Interview with Sara Reinke!

Today’s guest is the wonderful, Sara Reinke, whose vampire romance, Dark Thirst, I read and loved last year! 

dark-thirst.jpgPlease tell us about your book, Dark Thirst. 
In “Dark Thirst,” Brandon Noble is one of the Brethren, an ancient clan of ruthless vampires. Horrified by his birthright, Brandon shuns the ritual of the first kill, earning his family’s lasting wrath. When he finds love with a human woman named Angelina – forbidden among the Brethren — his fate is sealed. Can Brandon protect Angelina from his enemies — and his own dark thirsts?

”Dark Thirst” has been hailed as a “unique twist on the vampire legend” and “a fascinating and unique romance” by Romantic Times Book Reviews magazine and “a vivid debut” and “a masterful read” by reviewers at PNR Reviews.

“Dark Thirst” also recently earned 5 out of 5 Angels and a Recommended Read designation at Fallen Angel Reviews! “Kudos to Sara Reinke for her unique and thoroughly compelling vampire world,” says reviewer Bella. “I read this book in one sitting, unable to tear myself away… ‘Dark Thirst’ has it all: internal and external conflict, heated passion, suspenseful plot and vibrant secondary characters…[a] fabulous page-turner!” 

What inspired the story? 
The idea for “Dark Thirst” originally came about because when I was growing up in the Bluegrass region of central Kentucky, we would drive past enormous Thoroughbred horse farms to get from our town to the bigger city of Lexington. The farms are signatures of the area – rolling acres of lush green grass framed by white wooden fences. I always wondered about the people who owned those farms, because they’re so huge, it would be more than easy to hide away from the rest of the world at one, to live a completely segregated, isolated life. Over the years, from these innocent mus ings, the world of the Brethren eventually developed. 

Who would you cast in a film adaptation of the book?
I think that Orlando Bloom or James McAvoy would be good “faces” to place with the hero, Brandon Noble. Because he’s deaf and mute, a lot of his communication in the book is expressed through his eyes and facial expressions, which makes these two actors excellent fits for the role. For Angelina, I think Gabrielle Union would be perfect – just the right blend of toughness and beauty. I always imagined Rene as Josh Holloway, who plays Sawyer on TV’s “Lost.” For Brandon’s sister, Tessa, I think Kate Beckinsale would be a good fit. All of this is just wishful thinking on my part, of course, LOL. 

What is you favorite part of being a writer?
I love to hear from readers who have enjoyed my book. It’s one of the most gratifying experiences, one I’ll never get tired of. 

The least favorite?
Getting over my own silly little insecurities and self-doubts and getting to work on a manuscript.  

How has your real life influenced your writing? 
I think that since I’ve become a parent myself, I’ve developed a greater affinity for characters who also have children. A lot of times, I’ll pick occupations for characters that either I have had or people close to me have had – for example, my mother was a nurse and I went to nursing school myself for a brief time, so I often incorporate characters who are nurses. My father was in law enforcement, so you’ll often find police officers in my stories. That being said, while many of my characters may demonstrate character traits in common with me, I usually don’t pull from my own emotions to create them; I give them their own lives, histories, etc. as a framework and let them develop on their own.  

What would you like to tell aspiring writers? 
I would encourage them to keep learning, keep improving their craft and to never give up if they’re passionate in their pursuit of publication. Set realistic goals for yourself and work hard to achieve them. Rejection is an unfortunate part of this business, so do your best to surround yourself with positive people – friends, family, fellow writers. 

Describe yourself in three words.
Goofy. Caring. Mother-bear. 

If you had a time capsule to be opened 50 years in the future, what would you put in it?
Journals. I love to go back and read through my old journals, to see where I was at in my life and reflect (and usually laugh) about how much has changed, and how much I’ve changed along with it. I think I would also include pictures of my children and husband, to remind myself of how happy I am at this point in my life, how much fulfillment and joy my family brings to me each day. And of course, copies of my books, if only to prove to other folks at the nursing home (ha ha ha) that I actually HAD written them! 

What’s next for you?
“Dark Hunger,” Book Two in the Brethren Series is coming in September to bookstores from Zebra Books. In this exciting sequel to “Dark Thirst,” Tessa Noble-Davenant is a vampire who will do anything to protect her brother, Brandon — even if that means traveling across the country with Rene Morin. A cynical, brooding, yet startling sexy vampire, Rene seems to take pleasure in finding fault with Tessa’s every move. Despite this, a sensual attraction begins to develop between the two, one to which neither can afford to succumb. Rene and Tessa are being followed — and a single misstep will put them at the mercy of forces more dark and powerful than even they can fight. If they are caught, the ecstasy of their newfound love will be matched only by the agony of its loss… 

I just finished revisions on another paranormal romance called “Resurrection” which I’ve sent to my agent for her review. If she likes it, we’ll get started marketing it to publishers. If she wants to see further revisions, I’ll roll up my sleeves and get to work on those. 

