Spotlight on Kate Rothwell/Summer Devon…

Yesterday I posted a guest blog from author Kate Rothwell and today we have more about the author and her books… 

About Kate (in her own words):
Kate Rothwell writes historicals, lives in Connecticut with a husband, three boys and a dog. For a lot of years, she held a variety of jobs but now she just writes fiction which is the best job so far, though not as conversation worthy as artist model or Saab service manager.  She spent a lot of years writing articles and writing fiction is way better. She can now make up the spelling of names and lie like a dog about the facts. 

She has the most fun when she takes on the persona of Summer Devon who writes erotic romance—historical, paranormal, whatever she wants.  

And here is more about some of her releases, both as Kate Rothwell and Summer Devon…

******

Somebody Wonderful by Kate Rothwell 
sw.gif

Timona Calverson’s adventures as she traipsed across continents with her fossil-hunting father might have formed the blueprint for the Perils of Pauline. Now the sensible Timona has had her fill of her perilous life of adventure, yet she is uncertain where she can settle happily. Her family is wealthy and related to aristocracy, but a Season in London showed her that she will not fit in society. 

She is forced into one more escapade when she is kidnapped in New York. After she escapes unharmed she is knocked unconscious, and then rescued by Michael McCann, a recent Irish immigrant and New York City police officer. When she wakes in his flat, Timona is physically and emotionally stirred by a man for the first time. She hopes to stay with the generous and strong Mick. But first she must convince him they belong together. And she must elude would-be kidnappers and bureaucrats from her family’s company intent on destroying her plans for her future with Mick.

******

Somebody to Love by Kate Rothwell
stl.gif

ABOVE ALL OTHERS
Everything Griffin Calverson ever touched turned to gold, but his worldly success has only isolated him. Despite his millions, he is essentially alone and sworn to remain so — until he meets Araminta Woodhall, whose sultry beauty sets his heart on fire.
Griffin loves her beyond all reason — though by the rules of his social circle, they cannot marry. But Araminta will not agree to be merely his mistress…

AGAINST ALL ODDS
Raised in humble circumstances, Araminta has grown strong in the face of adversity — her courage and pride have always gotten her through. But Griffin Calverson may be her only weakness — and her only refuge in an unforgiving world. She can’t seem to tell him goodbye…and she will settle for nothing less than all his love…

******

Revealing Skills by Summer Devon 
revealingskills.jpg

The untrained skills coursing through her might kill a man, but what a way to die. 

When Gilrohan, shapeshifter and king’s man, is thrown into a dank prison cell, his only option is clear, turn himself into a rat and escape. But fleeing the iron bars is easier than escaping the quick hands of the woman who captures him, and undoes his magic. Her undiscovered power is a rare gift, and a mystery even to her.  

Tabica lives as a slave to her oversexed overlord. Life seems grim until the furry tesslerat shifts into a sleek, naked man beneath her hands. Gilrohan wants to explore her power, and she wants to explore him. Together, they discover that magic can actually work between two people whose lives and love should never have intertwined. But her awakened skills land her into a new existence that threatens to be as dreary as her old one.

******

The Knight’s Challenge by Summer Devon 

kc.jpg

He agrees to her challenge, but only if she’s the prize. And this dragon never loses. 

I Dream of Dragons I 

Sarkany has collected a fine hoard, including much of a small New England city. 

But Miranda knows his true nature. To drive this dragon from her home, she issues Sarkany a challenge—give it up or get out.  

He’s more than ready to play her game, but only on his terms. After all, what could be better than to add the beautiful knight to his collection?

******

Readers, you can learn more about Kate’s books by visiting her websites at:
http://www.katerothwell.com/ or http://www.summerdevon.com/
Or check out her blog at http://katerothwell.blogspot.com/
 

Okay, so I decided to edit this to add a question…visit Kate’s websites (or read the descriptions above) and let me know which books catch your eye?

Remember, every comment is an entry into the contest…details here!

24 Responses to Spotlight on Kate Rothwell/Summer Devon…

  1. Sam says:

    Hi Kate!
    (waving!)
    Nice interview meme – you have such great ideas!
    Thanks for pointing out Jennifer’s blog (another procrastination stop…)
    🙂

  2. fedora says:

    Thanks for the additional info on Kate’s books, Jennifer!

