Interview with Kate Pearce

Today I would like you to welcome the talented, Kate Pearce!ย 

ropingthewind.jpgPlease tell us about your books.
At the moment I write in 3 different erotic romance sub-genres for 3 different publishers. This year I have 2 books coming out a week apart! “Simply Sexual” is a Regency-set erotic romance from Kensington Aphrodisia which comes out on Jan 29th, “Roping the Wind’ is a contemporary erotic romance coming out on Feb 5th from Virgin ‘Cheek’. Later in the year I’ll have an e-book out from Ellora’s Cave called “Secured Mail’ which is a futuristic, and a second with Kensington in November called “Simply Sinful” simplysexual.jpg

What inspired your latest releases?
I have no idea exactly where the idea for ‘Simply Sexual’ came from, something to do with Turkish sea battles and pirates I think. The hero, Lord Valentin Sokorvsky appeared in my head with a very complex damaging past and a story to tell so I just let him get on with it. ๐Ÿ™‚ Now Jay Turner from “Roping the Wind” was a secondary character in his half-brother’s book, whom I just knew I’d have to write about because he was so different to his brother.
ย 

You write contemporary, futuristic,ย and historical…are there any differences in your writing process for theย different genres?ย  Do you have a favorite of the three genres?
I think my contemporaries are quite different to my historicals.ย  In some ways it’s far easier to write contemporaries, although for me, being an ex-pat Brit, I still have to consult with all my American friends to make sure I get things right! Historicals are probably my first love, because I can write more lushly (is that a word?) and I feel very comfortable in that time period. Futuristics are also fun because you can make up your own world!
ย 

What is your favorite part of being a writer?ย  Least favorite?
I’ve always liked making stuff up and now I get to do it all day and get paid-that is a real blast after all those teachers told me day dreaming would never get me anywhere!
My least favorite part is that sometimes I almost forget real life, like picking up my kids, meeting my friends or the buying enough groceries because I get caught up in the ‘other world’.ย 


Who has inspired you as a writer?
Linda Howard, Jane Austen, Dorothy Dunnett, Ian McEwan, emma Hollly and all the romance writers I’ve met over the years who have bothered to help me out and share their wisdom with me.
ย 

What would you like to tell aspiring writers?
Don’t give up! Find a good writing group or people you trust to critique your manuscript. Take advice, but keep believing in the stories you alone can tell.
ย 

Describe yourself in 3 words.
dreamy, romantic, loyal
ย 

What do you like to read?
I read absolutely everything, romances from erotica to inspirational, non-fiction, biographies, anything I can get my hands on really!
ย 

Is there anything you’d like to ask readers?
I’d love to know if readers would like to see historical romances in different time periods.
ย 

Thank you so much Kate for the great interview!ย 

Readers, you can learn more about Kate and her book by visiting her website at:ย  http://www.katepearce.com/ย 

So readers, as Kate asked, would you like to see historical romances in different time periods?ย 

Kate has kindly donated a copy of “Simply Sexual” to one lucky commenter!
Must be 18 to enter and winner will be announced tomorrow evening!

31 Responses to Interview with Kate Pearce

  1. JSL says:

    Hi Kate and Jennifer,
    Great interview! Kate, my goodness you have your hands full! (And Jennifer – you are one busy lady, setting all of this up!) I like historical romances as well, and feel that most periods I can think of have been covered – other than perhaps times in different cultures. I don’t think I’ve seen any romance novels set in Classical times (maybe because togas have become such a joke), or set in Asia – that would require a lot of research. Regardless, I’m a huge fan of regency novels. They’re not as “in” now, but I started reading romance novels set in that period, and for years I read only regencies, and still really enjoy them ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Helen says:

    Loved the interview Kate and Jennifer.
    I love historicals regency Victorian and I love medievals and westerns as well I have been reading them for over 30 years now and can’t get enough of them.
    I recently read my first erotic romance historical by Jess Michaels and loved it so I will be looking for yours when it comes out thanks for the interview I love finding out about new authors.
    have Fun
    Helen

  3. Eva S says:

    Hi Kate and Jennifer,
    thanks for the interview! I have always loved regency historicals (since I was very young and read my first Barbara Cartland) and I do like erotic ones and “SImply Sexual” sounds like something for me… I also like medievals and westerns.

