Sandy Blair Guest Blogs!

Happy Valentine’s Day everyone! 

sbhighlander.jpgToday’s guest blogger is the lovely Sandy Blair! 
Those of you familiar with my blog know I am a fan of her books and have mentioned them quite a few times. 
Her most recent release was A Highlander for Christmas and is still available in stores…I would highly recommend it!
 

So here some fun Valentine’s Day facts from Sandy 

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Did you know that the earliest Valentines were known as “poetical or amorous addresses”? What we call love letters. 

By the 18th century many of the young wealthy wore diamond “scribble rings.” Both men and women used them to etched love messages onto their beloved’s window panes.  

By 1840 we had commercial Valentine cards and by the 1890s in New York, young women were tying a knot at the end of a long cord and sally forth on Valentine’s Day, gently swatting the young men that caught their fancy. Hence the term “love taps.”  

English tradition holds that a girl will know the type of man she’ll marry by the first bird she spies on Valentine’s Day.  

Robin…a sailor
Goldfinch or any yellow bird…a wealthy man
Sparrow…a farmer
Any type of blue-colored bird…a happy man
Dove…a loving man
Woodpecker…you will not marry 

Valentine’s Day has long been a very important day in Scotland. During the Middle Ages Valentine’s Day was greeted with even more anticipation than Christmas. February 14th was not only a time of gift giving, but an excuse for large parties at which single women would write their names on paper hearts and placed them in a bowl. The single men drew a heart/name from the bowl, pinned the heart on his sleeve (hence the saying) and the lady became his Valentine for the week. Rumor has it that many of Cupid’s arrows did hit their mark.  

Wishing each and every one of you a lovely Valentine’s Day!   

Fondly,
Sandy Blair
And her Highlanders in Kilts 

Thanks Sandy for those fun facts and for being a guest!!! 
I hope you and the Highlanders have a great Valentine’s Day!!!
 

Readers, you can find out more about Sandy and her fabulous books by visiting her site:  http://www.sandyblair.net 

So, what was the most interesting Valentine gift you ever received? 
And what do you think of the traditions Sandy mentioned?

Remember, every comment left this month is an entry in the giveaway…details here!

22 Responses to Sandy Blair Guest Blogs!

  1. JSL says:

    Hi Sandy and Jennifer,
    I really enjoyed this post! I guess I’m not much of a romantic, b/c with the “scribble rings” – my thought was “if someone was scratching up my window I’d be p*ssed!”
    The “love taps” also made me chuckle – I pictured a, well, *unhappy* girl smacking people. The most incongruous items can often cause an inordinate amount of pain.
    Happy Valentine’s Day!

  2. Danny says:

    Hi Sandy and Jennifer,

    great idea to post Valentine’s traditions. The idea with the “scribble rings” is pretty complicated, because what do you say when you have another suitor, or did they exchange the window? Very expensive. LOL

    Happy Valentine’s Day to everyone. Hope your significant other has a wonderful surprise for you. I personally have never got anything for Valentine so far, the huge disadvantage for being single

  3. Minna says:

    You always learn something new…
    Happy Valentine’s Day!

  4. peggy says:

    i loved the interview.those valentine traditions.not sure about

  5. Helen says:

    Thanks I loved all of that information loved the Scottish ones they are great. As for gifts I have never gotten anything unusual just the normal flowers chocolates and cards.
    Have Fun
    Helen

  6. Beth R says:

    I agree with JSL I don’t think I would be very happy with someone scratching my window either

  7. Eva S says:

    Hi Sandy and Jennifer,
    interesting traditions. I feel sorry for the girl who spied a woodpecker, I would have liked a blue-colored bird…
    I usually have got chocolate and flowers, but today I got a jewel box with a wonderful fairy (I collect fairies, and books of course…)!

    Happy Valentine’s Day!

  8. Jane says:

    I love the cover of “A Highlander For Christmas,” I’m a big fan of Nathan. I get the usual gifts too, flowers and chocolate. Although etching love messages is pretty romantic, I don’t I would appreciate having my windows all scratched up.

  9. ThatBrunette says:

    Love all the Valentine’s day info. It’s bizarre how phrases and traditions form.

