Interview with P.J. Mellor!

Please give a warm welcome to the wonderful P.J. Mellor! 

Please tell us about your books.
All of my books, with the exception of ALL FIRED UP (in The Firefighter) take place on or near a beach, where the sun is hot and the passion hotter. 🙂

 What inspires your stories?
Relationships–good, bad or indifferent.  I tend to write humor, so my stories are humorous relationship stories. 

Which of your characters is most like you?
<snicker>  NONE of them!  I write fiction.  But if I had to pick one, I suppose it would be Tricia, in The Firefighter anthology, ALL FIRED UP.  Like Tricia, I always have plans that often just don’t turn out the way I expected.  Plus, I, too, am a sewer. thefirefighter_125px.jpg

Which of your characters would you like to switch places with?
Any of them!  They all lead so much more interesting lives.  

For how long? 
Probably a day or two–the excitement might kill me. 🙂

What would you do?
Um. . .my books are pretty hot, figure it out. 

What is your favorite part of being a writer? 
Working at home!  I love my office–well, at least when I can see the desk, which tends to be a paper magnet, especially if I’m working on deadline.  Oh, and like most writers, working in sweats or my robe. 🙂 

And your least favorite part?
Working at home, in my sweats or robe–I find I’m really more productive when I get dressed and put on make-up.  Plus, while working from home is fantastic, it’s also a ready-made, built-in distraction.  When deadlines loom, I have the overpowering urge to mop or do laundry! 

Is there anything you would like to write, but haven’t? For example, any other genre you’d like to try?
I’ve written in other genres, just have not published in them (yet).  Since I can’t get away from writing humor–the few times I tried being “serious”, people laughed anyway–anything I write would have to be humorous.  My earlier (unsold) books had a little suspense/mystery in them and I think I’d like to try my hand at that again.  I also wrote a few paranormal romances (yes, also humorous) I’d like to sell someday.  

Who has inspired you as a writer?
The usual suspects, I suppose.  Early, like in junior high, it was Jane Austen and the Bronte sisters.  They were so romantic (well, I thought so at twelve, anyway).  Later, it was authors who are still popular and still selling (and still alive), so I will withhold names.  I was also a big Katherine Woodiwiss fan and had the pleasure of meeting her several years ago.  She was a real pioneer of romance and will be greatly missed. 

What would you like to tell aspiring writers?
Whatever you do, don’t give up!  Which really applies to any dream you have, if you think about it. 

Describe yourself in 3 words.
Fun, fast-witted, nice. 

What do you like to read?
Romantic comedy!  I love being swept up in a good book.  I love all books, in general, the tactile pleasure of holding them, smelling them.  I’ve been known to stroke the covers!  I’ve always maintained books are a great escape–they can take you anywhere, all from the comfort of your chair.  With all that books offer, even with rising cover prices, they’re still the best deal around.  

What is next for you?
I’m currently working on a deadline book for Kensington Aphrodisia, working title DOUBLE TAKE, a one author anthology about identical twins.  BTW, if anyone has an idea for a new title for the book, please feel free to send it to me through my web site, www.pjmellor.com !  If I use it, I will be more than happy to give you an acknowledgement!  I would, ideally, like it to include the word double or twin.  My editor likes that but would also like the word ME in the title to tie it to my last two books, GIVE ME MORE (2/07) and MAKE ME SCREAM (available at the end of the month!).  

mms.jpgIs there anything you’d like to ask readers?
Please buy my latest book, MAKE ME SCREAM!  The sales prior to and right after the release date are closely monitored.  Additionally, MAKE ME SCREAM is my first “true” single title book for Kensington, as opposed to one author anthologies (like PLEASURE BEACH, GIVE ME MORE and DOUBLE TAKE).  If you prefer single title length stories, please check MAKE ME SCREAM out. 

Thank you so much P.J. for that great interview! 

