Interview with Eve Silver/Eve Kenin!

Please give a warm welcome to today’s guest…Eve Silver/Eve Kenin!

Hi Jennifer. Thanks for inviting me to guest blog. I’m excited to be here 🙂

I am glad to have you.  Please tell us about your books.demon_s_kiss.jpg
I have three current releases on shelves.  

Under the name Eve Silver, there’s DEMON’S KISS a dark, sexy paranormal romance about an immortal sorcerer, a human with special powers, and a demon hell-bent on their destruction, as dark_prince.jpgwell as DARK PRINCE a moody historical gothic where an innkeeper’s daughter must decide if her new employer is the dark prince of her dreams or a heartless madman. 

Under the name Eve Kenin I write speculative romance. DRIVEN is a post-apocalyptic, trans-Siberian trucker tale. And a romance. ‘Nuff said. I’m hugely excited because driven_final.jpgDRIVEN is on Library Journal’s list of Best Books 2007. When I found out, I just sat there, stunned and speechless, honored beyond words. 

They all look and sound interesting…what inspired the stories?
Each book has its own unique inspiration. DRIVEN was inspired by Joss Whedon’s series, FIREFLY, and by the Manga and Anime stories and movies I was introduced to around that time. I read/watched such classics as Full Metal Panic, Hellsing, Last Exile, GTO, and I found that even in the darkest story, a little humor can go a long way. 

DEMON’S KISS was actually inspired my by agent, who suggested that my voice—always dark and spooky, regardless of what genre I write—might be well suited to a paranormal story about sorcerers. I hadn’t thought about writing paranormals until that moment, but once she said it, the story exploded in my mind, like a movie, and I couldn’t seem to chase it away.  

My gothics were originally inspired by Jane Austen’s Northanger Abbey, a tongue-in-cheek take on the gothic. My original intent was to write a light, funny historical along that vein. But no matter how hard I tried, my historicals were dark, dark, dark. Finally, I gave in and just let the stories write themselves the way they wished. DARK PRINCE definitely had a mind of its own. I started out meaning to write it set in London, because I’d already done the research for a previous book, DARK DESIRES. But DARK PRINCE decided to write itself on the barren, rocky coast of Cornwall, so I gave up the fight and let it roam where it willed. 

Why two pen names?   
I started out writing historical gothics under the name Eve Silver. When I sold my first contemporary paranormal I hoped that readers might enjoy both genres, given certain similarities such as the dark tone and elements of suspense, so it seemed quite natural to maintain the same name for both.  

When I sold DRIVEN, I agonized over the name issue. Speculative romance is not as established as historicals and paranormals. I didn’t want to alienate existing readers by throwing an “Eve Silver” book at them that was about truckers and deadly ice pirates. Moreover, given that I would be writing three subgenres for three publishers, issues of scheduling same-name books could be problematic. On the advice of both my agent and my editor, I opted for a second name, and I write my speculative romances as Eve Kenin. 

What is your favorite part of being a writer? Least favorite?
Favorite part: I get to be writer <grin> 
Least favorite part: Writing to deadline. 

Who has inspired you as a writer?
Too many to name or count, but I can offer a tiny glimpse: Kathleen E. Woodiwiss because hers were the first romance novels I ever read. Daphne Du Maurier because hers were the first gothics I ever read. Nora Roberts because she is talented and savvy and wise. Jane Austen because her work is simply wonderful. And the many, many authors whose works I read and reread, and think, I will work and I will strive, and perhaps, some day, I will be able to write something as moving as this.   

What would you like to tell aspiring writers?
Be honest. Is this your dream? Yes? Then what are you doing to make it happen? 

Rejection is a reality. I have hundreds of rejection letters gathered over the years. Remember that none of them are personal. They are business…just business. Put them in a file. Put them away. And send out the next query. 