    Thanks Jennifer for all the new authors you introduce to us!
    Eva

  4. Melissa K. says:

    Hi Kate!
    To answer your question…yes! I think it would be boring to read historicals if every book was set in the same time period. Lately I’ve been striking it rich with Victorian. One of my favorite time periods to read about. And historical erotica rocks! I’m trying to add more to my TBR pile. *wink* Nice to see you here, Kate!

  5. ThatBrunette says:

    Kate,

    When you write your futuristic romances, do you keep a ‘diary’ of your world? Something that keeps all the new technology and rules that make up your world?

  6. brownone says:

    Great interview! I love going through the diffrent historical genres. I love a good historical western but then love to travel over to regency England. Its a form of escape!

  7. Amy S. says:

    Hi Kate and Jennifer! Great interview! I do like reading historicals in different time periods. I love reading the western historicals and I love reading the regency ones. I also like reading the pirate romances. I haven’t seen one of those in a while though. I also love reading futuristics. I did read a good Viking one not too long ago. Is there a genre you haven’t written in, but would like to?

  8. Beth R says:

    I like reading historicals also. Like the regency period.

  9. Kate Pearce says:

    Hey JSL!

    The first historical I wrote which ended up being 140,000 words was set in Dark Ages Britain about the Romano British left behind after the legions abandoned Britain. Funnily enough, no one seems to want to buy it ๐Ÿ™‚

    Simply Sexual is a Regency, although it is pretty edgy:)

    That’s one of the reasons I was asking because some of us writers would ‘love’ to write different time periods and yet the publishers don’t think there is a market for them

    And yes, I’m one busy lady-I also have 4 kids, 3 teenage boys and a 5 yr old daughter!!

    kate

  10. Kate Pearce says:

    Hi Helen and Eva!

    I hear that Western historicals will be making a comeback soon and I hope the medievals do too, I have one sitting under the bed gathering dust ๐Ÿ™‚

    Kate

  11. Kate Pearce says:

    Hi Melissa K

    I can’t get myself to write about the Victorian period, it just doesn’t do it for me-maybe that’s because I grew up in a Victorian house and I feel I’ve already lived that life ๐Ÿ™‚

    Kate

  12. Kate Pearce says:

    Hi That Brunette!

    I’m a really bad plotter, When I was writing the second futuristic “Secured Mail” which will come out sometime this year from Ellora’s Cave, I had to go back and read the first one again to make sure I got it right. It taught me a lesson about keeping notes on my world.

  13. Kate Pearce says:

    Hi brownone!

    glad to hear you like to read lots of different historical time periods, you are helping keep the market alive !

    kate

  14. Kate Pearce says:

    Hi Amy S’
    Actually I’d love to write a big historical novel, much less heavy on the romance, but at the moment I don’t have time to do all the research required to make it good so I’ll stick to what I’m good at, writing erotic romance!

    kate

  15. Kate Pearce says:

    HI Beth!
    The Regency period is definitely my favorite-I think I must have lived there sometime in a past life ๐Ÿ™‚

    Kate

  16. Jane says:

    Hi Kate,
    I love most historicals, including regency, medieval and Elizabethan. I enjoy stories featuring the English/Scottish and Saxon/Norman conflicts.

  17. Gail H says:

    Hi Kate, I just love historicals and yes I like them to be set in different time periods. Historicals are my favorite read. I will pick the historical out of my TBR pile every time. That is why there is everythings else in there right now because I have read most of the historical. I just love them.

  18. Eva S says:

    Hi Kate,
    I hope your medieval from under your bed soon finds the way to a publisher..