Readers, you can learn more about P.J. by visiting her website:  http://www.pjmellor.com/ 

I know some of you mentioned yesterday that you haven’t read P.J.’s books yet and here is your chance!
P.J. was very generous and has offered FIVE books for a giveaway! 
I have ONE copy of each of the books below to give away!
So FIVE lucky winners will each receive ONE book!

pleasurebeach.jpg gme.jpg thecowboy.jpg thefirefighter_125px.jpg nn.jpg

To enter, just leave a comment below telling me which of the books you’d like to read…and you don’t have to pick just one.
I’ll pick one winner for each book!

Winners will be randomly chosen from all who comment and announced on January 21 along with the other Aphrodisia contest winners so be sure to check all the past posts for contest information! 
It is up to you to return to see if you won and to contact me if you see your name!
MUST BE OVER 18 TO ENTER! 
By entering you are stating you are over 18!

32 Responses to Interview with P.J. Mellor!

  1. Teresa W. says:

    This would be a new author for me, so I’d be thrilled to receice any of the copies!

  2. Melissa K. says:

    I’ve never read any books by P.J. either and I’ve been lusting after a copy of THE FIREFIGHTER for months! OMG! I would love to win it! I can’t tell you how many times I’ve picked up that book! Please start my new year with a bang….a hot fiery bang. *g*
    Thanks, Jennifer!

    PS. I wouldn’t mind if I won THE COWBOY. That’s the other book I’ve been fingering. Hee.

  3. Beth R says:

    Wow its hard to narrow it down to one I think I would like to read Pleasure Beach but that all sound great

  4. lnjen says:

    Thanks P.J. for donating all the books! WOW!

    I just picked up The Firefighter and I’m really looking forward to reading it.

    Like you, I like humor in my books so I will definately be looking for your books. I am a huge fan of romantic comedy. I don’t mind a little suspense, but I see so much of it on the news I would rather read or watch something that makes me smile or laugh.

    I wouldn’t mind winning any of them (well, except The Firefighter, since I have that one). I do have to say that P.J. you have a fabulous cover designer!!!

  5. fedora says:

    Wow, thank you for your generosity, P.J.! Your books look amazing, and like Teresa, I’m new to your work, so any of them would be fabulous!

    Thanks for taking the time to share about yourself and your work–I also love the funny (not that I am myself, but it really adds a dimension to books that I enjoy!) and look forward to reading yours!

  6. diane says:

    The Cowboy would be great to read. Thanks so much. Love your books.

  7. Hello Jennifer & P.J. Mellor.

    WoW! That is very generous of you P.J. & Jennifer Thank You for giving us this chance to win.

    Since I don’t have any of P.J. books are read her books yet I will be very happy to win any one of them. Please enter me for any of P.J. books.

    Thank You,

    Hugssss
    LindaH

  8. One more thing great interview. P.J. your books sound very *Hot*

    Hugssss
    LindaH

  9. Angie-la says:

    Looking at the covers of those books, it is too hard to pick just one! Since P J is a new to me author, I’d not complain if I won any one of them! However,based on the cover alone, I’d probably pick either The Cowboy or Naughty, Naughty!
    I gotta say though, the story about the identical twins sounds yummy!!
    I also agree about romantic comedy. It is one of my very favorite genres!

  10. JSL says:

    Hello PJ & Jennifer,
    A terrific interview (as always!) PJ – I loved your answers – especially “for how long” – I often say I’d love to live the life of “X” – then consider and stipulate a period of time. I’ll try to think of titles- but the word “ME” makes that difficult! I would love to win any of the books – thanks so much for your generosity – but I have to admit, like many of the other ladies here, “The Firefighter” really caught my eye. Also “The Cowboy,” and “Naughty, Naughty.” 😉 I think it’s the lethal combination of the titles, and the hot covers.

  11. Eva S says:

    Hi Pj and Jennifer!
    Thanks for the interview! This is also for me a new author and all the books sounds great (and the covers are hot!) so it’s very difficult to pick one, but perhaps The Cowboy since I’ve always had a soft spot for them…
    Thanks for the chance!

  12. Jane says:

    Hi PJ,

    I agree that all your excerpts and covers are super hot.

