It’s my first interview of 2008!

Please give a warm welcome to author Jules Bennett who also writes as Sophia Rae! 

Please tell us about your books.
home-again-cover.jpgHome Again was my first release under the name Jules Bennett. This sweet contemporary holds a special place in my heart because I loosely based the heroine and her child on one of my good friend’s whose son has a heart defect. 

astrangersbed_wrp302_300.jpgA Stranger’s Bed was my next release under the pen name Sophia Rae. This story is quite different from Home Again. A Stranger’s Bed is HOT, HOT, HOT! It’s a steamy novella and the first in a series of three. 

You write as both Sophia Rae and Jules Bennett, why two names?
I wanted to keep my readers aware of the fact I write two totally different genres, though both romance. Jules writes the sweet, family oriented stories. And Sophia, well, she likes to get in touch with her naughty side 😉 

I can understand that.  Does writing with two names ever get confusing?
So far, I’ve not confused myself, but that’s not to say I won’t in the future. It’s kind of nice being two people. 

What is your favorite part of being a writer?  Least favorite?
My favorite part of being a writer is the creative side of me gets to come out and play. I sit at my computer, talk to myself, talk to my characters and let the story flow. I love creating worlds and researching new places to call home for my story. 

My least favorite part is when I have to stop working for the day. I hate when I get so tired my eyes are closing while I sit at the computer. I wish I could just work, work, work. 

Who has inspired you as a writer?
I really don’t know. I started reading before Kindergarten and going to the library was a ritual for me and my father. I’ve loved books for as long as I can recall. 

What would you like to tell aspiring writers?
If you give up, you’ll never know if you would’ve succeeded. Success doesn’t come at the end of the road. Success is the path getting there. Why be a quitter? 

Describe yourself in 3 words.
Determined, goal-oriented, thankful 

What do you like to read?
I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE romantic suspense. All other sub-genres are on my shelves as well, but I always look for that little bit of action along with my romance. 

If you had a time capsule to be opened 50 years in the future, what would you put in it?
Pictures of my family as they are right now, my uncontracted manuscripts, and the books I’ve had published. 

Where can readers find you online?
www.julesbennett.comwww.myspace.com/authorjulesbennett
Sophia Rae is getting her own site in February so you can find her at www.sophiarae.com. Until then, though, she’s at www.myspace.com/authorsophiarae 

What is next for you?
Sophia Rae will have 2 follow-up books to A Stranger’s Bed. Bedside Manner and Bedroom Behavior 101 will be out in the Spring/Summer from The Wild Rose Press.

Sophia also has her first romantic suspense, Naked Vengeance, due out in April of ’08 from Samhain Publishing. 

Jules Bennett has another sweet contemporary due out with The Wild Rose Press sometime in the Spring of ’08 entitled Love in Bloom where the heroine is psychologically blind. You can go to www.thewildrosepress.com and get your copy of Home Again or A Stranger’s Bed in either e-book or print.

Also, I love hearing from readers! You can reach me at julesbennett@falcon1.net or sophiarae@falcon1.net 

Is there anything you’d like to ask readers?
I’m always curious to know what keeps them turning pages. Better yet, what makes them pick up and buy a book if they’ve never heard of the author? 

Thank you Jules for the interview! 

Readers, how about answering Jules’s questions for you.

6 Responses to It’s my first interview of 2008!

  1. Laura J says:

    Hi Jules!!! It’s good to see you here!

    As long as I like the characters then I will keep turning the pages.

    I’ve picked up books by authors I not heard of after reading the excerpt in the front cover. I think they give a good impression of an author’s writing style. It also gives me a feel for the story.

    I wonder what A Stranger’s Bed is doing for the B&B industry. I have heard so many comments from women wanting to visits some B&B’s to see if they can find themselves a Marcus!!!

  2. Teresa W. says:

    Glad to have you here today Jules! I also love to read romantic suspense. Love to try to figure out what is going to happen next in my current read or love the fact that I can’t put it down due to the fact that I’m looking forward to what will happen next.

  3. fedora says:

    Hi, Jules,

    Your work’s new to me, but learning about it on Jen’s blog (or a few others) is one way I love finding out about new-to-me authors! And then if it’s a good story, I’ll keep reading. And then track down her backlist, and wait anxiously for new releases 🙂

    Congrats on your current and upcoming releases! Looking forward to trying some of your books!

  4. Thanks for chiming in everyone! I just found out A Stranger’s Bed was nominated for Best Short Print Romance of 2007 by The Long and Short Reviews!

    If you want to vote for it, you can go to http://www.longandshortreviews.com/poll.htm

    You can vote once per day, per computer and the voting runs through Jan. 31st.

    I’d love to find a B&B with Marcus myself, but I don’t think that’s possible…that’s why I created him:)

    Jules

  5. Maureen says:

    Congratulations Jules! When I like the characters then I can’t wait to see what happens to them next.

Leave a Reply

