Interview with Jodi Lynn Copeland

Please welcome Jodi Lynn Copeland! 

Please tell us about your books.
For Aphrodisia, all of my books released to date have been contemporary romances. But the tide is about to change! I just finished writing a paranormal bondage novella for inclusion in an anthology with Devyn Quinn & Anya Howard—talk about stellar co-authors. I love writing contemporary stories with a unique twist thrown in, but I also enjoy the thrill of the paranormal and getting to create your own world and, to some extent, make up your own rules as you go along. Regardless of genre or subgenre, my books tend to have humor blended in, along with a whole lot of scorching sex scenes.

side_bodymoves.gifWhich of your characters is most like you?
As I largely based Danica from Body Moves off myself and my own life experiences, she is the most like me as a whole. Though I find certain facets of myself and those around me come through in every character and story that I write. 

What is your favorite part of being a writer?  Least favorite?
The creative element and being able to control other’s lives is definitely a huge part of the appeal. Often times I think of things I would love to say in real life, but either don’t have the brass to say it, or know if I do say it, I will regret it. My characters can and do say most anything they want when they want. Gotta love that! 🙂 Not really the least favorite but the hardest part for me is finding the time to write. With a young family and a day job, I struggle to find time to write each day. Many times it’s midnight before I get to sit down at the computer. On a good note, I am a night person so I can often produce well later in the night. On a not so good note, I am not a morning person, so long nights can make for harsh mornings.

Is there anything you would like to write, but haven’t? For example, any other genre you’d like to try?
I would love to have the time to write a gritty ghost story that has been sitting in the back of my mind for months now. I hope to find some time for this story in the spring, but it all comes down to deadlines and where the rest of life leads me. As for subgenres within erotic romance, I have written all of them, though some only in short story format. I am anxious to write another historical and would love to add that to my schedule for later this year.

Who has inspired you as a writer?
My critique partners and several author friends have been my greatest inspiration. They help to keep me going through the bad reviews and moments of doubt, and rely on me to do the same during their own bad reviews and moments of doubt. There’s nothing better than seeing each other grow through the years from a beginning writer to a multi-published author, when you know just how much time, effort and, yes, tears of happiness and sorrow have been invested.

What would you like to tell aspiring writers?
The only way to not get published is to quit. Keep writing. Keep perfecting your individual voice. It will happen! 

Describe yourself in 3 words.
Generous. Stubborn. Logical. 

If you had a time capsule to be opened 50 years in the future, what would you put in it?
Pictures of myself with my family. Nothing is more important than family and those friends who are just like family. 

What is next for you?
I am currently working on Escape To Ecstasy, a duo of stories about two heroines who are kidnapped by well-meaning friends and whisked away to an island where pleasure is the name of the game and the island’s hunky heroes are all about pursuit. 

Where can readers learn more about you?
I maintain a website (which is under winter construction) at: http://www.jodilynncopeland.com.
From my website, you can learn about my newsletter group and also those blogs I frequent.
Also, readers can always reach me at:
Readers@jodilynncopeland.com  

Anything else?
Thanks for taking the time to interview me, Jennifer! I love being a part of the Aphrodisia Author group and Kensington. A friendlier bunch of authors and editors would be hard to find.

 Thank you so much for the interview! 

As mentioned above, readers, you can learn more about Jodi Lynn Copeland by visiting her website: http://www.jodilynncopeland.com/ 

Check back tomorrow for more with Jodi Lynn Copeland and for a contest!

15 Responses to Interview with Jodi Lynn Copeland

  1. brownone says:

    Great interview!
    I just “discovered” the Aphrodesia line a few months ago and I’ll be checking you out too Jodi!

  2. Laura J says:

    Hi Jodi!

    I’ve read Body Moves and I’m currently reading Operation G-Spot and I have several more on my wishlist.

    If you haven’t read any of Jodi’s books I highly recommend them. They are very good and very steamy!

  3. Thanks for stopping by Brownone and Laura! Laura, I am just thrilled you are enjoying my books. I am on some serious deadlines right now and there’ s no better way to help increase productivity than great comments like yours. 🙂

    At the day job now, so best get to it. Feel free to ask any lingering questions. I will be around later and also tomorrow I am here too, with a blog topic about how having a day job can be dangerous, particularly for an erotic romance author.

    Have a great morning/afternoon everyone! Or night for those of you on the other side.

    ~ jodi

  4. JSL says:

    Hi Jodi –
    Great interview – I can totally sympathize with harsh mornings. That really stuck out to me, because classes started today. I had my first 8:30 in a long time, and with my upstairs neighbors banging around and being obnoxious until 3 am, it was bad all around. Trying to pay attention for Trusts and Estate taxes, and other classes was no good. I can’t believe all the things you do! Work, family and writing – wow!

  5. fedora says:

    Thanks for the terrific interview, Jodi–I’m pretty new to the Aphodisia line, too, and am enjoying learning more about some of you who write for it! And I, too, concur on the difficulty of those mornings that follow those productive nights… ouch! Congrats on your success and making it all work with your family, too!

  6. Amelia says:

    I enjoyed the interview.

  7. PG Forte says:

    Great interview. And, yep, controlling the lives of characters is definitely a writer perk. lol!

  8. annalisa says:

    I enjoy reading your books! I do hope you will be able to write your ghost story since I like books that have paranormal elements in them. Great interview! 🙂

  9. Good luck with those classes, JSL! I loved the learning part of college, but I made it a point to never schedule morning classes. Until my senior year, when I was left with no choice and I do admit to yawning my way through many of course. I recall one professor who took that particularly badly. It was an 8:00 Engineering class and he kicked out more than a few students, after a harsh lecture about the real world. Thank goodness one was not me. I got really good at hiding my yawns behind my hair or hand. 🙂
    As for the balance, some days it is easier than others. My husband just went on afternoons and so I am really feeling like a single mother these days. Last night I finally got things settled and had to get right to writing as I have a Friday deadline. I never did get back online. Better hopes for today!

  10. Thanks for all the well wishes, Fedora! I am so happy you found Aphrodisia. It really is a great bunch of authors. I don’t get to read a lot, but when I do, it is often a fellow Aphrodisia author’s book. Not only do I love to see what others are producing and know it will be good stuff, but it helps to keep my own ideas fresh.

  11. Hi Amelia and PG! Thank you both for checking out the interview. And, PG, you control characters? Never! 😀

  12. I have to admit I have been going back and forth on the ghost story, Annalisa. I know that I will be writing it and plan to start this spring, but I haven’t quite decided which route I want to go. If it will be an Aphrodisia or for a line a bit less hot. Any thoughts on this? Do you prefer your ghost stories with as much steam as mystery?

  13. Cherie J says:

    Wonderful interview! As for the ghost story, I am fine with less steam in the books I read. I prefer great character development over lots of steamy scenes.

  14. Mmm…. Now to keep on mulling. Thanks for the feedback, Cherie! I just cannot decide on this one, so I gues I shall let it sit a wee bit longer. 😀

    ~ jodi

  15. amysmith98 says:

    Great interview! Love your books!

Leave a comment