Interview with Julie Cohen!

Please give a warm welcome to Julie Cohen! 

julie.jpg

Please tell us about your books.
I’ve got two releases right now–One Night Stand, a single-title contemporary romance out in the UK with Little Black Dress, and His for the Taking, a Harlequin Presents out in the US in February, which has been shortlisted for the RNA Romance Prize.            

ons.jpgOne Night Stand is the story of Eleanor Connor, who by day writes erotic comedy novels and by night works in a dingy pub.  Though she writes about sex all the time, her own love life is pretty dire–in fact the closest she gets to sex is trying not to listen through the thin walls as her best friend and neighbour, Hugh, makes love to a string of women.  One night, fed up with her life and her writing, both of which seem to be going nowhere, she gets drunk and has a one night stand with a stranger.  When she wakes up in the morning, he’s disappeared, leaving her alone…and, she later discovers, pregnant.           

She enlists Hugh to help her find her missing lover, though all she knows about him is that he looks a little bit like George Michael.  But as they search for the elusive father of her child, Eleanor begins to suspect that her perfect man might have been under her nose all this time…            

His for the Taking (originally published as Driving Him Wild) starts when Nick Giroux, a Maine park ranger, turns up on the doorstep of an expensive Manhattan apartment, searching for the father who abandoned him sixteen years before.  What he finds instead is smart-talking cab driver his.jpgZoe Drake.  It’s her great-aunt Xenia’s apartment, and since she’s there to pick up clothes for Xenia’s funeral, she’s surprised to find a sexy hunk camped out there, refusing to go away without some answers.           

Zoe doesn’t know anything about Nick’s father.  But there’s something about him that shakes her iron-strong defenses, and she finds herself drawn into his search, as Nick finds himself drawn into her life, and her emotions. 

Come to think of it, both stories are about searches for missing fathers.  Huh.  I never noticed that before!           

What inspired the stories?           
One Night Stand was inspired by my own personal experience of being pregnant.  I was trying to write a sex scene (for His for the Taking, coincidentally enough) and I had morning sickness so bad that the mere idea of sexual intercourse made me want to hurl.  Somewhere in there I thought, “Hey, that would be a great scene to write–an erotica writer with morning sickness.”  And the book was born.  (My baby was born when I was writing page 74.)
           

His for the Taking began with a single image, of a man in outdoor clothing sitting on a spindly couch in a posh Manhattan apartment, setting up a camping stove.  I had to figure out why he was there…so I wrote the book.   

Congratulations on being shortlisted for the RNA Romance Prize!  Can you tell us more about that for those who might not be familiar with that award?
Thank you!  I’m totally thrilled to be shortlisted.  The RNA Romance Prize is the biggest prize for category romance in the United Kingdom.  It’s awarded, along with the Romantic Novel of the Year award (for longer books), at a fancy Award Luncheon at a London hotel.  I don’t expect to win because I’m up against (among others) bestsellers Liz Fielding and Lucy Gordon, but I think it’s great that the judges chose a fun, contemporary, sexy romance to go on the short list.  And it gives me a brilliant excuse to buy a new frock! 

What is your favorite part of being a writer?  Least favorite?
My favourite part is getting to know the characters so well they leap off the page and start doing things by myself.  I find myself laughing hysterically and talking to my computer screen.  My least favourite part is when the crows of doubt come to roost.  They hang around looking evil and telling me that everything I do sucks.  Generally this is about halfway through writing a book.  I haven’t yet found a surefire way of getting rid of the buggers. 

Is there anything you would like to write, but haven’t? For example, any other genre you’d like to try?
I have long been on a quest to write the world’s best limerick. 

Any advice for aspiring writers?
I find that the main difference between writers and everyone else is one simple thing: writers write.  Everyone else just talks about it.  If you are writing, you are a writer.  Treat yourself like one.  I don’t really believe in all this “muse” stuff: to me, it’s work.   Luckily, most of the time, it’s the best work in the world.  No writing is ever wasted; even if nobody else reads it, even if it gets rejected a million times, you’ve still learned something from it.  So I guess my advice boils down to: write.   

Describe yourself in 3 words.
Far too wordy. 

