this one to be quite a page turner! I am crazy about both of the main characters. I am having a hard time putting it down, and I don’t want it to end at the same time.
    Thanks for such a great story, I am looking forward to the next book.
    I hope you are having a great weekend, Thanks to His Captive, I am enjoying mine..
    Cathy

  23. Amelia says:

    Hi! Great interview! I haven’t read any of your books, but I’m going to add it to my TBR list. 🙂 His Captive sounds great. I like the cover too.

  24. Helen says:

    I believe in all of those statements I love how they make me feel being able to escape and the hope. Scottish medieval and suspense in one sentence I need to buy this book can’t wait to read it.
    Have Fun
    Helen

  25. Diana Cosby says:

    Brownone said:
    Hi Diana,
    Well, for me it’s an escape. I’ll read pretty much anything fictional. I think I love the resolution to the problems. It may not be that I always agree with the outcomes, but I still enjoy it.

    ~Hi Brownone. I read all over the board. As long as it’s a solid plot, I’m there. I will say, I tend to prefer suspense. 🙂 Thank you very much for dropping by! Enjoy your weekend!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com

  26. Diana Cosby says:

    CathyP said:
    Hi Diana,
    I am thoroughly enjoying His Captive! I don’t usually read romance novels, but I am finding this one to be quite a page turner! I am crazy about both of the main characters. I am having a hard time putting it down, and I don’t want it to end at the same time.

    ~Cathy, thank you SO much for reading Alexander and Nichola’s story! I”m glad you’re enjoying it. They were a blast to write.

    Thanks for such a great story, I am looking forward to the next book.

    ~Duncan’s book, His Woman, is released in December. Oh man, I put Duncan through the mill. But he’s a great hero.

    I hope you are having a great weekend, Thanks to His Captive, I am enjoying mine..

    ~Thank you so much for dropping by. Here, we’re prepping a room to paint. Not so exciting, but necessary to put our house on the market. Enjoy your weekend!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com

  27. Diana Cosby says:

    Amelia said:

    Hi! Great interview!

    ~Thank you very much. Jennifer made it easy by asking interesting questions.

    I haven’t read any of your books, but I’m going to add it to my TBR list. His Captive sounds great. I like the cover too.

    ~Thank you for trying His Captive. It’s my first release. I’m a new kid on the author block. 🙂 I appreciate you stopping by to say hello! Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com

  28. Diana Cosby says:

    Helen said:

    I believe in all of those statements I love how they make me feel being able to escape and the hope. Scottish medieval and suspense in one sentence I need to buy this book can’t wait to read it.

    ~I hope you enjoy His Captive, Helen. I appreciate you trying my work. His Captive is a book of my heart.

    Have Fun

    ~Thanks. I hope your weekend is going great. I appreciate you stopping by to say hello!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com

  29. Jane says:

    HI Diana,
    I hope you will write that trilogy, romantic suspense is my favorite genre and I think the fantasy aspect will make it extra interesting. I think a great romance should have substance and a great plot. I like a story with twist and turns and of course the HEA. I can’t read a romance with the HEA.

  30. Diana Cosby says:

    Jane said:

    HI Diana,
    I hope you will write that trilogy, romantic suspense is my favorite genre and I think the fantasy aspect will make it extra interesting.

    ~Hi Jane, I’m working with my agent to make His Captive the first of a five book series. The second book, His Woman, comes out this December. Updates are available through my newsletter if you’re interested. It’s easy to sign up, just go to my website and enter your e-mail.

    I think a great romance should have substance and a great plot. I like a story with twist and turns and of course the HEA. I can’t read a romance with the HEA.

    ~:) I agree, for me, I must have an HEA. I sincerely appreciate you dropping by! I hope you enjoy the rest of your weekend!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com

  31. fedora says:

    Hi, Diana! Thanks for taking the time to give that great interview! I have to say that I like all three things–I think they’re a bit intertwined for me. I enjoy reading about the connection between hero and heroine, and reliving the first blush and heart-pounding desire through them, and the HEAs are hopeful and a great way to be taken out of any current drudgery 😉 Thanks for writing–definitely can’t wait to read your books!

  32. Diana Cosby says:

    Fedora said:

    Hi, Diana! Thanks for taking the time to give that great interview!

    ~It’s my pleasure to be here.

    I have to say that I like all three things–I think they’re a bit intertwined for me. I enjoy reading about the connection between hero and heroine, and reliving the first blush and heart-pounding desire through them, and the HEAs are hopeful and a great way to be taken out of any current drudgery Thanks for writing–definitely can’t wait to read your books!

    ~Thank you so much for taking the time to read the interview and post. I hope you enjoy His Captive, Alexander and Nichola’s story was a blast to write. Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com

  33. Virginia H. says:

    Great interview, I love the temporary escape that comes with a romance noval. I love the historicals because they take you back in time and you find out how things really were. I have put your book on my list to buy because I love Scottish books.

  34. ThatBrunette says:

    Wow, tough question. Generally I read for the escape. I’m a bit geeky so, I like to learn a little something if it is an historical. Oh, heck, I like learning dorky trivia with any book I read.

