Reading Goals Progress!

Hello all! 
First, I want to remind you to check the posts below this one for contest information!
Today’s post is a little late and I apologize!
 

Today is my first 2008 Reading Goal Check-In!
Hopefully, in the future this post will be a bit more in-depth…this reading goal thing is still a work in progress.
 

Earlier this month, I decided to create some reading goals for myself and invited others to do the same…check here for more info. 
It is not too late to share yours! 
This is all just for fun so there is no pressure to meet the goal and the goal doesn’t have to be specific!

I update my progress in the sidebar here on the blog (as some of you may have noticed), but I thought that each month I would try and have a check-in for you to share about your month’s reading and to share more about mine…plus it gives us all a chance to discover new books and authors 😉
…so here it goes: 

My Reading Goals for 2008 are:
-Read 200 books
-Read more eBooks (at least 20 is my specific goal)
-Read more new-to-me authors (at least 25 is my specific goal)
and I added…read a greater variety of genres
 

As of right now (and January is not over yet so these numbers may change), I have read 15 books! 
So I am making some progress toward that goal. 
I haven’t read any eBooks yet, but I have read
9 new-to-me authors! 

Here is a list of my January reads!
Big Trouble by Marianna Jameson*
Body Heat by Katherine Garbera
Bride of Shadow Canyon by Stacey Kayne
Enchanting the Lady by Kathryne Kennedy*
Every Night I’m Yours by Christie Kelley*
His Captive by Diana Cosby*
Make Me Scream by P.J. Mellor*
Mustang Wild by Stacey Kayne
Rogue by Kayla Gray*
Salvation, Texas by Anna Jeffrey*
Somewhere Down in Texas by Ann DeFee*
Take Me Tonight by Roxanne St. Claire
The Blonde Bomb Tech by Lara Santiago*
The Rancher’s Rules by Lucy Monroe
Turning up the Heat by Samantha Sommersby
*New-to-me author 

I read a lot of great books this month!
My first read of 2008 was also one of my favorites, Maverick Wild by Stacey Kayne!

maverick_book_sm.jpg

This was a wonderful western historical that I highly recommend! 
In fact, I recommend all of the books by this talented author!

Since I loved this book so much, I would love to offer one of you a chance to read it and discover this great author! 
I ended up with two copies of the book and
I have a gently USED copy of the book to give to one lucky winner…while the book is used, it looks brand new!
If you don’t mind receiving a used book, leave a comment below saying:
 
“I’d love to read Maverick Wild!”
and you will be entered to win it! 
I will announce the winner this Thursday so please check back to see if you won!
If you don’t win, I encourage you to check out this book yourself!

Also, please check back throughout the day tomorrow for reviews of some of my other reads for this month! 
I would love to review each of my reads, but at this time I will just review a few each month.

 So how is your reading coming this year? 
Read any good new-to-you authors? 
Made any new goals?

23 Responses to Reading Goals Progress!

  1. Melissa K. says:

    “I’d love to read Maverick Wild!” – I REALLY WOULD! *g*
    Hi Jennifer, my goals are to read more and adopt kitties.
    I just finished a really good book called “A Great and Terrible Beauty” by Libba Bray. It’s the first in a YA series (The Gemma Doyle series) but adults will enjoy this book. I loved it and can’t wait to read the second in the series, “Rebel Angels”. Libba is a new to me author.

  2. ellie says:

    “I’d Love to read Maverick Wild”. I would enjoy reading this Historical Western. Love that genre, I will be reading a greater variety of genres this year.

  3. ThatBrunette says:

    “I’d love to read Maverick Wild!”

    I’ve never thought of giving myself a reading goal. I ought to read more. My reading decreased after having my son. Well, that is not completely true, I read more books by Dr. Seuss and books about monster trucks. I have grown to appreciate e-books more. I can read in the dark while trying to make the nightmares and odd closet monsters go away.

