Jodi Lynn Copeland Guest Blogs

The fabulous Jodi Lynn Copeland wrote a wonderful guest blog… 

The Dangers of Having a Day Job 

Having a day job can be a wonderful thing, in that it gives me a break from toddler-world and then too it makes use of a different part of my brain than my night job. However, I have found it can be a very dangerous thing indeed. 

There’s the obvious dangerous of not meeting my writing deadlines because the day job gets too busy and expands into the night. But more than that is the danger of how what I write affects me throughout my day. In general, I don’t tend to swear and never around my elders, parents, etc. It just isn’t something I often feel the need to do—well, except while driving in my car that is clearly trapped in stealth mode for how often I am cut off and nearly run over. However, when I am writing characters who do swear, or are very high strung or demanding, I find myself affecting their personalities. This one doesn’t come back to bite me too often, but I have had a couple recent slipups where I was left red-faced and well aware my hero and heroine of the moment were to blame. Really, how does one explain that a fictional friend made me do it? 

Another foible that emerges at the day job is the extension of my character’s thoughts. The closer I get to a deadline, the more hours I spend writing a day. During these long writing spells, I go to bed thinking about the characters and then go on to dream about them. The thing is I write erotic romance, and so you can guess my dreams tend for the racy side. A good thing this can be indeed—it generally makes for a very happy wakeup—except for when those dreams involve colleagues. I go to work and find myself thinking about those naughty dreams when interacting with those same colleagues. I sit through meetings being the total professional when—wham!—those dreams come back to get me. Or some foreign thought emerges that a character had the night before and I am now left having it about my coworkers or friends, etc. 

Now I’m not sure what is more bothersome. That I am having these dreams, or the people I am having them about. From time to time, they will involve the resident hunk, but more often they involve someone I wouldn’t want to think such things about in a million years. I am sure there is something Freudian in there. 

What about you? If you’re a writer, do you find what you write affects your day in any way? Or if you’re a reader, do you find what you read has a bearing on you? 

~ Jodi 

P.S. Visit my daily blog, learn more about me and my books at my website: www.JodiLynnCopeland.com. 

Jodi has donated a fabulous prize to two lucky winners!
One winner will receive a copy of Body Moves and another lucky winner will receive a copy of Operation G-Spot!

To enter, just leave a comment!
Winners will be randomly chosen and announced on January 21! 
It is up to you to return to see if you won and to contact me if you see your name!
MUST BE OVER 18 TO ENTER! 
By entering you are stating you are over 18!

35 Responses to Jodi Lynn Copeland Guest Blogs

  1. Jane says:

    I find myself having fantasies and daydreams about the books I read. My dream might be about a romantic interlude or touching scene. I think this happens a lot because I read before I go to sleep, so the scenes are very fresh in my mind.

  2. brownone says:

    Sometimes when I’m reading and an author makes a point that I haven’t thought of, I will sit and ponder it. Or like in “Outlander”, I always tend to overthink it. Like I wonder if Claire knew all along that she was going to go back in time. I mean, if she did travel to the past, how did she NOT know all along what was going to happen at the ruins? Yeah, it’s enough to make my head hurt! 🙂

  3. Jolene says:

    all the time… I read alot before i go to bed.. they seep into my dreams alot.. oddly i rarely dream of anyone i know..it is like i take the men in the books to bed with me in my dreams….but what nice dreams they are…lol..

  4. Crystal B. says:

    Sometimes a story will stick in my mind and I will dream about it. I have learned some interesting facts about history, different cultures and different parts of the world from reading.

  5. Tina brunelle says:

    Of course I had to come over here and say hi!! love love love your works

  6. Eva S says:

    I read a lot and when I read historicals I often want to know more about the timeperiods or the places but the heroes seldom follow me into my dreams, although I’d love to see them there! But when I read more paranormal books… My nights are filled with vampires and werewolves and it’s rather fun…Luckily I don’t dream about people I know.

  7. Good Lord, y’all are up and about early. Okay, so it’s almost noon here. I stayed up too late writing and then my dear sweet child woke me up too early this a.m. Been in zombie mode, pouring back the coffee since. 🙂

    And did you see where that darling Jennifer called me fabulous? How’s a girl to feel sleepy after such a wonderful introduction? 😉

  8. Laura J says:

    She said that because you are fabulous Jodi!

