Interview with Kimberly Killion

Yesterday I posted a blurb and cover for Kimberly Killion’s upcoming release and today she is here to answer some questions… 

Your upcoming release looks and sounds great!  Can you please tell us about the book?her-one-desire_wikiromance.jpg
Her One Desire will be released as a Zebra Debut by Kensington in July 2008. The story is set in 1483 England
, a time when the nobles would do anything to gain King Edward’s crown.
My blurb says it best:
Astride a stolen horse, encircled by the shackled arms of Broderick Maxwell, a Scottish spy escaping certain death in the Tower of London, Lizbeth Ives rides to the north, hidden by the merciful darkness. By stealth and by cunning, the daughter of the Lord High Executioner has undone her father’s cruel work, compelled to save the innocent man with her. There is no turning back—they are bound as one in his iron chains. Consumed by mortal fear, driven by passion, they disappear into the night…
A single raven follows them. Is it an omen? Or only the first of those who would capture them? They must ride on. If captured, they will face death together. But if they reach Scotland, he will claim her for his own…forever. 

What inspired the story?
I suppose I was contemplating my next story when I was watching a documentary of the lives of the executioners and how they lived. I was fascinated by their stories. I had been researching the life of Richard the Third, as he play a role in HER ONE DESIRE, and discovered he, too, had been party to several execution. My little mind went to work and it hit me…what if I wrote a book about the executioner’s daughter? It took root from there.

How did you react when you found out your book was going to be published?
I cried. Really. I received an e-mail from Hilary Sares ten minutes before I was scheduled to lecture to a class of thirty. Within that ten minutes, I called my dear friend and critique partner, Erin McClune, who calmed my emotions and redirected me to make the next step—contacting an agent.

What is your favorite part of being a writer? 
As the heroine, I get to fall in love. As the hero, I get to be strong, handsome, flirtatious, witty… As the villain, I get to be sadistic and twisted. And as the author, I get to play with people’s lives, make them cry, make them laugh, make them fall in love. And if I’m lucky, I might just inspire one person—the reader.

Least favorite?
Getting started. It is difficult for me to type those first words. As a writer you fear starting in the wrong spot or loosing your reader before they get to page 2. Otherwise, I love it!

Who has inspired you as a writer?
Dr. Krantz. He was my college mythology teacher. I was working toward a Bachelor in Fine Arts when I discovered I had to take an elective. I pulled “Mythology” out of a hat, and it was there I found Dr. Krantz. The book wasn’t Romeo and Juliet, as you might suspect, but Dante’s Inferno-a Divine Comedy indeed. Talk about an intriguing read. Sure, I bought Cliffs Notes—I was eighteen. With a three-hour block of nude figure drawing and rocks to sculpt, who has time to read? Well, I read it. Cover to cover, after which, I read Oedipus, The Iliad, The Odyssey, and a few other Greek tragedies. I walked away with a love for all things tragic, passionate, and historic. I moved on from the ancient authors of yesteryear and became engrossed in the writings of Julie Garwood, Teresa Medeiros, and Gaelen Foley—just to name a few.

What would you like to tell aspiring writers?
Perseverance. If you want it bad enough, it will happen. You must continue to learn. Find a critique partner or group. I found it easier to learn the craft of writing from reading ‘bad writing’ vs. ‘good writing’. Join online writer’s group and take classes. Read all the How-to books and never, under any circumstances should you ever give up.

Describe yourself in 3 words.
Dedicated. Determined. And if you ask anyone who knows me, they might tell you I’m a wee bit wowf.

If you could save one book from destruction, what would it be?
The bible.

If you had a time capsule to be opened 50 years in the future, what would you put in it?
A newspaper and a handwritten letter to my great-grandchildren. As everything will be computerized, it will be a rarity to see actual handwriting. I would also put in pictures of my family and copies of my family’s genealogy. This time capsule would need to be air-tight as I would definitely want to add in chocolate. What if people in the future lost the recipe for chocolate? This would be tragic.

Is there anything you’d like to ask readers?
Yes. What does your perfect hero look like? What does he smell like? And what is his profession? 
 

Thanks Kimberly! 

So readers, what does your perfect hero look like? What does he smell like?  What is his profession? 
Tell us all about him!
 