  19. cathy M says:

    Hi Kate, enjoyed your interview, and great excerpt for Simply Sexual.

  20. Sue A. says:

    Hi Kate! I became an avid romance book reader because of the historical genre. I admit to being drawn away from historicals by the craze of paranormal and erotica books. But Aphrodisia has given me new interest in historicals by adding some heat. I’m looking forward to seeing what genre you’ll be writing in next.

  21. Kate Pearce says:

    Hi Jane!
    I’d love to write a great Elizabethan erotic romance one day…wouldn’t that be cool?

    Hi Gail H!
    I cut my teeth on historicals too ( I have a Masters in history) sand I really miss the big fat historicals, laden with historical detail, setting and big dramatic storylines.

    Hi again Eva! I hope that medieval gets published 1 day too ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hi Cathy! nice to see you here ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hi Sue A- I agree, the Aphrodisia historicals are smokin’!!

    And if any of you do read Simply Sexual, please note the wait for the connected book, “Simply Sinful” is not that long-it will be out in November this year!

    Kate

  22. Jennifer Y. says:

    WOW! Thanks Kate and everyone for stopping by! I would have been by sooner, but I have been gone all day.

    Thanks again Kate for the interview! Looking forward to reading the upcoming books!

  23. fedora says:

    Hi, Kate (and Jennifer!)–thanks for the terrific interview! Yet another exciting author to add to the wishlist… (thanks a lot, Jennifer! ;))

    I’m a newer-to-historicals reader (read a TON of contemporaries and sort of stumbled into historicals in the last couple years), and do really like variety in terms of time period and setting. Just as I don’t enjoy contemporaries all set in the same place or “time in life,” I like historicals sort of all over the place–it gives me a chance to “visit” a variety of places I’d never actually set foot ๐Ÿ™‚

    Your books sound terrific! Do you find it hard to keep your books separate? How do you do it? (Have separate scheduled days? When the “right” mood strikes? Do you have a routine that gets you into the right mindset for each?)

    Thanks again for making the time to share!

  24. Kate Pearce says:

    Hi Fedora!

    I actually write several books at once and occasionally get the character names mixed up-but generally they are all so distinct, I can keep everyone separate.

    I have about 3 hours to write a day and basically I just write whatever needs finishing the fastest ๐Ÿ™‚ Sometimes that can be hard, but because I write for several publishers I just have to get it right ๐Ÿ™‚ I think I’ve trained my muse to turn up whenever I do and just help me get the pages done.

    kate

  25. Kate Pearce says:

    Hi Jennifer! It was a pleasure-thanks for having me, I appreciate it ๐Ÿ™‚

    Kate

  26. Amelia says:

    Hi, I love to read romance and historical is one of my favorite genre of romance. So, I don’t mind reading romance in different time periods. Great interview!

  27. Cathie says:

    Hi Kate!! Love your books! And so excited about this one. I do love historicals and I’ve read mostly Victorian, Regency and Medieval. I’d love to see more medieval! I too love them as historical fantasies or alternative historicals in which the author either develops it all or changes it (i think thats how it is). So I do love reading a variety. I know i have read one h ere and there with a rare setting. I like it if I can learn about the setting and time reading the book, otherwise i’m lost. But love something unique!

  28. annalisa says:

    Hi Kate!

    I enjoy reading historicals set in the regency period. I love to read a variety of books but lately I find myself reading mostly paranormal books.

    Great interview! ๐Ÿ™‚

  29. Teresa W. says:

    I enjoy reading romance in any genre, but my preference is Paranormal.

  30. Melissa K. says:

    I’m sure like the rest of you I go through phases where I want to read about a certain time period. If you did already live the Victorian life, Kate, I want to see pictures of your tall hair with fake birds in it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  31. Maureen says:

    I do enjoy reading stories set in a variety of time periods. When it’s not the usual it makes the whole story seem fresh.

Leave a Reply