I’m also getting ready to begin work on the third book in the Brethren Series, so my agent can pitch it to my editor at Kensington. 

Thank you so much Sara for that great interview! 

Readers, can learn more about Sara and her book by visiting her website at http://www.sarareinke.com/ 

Everyone, Dark Thirst is a unique story featuring a vampire hero. 
Vampires seem to be popular in books, films, and on television (I know I love them), what do you think makes them so irresistible? 
Who is your favorite fictional vampire from a book, film, or television show?
 

Remember, every comment left this month is an entry into the giveaway…details here…comment as often as you like!

36 Responses to Interview with Sara Reinke!

  1. danette says:

    Great inteview, I like your describing words. It good to be a mother bear.

    I got to say my favorite fictional vampire is Eric Sinclair( from Maryjanice Davidson’s Betsy Series) he’s loyal, true to his mate, fights for his people, and drool worthy.

    Hugs, Danette

  2. Minna says:

    My favorite fictional vampire is Angel from Buffy.

  3. Danny says:

    Great interview, Sara.

    Mmm what makes Vampires so interesting, I would say being mysterious, dangerous, protective towards their mates and they are absolutley alpha.

    I have many favorite Vampires but one helds a special place, because he was the first one that I met in a movie or book. It is Louis (Brad Pitt) from Inteview with a Vampire.

  4. StephanieB says:

    Terrific Interview Sara! Congrats and Can’t wait to see what you come up with for the next book in the series!

    I honestly think what makes vamps so irritable is their alpha ways yet they make you want to love and take care of their tortured souls. It doesn’t hurt that once you feel your heroine has won her hero over he’ll be loyal, true and only your’s for the rest of time too!

    I think I’m going to have to go with my first vamp here also Nick Knight of the book and tv show Forever Knight. I’ve read and loved lots since then but he’s always been the imprint for my reading vamps.

  5. kaisquared says:

    I first liked Nick Knight, then Spike from Buffy. I loved your interview, Sara and am looking forward to Dark Hinger.

  6. Laura K says:

    I love that new vamp in Mick from “Moonlight”- he’s a great combo of yummy, feral sexuality, and morality. I’d expose my next for him, anywhere, anytime!

  7. BookstoreDeb says:

    Hey Sara! Great to see you here. Looking forward to having you come to our store again! Definitely looking forward to more of your books!
    hugs
    deb

  8. Glenna Day says:

    Oh this is good question. There are so many of them that I love. Have to say though that Spike from Buffy is my all time favorite. SIGH Considering that my screen name is dreamofspike I guess that would say it all. LOL Also I have a life sized cardboard cutout on my bedroom wall, the complete set of Buffy and he’s my wallpaper on my comp, I would say he’s my all time favorite man period. LOL

  9. Meg Allison says:

    Hi, Sara! Great interview. 🙂

    I loved DARK THIRST and am looking forward to the sequel.

  10. I like Count Dracula from Sesame Street. You know…the purple dude. 🙂

    Hey Sarah! Hope your little one is well and your dh. Sometimes sick men can be harder to take care of than the little ones…

  11. Sara Reinke says:

    LOL – thanks, Kimberly. I think we’re all on the mend. My hubby is getting the most out of his languish-in-bed time, LOL.

    I’d also like to take this opportunity to personally thank Jennifer for putting together the Zebra Blog Party. It’s a wonderful idea, and I’ve really enjoyed myself. I’ll be checking back in throughout the rest of today. If anyone has any questions about “Dark Thirst” or the Brethren series, feel free to holler and I’ll do my best to answer.

    I meant to mention, too — you’ll find excerpts, plus the promotional video, purchase links and more at my website, http://www.sarareinke.com. Check it out!

    🙂 Sara

  12. Jane says:

    My favorite vampire would have to be Angel from Buffy and Angel series. Can’t beat a good vampire who’s trying to fight crime.

  13. ThatBrunette says:

    Sara, sorry to hear about your daughter being ill. My toddler brings home a new disease every other week. I completely understand.

    I’m gonna have to agree with kaisquared (hey, kai!), I loved Nick Knight! Okay, what really appealed to me was the ability to accumulate wealth. Talk about being financially secure!