    I read a lot too and I’m not sure if I dream about them or not, I don’t really remember my dreams. However, my reading does affect me if it’s a really good book and I’m reading and just can’t put the book down. Finally, I’ll look at the clock and *yikes* it’s way past my bedtime and I have to get up early to take the kiddos to school and if I don’t get my beauty rest, well let just say, I’m not a morning person with my beauty rest.

  9. Aren’t paranormals interesting, Eva? I tend toward contemporary dreams, but on occasion—often when I have watched a movie with a paranormal tie-in—I will have a truly para dream that is just too odd for words. I wake up unable to stop thinking about it. I have to admit, some of best ideas do come from dreams. Do those ideas ever reach fruition as a story? Not always, but they make for great fodder for my imagination as I am driving into work each morning. 😀

  10. Jennifer Y says:

    Welcome everyone! Thanks for stopping by! And thank you again Jodi for being a guest! You ARE fabulous!

    I am just a reader and my reading does seem to affect me in little ways. It influences my day dreams, night dreams, thoughts, etc. I find I tend to dream storylines…either ones I have read (with some changes) or new ones. I also used to daydream about storylines, writing stories for fave secondary characters in my head…LOL. I have some of the best dreams…also weird ones though…but I wish there was a way to record dreams so you can share them with others…like movies…LOL.

    I have also learned quite a few things from books. Sometimes the historicals or even the contemporaries or paranormals will make me curious about something and I’ll look it up to learn more.

  11. Stefanie D says:

    I also read before I go to sleep, so yes I dream about books.
    Of course the heroine’s face is suddenly mine, lol. One night I’m a Lady in the Regency period, another night I’m a vampire or just a normal girl falling in love with the boy next door.
    Isn’t that one of the wonderful aspects of reading?

  12. I am all about that escapism, Stefanie! Right now, I would love to escape to the earnth cell where my undead hero is currently holding my very much alive heroine, but I have a day-job meeting about to start, so best get to it.

    Be back shortly!

    ~ jodi

  13. Maureen says:

    If I am engrossed in a story then I will think about it during the day, figuring what will happen next, coming up with alternate story lines. It’s part of the fun of reading a good story.

  14. Teresa W. says:

    I usually read right before I go to bed at night. Many times I dream about what I’ve read, this can be very adventurous!

  15. acdaisy77 says:

    For me, when I read, I will think about it, but I rarely have dreams about them.

  16. fedora says:

    Thanks for that great blog, Jodi! Thankfully not a writer, but I can see how all that stuff percolating in your brain comes out sometimes in ways you (or those around you) may not fully appreciate 😉 As a reader, the characters and settings do sometimes wind their way into dreams and definitely linger in my thoughts. Usually that’s a fun thing 🙂 Occasionally it’s distracting, and I do sometimes avoid creepy stuff because I don’t want that popping up when I’m trying to sleep!

  17. Sue A. says:

    I do think about the characters after I’ve closed the book, but I don’t remember dreaming about them. And I like to hold on to great characters by re-reading the passages that evoke the most feeling.

  18. JSL says:

    Hi Jodi,
    Sometimes what I’m reading impacts how I view situations irl. I did dabble in some writing (totally amateur) and I did take a lot from real life. Haha -the dreams about coworkers etc… I don’t know how I’d respond to that. 😉 Sound like it could be entertaining though. Or horrifying, depending.

  19. Wendy says:

    Hi, Jodi & Jennifer!

    What I read definitely impacts me – there are some books that get in my head so much that I can spend days thinking about it, going over different situations and such. If I’m reading a book that has me totally engrose in it, I will probably end up daydreaming about what could happen next. Most of the time all this is fun but not when I should be studying but can’t get a certain character or scene out of my head!

  20. Cherie J says:

    I read at night when the kids are in bed so alot of times the scenes are so fresh in my mind that I can’t help but think and dream about them. Sometimes I will turn over what is happening currently in the story and imagine what will happen next.

