Pamela Labud interview!!!

Today’s guest is the wonderful Pamela Labud! 

spiritedaway.gifPlease tell us about your books.
The books I currently have available include two Regency set paranormal romances, published under the Zebra Historical Debut authors line. The first one Spirited Away was a 2006 double readmymind.gifRITA finalist, and both that book and the second one, If You Could Read My Mind garnered 4 stars from Romantic Times reviewers.  
 

In addition, I have three straight historical novels out with Wings ePress, available both in print or download form.  Two are Historical Westerns, The Hanging Bride, and Strong Arms To Hold Me, and the third is a Regency set historical, The Mad Earl

thehangingbride.gifCurrently I’m working on several other books, one which is closed to being finished, although I don’t yet have a publisher.  Grave Danger, my Urban Fantasy novel, is a ‘post apocalyptic zombie killing love story. 

sathm_cover.gifAlso, I’ve got three more Regency Paranormals in the works. The Devil To Pay, about a fallen angel who is trying to earn his way out of Hell by seducing an innocent young woman to take his place, and its companion book, My Fair Demon, which is about a demon torturer who, as punishment, must outsmart a savvy businesswoman who is bent on redeeming London’s infamous rakes and save their souls from damnation. 

tme_cover.gifI also have a stand alone story tentatively titled: The Laird, about an English Regency nobleman kidnapped by a 12th century Scottish ghost who is forced to be hand-fasted to the daughter of a Laird so she can claim her inheritance. 

In addition to these I also am working on another set of Regency set fantasy paranormal novels about a race of people descended from wolves who have been enslaved by the English nobility. 

Those all sound great!  What inspired the stories?
I have been a long time lover of history and the paranormal so I believe I was destined to write in these genre’s.  Also, I grew up reading tons of Science Fiction and Fantasy, so Urban Fantasy is a great place for me to explore my imagination as well. 

Which of your heroes is your favorite? 
My absolute favorite hero from my published books, (although I truly love them all!) has to be my ghost from Spirited Away, William.  He’s strong willed and likes to be in control, but he’d die a thousand deaths to save the woman he loves.    

Favorite heroine? 
At the moment my favorite is from my Urban Fantasy, Grave Danger, Maverick Dunne.  She’s smart and sarcastic and isn’t afraid to go in with guns blazing when she’s protecting the people she loves and generally saving the world. 

Which of your characters would you like to switch places with? For how long? 
This is a tough question because they all are interesting people.  Probably Maverick again.   

What would you do? 
I’m not sure.  Probably what she does in the book, although she’s a lot braver than I am, lol. 

What is your favorite part of being a writer? 
Getting lost in the stories. It’s as much a journey of discovery for me as it is the readers.   

Least favorite? 
Um, revisions.  I love writing the first draft!

Is there anything you would like to write, but haven’t? For example, any other genre you’d like to try? 
Right now, I’m having a blast writing the Urban fantasy, although the Regency period and old American West really fascinate me. 

Who has inspired you as a writer? 
Ray Bradbury and Diana Gabaldon are the two authors I love the most.

What would you like to tell aspiring writers?
Don’t give up.  The only thing that is sure in this business is your ability to keep writing and dreaming.  If you quit, they win.

Describe yourself in 3 words.
Driven, determined, and hardworking.

If you could save one book from destruction, what would it be? 
Probably, though I love them all, Spirited Away.  It was my first ‘break out’ book, and I had such a great time writing it. 

What is next for you?
Keep writing.  I’m in between publishers at the moment, so finding the right place for my work is the biggest job I have besides the actual writing.

Is there anything you’d like to ask readers? 
What is their favorite book of all time and why?  

Thank you so much for that great interview Pam! 
Best of luck in all that you do!
 

You can learn more about Pam and her books by visiting the following websites:
www.pamlabud.com
www.authorsden.com/pamlabud
www.myspace.com/romanceauthor
 

So readers, what is your favorite book of all time and why? 

Remember, every comment is an entry into the giveaway…details here!