  14. Jen H says:

    Wow I have so many fictional vampire favs hard to narrow it down. Any from Feehan’s Carpathian series, any from Angela Knight, what really stands out in my mind is Rosemary Laury’s Kit and Tomas, I love that they are based on real historical figures. I’ve had the pleasure of reading some of Sara’s books, you can’t go wrong with any and I’m really looking forward to Dark Thirst! Jen 🙂

  15. Eva S says:

    Hi Sara and Jennifer,
    great interview! I read Dark Thirst in one night (yes, Orlando Bloom, good choice) and can’t wait for your next!
    My favorite fictional vampires are a brotherhood, Black Daggers by JR Ward. I can’t choose between them.. Christine Feehan’s Carphatians are also great…

  16. Jennifer Y says:

    Thanks everyone for stopping by! Sorry I haven’t been around much this weekend, but I battling an awful cold! Glad to see so many new “faces!”

  17. Jennifer Y says:

    I like Count Dracula from Sesame Street. You know…the purple dude.

    LOL Kimberly! You know, I think he may have been the first vampire I ever saw on tv. I know he did teach me a lot about counting…LOL.

  18. Jennifer Y says:

    Oh, and Sara, if not for you and the other wonderful authors, this “party” would have never happened! I have really appreciated you taking the time to take part!

  19. Bonnie-Lass says:

    Hi Sara! Great interview! I can’t wait to read Dark Thirst. I read and reviewed your Book of Dragons, which was fantastic, so I’m sure I’ll enjoy Dark Thirst. I have a special fondness for a sexy vampire 🙂

    ~Bonnie

  20. tasha t says:

    quite a few of them, especailly irsh ones 🙂

  21. tasha t says:

    film, dracula 2000, o lalalalala

  22. Pam P says:

    Great interview, Sara. My favorites – Angel and Nick Night, though I wasn’t happy with the way they ended the series.

  23. Cindy says:

    Hmmm. I’d have to say Gregory from Feehan’s Carpathian series. Sinclair from MaryJanice Davidson’s series and Alex O’Loughlin from the tv show Moonlight. 😀

  24. Sara Reinke says:

    Thanks so much, guys! It’s been so nice to see so many familiar faces, plus make so many new friends, too! I’ve had a wonderful time reading your comments!

    If anyone would like a signed cover flat for “Dark Thirst,” just drop me an email at sara@sarareinke.com with your snail mail address and I’ll get one out to you! (Be sure to put Zebra Blog Party in the subject line!)

    🙂 Sara

  25. Fedora says:

    Hi, Sara! Thanks for taking the time to give us such a great interview! I’m with Kimberly, I’ve a soft spot for the ol’ Count, too! And I do still have all my old journals, and find it both fascinating and embarrassing (at times) to flip through them 🙂 (I haven’t kept one regularly in years now though–with kids, I’ve found it hard to make regular time to write things down… *sigh*)

  26. Virginia H. says:

    I am going with Angel from Buffy. Because Angel was such a good vampire. Your book Dark Thirst looks like a fantastic read.

  27. Teresa W. says:

    I’m a big fan of Sherrilyn Kenyon’s Dark-Hunter series!

  28. JSL says:

    Hi Sarah & Jennifer,
    Great interview! Fictional vampires…. well currently I’m a huge fan of JR Ward’s BDB vampires. Otherwise, like many others here, I love Angel – but I love Spike too, from Buffy. Also, the vampires from “Interview with a Vampire.” 😀 Obviously I’m a fan of vampires.

  29. Tamsyn Takamiya says:

    I love the Carpathians series by Christine Feehan, Angela Knight’s vampires from the Knights of the Round Table and Sherrilyn Kenyon’s Dark Hunters. Each of them presents a different view on vampires but the heroes are just sooooooo, if you get what I mean.

  30. Crystal B. says:

    My favorite vampires in tv shows are Angel from Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Mick St. John from Moonlight.

  31. Amelia says:

    My favorite vampire would be Angel from Buffy the Vampire and Brad Pitt from Interview with a Vampire.

  32. Cherie J says:

    Great interview! My favorite vampire would have to be Edward from the Twilight book series by Stephanie Meyer.

  33. Ruth Chesick says:

    I like the way you came up with the story’s premise.

    Ruth C.

  34. Sue A. says:

    Loved the interview! I really can’t pick a favorite vampire. I pretty much liked all the vampires from TV shows, like Angel and Spike, Mick and Nick. But I have to say I like my vampires in book form, because you really get to see into their souls that way. I have a thing for dark tortured souls.

  35. Cindi Hoppes says:

    Hi, I liked “Barnabas Collins” in Dark Shadows! My friends and I would come home from school and we watched the show every day! Cindi

  36. Nathalie says:

    I have to say I really hate vampires in any media!

Leave a Reply

