Interview with Janette Kenny!

Yesterday I introduced you to Janette Kenny’s books and today I have an interview with the lovely author! 

Please tell us about your books.
orc.jpgMy March ’07 debut novel kicked off my Born in a Brothel series. One Real Cowboy is the story of Cord Tanner, a down-on-his-luck cowboy who agrees to be a rebellious Englishwoman’s husband so she can gain title to the Kansas ranch she’s come to love. For playing the part of her devoted husband, he’ll get a horse and money. Beatrix (Trixie) is everything Cord desires and dreams of in a woman, and she’s far, far out of his league. But when Trixie realizes she’ll never love another man as she does Cord, the real sparks fly as she does everything in her power to finagle Cord into her bed and convince him that this marriage is the forever kind. There’s an extra hitch in the plans–somebody wants to make Trixie a young widow. 

One Real Man, my April ’08 release, is about a man who ran away from the highbrow life he’d been groomed to assume for the footloose life of a cowboy, but he didn’t become a real man until he stopped looking for the orm.jpgeasy way to prove his metal and faced his past head-on. But Gil never guessed that the ranch he planned to make his fortune on is co-owned by the shady lady he’s never been able to forget or forgive. Josie did the unthinkable years ago to save her sister’s life. She has no regrets, until the cowboy she wronged storms back into her life with revenge blazing in his sexy-as-sin eyes. Now she has to decide whether to pull up stakes and run again, or trust the one man she lost her innocence and her heart to so long ago to help her realize her dream. But there’s another man who’s never forgotten Josie either, and he aims to make her pay dearly for destroying his house of hell and escaping his clutches.  

What inspired the story?
In ORC, Trixie is the daughter of a wastrel who was sent to Kansas to learn animal husbandry and farming from a promoter,. After his death, she’s determined to stay in Kansas where she’d have more freedom to raise her prize thoroughbreds. But her grandfather wouldn’t grant her title to the land he owned unless she was married. That’s all it took to get the “What if?” ideas sprouting in me. Trixie sets out to hire a husband, and Cord fits the bill–though it took a fair amount of convincing. Cord longed for a real home, but he believed he wasn’t good enough for anything more than being her temporary husband.  

For ORM, Gil’s story begged to be told. He’s an happy-go-lucky man with a mysterious past, like so many men who ran away from their home for the rumored glory in the west. He’s also got a gambling problem, and has vowed to give it up after he buys into an old friend’s ranching venture. Josie was a victim of circumstances at a young age, and she had the grit to risk her life to save others. She has a dream of operating the first guest ranch for women “to relax with nature” for she knows all women need a safe place to unwind. She is the essence of the true western woman we hear far too little about.

Say your book is going to be made into a movie, who would you cast as the hero and heroine?
For ORC, I’d pair Brad Pitt with Reese Witherspoon.
For ORM: Hands down, Matthew MaConnaughey and Courteney Cox Arquette.  

What is your favorite part of being a writer?
Getting to make up stories wherever my imagination takes me.  

Least favorite?
The promotion side of this industry. It takes time away from what I love to do most which is write.  

Is there anything you would like to write, but haven’t? For example, any other genre you’d like to try?
Yes, I’d love to have a sexy mystery series published. 

Who has inspired you as a writer?
Ooo, that’s a tough question. A lot of authors who’ve worked hard to get where they are today have inspired me. Aside from the writing world, my mom was an inspiration for me in so many things. She taught me I could do anything I set my mind to, yet never praised my writing unless she really meant it.  

What would you like to tell aspiring writers?
Learn the rules of good storytelling, then write what’s in your heart. Write with passion, and the reader will feel it in your words. 

Describe yourself in 3 words.
Dedicated, dreamer, realist. 

If you could save one book from destruction, what would it be?  
The Bible 

If you had a time capsule to be opened 50 years in the future, what would you put in it?
A cell phone, a J.C.Penney’s catalogue, a bag of trail mix, and a bottle of cabernet. I envision whoever opens the capsule to say: They used this archaic phone to make calls! They dressed like that? Hmm, trail mix hasn’t changed much in fifty years. Ah, the cab has aged to perfection. 

