Lucinda Betts Completes the Sentences and a Few Questions…

Friday, January 11, 2008

Please welcome Lucinda Betts! 

Lucinda was kind enough to complete my infamous “Complete the Sentence” interview…here are her fun responses… 

I am: the walrus.
I like:
to move it move it. I like to move it, move it I like to move it, move it.
I dream:
of Jeannie. I’m also Bewitched.
I wish:
I didn’t know now what I didn’t know then.
I pretend:
you pretend, we all pretend.
I know:
not nearly enough for this mad mad world.
I fear:
thy kisses, gentle maiden;
  Thou needest not fear mine.

I appreciate:
the fact that you’re interviewing me! Thanks so much!
I hope:
you dance. (I also hope you vote for Moon Shadow at the editors and preditors poll: http://www.critters.org/predpoll/novelr.shtml)
I look:
like hell on Sunday mornings!
I read:
that look in your eyes, and the answer is yes!
I want:
you to want me.
I need:
you to need me.
I love:
you to love me! (These three should go together as the Cheap Trick lyrics)
I will:
survive, hey hey.
I can:
only imagine what your readers are thinking!
I cannot live without:
books. (I’d love to claim this line as my own, but Thomas Jefferson said it first. Wonder what he’d think of mine?)
I am happy when:
my guitar cries. (Not that I have a guitar, but that’s a great line, isn’t it?)
I would like to meet:
Gage Feldspar. Preferably in the flesh.
I am annoyed by
: people who whine. I really wish they’d just stop it. Why do they always snivel and sniff? 

Thank you Lucinda…I smiled the whole time I read your responses! Lucinda also answered a few questions… 

Please tell us about your book(s).
There are five Lucinda Betts books on the shelves right now, and two more are coming out in 2008. Since Editors and Preditors are having their favorite books of 2007 poll right now, think I’ll tell you about Moon Shadow, which is doing very well in the polls. This is what Road to Romance said about it:

”MOON SHADOW is new upcoming release by authoress Lucinda Betts. Ms. Betts’ spellbinding pen dripped with carnality and magic, unlike anything this reviewer has ever read before. Using the freshest and most innovative of premises, Ms. Betts conjures up a magical tale that will leave readers spellbound in awe. MOON SHADOW is a masterful novel about special characters that tug at the heartstrings and bring magic and intrigue into their world of spells. You have never read a book like this before that is weaved with the most unusual of magic and the most erotic of scenes.

MOON SHADOW is one of the best fantasy erotic books this reviewer has read this year. Ms. Betts is an author who has stepped into an elite class of writers that display a talent to craft novels that are profoundly different and of a unique caliber of writing. That is why MOON SHADOW is a recommended read and one every fantasy erotic lover needs to purchase.”

What inspired the story?
The need to write a book with a lot of relevant sex formed the crux of the book. I created a magic user who needed to collect certain hormones to make her love potions. Sometimes she needed hormones created from virgin sex. Sometimes she needs hormones created from spanky sex. This all gave rise to Moon Shadow.

What is your favorite part of being a writer?  Least favorite?
Favorite? I am so darned lucky to get paid to tell the stories floating around in my head. There is no least favorite part!

What would you like to tell aspiring writers?
Stay organized. You can’t quit your day job, even after you have NY contracts so you’ll need to balance writing with the real paying job, at least until you have plenty of books on the shelves for a few years.

If one of your books were made into a movie, what book would you choose and who would you cast as the leads?
Well, I have to go with Moon Shadow with this one. Halle Barry would play the Esmenet Sokaris and Nicholas Cage could play Gage Feldspar.

Describe yourself in 3 words.
Lucky, lucky, lucky

What is next for you?
I’ve got a sequel to THE SUPPLICANT, a shape-shifting centaur murder mystery, and a historical centaur story in the works. Keep you eye out for them in 2009.

Is there anything you’d like to ask readers?
I think I ask them for enough when I tempt them into buying any of my books! I’d much rather thank them—and you—for supporting the authors you love. 

Thank you Lucinda for the interview!

You can find out more about Lucinda by visiting her website:  http://www.lucindabetts.com/ 

moonshadow.jpgLucinda kindly offered a copy of Moon Shadow to one lucky reader!
All you have to do is leave a comment below!
 
Winner will be randomly chosen and announced on January 21! 
It is up to you to return to see if you won and to contact me if you see your name!
MUST BE OVER 18 TO ENTER! 
By entering you are stating you are over 18!