  4. Lois says:

    Hi again! 🙂 Well, mine is just to read as much as possible. . . once the summer rolls around I might be back in school (finally), one of these days we should be moving, someplace in the world (LOL), so no actual numbers or anything like that. Just as much as possible. 🙂 And new to me. . . well, Rona Sharon’s ONce a Rake (loved it), and I guess she’s new to everyone, not just me (LOL) also read The Spymaster’s Lady by Joanna Bourne. . . out of the books I read this month, those are the only authors new/new to me. . .. the others are all favorite already authors. 😉

    Lois

  5. 15 books in one month? Wowsa! You’re a busy bee. LOL!

  6. Jennifer Y says:

    Thanks everyone for stopping by and sharing your progress!

    Melissa K: I haven’t read her, but I will have to try her out.

    ellie: I adore western romances as well! It is one of my fave genres.

    ThatBrunette: I had never really thought to give myself a goal either until earlier this month…cold meds were in my system, so maybe that is the reason I went for it…LOL.

    Lois: I have Rona Sharon’s books in my TBR Mountain and I haven’t heard of Joanna Bourne…hmmm…another author for me to look up.

    Samantha!!! Thank you for stopping by! I loved your book!

  7. Jennifer Y says:

    Oh, and good luck with the goals everyone!

    Keep sharing!

  8. Amelia says:

    “I’d love to read Maverick Wild!”

    I just finished reading an ARC of Riding Wild by Jaci Burton. I love it. This is my first book and Jaci is a new author to me. I’m a slow reader. 😦

  9. Jennifer Y says:

    Amelia: I am looking forward to reading that one. I have a couple of Jaci’s in the TBR mountain.

  10. Gail H says:

    I would love the read Maverick Wild

    I try to read every evening before I go to bed. I just started reading Blood Moon by Dawn Thompson, a new author to me. Historicals are my favorite but I am out of them in My TBR pile, so I am reading paranormal right now. I do like to switch around.

  11. fedora says:

    Hi, Jennifer! Thanks for posting your update! I’m trying to do a better job of tracking what I’ve read, and I think I’m up to 30 for this month (although a bunch of them were those thin little Silhouettes, and it was probably actually really good for my reading that our computer was down for several days!). And (no) thanks 😉 to you and those other blogs, my wishlist and TBR are continuing to grow by leaps and bounds! 🙂

    I’d love to read Maverick Wild! too–I finished Mustang Wild not too long ago and LOVED it. Can’t wait to read about the other brother!

    Keep on reading, everyone!

  12. JSL says:

    Hi Jennifer,
    “I’d love to read Maverick Wild!” – and I really would I stumbled upon Stacey Kayne’s website a few weeks ago, but haven’t gotten to get any of her books yet. Let’s see – I did a book challenge last year and read 260+ books so I think my goal this year is to read 300+. I also (after reading about 4 of her books) made it a personal quest to read every book written by Diana Palmer. I almost started to regret it when I found out she’d been publishing since the early 80s -and is still writing. I’ve read all but maybe 15? Books now – some are extremely difficult to find – but if possible, I’d like to finish that this year. I “discovered” Patricia Gardner Evans, and also Nalini Singh thus far. Love them! Oh – and for some reason I hadn’t really read any of Sylvia Day’s novels – she’s terrific too.

  13. Eva S says:

    Hi Jennifer,
    “I’d love to read Maverick Wild!” Stacey Kane sounds great, a new author to me.

    So far I’ve read over 20 books so perhaps it will be over 200…
    New authors to me have been:
    Deborah MacGillivray: A Restless Knight
    Nalini Singh: Slave to sensation
    Joy Nash: Celtic Fire
    Paty Jager: Perfectly Good Nanny

    Right now my historicals in my TBR pile have to wait, it’s more paranormals…

  14. Jolene says:

    “I’d love to read Maverick Wild!”
    that one is a new to me author and sounds awesome..
    im about finished with book 7 for the month.. you all have me beat..

  15. Jennifer Y says:

    Gail H: I have the Thompson book in the TBR Mountain, I believe…you will have to let us know how it is.

    fedora: WOW! Great numbers! I didn’t read as much this month as I probably would normally…and yes, I admit it is because of the computer…LOL…if it weren’t for the blog I probably wouldn’t mind leaving the computer off for a few days…LOL. Sorry, I keep adding to your lists…LOL. I am in the same boat…my lists keep growing as well.

