Interview with Flo Fitzpatrick!

ghost.gifhs.gifToday’s guest is the wonderful, Flo Fitzpatrick!
Flo wrote Ghost of a Chance and Hot Stuff for Zebra books. 
Her latest, however, is Haunting Melody, a Cerridwen Press release. 
I invited Flo here to tell us more…
 

Please tell us about Haunting Melody.
Haunting Melody
is a time-travel that starts in the present, then sends the heroine back to 1919- specifically to the New Amsterdam Theatre and the Ziegfeld Follies.   I’ve tried to fill it with some interesting history about the Follies as well as touch on aspects of the rather bizarre cults that were popping up in post World War One hauntingmelody.jpgAmerica.   My heroine, Melody Flynn, is a costume designer who finds herself caught up in a kidnapping plot involving members of the Follies and becomes a Follies dancer herself.  And of course, she falls for the dashing Briley MacIntyre, a vet of WWI now working backstage at the theatre.

What inspired the story?
Crazy occurrences in the apartment where I lived in
New York.   Lights going on and off in the middle of the night.  Strange shadows flickering across the hall bookcases, the lock at the front door that kept clicking each night at 11:30.  But the biggie was going away for three weeks and having no one come into the apartment.  Came back – the plants were wet.   Aha!  “Haunted by an environmentally active ghost with a hose!”    I came up with a Ziegfeld Follies chorine, and ran with it.

What is your favorite part of being a writer?
I think it’s being able to have imaginary friends like I did as a kid -without fear that little men in white coats are going to drop in and whisk me away in a straitjacket!

Least favorite?
The times when I’ve placed one of those imaginary friends in an impossible situation in Chapter 11.  I stare at the screen and wonder how I’m going to get him or her out of their predicament and get on to Chapter 12!   (That- and, of course, rejections from editors.)

Is there anything you would like to write, but haven’t? For example, any other genre you’d like to try?
I’ve thought about historical fiction, but I have this tendency to sneak too much humor into my work and I’m just not sure how that would fly with a book about – oh Marie Antoinette or Catherine Parr or Mary, Queen of Scots or some other tragic figure!

Who has inspired you as a writer?
Mainly romantic suspense/mystery writers like Mary Stewart and Helen MacInnes, Daphne Du Maurier, Elizabeth Peters (aka Barbara Michaels.)   And J.D. Salinger.  Weird, I know.   One of my favorite books is his “Seymour-An Introduction.”   A bit of trivia here – Salinger wrote a short story for the New Yorker magazine that ended up as the movie, My Foolish Heart, starring Susan Hayward and Dana Andrews.  It’s a three-tissue box flick (and I wish it would come out in DVD!)   For no reason I can think of, somehow the fact that he’d written the short story gave me the inspiration to hope I might one day write something that touched someone’s life.

What would you like to tell aspiring writers?
Write from your heart and your soul and don’t jump on something just because it seems marketable.  And if you believe in what you’re writing – don’t let anyone stomp on your dreams.    (That’s for published writers too – believe me!)

If you had a time capsule to be opened 50 years in the future, what would you put in it?
My old vinyl record albums.  Groups like the Moody Blues, Jethro Tull, Beatles, Cat Stevens – with a turntable to play them on!

What is next for you?
I’ve got a mystery series I’m working on – waiting to hear from an editor as to whether she wants it.  Working on about five ideas at once.  I always do this, then I settle down and finish one, but I like knowing I’ve got a couple of chapters from several other books tucked away in my ‘Doc’ files.
 

Thanks so much Flo for being a guest!  Best of luck with everything! 

Readers, you can learn more about Flo and her books by visiting her website:  http://www.flofitzpatrick.com 

Flo’s current release is a time-travel…if you could travel back in time to any time period, where would you go? 

Remember, every comment is an entry into this month’s fabulous giveaway…details here!

23 Responses to Interview with Flo Fitzpatrick!

  1. Cherie J says:

    Probably Regency England but I would have to be able to come right back. I need my creature comforts.

  2. Minna says:

    I would like to see 19th century Finland. But, yeah, I’d like to be able to come back.

  3. Eva S says:

    Hi Jennifer and flo,
    time-travel is always interesting.There are many places I’d like to visit, Medieval or Regency England or Ghengis Khan in Mongolia or 19th century in Russia… But I agree with Cherie, I need my comforts. A short visit would be fine.

  4. Eva S says:

    Sorry, I’d like to meet Ghengis Khan… He’s not a place, LOL.

