Interview with Author Jami Alden

Please give a warm welcome to the talented Jami Alden!!! 

cover_private.jpgPlease tell us about your latest release.
My latest book, which was released in November, is PRIVATE PARTY. It’s about a woman who’s lived her entire life trying to live up to everyone else’s standards, even going so far as to marry the man hand picked by her parents.  Then she discovers her new husband cheating on her at their wedding reception. She decides to stop being such a good girl and goes after something she’s always wanted, namely the groom’s younger black sheep brother.  Then she follows him to his luxury resort in the Caribbean, only to discover that her wedding night fling might be true love.   

cover_honey.jpgOf all your characters, which one is most like you?
That’s a tough one – I definitely find my characters mimicking me in one way or another. But if I had to choose, I would probably say Kit, from my novella STRIPPING IT DOWN (from the TASTE OF HONEY ANTHOLOGY). She definitely shares my smart ass attitude and tendency to take jabs at people, thinking I’m hilarious, but might be hurting someone’s feelings in the process.  

What is your favorite part of being a writer?  Least favorite?
My favorite part is the fact that I’m living my dream. I always wanted to write romance, and dreamed of the day when other people would actually pay to read what I write! Plus, I am fortunate to have incredible writer friends. Through writing, I reconnected with one of my best friends from college (Bella Andre) and met my other critique partner, Monica McCarty. And then of course there are the Fog City Divas, who took a newbie under their collective wing and gave me invaluable advice and insight into the industry. 

Least favorite? It’s all on me. The buck stops here, and if the book isn’t good, the fault rests with yours truly. It’s a lot of pressure.  

Is there anything you would like to write, but haven’t? For example, any other genre you’d like to try?
One of my first loves in romance was the Western Historical, especially those written by Elizabeth Lowell and Penelope Williamson. My first attempt at writing was a western, and I’d like to try my hand at it again someday.  

Who has inspired you as a writer?
Of course there are many authors who have inspired me with their talent (and frankly, some lacking in talent who made me want to prove I could do better 🙂 ). But I think the person who most inspired me was my husband, who started his own company shortly before we were married. He wasn’t afraid of taking risks and following his dream, and always encouraged me to do the same.  

What would you like to tell aspiring writers?
Cultivate patience and grow a thick hide. Surround yourself with people who want the best for you and support what you do. Be clear with yourself and others what your goals are, and be committed to them, because if you aren’t, it’s way too easy for the writing to get pushed aside. I think a lot of writers (myself included, when I first started) waste a lot of time treating it like a hobby, but if you want to make it your career and be taken seriously, you need to take it seriously yourself.  

Describe yourself in 3 words.
Loyal, sarcastic, and… I want to say tired, but that’s just because I have 2 small kids and a looming deadline… I don’t know, cynically romantic? 

italianstallions150.jpgWhat is next for you?
Next up I’m in the ITALIAN STALLIONS (yes, I am totally serious) anthology with Karin Tabke. IS will be available from Kensington Aphrodisia in July. After that, I have CAUGHT coming out October 2008, the first of three romantic suspense novels I’m writing for Kensington’s Brava imprint.caught2.jpg  

Thank you, Jami!  I am looking forward to the upcoming releases and wish you nothing but the best! 

You can learn more about Jami and her books by visiting her website:  http://www.jamialden.com

17 Responses to Interview with Author Jami Alden

  1. Beth R says:

    Jami, you have so pretty hot book covers, I have to admit the title IITALIAN STALLIONS sounds interesting

  2. ThatBrunette says:

    I love the three words that describe you! I would love to know more about how you balance kids and writing. What do you do when you are in the middle of a love scene and you hear “Mommy, I neeeeed juice!”?

  3. Jane says:

    I read an excerpt of “Private Party” in Cosmo and enjoyed it very much.

  4. Jami Alden says:

    Glad you like the covers Beth. The Kensington Art department has been very good to me.

    TB- balance? What’s balance? Seriously though, I am very fortunate to have found a wonderful daycare provider who is very loving to my boys. They go 3 days a week (actually, 4 this month as I am on a deadline) so that’s when I write. Otherwise I squeeze in everything I can during naptime and on weekends.

    Jane – Glad you liked the cosmo feature – hope the excerpt will inspire you to read the entire book 😉

  5. brownone says:

    Jami, I have private party and it was GREAT!! The beginning was so funny and so sad at the same time! But the cake in the face was well-deserved. Oh, and the unzipped pants! HA!! I was laughing out loud!
    I’ll definately be snatching up “Italian Stallions”.

  6. Cherie J says:

    Enjoyed the interview! Private Party sounds really good. I will have to look for it next time I am at the bookstore.

  7. fedora says:

    Thanks for the interview, Jami! Private Party does sound delicious 🙂 So glad for you (and for us!) that you’ve found a care provide you like and trust–that’s huge! Keep writing!

  8. JSL says:

    Jami,

    I really enjoyed reading your interview- and I have to say, I love the title “Italian Stallions” – it just made me smile – and it seems like the book is getting a great response too! 😀

  9. Jami Alden says:

    Brownone – so glad you liked PP – I had a blast writing that book, and I’m thrilled when i hear from readers who enjoyed it.

    Cherie – Private Party is still widely available – hope you read and enjoy

    Fedora – yes, I am very lucky. My daycare woman is a lifesaver, and I have no doubt my boys are in great hands.

    JSL – have to say, I initially balked at the Italian Stallions title, but now it’s grown on me. My novella was really fun to write, and I know Karin Tabke’s story will be awesome.

  10. lnjen says:

    Hi Jami,

    I have Private Party at the top of my tbr pile. I definately will be picking up A Taste of Honey very and Italian Stallions. The covers are great!!!! Thanks for coming by today.

  11. Jolene says:

    HI, I havent had the pleasure of reading your books yet but they sound hot.. cant wait to find them and read them…

  12. Wendy says:

    Jami, I can definitely relate to the smart-ass attitude and taking jabs at people thinking it’s funny, it’s gotten me in quite a lot of trouble! lol.

  13. Amelia says:

    Hi Jami,

    I haven’t read your books, but Private Party sounds great. Love the cover too. I will have to check your book.

  14. danette says:

    Hi Jami,
    Your books sound hot, especially your latest. It’s sound like its an interesting turn of events.
    Hugs, Danette

  15. Cara Carnes says:

    So I’m always a day late, but I just wanted to tell you that I LOVE your books Jami! I have read them all, and can’t wait to read the next one:)

  16. amysmith98 says:

    Great interview! I loved Private Party. It was great. I have your other books on my wishlist!

  17. Great interview Jennifer & Jami.

    Jami your books sound very good. I look forward to reading them.

    Hugssss
    LindaH

Leave a Reply