What do you like to read?
I’ve read two great books lately: Devil in the White City by Erik Larson, which is a nonfiction account of the 1893 Chicago World’s Fair and America’s first serial killer.  I also loved The Lost Art of Keeping Secrets, by Eva Rice–a scrummy, lovely story about being an upper-class teenage girl in 1950s England.  I don’t usually read romance while I’m writing a romance, but then in between books I pig out: I’ve got a stack which includes Anyway You Want It by Kathy Love, I’m In No Mood for Love by Rachel Gibson, and Staying at Daisy’s by Jill Mansell for when I’ve finished the current ms. 

If you had a time capsule to be opened 50 years in the future, what would you put in it? 
A stash of chocolate!  We’ll all be needing some by that time. 

What is next for you?
This morning I gave in revisions for my July Little Black Dress release, Honey Trap, which is the story of a private detective turned aromatherapist and an ex-alcoholic ex-rock star.  I can’t wait until that one comes up properly on Amazon because it has the most gorgeous cover.  I even dreamed about it last night.  And then tomorrow, I’m starting work on my next book after that, which is about a female comic book artist and total geek who takes a vow not to get a boyfriend.             

Oh and there’s always that limerick quest, too. 

Thank you Julie for that great interview!  Good luck on the limerick quest!  😉 

Readers, you can find out more about Julie by visiting her website at:  http://www.julie-cohen.com/ 
Her Harlequin Presents, HIS FOR THE TAKING be found here or here.
And her book, ONE NIGHT STAND can be found here (UK) or here (US). 

Julie has kindly offered a copy of ONE NIGHT STAND to one lucky winner! 
Julie will select the winner from those who answer the following:
 

“If you could have a one night stand with anyone, who would you choose?  And why would you be his for the taking?” 

Julie will choose a winner and that winner will be announced sometime Monday, January 28! 

36 Responses to Interview with Julie Cohen!

  1. Julie Cohen says:

    Thank you Jennifer for your time and for the great interview! I had a good time answering those questions.

    Can’t wait to hear about everyone’s dream nights… 😉

  2. […] I am being an internet whore (hooray!) I’m a guest today on Jennifer’s Random Musings. Pop on over for a chance to talk about beautiful men and also to win a copy of One Night […]

  3. Hi Jennifer & Julie,

    Jennifer Thanks for introducing me to a new to me author. What a great interview. Julie your books sound great love your website.

    Now for the question. I wouldn’t mind a One Night with Vin Diesel. He is so sexy, well built, has that sexy bedroom looking eyes heehee and can protect me anytime 😉 I don’t think I would want it to be just one night though heehee. He is just so drool worthy.

    Hugssss
    LindaH

  4. Laura J says:

    Adding some more books to my wishlist! These sound so good Julie. I’m looking forward to reading them.

    Now for my one night stand I want Adam Levine, the lead singer from Maroon 5. He’s got that kind of bad boy look. I also want my one night with him to be in the middle of winter in antartica. *g* Yep, one very looooooooonnnnggg night!

  5. Beth R says:

    Oded Fehr his dark good looks fascinate me

  6. Wendy says:

    Hi Julie and Jennifer!

    Julie, wait until you read I’m In No Mood for Love by Rachel Gibson, it’s great! She’s one of my favorite authors. I’m dying to read the new Kathy Love! 😀

    So to answer your question – After much consideration (aka googling different actors and going “nahh..” and “yeah!”) For my one night stand, I’d had to say Joshua Gomez! you know for the tv show Chuck? Chuck’s best friend! Anyway so okay, he’s not that handsome but he’s so cute – I kinda wish he’ d trimmed his beard – and I’ve always liked him so there you go!

  7. Jolene says:

    thanks for coming and sharing your books and time with us .. they sound awesome… as for your question. well lets see.. my first instinct was to say my husband.. he is in the army and that uniform is a turn on.. and weve been married for 20 years this may…
    as for a fantasy one night stand? i have always had a thing for Toby Keith.. (my husband knows about it..lol..)

  8. ellie says:

    HI Julie,
    I love your writing and your books are wonderful. What a sense of humor and you are special. My one night stand would be with Patrizio Buanne. He is a complete dreamboat, gorgeous, sweet and the ultimate in everyway. Just unique and ideal.