  3. kate r says:

    Hi Sam! Hi Fedora!
    I can’t get over how great Jennifer is, doing this for the Zebra authors. Thank you again, Jennifer.

  4. kate r says:

    I don’t want to win one of my books, okay?

  5. Jodie says:

    Hi Kate! It’s nice to see you again. I met you back in December during the “Writing Through the Holidays” workshop. I’m still working on that same novella but I’ve just about gotten it finished and ready to submit – hopefully I’ll be losing our bet soon and will have to buy you a drink! lol

    Thanks for being here and you’re right – I think Jenn is great too! She’s been my cheer-reader *v* on getting that novella finished and it’s so much fun to hang out with her (and a few others) at night while I’m writing. It makes the whole process so much less lonely!

    Have a great day, everyone!!!

  6. JSL says:

    Hi Kate & Jennifer,
    Thanks for the additional info on the books – they look great!

  7. Helen says:

    Hi Kate and Jennifer these books sound excellent I will be adding them to my to get list I love learning about new authors.
    Have Fun
    Helen

  8. Jane says:

    Hi Kate,
    Araminta’s background is a important element in the story. How did you get the idea for creating a biracial heroine?

  9. Eva S says:

    Hi Kate,
    all your books sounds great and I can’t choose, I think I’d love to read them all.

  10. Pam P says:

    Hi Kate, I so enjoyed those first two historicals and hope we get to read another in that era from you one day soon. Meanwhile, I’ve been enjoying some of “Summer’s” stories.

  11. CornDog says:

    Kate – you’re great!

  12. Amelia says:

    Kate – The books sound great! It’s cool that you write under two names differentiating which name writes historical and the other writing erotic romance. I will have to check them out.

    Jennifer – Thanks for sharing.

  13. kate r says:

    Jodie, I am so going to win that bet. YOU will be PUBLISHED. Ha. My drink will have fruit and an umbrella in it.

    Thanks JSL, Eva and Helen, I hope you like ‘elm if you read ’em.

    Jane, Araminta was one of my rare characters sort of based on someone I know–my little sister. We’re white, she’s biracial (adopted) and throughout her life she’s had a sense of not fitting in. It helped her when she found her birth father and made a connection with him, but it’s still something that haunts her. She’s talked about writing a book about it and I wish she would.

    And yay, Pam, glad you enjoy them.

    Amelia, Isn’t Jennifer the business? The cat’s meow? Answer: yes!

  14. ThatBrunette says:

    As for what catches my eye…

    I like the font on Invisible Touch. SOMEBODY TO LOVE looks like a lovely cover to visit.

    I like the design on the Kate Rothwell site. Love the scrolly things on the side.

  15. kate r says:

    Thanks TBrunette,
    Yeah, I love my page. I can’t figure out how to mess with it, so it’s stuck forever, but at least it’s pretty.

  16. Doug says:

    Just picked up my first two Nora Roberts books today. We’ll see if she can hold a candle to you.

  17. Cindi Hoppes says:

    Hello, I love the interview and am ready to read one of your books! Thanks for the information and introduction to you……Cindi

  18. kate r says:

    awwwww Doug. You’re sweet.( I don’t think she’s as good as you. Certainly not as funny.)

    Hi Cindi! thanks for stopping by.

  19. Cherie J says:

    The Knight’s Challenge sounds awesome. I love Dragon stories!

  20. Rhonda Barnes says:

    Her books all sound great!

    Rhonda :0)

  21. Sue A. says:

    Somebody Wonderful and Somebody to Love, both sound like great books. I enjoy seeing lovers from different classes finding a way to be together when the worlds against them.

  22. Danny says:

    I have already Somebody Wonderful and Somebody to love and those where great books.

  23. kate r says:

    I hope it’s not to late (well it is) but anyway, here I am again to say Awwww, THANK YOU GUYS!

    This is why I write. I knew there was a reason out there. . . ..

  24. Nathalie says:

    I had not read your books… but I sure will!
    Thanks for blogging!

Leave a Reply