And remember you can visit Kimberly’s wonderful website at http://kimberlykillion.com/ 
Check back tomorrow for more with Kimberly!

Remember, leave a comment below to enter this month’s giveaway! 
Details here!

44 Responses to Interview with Kimberly Killion

  1. Good morning!
    I want to thank Jennifer again for having me as a guest this weekend. Thank you, Jennifer! 😀
    We had a lot of fun yesterday…then I was scolded for not writing. Thank you again, Jennifer. 😳 I got up at 4am and wrote nearly 2,000 words so I wouldn’t receive another virtual slap on the hand.

    I am really interested in feedback from readers today. Is your perfect hero, tall, dark, and handsome? Or do you prefer a blonde? And how about eyes? Do you melt when you read a book and the hero’s eyes are blue?
    Colors are very important to me when I’m writing…so let’s hear it. What color would you paint your perfect hero ❓

    ~Kimberly

  2. fedora says:

    Wow, Kimberly! Thanks for that interview! Your book sounds quite thrilling! I love that the heroine starts off by saving the hero!

    Hmm… as for my perfect hero, I probably do tend toward tall, dark–not necessarily handsome, but with strength in his character. I guess the colors are less important to me as long as he’s honorable–doesn’t have to be perfectly good, as long as I can understand his motivations for why he’s made the decisions he has. And I love a capable hero–I love one who can not only take care of himself, but also any people he’s responsible for and of course the heroine, if the need arises.

  3. danette says:

    Hi Kimberly,

    Great inspiration, I’ve always wanted to go more indepth mythology ,hopefully I’ll go to a UC that has classes.

    I love reading when heroes have green eyes, I think its from when I had a crush on a guy in high school who had geogeous green eyes. I swear I thought my DH had green eyes when I first met him,his are that light rum color that almost look hazel .
    It’s always a plus when a hero is at least six foot tall,its nice reading when the hero leans his chin on top of the heroines head.

    Hugs, Danette

  4. Jennifer Y says:

    WOOHOO Kimberly!

    Hmmm…I am pretty easy when it comes to heroes in books and like all kinds. As Fedora said, strength of character is really more important to me than a hero’s appearance when I read.

    However, I do tend to find myself daydreaming about a tall, dark-haired hero with blue eyes more often than others…and no, this isn’t someone I know or have read about…just figment of my imagination really and his face isn’t that clear. His eyes are more sea blue though…blue with hints of green…how’s that for color? Oh, and his hair changes too…sometimes it is jet black and sometimes it is more brown…the length changes as well…sometimes it hangs to his shoulders sometimes it is cut close to the head. The only thing that doesn’t change is his body so that is how I know it is the same fantasy guy…LOL.

    Man, I probably sound crazy huh? But I tend to dream stories and this guy is in them all…LOL

    It seems like a lot of books go for that tall, dark and handsome hero…I would love to read about more blonde heroes or even red-headed ones. As with my romance genre reading (yeah, that makes no sense), I like variety when it comes to heroes.

    Same with professions…I like a variety…although lately I have been in a firefighter kick trying to find books with firefighter heroes…LOL. But I will read about any type of hero and in any time period…I am easy 😆

  5. Good stuff, Fedora and Danette! I’m jotting this down…capable, green eyes, tall…love the bit about having the hero put his chin on her head. I’m with you on that one. I want my hero taller by a head.

    Thanks for the feedback!

  6. Jennifer Y says:

    I edited my comment to add more…LOL

  7. Jennifer Y says:

    Oh, and I am with you all on the tall thing….love a tall hero.

  8. sharmi says:

    I love a tall hero with dark hair and green eyes, emerald preferably…although I do like the bright blue eyes and blonde heroes also…hmmm..tough to pin it down!

  9. *Waving* Jennifer!!!
    I think my desire to ‘color’ my heros has to do with my art background, but strength is a must. I also like a hero that has a hidden soft spot. You know…that weakness that makes him sensitive.
    But, YES, as long as Nathan Kamp continues to model for these covers, we will continue to have tall, dark, and handsome. That is the rule in romance don’t ya know.

  10. Jennifer Y says:

    LOL Kimberly…so that is why there are so many dark-haired heroes! Nathan Kamp…LOL.

    You do know I am now picturing all of these authors changing hair color and appearance and saying, “Maybe I will get a Kamp cover this time!” LOL.