  9. Melissa K. says:

    I would choose a Highlander for my one night stand. He’s wearing a kilt. Nuff said…..

  10. Julie Cohen says:

    Hey Linda, thank you for checking out my website. You know, when I look at Vin Diesel, one of my first thoughts is, “Well, you’ve got some stamina, haven’t you?” He looks like a, ahem, good strong lad. 🙂

    Laura, I understand Adam Levine. I must admit some Maroon 5 songs are on my book soundtracks I listen to as I write. I sort of resisted finding him sexy for awhile, but then I just gave into it and you know, that’s much more enjoyable.

    Beth, Oded has amazing eyes, doesn’t he?

  11. Julie Cohen says:

    Hmm, Wendy, I had no idea who Joshua Gomez was so I Googled him. Um…well, I gotta say that I have unusual taste in men (I am totally in love with David Tennant and Cillian Murphy) so who I am to question Joshua? He looks like he could be cute. We don’t get “Chuck” here in the UK. What is his charm? Do I need to track him down???

    Jolene, that is so great that you would choose your husband. I agree that would be a lot of appeal to pretending a night with one’s husband was a one night stand…*Julie’s imagination wanders*—-um, where was I?

    Ah yes. Uniforms. Mmm. Yes. Good.

    And I think boys with guitars are the sexiest things ever, so I can see the Toby Keith thing.

  12. Julie Cohen says:

    Ellie, I had no idea who Patrizio Buanne was either, so I Googled him. (Boy this is a difficult job! NOT!!!)

    Yup. Let me look again. Hmmmm…..yup. Smouldering dark good looks, holding a mic…I can handle that one.

    And you know, I’m getting intrigued by this Gomez guy. What is it? The beard? The eyes? The mouth? The sense of humour? What? I need to know!! Why do I want this guy?!?!

  13. Julie Cohen says:

    Melissa, I have to hold on to my underwear when I go up to Scotland. 🙂

  14. *G* Julie. Vin is so sexy. Ever since I saw him I had a crush on him *Drools*

    Hugssss
    LindaH

  15. Jennifer Y says:

    Thanks Julie and everyone for stopping by!

    Oooh…I am loving everyone’s answers. I am drooling just thinking of some of them.

    David Tennant…yum.

    I will go ahead and answer even though I can’t win 😦 …my taste in guys changes frequently…lately Christian Bale has caught my eye…of course, I have had crush on him since I was a kid and saw the movie Newsies and just rented 3:10 to Yuma to watch…he is very versatile in his roles it seems….hmm…role playing…my mind is wandering now…..

    Thanks for the fantasy-inspiring question Julie!

  16. Gail H says:

    George Cloney, he can set his shoes under my bed at anytime. He is just so sexy and has a mischievous smile. Yum Yum!!!

  17. Wendy says:

    Julie, you…don’t get Chuck?? Oh that’s horrible..

    His charm? He’s totally DORK! but he’s so funny, too.

    And ohhh, Cillian Murphy is totally hot, I had to googled the other one but he looks cute too!

  18. Julie Cohen says:

    Ahhhhhhhh, Jennifer has mentioned the “C.B.” word. Christian Bale as Batman…..Oh My God what a wonderful, wonderful thing. Thank you for the mental image.

    You know, I am not usually a lust-sodden floozy who eyes up every celebrity going but hey, it’s a Friday night. 😉

    LOL Linda, make sure you have a towel handy!

    Gail, well you can’t go wrong with George C, can you? There is something about that man. Well, several somethings actually.

    Wendy, I do like dorks. I will try to see that show.

  19. Julie Cohen says:

    I’m on London time here so it’s time for me to go to bed (especially as my little one is teething hard and I fully expect to be awake from 4 am) but I will check in first thing tomorrow, hoping to see more discussion about luscious men!

    Man, this is SUCH a difficult job.

  20. Jennifer Y says:

    Thanks Julie! Good luck with the little one!

  21. Wendy says:

    Julie, you definitely need to se it, it’s so funny. 🙂

    Good night!

  22. Laura J says:

    David Tennant — good choice Jennifer! He’s geeky cute, but I really like him, in fact we were watching him earlier this morning. Sci-Fi Channel had a Dr. Who marathon.