19 Responses to Pamela Labud interview!!!

  1. kate r says:

    so Pam has had TWO Rita nominations. How’s that for impressive? (I’m impressed, anyway)

  2. brownone says:

    Great interview! Now, that question is kinda tough! I mean, it all depends. I LOVE the “Outlander” series by Diana Gabaldon, Lisay Kleypas is on my auto-buy list and “Devil in Winter” is one of my favorites, “The Handmaiden’s Tale” by Margaret Atwood is another wonderful book that I never cease to enjoy, “A Clockwork Orange” by Anthony Burgess, The “Abarat Series” by Clive Barker, the “Perseus Jackson” series by Rick Riordan, and of course: “Harry Potter” series! Yeah, it’s tough to just narrow it down to one because it usually depends upon what I am in the mood for.

  3. Beth R says:

    Its too hard to just pick one, I have several I love Winter Fire by Elizabeth Lowell.
    I love the Harry Potter books.

  4. Jane says:

    My favorite book is the dictionary. I wouldn’t be able to survive without it. I’m always seeking to expand my vocabulary. I would also like to add Julie Garwood’s “The Lion’s Lady” as an all time favorite.

  5. Katie Reus says:

    Wonderful interview Pam! If I had to pick a favorite, I’d choose All the Queens Men by Linda Howard. It’s got suspense, hot sex, and a hero and heroine w/ multiple layers who deserve love!

  6. Virginia H. says:

    It would be between Gone With The Wind and Rebel Temptress by Constance O’Banyon. Both books are a lot a like. I think that is why I liked them so much. Lets face GWTW is a classic. I just enjoy reading stories set in those times. Great interview by the way.

  7. Thanks, Pamela. A Regency Paranormal sounds delightful.

  8. Great interview, Pamela!
    Tough question though…if I had to pick my favorite book of all time, the one that I can read over and over, it would have to be Teresa Medeiros, Heather and Velvet. The character’s were so rich and real. Some day — when I grow up I — want to be just like Teresa. 😉
    ~Kimberly

  9. JSL says:

    Hi Pamela and Jennifer!
    I really enjoyed reading this interview. As to my favorite book.. I can’t pick one. It really depends on my mood. If we’re going to go with the book I’ve read the most… it’d probably be “The Witch of Blackbird Pond” – I think I’ve read it 25 times? Next would probably be “Island of the Blue Dolphins” w/ something like 17 reads? (Haven’t read either in a while…) There are some books I go back and read, and re-read, and others, I buy them because I want them, but leave them be for periods of time. Maybe I should say my favorite book is one I haven’t written yet, so I can expect each subsequent book to be terrific. Haha – or maybe… Mansfield Park. I love all of Austen’s books, but really liked this one, and feel that it doesn’t get enough love.

  10. ThatBrunette says:

    Ghost? Did someone say ghost?

    I found your choice of favorite writers very interesting. Bradbury is not a name that is normally comes up in romance blogs. 🙂

    I’m still a Jane Eyre fan. I have shelves of other genres but, that is the one book I re-read the most. No, there isn’t a ghost but, the wife in the attic is almost a ghost. Sort of.

  11. Amelia says:

    So far, I think my favorite book would be Never Too Much by Lori Foster because I found it to be heart-feeling and it was good. I also like Message in a Bottle by Nicholas Sparks.

  12. Judy Gilbert says:

    Hi Pam,

    Terrific interview. Keep turning out those wonderful stories because I love to read them.

    My favorite author since forever is Jane Austen, particularly Pride and Prejudice and Emma. I love the time period, the characters and the writing. I hope they make all of her books into films.

  13. Cindi Hoppes says:

    Congratulations on your nominations! What a honor! I enjoy paranormal romances but prefer the historical ones! Your covers are lovely. Great interview…..Thanks,Cindi

  14. Rhonda Barnes says:

    I haven’t read any of Pamela’a stories but they sound great!

    Rhonda :0)

  15. Maureen says:

    I would have to say Little Women.

  16. Danny says:

    Oh that is so hard to say, especially when it comes to romances, that’s why I choose Lord of the Rings

  17. fedora says:

    Great interview, Pam and Jennifer! And that’s a tough question–I’m not sure I could pick just one! SEP’s Ain’t She Sweet is one of my favorites–I love the characters and the redemption story, and how we get to see the characters and their relationships grow and evolve.

  18. Pam P says:

    I’ve enjoyed your books, Pam, and those upcoming ones sound good, too. Love a regency paranormal, like both genres equally.

  19. Nathalie says:

    Moonstruck Madness by Laurie McBain

Leave a Reply