    Oh, and yes on the hidden soft spot…definitely a must…I love strong heroes, but that weakness adds something to the character.

    And nothing wrong with color…the more descriptive the better is sometimes the way to go in books…helps readers picture the characters and story.

  11. Shelly W says:

    Well, I don’t know what a hero should look like, but he should wear a cape — a long black cape worn by powerful counts who live in castles; and he should have a unique walking stick. He doesn’t necessarily need it to walk with, but he uses it to shew others away, or to point at things. He seems to be a sort of cynical, terrifying individual … with a chip on his shoulder.

    He smells like the outdoors, like autumn leaves–as if he frequently walks off the beaten path and into the wilderness to ponder things. He’s someone that others are always trying to figure out.

    He has an odd profession — perhaps he comes from wealth, but he widdles things. Maybe he sculpts gargoyles or trains birds.

    OMG, he sounds like a mixture of Edward Scissorhands and Dr. House!

  12. Jennifer Y says:

    Very descriptive Shelly! I can picture him…LOL on the Edward Scissorhands/Dr. House! He kind of does…not a bad combo really.

  13. Jane says:

    This might sound a little boring, but I like the tall, dark and handsome type. Can’t go wrong with this old standard type. He should smell like soap or cologne(lightly applied.)

  14. Jennifer Y says:

    Jane, nothing wrong with that! Some of the greatest heroes in books are tall, dark and handsome!

  15. limecello says:

    Hi Kimberly,
    What does my perfect hero look like? Well, of course I prefer an attractive hero – maybe a Raoul Bova clone ;-). But what makes a hero really attractive to me is his character. How he responds to a crisis or emotions, the actions he takes, etc. But, I do prefer tall dark and handsome – and fit, but not a bodybuilder.

  16. Helen says:

    Great interview
    My Hero is tall I love tall men and I love blue eyes not fussed on whether they are dark haired of blonde or even with red hair but I do love them to be strong and caring and capable as a lot have already said. Their scent nice and outdoorsy (if that is a word) like the earth and trees. Very much looking forward to the release of your book Kimberly.
    Have Fun
    Helen

  17. cathy M says:

    My hero is 6 feet tall, lean muscles like a swimmer, dark hair to his shoulders, has a sense of humor, smart, loves me passionately, is a good listener, loves the outdoors and is ex-military.

  18. Geez…a girl takes a little nap and misses all the fun!

    Shelly, You are a riot. I love the stick and the smell of autumn leaves. I think you like a dark hero, a man tortured by his past, a man who needs a good woman to get him straightened out! 😉

    I agree, Jane, about the smelling like soap. I don’t care if you are writing historicals and the people supposedly only bathed on Saturday, a man’s gotta be clean or grossioso. Unfortunately for me, the was no Medieval cologne.

    Limecello, no bodybuilders…got it…will stick to a stomach rippling with muscles. In my way of thinking, how a man reacts in a crisis situation is simple…he MUST be focused on the heroine. He doesn’t necessarily have to save her, she can save herself and let him pout because he didn’t get to save her, but in the end, I like a hero who does save her from conflict whether that conflict be internal or external, and she MUST save him back! HUH? I think I confused myself. 🙂

    Thanks Helen and Cathy for the input. I really am writing all this down. You know this has been great for me. I get feedback from writers all the time, but readers is really who the writers should be listening to…of course, some of you probably are writers…see what a nap does to a person, makes me think in circles.

    OK, ladies…please continue this discussion on ‘your perfect hero’, but here’s another question…Does it bother you when you are reading a romance and the subject matter becomes too violent? Like if there is a scene where a woman (not the heroine) is getting beat up, how much is too much where you want to close the book? If you are on a ship in 1867 and pirates attack, how long and how descriptive do you want that scene?…

    Thanks!!!

  19. Jennifer Y says:

    Oooh…good questions Kimberly, and I can’t wait to see what others have to say! You are definitely making me think…

    When it comes to violence in books, to me, I think it depends on the story. Normally, my preference would be the “less is more” approach, but if the scene fits into the story and is integral to the plot, then it is less likely to turn me off the story….I wouldn’t want it to be too detailed though, does that make any sense? I don’t like seeing people hurt.. 😦 So sometimes just the start of the scene and then reading about the aftereffects later (in this case, the injured woman) would be enough for me….am I making sense?