What is next for you?
I’m writing One Real Hero, the last proposed Brothel books which is Reid’s story. You’ll meet him in ORM. Then I hope to dig into a new western historical series–I’ve turned in the proposal to my editor and I’m waiting to hear her take on it. 🙂

Is there anything you’d like to ask readers?
Yeah, do readers prefer the story be the heroes or heroines?  

Thank you Janette for that great interview! 

Readers, you can learn more about Janette and her books by visiting her website:  http://www.jankenny.com/ 

So, do you prefer the story be more about the heroes or about the heroines? 

Remember, every comment is an entry…details here!

23 Responses to Interview with Janette Kenny!

  1. Helen says:

    Loved the interview Ladies and these books I must have as for whether I like the story to be the Hero’s or Heroines I don’t mind as long as it is a good story and these sound wonderful

    Have Fun
    Helen

  2. brownone says:

    Great interview! As for me, I like both in a story. I like to get into both of thier minds to see how they each view a situation and react to it.

  3. Beth R says:

    It really doesn’t matter to me if the story is more about the hero or the heroine it seems that ore stories about the heroine

  4. ThatBrunette says:

    I like your choices for your time capsule. The JC Penny’s catalog gave me a chuckle.

    As for heroine vs. hero, I have to use my standard answer. It all depends on the writer. The strength of character writing and how they treat the sexes will determine my ability to keep reading.

  5. Minna says:

    I like both, too.

  6. Rhonda Barnes says:

    I’ve read “One Real Cowboy” and it was awesome!

    Rhonda :0)

  7. Teresa W. says:

    As long as I enjoy the book it doesn’t matter which one!

  8. Interesting impromptu poll. Thanks, ladies. I agree–I want a compelling or at least an enjoyable story–it’s never mattered to me if it was the heroes journey or the heroines.

    Glad you got a chuckle out of the catalogue reference, ThatBrunette!

    Wow, thanks much, Rhonda! You made my day. 🙂

  9. Virginia H. says:

    Great interview, It doesn’t matter if the story is based on the hero or the heroine as long as the story is well written and keeps your interest up.

  10. Jane says:

    I prefer the book to give equal time to the hero and heroine, but I don’t mind reading a hero oriented story.

  11. JSL says:

    Hi Janette!
    I loved your time capsule items! As to the hero/heroine question – it seems most books are heroine oriented, which I like fine – but I prefer to have both of their points of view in the book. – Basically, I like to get in both of their heads 😀

  12. Thanks for chiming in Virginia, Jane and JSL. I think one reason I love romance novels over other fiction is because most books do give both the hero and heroine’s point of view throughout. It’s just more emotional if you see where each is coming from.

    Oh, thanks, re: the time capsule items, JSL. 🙂

  13. Amelia says:

    Great interview! It really doesn’t matter to me as long the story gets me going. 🙂 I enjoyed reading both the hero and the heroine.

  14. Cherie J says:

    I don’t mind either one as long as the characters and the story are well written.

  15. Sue A. says:

    I don’t really care which as long as the story is written in such a way as to get me caring about the characters and their story.

  16. Maureen says:

    It completely depends on the characters. To me some characters naturally take more of the story since they themselves have more of story to tell so I can understand how they got to where they are in the story.

  17. Danny says:

    Great interview. I personally like both kinds of stories.

  18. fedora says:

    Hi, Janette! Thanks for the wonderful interview! I don’t have a strong preference for hero or heroine, but agree with commenters who’ve said that they like getting into their heads–I love to understand their points of view. I do think that’s a really good change from romances when I first started reading them eons ago–those felt much more cookie-cutter and didn’t give as much time to revealing the characters.

  19. Emma says:

    Great interview. It doesn’t matter if the story is based on the hero or the heroine as long as the story is well written . One Real Cowboy your March ‘07 book and One Real Man your April ‘08 release sound wonderful.

  20. Cindi Hoppes says:

    What a wonderful interview. I like reading an author’s interview before I read their books. It gives me a better idea of what I am reading. Cindi

  21. Pam P says:

    Doesn’t matter to me which one as long as you get me interested, I like both, and like when we see POV for both.

  22. Nathalie says:

    Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

