Interview with Melissa Lopez!

Please give a warm welcome to author Melissa Lopez!!! 

boomeranglove_pr2.jpgPlease tell us about your book.
I’m celebrating my very own, first release! Boomerang Love is a contemporary romance set in Australia with an erotic/red hot heat level 

For an excerpt click here! Just click on the cover for Boomerang Love.  And check out the trailer below!

What inspired the story?
The story sprang to life after listening to Steve and Terri Irwin share their tales of love at first sight. Almost immediately my muse asked me…what if a heroine left, instead of staying? Would she return? Did she dare? What about the hero? Would he be able to work her out of his system? The plot to Boomerang Love fell into place as I drafted a short premise up. 

Describe the hero with one word.  The heroine?
Cohen is sexy
Hayleigh is determined
 

What is your favorite part of being a writer?  Least favorite?
My favorite aspect to writing is beginning a new story.
My least favorite aspect to writing is promotion. You’d be amazed at how time consuming it can be.  
 

What would you like to tell aspiring writers?
To keep writing, keep submitting, and never give up. And know now who your friends are. You’re going to need the support system.  

Who has inspired you as a writer?
My characters. I couldn’t write without them.  

What do you like to read?
For the most part I read romance. I’ll read anything except inspirational and chic-lit. I also love some horror.  

Describe yourself in 3 words.
I’m a mother, wife, and storyteller. 

If you had a time capsule to be opened 50 years in the future, what would you put in it?
Keepsakes from my children and family. And copies of my stories.  

Where can readers find you online?
I keep my website updated monthly. http://melissa-lopez.com/ 
Lot’s of information to be found on my cyber home.  

What is next for you?
Next up is Dark Sentinel (March 18th,) which launches my Netherworld series from Samhain Publishing.
I have two sites dedicated to Netherworld.
www.nether-world.net  (Launches early March!)
http://www.myspace.com/netherworldseries  (Visit the Dark Prince now.) 

Is there anything you’d like to share with readers?
My co-authorships are both celebrating releases.
Marissa Alwin’s Heart on His Sleeve is part of the Feb 14th, Candy Cravings print anthology.
Melany Logen’s Ingram’s Charm released from Loose Id on Jan 22nd.
I’m thrilled! 

Thanks so much for having me!
Melissa Lopez http://melissa-lopez.com/  
JOURNEYS OF LOVE every woman needs to take.  

Thank you so much for being a guest Melissa! 
I really appreciate it and wish you much success!

Readers, here is a trailer for Boomerang Love:

4 Responses to Interview with Melissa Lopez!

  1. brownone says:

    Wow Melissa, you book sounds very interesting and I love the setting. I’ll check it out!

  2. Great interview. And I can vouch, Boomerang Love is awesome.

  3. ThatBrunette says:

    I was also touched by the way Steve and Teri had met. I thought it was a great story. why do you dislike promotion. Is there a particular facet you don’t like?

  4. Thank you, Brownone! 🙂

    *Muah* Mechele.

    Hiya, ThatBrunette.

    Steve and Teri’s tale will always stay with me.

    Promotional is extremely time consuming, I’d much more prefer to be writing. If you’re out to build a career it can be very expensive to place ads. RT. Romance Sells. Realms of Fantasy. Banner ads. Book trailers. And promotion is also a lot of guess work. Which promotional items will work best? Should I do this? Try that? And then once you follow your marketing plan you have to keep track of what has worked and what was a bust. Authors have to balance the jobs of writing a good story and promoting it.

    The only really fun aspect of promotion (for me) is meeting readers. 🙂

    ~Mel

Leave a Reply