  13. danette says:

    Hi P.J.,
    Your a new author to me and after reading your interview I’ve put you on my TBB. I love being on the beach,nothing like sun,clear water to swim in and a great book to relax with. It’s good to hear that you llike humor in your books, laughter in romance is a plus to me. I’d love to read Give Me More, I was reading the synopsis, it sounds like a sexy book to start off with.
    Hugs, Danette

  14. tina brunelle says:

    i would love to read a book by you!! heck i am book aholic love books!!

  15. Deb Schwartz says:

    PJ we just finshed the book Cowboys for my book group. Let me tell you te responce was amazing!
    I was asked to get another one of your books for the group again.
    I have read all your books but Naughty Naughty, and think you are a wonderful author.

  16. thatbrunette says:

    You write the way I would write if I could write. (How much wood would a woodchuck chuck…) Deadline Vs Laundry!

    Although you are a new to me author, I would like to request that, even though you want to write more ‘serious’ stuff, keep doing humor. Dying is easy, comedy is hard. I could get very bumper sticker and talk about how the world needs more laughter but, I won’t! 🙂

    Give Me More – Sounds deliciously dirty and I might take a cruise this summer. Wouldn’t it be nifty to be reading this while on a cruise????

    The Firefighter – Something about a man in uniform…

    Pleasure Beach – Again, might go on a cruise and this sounded like a great sunning-myself-on-the-beach-with-husband-nearby read. Husband likes it when I read the sexy books!

  17. Crystal G says:

    PJ is a new author to me. I would love to win any of the books! Thanks for the great interview.

  18. Jeanette Jackson says:

    I would like to read any one of them. Please enter me

  19. janedoe2006 says:

    wowsa hot covers!!!!!!!!!
    please enter me to win one!

  20. Amelia says:

    Great interview! I would like to read any of them. All the book covers are hot!

  21. Sue A. says:

    I’ve never read any of P.J.’s books, so could I be put into the draw for each of her books?

    Thanks Jennifer for bringing us together with so many great authors.

  22. Gail H says:

    This would be a new author to me, but I really like the looks of that cowboy book or the firefighter. The books look so sexy. I just love cowboys anyway. There is just something about cowboys.

  23. Cathie says:

    I loved your interview PJ! I so can’t wait for MAKE ME SCREAM. I’ve been following almost all your books since they came out! I so loved your novellas in the anthologies and so looking forward to this single title! I think, somehow, I missed GIVE ME MORE. I have to fix that soon, LOL.

    Going to go read your excerpt below! Just wanted to say hello and awesome books!

  24. Maureen says:

    All the books look great. I would love The Cowboy, The Firefighter, Naughty Naughty, Pleasure Beach.

  25. amysmith98 says:

    Great interview! I have The Cowboy, The Firefighter, and Give Me More on my tbr list. Pleasure Beach and Naughty Naughty are on my wishlist.

  26. brownone says:

    I love the Aphrodesia line! I haven’t picked up any by PJ as of yet so any one sounds great to me! Love me a nice hot cowboy or firefighter! 🙂

  27. cathy M says:

    I have read and really enjoyed PJ’s anthologies, but haven’t read Pleasure Beach yet.

  28. Kim says:

    Enjoyed reading the interview. Bring the beach to me…it’s in the single digits where I am. Very dark and cold outside. I’d like to escape away to some warm, sunny place. Preferably with a hot hunk. lol I would love to read Give Me More, Pleasure Beach or Naughty, Naughty.

  29. Jolene says:

    hi PJ.. i have to say i have read the Firefighter.. and that was one smokin book.. i havent read the others yet but i sure hope i can soon..
    thanks for sharing with us..

  30. Crystal B. says:

    Hi P.J. All your books sound good. I am a big fan of cowboys so my choice would be The Cowboy.

  31. lnjen says:

    PJ—Thought I would let you know that I saw Make Me Scream at Border’s in Louisville, Ky yesterday!!!

  32. Rhonda Barnes says:

    Honestly, I haven’t read any of PJ’s books yet, but all 5 titles sound fabulous!

    Blessings,
    Rhonda :0)

Leave a Reply