  21. Beth R says:

    If a story has really touched me I’ll dream about it

  22. Well it seems another day has passed me by. I seriously need to figure out where one goes to invest in additional hours per day. Getting to spend some downtime reading all these comments definitely helps the matter. I think it’s so interesting how some people dream in color, others black and white, and yet others hardly at all. It makes me wonder how our lives as a whole shape our dreams. Does it have to do with our creative edge? Are artists more likely to have vivid Technicolor dreams that stay with them long after they wake? I know I have these kind. While I do have those questionable dreams, I also have some really hot, great ones. Man, those are a bummer to wake up from! My favorite is when I wake up and can manage to slip back into it. Going back for seconds is never a bad thing in this girl’s mind. 😀

  23. Touching stories is another good comment as well. I love those stories that really stay with me. There aren’t a lot I remember over the years, but those that have a special flare for something do stick with me. I remember Isabel Sharpe’s first Harlequin Blaze very well, because the first few pages were LOL funny. I was friends with that heroine by page five and that’s really saying something. Also, the hero was a huge hunk–like that is ever a downer, huh?

    Other books that have stayed with me over the years are Julie Garwood’s Roses series. I think with these ones its because they are both touching stories with great characters, and because they were the first real romances I read. She had a lot to do with my inspiration to become an author and even to learn to enjoy the written word as a whole.

    Vicki Lewis Thompson’s nerd books also tend to stick with me. My favorite by far was The Nerd Who Loved Me. Between the little braniac kid wanting to know what Erectile Disfunction was and the T.I.T.S. comments, I LOLed numerous times.

    Some truly awesome stories out there, and I really must find time to read more! 🙂

  24. Jennifer Y says:

    Great books listed there Jodi! Garwood’s For the Roses was the first romance I read and it got me hooked!

  25. Wonderful, isn’t it? I really need to re-read that series. I think I will add those books to my annual reading list. They always put me in a good mood.

    Off to do some writing. Wish me luck, though hoping to not need it! 🙂

    ~ jodi

  26. ThatBrunette says:

    If I get into what I am reading, the characters, and sometimes their thoughts, creep into my thoughts. I remember being angry at someone because of a residual feeling from reading a book. From the reader end, it doesn’t happen too often but, it does happen. This was one of the reasons I didn’t like reading certain books for school. When reading John Steinbeck, I would walk around with a black cloud over my head for days. It works for positive emotions, too! Occasionally, they make their way into my dreams. That’s a bit more fun when I am reading erotica! 😉

  27. janedoe2006 says:

    there was s series about aliens ,but for the life of me , cant remeber the titles,, moonlight and something?
    but i love your books jodi

  28. bluecat says:

    Sometimes when I read a book straight through without stopping til I can’t keep my eyes open then fall asleep, things from the book pop into my dreams. It can get weird and sometimes scary if it’s a horror story.

  29. Hello Jennifer & Jodi

    Alot of times I will read until I fall asleep sometimes I can’t even sleep though because the story makes me want to find out what happens next so I just keep reading till I do get tired *G* A few times I had dreams of what happen in the books I read some were bad but some were good 🙂

    Jodi, Operation G-Spot was a very good read. That was my first read by you and won’t be my last 🙂 Loved it.

    Hugssss
    LindaH

  30. Hi everyone! Just wanted to drop in real quick before I get to writing tonight, and give a huge thanks to all who visited during my blog time with Jennifer. It’s always a great spirit lifter to hear that people are reading my books, or at least think they sound interesting. Good luck to all with the contest, and feel free to drop me a line whenever, even if it’s just to say hi! 🙂

    ~ jodi

  31. Dena says:

    I would love to win one of Jodi’s books put me in the draw please.

  32. danette says:

    Hi Jodi,
    Interesting thoughts. I look forward to my racy dreams with unknown strangers. It’s funny because my dream guys always turn into my DH sometime within the dream. *g*
    Hugs, Danette

  33. Jeanette Jackson says:

    I would also like to read one of Jodi’s books. Please enter me

  34. Gail H says:

    When I am really into a story, I will day dream about and let thing happen the way I think they really should. It is kind of funny how books take you to so many different places.

  35. Melissa K. says:

    Hi Jodi!
    I’m late but not too late. *g* Some books do have a bearing on me. Especially if I’ve gone through something the heroine has gone through or is going through at present. OPERATION G-SPOT is a fantastic, smoldering book. I loved it. Wouldn’t mind reading BODY MOVES. 🙂

    Melissa, faithful newsletter subscriber *g*

Leave a Reply