    As for the pirates attacking scenario…you have me intrigued…I had just told someone I wish there were more pirate or ship-set (is that a word?) romances….but I digress. As with the above, if it fits the plot then it wouldn’t bother me to read that type of scene…and as long as it moved the story along and didn’t seem like filler or didn’t seem to drag down the plot, then length wouldn’t bother me. And since I have never experienced a pirate attack (LOL) in this case more details would probably be helpful…just don’t get too gory on me. I have a pretty good imagination so sometimes gory descriptions aren’t necessary…LOL.

    Did I answer your questions or did I ramble again? LOL Of course, these are all just my personal preferences…everyone is different.

  20. Jennifer Y says:

    limecello: Yum…Raoul!!! Totally with you on the bodybuilder thing.

    Helen: Another vote for the tall hero!

    cathy M: Great description! Sense of humor is a must!

  21. ThatBrunette says:

    Richard III had something to do with the sexual revolution? I read sexual instead several executions. Man, I need a nap.

    I like that you feel the emotions of both the heroine and hero. As for enjoying the villain, a lot of actors say they love to play mustache-twisting villains. Sometimes, it’s delicious to play evil.

    As for everything going electronic and handwriting and print disappearing: don’t count them out, yet. You need power for a computer, you need a stick and dirt to write a note.

  22. Virginia H. says:

    I like my hero to be tall, but it really doesn’t matter about the color of his hair. I do like blue eyes or green ones. I would want my hero to be a highlander with the accent. I think the acent is so sexy. I would want him to be really sweet and care alot about me. The kind that would any thing in the world for you.

  23. ThatBrunette, you have a wild sense of humor. I don’t recall reading anything about Richard III having much to do with the sexual revolution in the biography I read on him, but who’s to say he didn’t. 😉

    I love your comment about playing a villian. In this first book I wrote, I not only wrote in the POV of my hero and heroine, but also the POV of the villian ad you’re right, it was deliciously evil, but at the same time a little scary to spend so much time in the mind a such a scary individual…and this guy was a real bastard!

    And thank goodness I don’t have to write an entire manuscript with a stick and dirt. tehehehe!!!
    Thanks for the laugh…

  24. Virginia,
    I’m verra glad ye like the Highlanders! Those are my favorite heros as weel. I’ll take a braw laird with a braid and battle scars over a CEO any day of the week and twice on Sundays! Oh…and he should have a tattoo and definitely be true to what his kinsmen are wearing beneath their plaides. And we all know what that is… 😯 😈

  25. Glenna Day says:

    My perfect hero is the tall and handsome type. I love Italians. His scent would be natural instead of the overpowering cologne’s that men tend to use now. I want him to be rugged and little bit scruffy looking. He would be an alpha but he would be tender with me.

  26. Eliza Knight says:

    Ahh the perfect hero…My perfect hero is well over six feet tall with a taught muscular body, not too buff with veins popping out, but sculpted, strong. A cleft chin, a strong nose, big eyes with sculpted brows, that show each emotion when he’s willing and mysterious when not. No certain color. Kissable lips, and a moving smile. Not a slob, but not a neat freak. Smell… I love a spicy, sweet masculine smell. I prefer Lords and Knights, in present day, as long as he is hard working, dedicated, honorable, intelligent, humorous, and sweet natured with a bit of a wild side.

  27. Glenna, I think Italians are underrated. I would like to see more books set in Italy myself. 🙂

    And Eliza…YES, YES, YES, kissable lips is a must and no woman wants to read about a man who is a slob. Let’s face it, we probably all have THAT man at home.

    I love a hero with a sense of humor and even more so, a goofy sidekick who makes me laugh. Secondary characters are sometimes as much fun to play with as the heros themselves.

  28. Shelly W says:

    Gosh, to tell ya the truth … I skim over those pages in books, and cover my eyes when it’s on the big screen! I’m squeamish! I just can’t take it 🙂

    But, on the other hand; in comparing books to film, I really like watching beautifully choreographed duel scenes (like in the 2002 movie, The Count of Monte Cristo); and if an author describes such a scene as a sort of dance, then I am more likely to be drawn to reading the text because of the rhythmic pace that rapidly builds a great crescendo of suspense … I hope I’m explaining this clearly 🙂

    LOL .. Dang, that was quite a run-on sentence!