Hard work is a reality. Every book I have written so far was completed page by agonizing page while I worked a demanding day job (that I happened to love, but that’s besides the point). There are only so many hours in the day, and if you want to be a published author, a chunk of those hours need to be spent with your butt in a chair and your hands on the keyboard. No matter how long your day has already been. No matter how tired you are. No matter that your muse has taken a hike to the Himalayas. 

Just write. You can’t sell the book if you don’t finish the book. 

Don’t give up. If this is your dream, burning like a fire in your gut, then hang on to it and feed it and keep dreaming. Keep writing. 

What is next for you?
I have four releases in 2008. You can check out the covers and back cover blurbs at http://evesilverblog.blogspot.com/ 

First up, in July 2008, is my next Eve Kenin speculative romance, HIDDEN, a return to the frozen world of the Northern Waste that readers first visited in DRIVEN. 

Then I have three Eve Silver books coming out. 

In August 2008, my next historical gothic, HIS WICKED SINS, will be released, a tale of murder and secrets and sins.  

Then in September 2008, my novella, KISS OF THE VAMPIRE, will be part of the anthology, NATURE OF THE BEAST, a trade paperback vampire collection. 

And DEMON’S HUNGER, the second book about the brotherhood of sorcerers that guards the wall between the mortal world and the demon realm, hits shelves December 2008. 

Is there anything you’d like to ask readers?
If you had a chance to ask a single question of any of my heroes or heroines, what would it be? 

Jennifer, thanks again for inviting me to guest blog.  

Happy reading, everyone! 

Eve 

Thank you Eve!  I really appreciate you taking the time to be a guest!  You sound really busy this year!  Looking forward to the books! 

Readers, you can learn more about Eve at her website:  http://www.evesilver.net/ 

Eve asked a really good question for readers…
If you had a chance to ask a single question of any of her heroes or heroines, what would it be?
Can’t wait to read the responses!
 

Remember, every comment is an entry into this month’s giveaway…details here!

26 Responses to Interview with Eve Silver/Eve Kenin!

  1. danette says:

    Hi Eve,

    I loved Driven, it was an awesome fast paced read. I liked how the characters weren’t perfect and yet by the end of the book I actually admired them.
    I’m looking forward to Hidden.

    My question would be for Raina:
    Where would you go if you could just take a day to relax?

    Hugs, Danette

  2. Pam Pellini says:

    Love your books Eve, Driven one of my best reads in 2007 – can’t wait to read Hidden. The genetics in a futuristic time is a great, realistic spin.

    Loved Firefly, too bad they didn’t give it more of a chance.

    Wizard, does Raina let you drive the Rig?

  3. Good morning!

    Danette…Raina relax???!!! Who are we kidding, LOL!? But if she had to pick a place, it would be a day at the beach, on a really hot, really sunny day.

    Pam, Wizard does get to drive a rig, just not Raina’s. That’s her baby all the way. he had to go out and buy a new one of his own. That cost him a nice chunk of interdollars.

  4. Caitlin Hoy says:

    Wizard from Demon’s Kiss Question: How does the evil of the demon feel when you sense it and is there anything you can do to sense it earlier than your usual reaction time?

    Caitlin

  5. Hi Caitlin! The evil is always there, a subtle dark menace, like a shark beneath the calm surface of the ocean. The challenge is holding it at bay, keeping it from becoming so powerful that it takes over.

  6. Jane says:

    Hi Eve,
    I loved “Dark Desires.” I have to admit that I was spooked. I want to ask Damien if the corpse snatching was a popular crime? How did the med schools or doctors usually get the bodies for medical/scientific research?

  7. Angie-la says:

    Hi Eve! I am not sure what I would ask your characters since you are a ‘new to me’ author and I am not familiar with them. But if the inside is as good as the outside of Demon’s Kiss and Dark Prince, I feel like I am missing something.
    I hate to feel like that. 🙂
    I must look into remedying that situation. 😛

  8. Hi Jane,

    Corpse-snatching was definitely popular. It was a dark and frightening time. Anatomists had limited options when it came to getting bodies. The gallows was pretty much the only option, and supply just couldn’t meet demand. So resurrection men (grave robbers) had quite a lucrative profession in digging up bodies and selling them. Two men, Burke and Hare, even bypassed the whole dig-up-the-body step, and went straight to murder, killing their victims and then selling them.

