Interview with Cassie Ryan

Please give a warm welcome to Cassie Ryan! 

Please tell us about your books.  
My current trilogy is called the Seduction series.  CEREMONY OF SEDUCTION was released in Aug 2007 and VISIONS OF SEDUCTION is due out in June 2008.  The release date for TRIANGLE OF SEDUCTION is still TBD.   

Twenty-three-year-old Alyssa Moss has lived her whole life in the shadow of her beautiful family. Voluptuous where they are lean, brunette where they are blonde, Alyssa is convinced she is an ugly duckling who will never become a swan. The only thing that sustains her is a recurring dream in which a seductive stranger named Stone worships and pleasures every inch of her. But maddeningly, Stone always disappears just as Alyssa is on the edge of dizzying ecstasy-with a puzzling promise that one day he will find her. That day has come..

For years, Stone has searched for the kidnapped first princess of his people-an other-worldly clan whose life-force is sexual energy. Alyssa is that princess, stolen by a rival faction and banished to live on Earth. But now Stone has found her and will return her to her rightful home, one in which she will own the curvaceous body she was born with-and the passionate desire that throbs within it as she learns an endless variety of delicious pleasures and discovers the infinite power she feels when all her cravings are satisfied.

What is your favorite part of being a writer?  Least favorite?  
I love writing and spending time inside worlds I’ve created inside my head and with the characters who live there.  I love meeting or hearing from readers and even doing booksignings and etc 🙂  My least favorite parts are doing taxes at the end of the year – yuck!  Self-employed taxes suck!  And deadlines…lol.

Is there anything you would like to write, but haven’t? For example, any other genre you’d like to try?  
I don’t think you will ever see me write historical – I love to read it, but I wouldn’t enjoy the intense research about what kind of clasp was in use on a corset in such and such year etc – and I probably won’t do inspirational or women’s fiction.  Other than that – I’m wide open and will probably write whatever moves me at the time.  For the most part to this point, between my two pen names, I’ve written erotic paranormal romance, paranormal romance, contemporary erotic romance and have even worked on some urban fantasy.  I’m sure there is still more to come.

Who has inspired you as a writer?  
Wow – too many to count!  When I was younger, SE Hinton, Piers Anthony, Anne McCaffrey, Jane Austen and tons of others.  When I was an adult, Sherrilyn Kenyon, Nora Roberts, Christine Feehan, Sabrina Jeffries and many more.  And since I’ve become a writer – two women who inspire me with both their amazing books and their great friendship in this business are Cheyenne McCray and Jennifer Ashley.

What would you like to tell aspiring writers?
Keep your ears and eyes open and watch and learn everything you can.  Take everything with a grain of salt and make sure you are true to yourself.  Let go of your ego and be willing to take a tough look at your own work and change where it needs it to make yourself a better writer – but again, stay true to your writing.  And most of all – don’t let anyone take your dream from you.  Instead of asking “why me?  Why should I be the one in all those thousands of people who make it?”  Instead, tell yourself, “Why shouldn’t it be me?”  And last – BE PERSISTENT and don’t give up!

Describe yourself in 3 words.
Outgoing, wacky, persistent.

 

If you had a time capsule to be opened 50 years in the future, what would you put in it?
Pics of my friends and I from an RT convention – preferably doing something totally silly to make me laugh when I open it.  Pics of me and my family, to make me smile when I open it.  A full collection of Mel Brooks DVD’s and a full collection of Jane Austen books to make me both laugh and smile.  And some Buttershots, Vanilla Vodka and Baileys to raise a Butterscotch Martini toast to living another 50 years 🙂  And if I don’t make it – then my friends and family can raise a toast together and remember all the funny and embarrassing stories about me. 🙂

 

What is next for you?
After I finish writing Triangle of Seduction, I have a few projects I need to complete for RT’s Faery Court and also for my agent.

  

Is there anything you’d like to ask readers?
I’d like to ask them to drop me a line if they enjoy my books.  It really helps when I’m writing a hard scene to know there are people out there who actually enjoy the warped stuff that comes out of my brain 🙂  

Thank you Cassie for the interview!