    Also, I think it could work with a violent scene between a man and a women — doesn’t have to be a duel necessarily …

  29. Jennifer Y says:

    ThatBrunette: 😆 Whole ‘nother image in the brain huh?

    Virginia H.: Oooh…I am a sucker for a highlander too…and an accent!!! I melt!

    Glenna Day: A tender alpha sounds perfect!

    Eliza Knight: I love your description!

    I agree with you Kimberly about secondary characters…sometimes I fall harder for them than I do the main hero…LOL…and then I keep hoping they get stories.

    After reading all of these comments, it seems I will be dreaming of a tall and handsome, muscular man with an accent who can be tender and sweep me off my feet…LOL.

  30. Jennifer Y says:

    Shelly W: Well, said! I am a bit squeamish myself. And yes, a well-choreographed duel is like a dance and could definitely work.

    You listening Kimberly? 🙂

  31. Whew, Shelly!
    I just watched the video clip for the count of Monte Cristo. Very intense. Thanks for sending it. I’m very squeamish too, but more so when it comes to scary movies. When the previews were running for the Grudge and the Villiager(?) and always hit mute on the remote as quickly as I could. I can’t even imagine sitting in front of the big screen. I would have nightmares for months.

  32. LOL, Jennifer…looking forward to some sweet dreams of my own tonight! And YES I’m listening and because of all your comments I know how to write the next two scenes in my book…start with a build up of sexual tension…and just before his puts his XX in her XX…BAM…the bad guys show up…easy on the blood and gore…tall, dark and handsome hero saves the day…Got it! 😀

  33. Laura Drewry says:

    >>before his puts his XX in her XX…<<

    Um, Kimberly. . . . I’m going to suggest that if HE has an XX, then perhaps SHE should have something else – a YY maybe? LOL

    Great blog chat, people!

  34. Good point, Laura! 😳
    Can we edit that, Jennifer! LOL

  35. Pam P says:

    I like the tall, dark hero, not overly handsome or pretty boy, but with a manly scruffy/rugged look, eye color not so important. I also don’t want him using all that cologne, prefer a natural scent, outdoorsy and fresh.

    As to violence, depends on the story but I don’t want too many details about it, either, I am reading to enjoy a romance. I don’t mind reading how she deals with it afterward, just don’t want to read too much about abuse and/or gore – the short reference is enough to give you the idea I think.

  36. Stefanie D says:

    I also like tall, dark heroes. A bit rough around the edge but with a heart of gold. Oh, and he has to smell just like himself (I don’t mean that he doesn’t have to wash or anything, lol).
    I don’t care much about his profession. (as long as he isn’t a criminal of course :P)

  37. Amelia says:

    So readers, what does your perfect hero look like? Hot, handsome, and sexy and as Eliza mentioned, I also prefer them to be “hard working, dedicated, honorable, intelligent, humorous, and sweet natured with a bit of a wild side.” 🙂

    What does he smell like? with a nice cologne and fresh

    What is his profession? probably a business man dressed in slacks or suit.

  38. Maureen says:

    I always enjoy the tall dark mysterious hero. If I don’t know everything about him and there are unanswered questions about his past that makes him more interesting.

  39. Cherie J says:

    Definitely love tall, dark and handsome with a nice muscular build. I love the warrior type of hero.

  40. Ruth Chesick says:

    I would say 5′ 11″, 175 lbs., dark hair, hazle eyes, quiet but with a wry sense of humor, an extremely sexy body, handsome but with flaws (broken nose that was never fixed) OH WAIT…………… that’s my HUSBAND I just described ……………. of course, that just might be why we will be married 42 years this July.

    I am married to the perfect person for me — of course, it doesn’t hurt to read about sexy hunks, especially sexy hunks in kilts.!!!!!!!!!! Or, maybe in nothing at all.!!!!!!!!!!!!

  41. Cindi Hoppes says:

    My hero is akin to the man on “Dirty Jobs!” Cindi

  42. Nathalie says:

    My perfect hero… tall, dark, handsome and mysterious…

  43. Carlston says:

    Just wanted to say what a great site this is,I just subscribed to your feed. Please keep up the good work. Mafia Wars must have’s… Don’t want to miss this.

Leave a Reply