    Glad you liked DARK DESIRES 🙂

  9. Hi Angie-la! Thanks for popping by. If you’d like to get a taste of DARK PRINCE, DEMON’S KISS, or my other stories, you can check out excerpts at my website.

    http://www.evesilver.net

    Eve

  10. danette says:

    Lol Eve! The beach is a wonderful relaxing place for us all.

  11. cathy M says:

    Would like to ask Raina, from Driven, where does she see herself 2 years from now?

  12. Danette, I’m a beach lover, myself, LOL!

    Cathy M, Raina sees herself at the forefront of the continuing battle to make the frozen frigging Waste a better place 🙂 She still hates the cold, but Wizard definitely keeps her toasty warm, and she sees herself with him by her side not only in two years but in two decades, and beyond.

  13. Jennifer Y says:

    Hi everyone!

    Thanks for asking such good questions and thanks Eve for answering!

    I haven’t read Driven, but I will have to look for it….seems like Raina is a popular character to question.

  14. ThatBrunette says:

    My little eyes got bigger with the mention of Firefly. Gothics were some of my earliest introductions to the romance genre. If it had a ghost in it, I was more likely to try it. Yes! Another Daphne Du Maurer fan.

    I’d ask your characters if they would like to be written into a new genre! 🙂

  15. fedora says:

    Eve and Jennifer, thanks for the introduction to another exciting author! And my DH and I really enjoyed Firefly–I’ll definitely be looking for Driven!

  16. Jennifer, DRIVEN is definitely a different read. Very action oriented.

    ThatBrunette, I guess that in a way, my characters choose the genre they want. because I write three different time periods and genres, and because I always have several projects on the go all at once, my characters decide where they want to be 🙂

    Fedora, I am a die-hard Firefly and Serenity fan.

  17. Jennifer Y says:

    Jennifer, DRIVEN is definitely a different read. Very action oriented.

    Well, it sounds really good!

    And I too am a Firefly and Serenity fan…wish it was still coming on.

  18. Virginia H. says:

    I wish I could ask one of your heros a question, but I haven’t read any of your books yet. I am just starting to get into the gothic books. I just found out I like them. I do have Dark Prince in my TBR pile ,but havn’t read it yet. I love the cover on that book.

  19. JSL says:

    Hi Eve,
    You’re a new to me author, so I’m in the same boat as some other people. I love your book covers -and Rebecca by DDM is one of my favorite books – but I so/always wish we could find out the heroine’s name!

  20. Sue A. says:

    I’m also one of the few here who hasn’t read Eve’s books. So where should I start? Driven seems to be popular here!

  21. Virginia H., I really like that cover, too. I think it reflects the spooky feel of the story.

    JSL, I definitely feel that the cover fairy smiled on me 🙂

    Sue A, DRIVEN is my post-apocalyptic, trans-Siberian trucker tale. And it’s a romance. ‘Nuf said, LOL!

  22. Cherie J says:

    I have not read any of Eve’s books yet either. Driven is on my huge reading pile and I plan on eventually adding Demon’s Kiss to the pile. I love books with unusual plots like these.

  23. Pam P says:

    Ah, now will Wizard ever let Raina drive his new rig? I figured she wouldn’t let him in the driver’s seat in hers, lol.

  24. Amelia says:

    I am also of those who haven’t read any of Eve’s books. But I’m glad that Jennifer introduce you. All of your books sounds great.

  25. Jolene says:

    I havent had the pleasure of reading your books but they sound very sexy.. i cant wait to check them out. thanks for coming and introducing yourself and your books to us

  26. Cindi Hoppes says:

    Hello, I am new to you and I am so glad I have found out about your books. Cindi

Leave a Reply

