Reading Goals

Yes, two posts in one day!  But they are brief ones….

 I was reading the comments to my question earlier and it got me to thinking…scary I know…especially when I am on cold meds…LOL. 
But since we were discussing reading goals I decided to find out more about everyone’s goals for 2008 and share my own (on one post).

My goal for 2008 is 200 books.  I will keep a tally in the side bar and as I read books the count will be updated.   I also want to read more new-to-me authors and more ebooks.

If you are interested in sharing your own reading goal go ahead…your goal doesn’t have to be a specific number of books…it can be whatever you want…read more genres, read more often, try a new genre/author, etc. 
Whatever you want it to be.

Periodically, I may ask those interested to check in with their progress here on the blog and share more about my own throughout the year. 
This will be just for fun and there is no pressure on you to meet the goal.  I just thought it would be neat to see how we do.

12 Responses to Reading Goals

  1. Laura J says:

    I’m game Jennifer!

    My goal for this year will stay at 100 books. Since I didn’t quite make it in ’07 I really want to get to at least that point (I just fizzled out at the end). If it looks like it is going be higher then I will raise my goal. I think when I post on Listology, besides just the book and author I’m also going to add the date (or just the month) that way I can also keep track how I do each month.

  2. fedora says:

    Hi, Jennifer,
    I’m not sure if I have a numerical goal–I just want to somewhat catch up to my TBR. Maybe I need to go count and get back to you with something more concrete. And the other part of the goal is to do a better job of writing down what I actually read and what I already have so I don’t *gasp!* acquire the same book more than once 😉 And I’m already expanding my list of authors to try and books to read from your blog, so I’m not sure I need any more help in that area! Stop introducing us to more tempting books! (Not really of course, but boy… I sure have a lot of books… 😉

  3. Jennifer Y says:

    Laura: Very cool!

    Fedora: Don’t worry, you don’t need to make a numerical goal. This is for fun and your goals sound great! Catching up with your TBR is a good goal…I am afraid that would take me a few years to do…LOL. Trying to keep up with what you have is also a great goal…I kind of need to do that myself. As for adding to the list with my guests…sorry…LOL…but I have even more coming up 😉 And I am discovering new authors myself through the blog…LOL I have a lot of books too…rooms full of them…LOL

    Good luck to you both with your goals!

  4. Eva S says:

    Hi Jennifer,
    200 books, that would be something! I’d love to read as many too, but already my husband would like to see more of me…. But 100 will be easy… (And perhaps 200, let’s see…)
    I agree with Fedora about new authors from your blog..LOL..! Just kidding, please let them come, there’s always some place where I can stuff more books, my library has some halfempty shelves yet.

    I think my goal will be to do better lists of what I have, I have bought some books more than once. I have a good friend who is happy, I’m sending her all those books…
    My husband always talks about gettind a smaller house, this one is too big when our daughters have moved out, but what will I do with all my books? How can I choose and let some of them go!!?
    I think another goal will be to convince him that we are happy in this big house!!

  5. Cara Carnes says:

    Oh I wish my goal was 200 this upcoming year! But I’m sure I’ll read that at some point this year. I tend to read a lot more than I plan to…lol.

    Great goal!

  6. Great goals, Jennifer! And I really do need to set my own reading goals. I love to read, but with so little time for writing, I find those relaxing reading moments few and far between. That being the case, I will start small and say I will read 30 paperbacks this year and another 10 ebooks on top of that–at least a collective 10 of which are new-to-me authors. As for my progress, I have read about a third of a paperback so far–I think this qualifies as a new author, as she’s a long-time friend but I have never read her work before this. I hope to finish that book soon, and then I have about 7 paperbacks to read for some writing contetsts, so that should add to my late winter/early spring total.

    Happy reading everyone! 🙂

    ~ jodi

  7. Deb says:

    Jennifer,
    My goal is to read more and do more reviews in 2008. I always set a goal and see if I can top it.
    2007 I did 151 reviews.

  8. Loretta W says:

    I think this is a wonderful idea Jennifer. I can’t say how many I will read this year but I will try and keep a tally of how many I read for each month if I remember to. lol I would say that I have read about 80 books this past year. I don’t get to read very many a week because of work. I do take the books or PDA with me so I can read on my breaks and lunch. I would say they were all paper back and hard back books. On ebooks I have read about 20, this is just a guess on them. I need to write them down and keep track of the ones I have read. I love to read about shiftshapers, vampires, historical, westerns, suspense and thillers, and contemporary books. There are a lot of authors out there who books I love to buy. I do try to get all of the series of a book. I do have about 10 boxes of books in my closet that I need to read. Most of them are books I have traded with co-worker who read and some of them are books I have brought on Ebay and at the stores. So really I don’t need to buy any new books just read the ones I have. lol But who can pass up a books that they see at the store that draws them to it.

  9. Jodie says:

    Oh boy, now that I know you have this wonderful goal, you can bet that whip will be cracking for you too!!! No more naps or watching TV when you’re supposed to be reading!! lol

  10. Greta says:

    Okay I’m three months late joining in. But my major goal that I have to get caught up on the books by the ladies of writeminded. Since they keep added books that maybe impossible.

    My other goal is to get caught up on some of the authors I fell in love with years ago like Linda Howard, Nora Roberts, Elizabeth Lowell, and Diana Palmer.

    As far as actual number of books I would say I would like to read at least two hundred from this point on. As far as how many I’ve actually read, I’ve got to go back and count.

    Greta

  11. Pda says:

    Pda…

    […]Reading Goals « Jennifer’s Random Musings[…]…

  12. goals galore says:

    goals galore…

    […]Reading Goals « Jennifer’s Random Musings[…]…

Leave a Reply