    JSL: WOW! That is very cool! I lost count last year so I don’t know what my final tally was, but your numbers are great! I have only read a couple of Palmer’s books myself. Sylvia Day is a great author…I enjoy her books.

    Eva S: WOOHOO! Great numbers! The only books I haven’t read on your list there are the Singh book and the Nash book, but I have them both in the…well, you all know by now…TBR Mountain…LOL. I really liked both the Jager and the MacGillivray book when I read them last year.

    Jolene: Congrats on reading 7 books…nothing wrong with that!

    Keep on reading everyone!!!

  16. JSL says:

    Jennifer – I can’t keep track either- in fact, I tried to keep track on an excel spreadsheet and somehow messed up – I did the harlequin 10K book challenge (this year 100K) – and they have counters set up for you. Haha – that’s the only way I knew remotely what the number was.

  17. Jennifer Y says:

    JSL: I did the challenge too, but my problem was I kept forgetting to record the books…LOL. Hopefully, keeping up with it here will help me out.

  18. JSL says:

    Jennifer – good point – that’s why I’m not 100% sure about my count last year -also, I didn’t get to blog all the books I read- I’m generally anywhere from 5-15 books ahead of what I’m blogging – this year should be easier, however, because of the automatic counter. Someone said there have been posting issues – so, we’ll see! (Book reviews showing up as normal blog posts, etc.)

  19. Jane says:

    “I’d love to read Maverick Wild!”
    I’ve read a couple of books in January, including “Come As You Are,” “Shadow Music,” “Remains of the Dead” and “Edge of Midnight.” I have about 15 in tbr pile. Hopefully I’ll be tackling that mountain soon.

  20. Stacey Kayne says:

    Wow, THANKS, Jennifer! I really appreciate you spreading the western love 😉

    I tend to read in spurts and went on a bit of a reading binge this month:
    A Wanted Man – Linda Lael Miller
    Claiming the Courtesan – Anna Campbell
    Foxfire Bride – Maggie Osborne
    Wed Under Western Skies – HH Anthology
    ’05 Spring Bride Anthology – HH (I’ve been contracted for an anthology–gotta figure out how to fit a western into 100 pages—ack!!!)
    Dead Girls Are Easy – Terri Garey (a fun read!)

    Now if I don’t get back to writing, I’m gonna get myself into trouble 😉 Although, I found out this week that I missed a book by Lavyrle Spencer (for shame!) and Hellion is on the way. I’m told I’m in for a bad-boy treat 🙂

    Cheers, all!

  21. Cherie J says:

    “I’d love to read Maverick Wild!” It is actually on my TBB list because I read an excerpt and loved how it sounded. One new author I discovered was through my niece. She recommended Twilight by Stephanie Meyer. I am not usually big into vampire books but I loved this one. Really great writing. I am now hooked into this series and am now reading New Moon, the second book.

  22. I had the please of reading Mustang Wild in its early days, before Stacey sold to Harlequin. It was incredible then, so I know it’s still incredible now. 🙂 I also always love PJ Mellor’s stuff. Her voice is great–super hot, but also light most of the time.

    So far I have read the following this year…

    Tulle Little, Tulle Late by Kimberly Llewellyn*
    Sins of the Flesh by Devyn Quinn
    Surrender by Vonna Harper
    A Spice Brief (title eludes me) by Megan Hart*
    (about 400 toddler books to my little girl *G*)
    And now I am reading Vanquished by Hope Tarr*

    I am actually quite happy with my progress. I don’t get too much reading time, so four grown-up books a month, even if one of them was really just a short story, makes me feel pretty good. 😀

    ~jodi

  23. Ashly says:

    i just finished reading Maverick wild .. and i love it. its the most amazing book ever. have you read mustang wild by her.. its about skylar and tucker and how they met.. im buying it next week 🙂

Leave a Reply