Readers, you can learn more about Cassie at her website http://www.cassieryan.com/ 

To win a signed copy of Ceremony of Seduction, kindly donated by Cassie, leave a comment below. 

Winner will be randomly chosen and announced on January 21! 
It is up to you to return to see if you won and to contact me if you see your name!
MUST BE OVER 18 TO ENTER! 
By entering you are stating you are over 18!
 

Check back tomorrow as the party continues…

22 Responses to Interview with Cassie Ryan

  1. Eva S says:

    Thanks for the great interview! This is a new author to me but the book sounds so great,
    I love hot romances and the book will be on my TBB list!!

  2. brownone says:

    Don’t enter me in this one as I already have a copy but I just wanted to say the book was great! I’m looking forward to the next one. The passion between Stone and Alyssa is electric (sometimes literally!). 🙂

  3. bluecat says:

    Please enter me in your contest. I love adding new authors (to me) to my must-read list.

  4. Stefanie D says:

    That book sounds realy HOT! And I like it! *evil grin*
    The story realy interests me. How can it not with a clan whose life-force is sexual energy! Yes, from this moment the book is on my ‘to buy’ list! 😛

  5. ruth says:

    Great book! A new and exciting author.

  6. danette says:

    Hi Cassie and Jennifer,
    Great Interview..I need to use that as a mantra “Why shouldn’t it be me?” , I’m a bit of a procrastinator at times.
    Hugs, Danette

  7. Jennifer Y says:

    My apologies to Cassie…not sure why I typed Edwards instead of Ryan…LOL.

    Thanks everyone for commenting!

  8. Teresa W. says:

    I love to get introduced to new authors and I enjoyed your interview and your series sounds great!

  9. Angie-la says:

    Cassie is a new-to-me author as well. I really enjoyed the interview. Thanks for sharing with us.
    Cassie, your ‘inspirations’ are some of my very favorite authors.
    The synopsis of your story above sounds verra interesting! 😛
    Angie

  10. fedora says:

    Thanks for the terrific interview, Cassie (and Jennifer!)–I love learning more about the authors behind the great books 🙂 Cassie, your series sounds fabulous–I’ve heard good things about Ceremony of Seduction before, and will have to get a copy and see for myself! (Oh, and yep, taxes are horrible! I’m part of a small partnership, and the time from the end of the year until taxes are finished and filed is such a dreary, weary time! Plus all the keeping track of receipts and other minutiae… blah!) Thank goodness for books… 🙂

  11. Cherie J says:

    Enjoyed the interview! I love learning about new authors and this book sounds awesome.

  12. JSL says:

    Thank you Jennifer & Cassie for the interview – I enjoyed reading it and learning more about you. As to the new series – it sounds so exciting!

  13. Sue A. says:

    Jennifer, thank you for bring us Cassie!

    And Cassie this has been a great introduction to your work and I’ve enjoyed your answers in the interview.

  14. amysmith98 says:

    Great interview Jennifer and Cassie! Ceremony of Seductions sounds great. Who are some of your fave authors? Do you get any say in the covers to your books? How do you choose your character’s names?

  15. acdaisy77 says:

    I would love to win a copy. Please enter me.

  16. Jane says:

    Hi Cassie,
    What career or jobs did you have before becoming a writer?

  17. Crystal B. says:

    Great interview. The book sounds great. 🙂

  18. Hello Jennifer & Cassie,

    Great interview as always. I love learning more about the authors. Jennifer I love your questions & Cassie love your answers 🙂

    Please count me in I would love to win a copy of Ceremony of Seduction sounds so good and the cover is hot 🙂

    Hugssss
    LindaH

  19. linda bass says:

    DAMN IT, THE PRINT IS SO TINY THAT I NEED TO MAGNIFY IT! WELL GOOD LUCK LADIES!

  20. Jennifer Y says:

    Sorry about the tiny print. I am still trying to figure that aspect of the blog out.

  21. Jeanette Jackson says:

    I’d like to be included also please

  22. Nathalie says:

    I don’t usually like very sensual books… but yours seems very nice, and I might get converted soon!

Leave a Reply