  5. ThatBrunette says:

    Du Maurer and Barbara Michaels in one sentence! As Jennifer knows, books with ghosts in them will draw me in. Your personal eco-friendly ghost story is nifty.

    I love the era you chose for your time-traveler. The Zigfeld girls and shows are something I would have liked to have seen live. Although, you miss Teddy Roosevelt in NY by a few years. Love him! He was…wacky!

    My husband is a Tull fan.

  6. Paula says:

    I’d like to visit a place/people in history we don’t know much about, like picts or the Easter Islands when they made those big stone faces, just to ask who they were or what they were doing.

  7. JSL says:

    Hi Flo and Jennifer,
    I think I missed the question – but as to historical places to visit… too many to choose! Ancient/dynastic China, Ancient Greece, Rome, and Egypt…. and England – love the Regency period. 😉 But it’s a lot. And like Cherie, I’d need to know I was on a time schedule – staying there forever would be a bit much for me!

  8. fedora says:

    Hi, Flo and Jennifer! Great interview–thanks so much for taking the time to let us know more about your books!

    As for the question, ditto what JSL said–I’d love to visit ancient China in all its glory, but would definitely not want to stay forever! I definitely wouldn’t want to be there long enough to give birth–sometimes modern medicine is a really good thing! 🙂

  9. Helen says:

    Loved the interview Flo and Jennifer
    I always love hearing about authors and their books
    As for where I would like to go back in time The Scottish Highlands there is something about a rugged highlander in a kilt not sure I would want to stay too long I need my creature comforts.
    Have Fun
    Helen

  10. brownone says:

    Well, I’ve been catching up on “The Tudors” on DVD so I think I’d LOVE to jump into those times. I mean, just wrong word and off with your head!

  11. Ruth Chesick says:

    Hi Jen and Flo:

    I like time travels and one about Zeigfield girls would be very interesting. Maybe Flo chose this because Zeigfield’s name was also Flo??

    Oh, gosh, this is a difficult question — I would like to be able to time travel whenever I wanted to (assuming I could come back, of course).

    Then I would visit Scotland in numerous time periods, Regency England, Georgian England, ancient Greece and Rome, etc., etc.

    Since I enjoyed reading about King Henry VIII and his six wives, I would like to visit that era — only as a spectator in any of those time periods, of course.

    So, I guess what I am really saying is that I would need to be the owner of a time machine, ala Jules Verne’s Time Machine.!!

    Ruth C.

  12. Jane says:

    Hi Flo and Jennifer,
    I’ve always been fascinated with Egyptian culture, so I guess I would like to travel back to their time, maybe during Cleopatra’s reign. It would be exciting to experience life during this time with the political intrigue between Egypt and Rome.

  13. Cindi Hoppes says:

    Hi, I love the time period! I have always wanted to live in a castle in Ireland and Scotland! Thanks,Cindi

  14. Angie-la says:

    I always wanted to live in America during the 1700 or 1800’s. But Ruth has the right idea..a time machine would be the ultimate method of travel!

  15. Virginia H. says:

    I would want to go to the Highlands in Scotland. I just love highlanders. I don’t think I would want to stay long, because I do love the modern times. Just for a short time to meet some of the highlanders and see what life was like back in the 1800’s. I would love to see a lot of places in time because I love history.

  16. Amelia says:

    Hmm…I’m not sure. I think I would go back to go to see how the kings and queens and the different people in the kingdom in Chinese history. I’m not sure exactly what time period.

  17. Danny says:

    I would either visit Medieval Scotland or Regency England, but the American Wild West would also be interesting

  18. Pam Pellini says:

    Ruth has it right, we need a time machine so we can scoot away if things don’t go the way we want them, too, lol. I’d love to check out a sexy highlander too, though we know it’s not the same as in the romances.

    Flo, we definitely have the same taste in music, and I love DuMaurier.

  19. Crystal B. says:

    Regency England. I love reading about that time period.

  20. Maureen says:

    Maybe back to the beginning of the twentieth century, a time of tremendous change.

  21. Sue A. says:

    I think the roaring twenties was a fun liberated time. With great music, dancing and some sexual freedom.

  22. Nathalie says:

    I would love to go to the Regency period!

  23. […] a Cerridwen Press release.? I invited Flo here to tell us more??? Please tell us about Haunhttps://jennifersrandommusings.wordpress.com/2008/02/16/interview-with-flo-fitzpatrick/Ziegfeld Follies (1946)PRODUCTION DESIGNERS Lemuel Ayers Edward C. Carfagno Tony Duquette Irene […]

Leave a Reply