    I can’t think of any interesting gifts I have gotten. DH and I had our first ‘date’ on Valentine’s day. We had known each other for many years but this was our first official ‘date’. We had a great time.

  10. Sue A. says:

    Happy Valentine’s Day everyone!
    Great post! I’d never read any of that before.
    I’ve only gotten the usual gifts for Valentine’s Day.

    SPECIAL NOTE TO JENNIFER Y.: I wanted to let you know I got the promo pack from you today! Thank you Jennifer!

  11. Ruth Chesick says:

    Hi Jen and Sandy:

    HAPPY VALENTINE’S DAY EVERYONE.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Loved reading those Valentine info posts.

    You learn something new all the time.

    Interesting how the phrase wearing your heart on your sleeve came about.

    LOVE Sandy’s books.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Hope everyone had a day filled with LOVE AND HAPPINESS.!!!!!!!

  12. Virginia H. says:

    Hi Sandy and Jennifer,
    I loved the Valentine traditions the Scottish one was great.

    Sandy I am with Jennifer, your books are great. I loved The Highlander for Christmas, its a fantastic read. If you like highlander books I really recomend this book. I just love highlander books myself they are my favorite, so Sandy falls right into my favorite reads.

    Favorite Valentine gift. Dear hubby never buys gifts. One Valentine’s day he bought a pair of ear rings and had them attached to a rose and put in a heart shaped ballon. I was in total shock! I thought it was so romantic. This

    This year he is back to his old self, didn’t get me anything.(cry)

  13. Angie-la says:

    Sandy, I love your Highlanders!
    Some of the facts I had heard, some were new.

  14. Amelia says:

    Great post! Have a great Valentine’s Day! I didn’t get any interesting gift except getting candy and cards from co-workers. 🙂 It’s a tradition at my workplace where we pass out Valentine’s bag and give each goodies.

  15. Pam Pellini says:

    That was fun, Sandy, Happy Valentine’s Day! I’d love a hunky Scot be my Valentine for a week.

  16. danette says:

    Hi Sandy,
    Interesting traditions. 🙂 Valentine’s is for the kids in our house.

    Happy Valentine’s Day!

    Hugs, Danette

  17. fedora says:

    Hi, Sandy–thanks for the fascinating post today–lots I didn’t know! I’m not a huge fan of the commercially part of Valentine’s Day, but I agree that it’s definitely fun for the kids, and if some chocolate happens my way, I’m doubly happy! Mmm….

  18. Ack, Sandy, I missed you yesterday! Ah, well, better late.

    I love the Valentine’s Day trivia – thank you!! It’s amazing to think that Valentine’s Day isn’t just a Hallmark tradition; rather that it stretches back into history so far. We don’t have particular traditions in our family – we go with the flow.

    So great to see you, and can hardly wait for your next book!

    Light,
    Nancy
    LA VIDA VAMPIRE, April 1, 2008
    http://www.nancyhaddock.com

  19. Maureen says:

    Hello Jennifer and Sandy,
    That was an interesting post. I begin to wonder if the commercialization of Valentine’s Day has made it less romantic.

  20. Paula says:

    These tidbits were fun to read. The “scribble rings” sound awfully unpractical, but some of the etchings must have looked lovely.

  21. Cindi Hoppes says:

    Yes, I have know about the “wearing your heart on a sleeve” tradition! I like it. Somewhere, in past days, if a lady would drop her kerchief on the ground in front of a man, it meant she was interested. I like simplistic Valentine’s gifts. My husband has actually made me the sweetest hand made card! Chocolate strawberries are one of the
    most special gifts I have gotten. Thanks,Cindi

  22. Sandy Blair says:

    Hi Everyone,
    Sorry for the delayed response to your posts but we’ve been battered by thunderstorms and this computer has been un-plugged for two days. I hope you all had a wonderful Valentine’s Day and that none of your windows were etched too badly. (g)

    So nice seeing so many familiar names on the list and my heartfelt thanks for all the sweet comments about my wee tales.

    Thanks ever so much for reading the blog. Have a great day!!
    Sandy

Leave a Reply