    I was intrigued that you put ‘hope’ as one of the choices. I guess romance novels do offer hope about human kind. Usually, the main characters are good people looking to find other good people. Romance novels give readers someone to cheer for while clinging to the hope that there are good people in the world worthy of the cheering. Wow, that sounded dorky.

    I think you picked a wild period for your inspiration. There’s something about a man in a kilt…

  35. Diana Cosby says:

    Virginia H. said:

    Great interview,

    ~Thank you, Virginia. The credit goes to Jennifer for her excellent questions.

    I love the temporary escape that comes with a romance noval. I love the historicals because they take you back in time and you find out how things really were.

    ~I agree. The time of Braveheart, or William Wallace/Robert the Bruce is a dynamic period in history.

    I have put your book on my list to buy because I love Scottish books.

    ~Thank you so much, Virginia. I hope you enjoy Alexander and Nichola’s story. I appreciate you taking the time to stop by and say hello! Enjoy your Sunday!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com

  36. Diana Cosby says:

    ThatBrunette said:

    Wow, tough question. Generally I read for the escape. I’m a bit geeky so, I like to learn a little something if it is an historical. Oh, heck, I like learning dorky trivia with any book I read.

    I was intrigued that you put ‘hope’ as one of the choices. I guess romance novels do offer hope about human kind. Usually, the main characters are good people looking to find other good people. Romance novels give readers someone to cheer for while clinging to the hope that there are good people in the world worthy of the cheering. Wow, that sounded dorky.

    ~It sounded fine. What I meant in my comments in regards to hope, is that our characters overcome at times incredible odds, yet, they overcome the challenges faced. I believe perseverance and positive attitude for what our goals are, not only in the story, but in each of our lives, is the key.

    I think you picked a wild period for your inspiration. There’s something about a man in a kilt…

    ~*G* They’re inspirational, that’s for sure. Thank you very much for stopping by to say hello. Enjoy your Sunday!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com

  37. JSL says:

    Hi Diana,
    Great interview- (and I love the book cover!) I think in a roundabout way, what is most important to me about romances are the way they make me feel and how they offer an escape. While reading, I can focus completely on the book and forget about everything else. It’s also nice to follow the development of the relationship between the hero and heroine – especially when you know there’s going to be a happy ending! 😀

  38. Hi Mom!
    =)
    I’m really proud of you.
    Like, really, really, REALLY proud of you.

    Get em!
    ♥Steph

  39. Diana Cosby says:

    JSL said:

    Hi Diana,
    Great interview-

    ~Thank you, JSL. Give the credit to Jennifer for her fantastic questions. 🙂

    (and I love the book cover!)

    ~I agree, I was blessed with a wonderful cover. I’m waiting to see my December cover – please keep your fingers crossed.

    I think in a roundabout way, what is most important to me about romances are the way they make me feel and how they offer an escape. While reading, I can focus completely on the book and forget about everything else.

    ~I love that swept away feeling as well. At times when I write, I kind of zone out and when I come back to earth *G*, I’ve written several pages. That’s really neat when you’re in the character’s head that deep.

    It’s also nice to follow the development of the relationship between the hero and heroine – especially when you know there’s going to be a happy ending!

    ~I agree, for me, I always love an HEA ending. My sincere thanks for dropping by and posting! Enjoy your evening!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com

  40. Diana Cosby says:

    Stephanie Cosby said:

    Hi Mom!
    =)
    I’m really proud of you.
    Like, really, really, REALLY proud of you.

    Get em!
    ♥Steph

    ~His sweetheart! *Hugs* I’m proud to say that this is my wonderful and amazing daughter. We’re really close, and she’s a blessing in my life. Thank you SO much for your incredible support! I love you!!!
    Mom

  41. Mom,
    you make me happier than when I open the fridge and find it full of food. which looks something like this:

    Yeap.
    =)

  42. Diana Cosby says:

    LOL, Steph,
    Love your mug shots. Thank you for stopping by. 🙂
    Love,
    Mom

  43. Cindi Hoppes says:

    Hello, I love when you said be true to yourself. If we aren’t true to ourselves, who will be?! Cindi

  44. Diana Cosby says:

    Cindi Hoppes said:

    Hello, I love when you said be true to yourself. If we aren’t true to ourselves, who will be?!

    ~Exactly. Thank you so much for taking the time to post, Cindi. I appreciate it! Enjoy your day!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com

  45. Pam P says:

    I read to escape and the HEA, liking historicals and paranormals a lot since they are different from my own life and time. I do like added suspense, too, Diana.

  46. Diana Cosby says:

    Pam P said:

    I read to escape and the HEA, liking historicals and paranormals a lot since they are different from my own life and time. I do like added suspense, too,

    ~:) I agree with you. For me, suspense adds another layer in stories. Thank you so much for stopping by to say hi! I appreciate it! Enjoy your day!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com

  47. Maureen says:

    Going to another place and escaping everything for a while is my favorite part of reading.

  48. Sue A. says:

    Reading is an escape, but without the emotion I wouldn’t be drawn to take that escape so often. Feelings is the number one aspect of romance novels to me!

  49. Nathalie says:

    I did not read your book, but I really will in the near future.

Leave a Reply

