Kate Rothwell Guest Blogs!

Today’s guest is the wonderful Kate Rothwell!

Kate wrote two fantastic books for Zebra, Somebody Wonderful and Somebody to Love!
She also writes fabulous (and HOT) books as Summer Devon!
 

Kate/Summer has written a fun guest blog… 

The Genre Game… 

A pile of unpublished manuscripts clutters up my computer and I’m wondering what can I do with all these words I’ve written?

I’m thinking maybe I should harvest them for random scenes. Or even better (or at least more baffling) I’ll use some random lines.

OKAY! Did you guys get that meme a while back? Pick a line from a particular page?  This will be a variation on a familiar meme.
 

I don’t want to carefully reread these babies looking for the best lines—that’s cheating.

I’m always up for something magical and so for this meme I’ll pick the seventh line of the seventh page.

See if you can guess the genre from a simple line or two.  I’ll post a mix of the genres I like writing most these days:
A.     historical
B.     contemporary paranormal
C.     historical paranormal

1. The slicked back hair and capped-tooth smile of Partyboy was a strange sight at seven in the morning. (bah, too easy)

2. “Oh, for heaven’s sake. What will we do?”

3. She’d looked into his face, expecting a smirk at her response, and instead saw an echo of her own emotion–a flash of surprise and a trace of annoyance and confusion. (actually the 8-9th line. The seventh was “Stop.”)

4.  Circles lay under her eyes and she looked pale.  Maybe she really was sick.

5.  The room felt unused, though the open window kept it from stuffiness. Spots in the dusty floor showed that rain had come through the window and disturbed the dust.

6.  When he concentrated on the feel of the warm, satin surface, he could control the urge to leap up and flee.

7. She stood at once, put her hands behind her back as if they were tied and raised her face like a martyr. “Like this, you mean?” (actually the 8th line from the 8th page because the 7th was too easy and boring, too)

8. “You know I consider my employees actresses.”

9. Azim watched the figure in dark brown trousers trot across the street. He wished the boy had actually talked to him.     

 sw.gif                 stl.gif                 revealingskills.jpg

1B, 2A, 3C, 4B, 5A, 6C, 7A, 8A, 9B 
Here’s the saddest part of all: I have four more manuscripts. I’m too lazy to dig for them because they’re on another computer. So many words, so few places to use ‘em!
  

Thanks, Kate, for that highly entertaining blog! 
Good luck with the manuscripts!
 

Readers, you can learn more about Kate’s books by visiting her websites at:
http://www.katerothwell.com/ or http://www.summerdevon.com/
Or check out her blog at http://katerothwell.blogspot.com/ 

So, how did you do at guessing the genre?

Remember, every comment is an entry into this month’s giveaway…details here!

21 Responses to Kate Rothwell Guest Blogs!

  1. ThatBrunette says:

    I didn’t do as well as I had hoped at picking the genres. Even though your buried manuscripts are from different genres, shouldn’t the ‘skeleton’ of the scenes work? Dialog and a few genre words may need to be changed but, a good scene is a good scene. Okay, maybe not all. We played the ‘pick 5 books from your shelf’ a while ago. Mine came from my ghost story shelf and it was decidedly creepier than the people who chose their romance shelf.

    Lazy? I understand lazy.

  2. Jane says:

    I didn’t do so well either, got four guesses right. How did your alter ego, Summer, come into existence? Did you always have an interest in writing erotic stories?

  3. peggy says:

    not so well here,but it was fun trying

  4. brownone says:

    I tried!! )-:
    Do you find the lines blurred sometimes when switching between Kate and Summer? I’ve always wondered that about writers who write both types of romance!

  5. Cindi Hoppes says:

    I did okay at guessing the genres! Not as well as I wanted to! It was fun, though! Thanks,Cindi

  6. Paula says:

    Besides 1, 2 and 4 were easy to guess, the rest… I cheated. lol

  7. Virginia H. says:

    I only got about 3 right. Most of those lines could be used in about any type of book. I didn’t do as well as I thought I would.

  8. JSL says:

    Hi Kate!
    What a fun meme – I only got 4 right =X, but I really enjoyed guessing. Maybe you could use all the parts in a “create your own adventure” 😉

  9. Helen says:

    I didn’t do so well either I got 3 correct sounds like you have been busy writing which is good for us readers.
    Have Fun
    Helen

  10. Amelia says:

    It was fun, but I didn’t do so well.

  11. fedora says:

    Hi, Kate! That was a clever post, and I was surprised at how tricky it was! It wasn’t easy at all to figure out–thanks for the fun, and looking forward to reading your published work!

  12. Eva S says:

    Hi Kate,
    that was fun, and tricky, I got only 4 right. I put your books on my TBB list, they sound great!

  13. kate r says:

    I find the lines blur when I’m writing hot scenes. I actually change my posture (straighten up) when I’m writing sensual stuff. I figure that’s channeling Summer.No doubt about it, she’s far more self-confident (and not just because she keeps selling books)

    I was going to put in full paragraphs for the little thing above, but then it would have been too easy to guess!!!

  14. kate r says:

    Thatb–I’m feeling especially lazy today because there’s a Firefly marathon on. Oh boy! (and my kids are home today. They have the whole week off from school. oh, it’s painful to write that!!)

    Jane, Here’s the story of Summer (stolen from total ebound publishing): Summer Devon is the alter ego Kate Rothwell who invented Summer’s name in the middle of a nasty blizzard whilst talking to her sister who longed to visit some friends in Devon, England, so the name Summer Devon is all about desire. I have to admit that I started writing erotic romance because that’s what people wanted to buy, but the challenge of it addicted me. There’s something about the difficulty of maintaining the heat–actually increasing it (!) and writing real love stories that I find appealing. Waving hello at Paula, Cindy, Helen and Amelia. .Oh.. and Virginia.Yeah, I didn’t want to make it easy to guess. Made it too hard instead.

    Believe me JSL, I have toyed with the idea of a Igor sort of story–made up from lopped of limbs of other stories. A patchwork quilt with space aliens and 18th century debutantes.staring at each other over a Formica kitchen table. Potential!

    And if you guys do read my stuff, and want to read more, please do join my email announcement list (katerothwell at gmail.) I seriously only send out news when I have a new book out. I promise never to announce stuff like our sink backing up.

    AND I put in a recipe in each announcement so even if you don’t want to read about a novella hot infertile love (my latest release) you’ll get some good brownies out of iit.

  15. kate r says:

    Oy. I need coffee. I see a lot of typos up there. (lopped OFF) It’s really late to be whining about lack of coffee but the dog was sick all night and I still haven’t managed to wake up entirely.

  16. Sue A. says:

    I’ve never been asked to do this before. Great idea! And really tricky too!

  17. Maureen says:

    I got 7 out of ten so I passed!

  18. Cindi Hoppes says:

    I am new here, so I didn’t do too well. Give me another chance and I will do much better! Cindi

  19. kate r says:

    Sue, Maureen and Cindi,
    I made it hard on purpose. I should have put in more than one line–except then it would have been WAY toooooo easy.

  20. Nathalie says:

    I thought I would be better… it was fun though.

Leave a Reply