  23. Amelia says:

    I like Mario Lopez because of his dimples and he’s cute. Plus he’s around my age. 🙂

  24. LoL Julie I will heehee. I just saw a movie with Vin Diesel I saw it before but WoW! He looked so good 🙂 Thank You for a great blog chat Julie & Jennifer. It was real fun must do it again soon 🙂

    Hugssss
    LindaH

  25. Melissa K. says:

    LOL! Julie. I’ve wanted to vist Scotland for a long time. If I went I’d have to wear a chastity belt! 🙂

  26. Julie Cohen says:

    David Tennant is MINE! Mine mine mine!!! 😉

  27. Julie Cohen says:

    Right. Just needed to clear that up. 😀

    Amelia, I didn’t know who Mario Lopez was either (I am obviously rather ignorant when it comes to godlike men!) so I Googled him. WOW! And, um–WOW!!! Where have you been all my life, O Mario? Nice one, Amelia!

    Thank you Linda! It has been fun.

    Melissa, I think they give out chastity belts at the Scottish border.

  28. Cheryl S. says:

    Enjoyed the interview. Sorry to say I haven’t read any of your books yet but they sound fun. I look forward to reading one soon. A little late getting into the conversation and I’m almost old enough to be his mother but I go for Orlando Bloom.

  29. JSL says:

    Hi Julie & Jennifer,
    I really enjoyed this interview- and I love the story of “One Night Stand” -and how you put your personal experience into it, Julie! Congratulations on the RNA Romance Prize, and I’m looking forward to your other books 🙂
    Let’s see – my dream guy for a one night stand would be Raoul Bova, hands down. O:)

  30. Jennifer Y says:

    LOL Julie! Okay, you can have David, but leave Christian Bale for me!

  31. Julie Cohen says:

    That’s a deal, Jennifer. 🙂

    JSL…once again I had never heard of this man and once again, I Googled and then goggled. Whoa, baby. Good choice.

    Cheryl, Orlando isn’t my own personal choice, though I must admit that I like him in elf hair. But I can definitely see that there is a fantasy appeal about him. And everyone needs a boy toy, right?

    I’m glad you enjoyed the interview! Blame Jennifer. 😉

  32. fedora says:

    Thanks for a fun interview, Julie (and Jennifer)! I haven’t read your writing yet, but am really looking forward to it now!

    BTW, about the limericking–is that a recent goal? How did you get hooked on those? Are you making progress? (How do you measure progress? Are there contests?) Sorry–it just seems a bit off the beaten path, and not something I know much about (aside from that segment on NPR’s Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell Me…)

    As for one night… well, Hugh Jackman’s always seemed pretty appealing (without the Wolverine fur and claws, please) 🙂

  33. Loretta W says:

    I so enjoyed reading the interview with Julie and the question were great Jennifer. I also haven’t read any of your books Julie but I think I would enjoy reading One Night Stand.
    Now for who I would want to be my one night stand, I think I would choose George Strait. Love to hear him sing. So tall and handsome also. Has a wonderful smile.

  34. Julie Cohen says:

    Hi Fedora! Hugh Jackman is a total paradox. I mean he is so so so so so so sexy and hot and gorgeous and talented, so you want to have sex with him, but he’s happily married and would not cheat on his wife, so you can’t, but his faithfulness and sweetness just makes you WANT TO HAVE SEX WITH HIM MORE!!

    I’ve always loved limericks. I just like writing them on the spur of the moment, usually as rude as possible. I think the perfect limerick is probably a never-attainable goal, sort of like nirvana (or possibly Hugh Jackman) but I would die happy if I could write something as sublime as this (by Anonymous):

    There was an old lady from Ryde
    Who ate a bushel of apples, then died.
    The apples fermented
    Inside the lamented
    And made cider inside her inside.

    Thank you, Loretta. I wish you many many happy nights listening to George.

  35. brownone says:

    Johnny Depp….hands down! I’ve had a crush on the man since I was in high school (21 Jump Street anyone?). He’s SO talented and those eyes!

  36. Jane says:

    I’m going to say Eric Bana. He’s hot and he’s got a sexy Australian accent, what could be better. He was easily the most manly character in “Troy.”

Leave a Reply

