Reader Spotlight…

Mo B. AKA CrazyMo from New Jersey 

I first met Mo online at NovelTalk chats a couple of years ago and she has quickly become a good friend even though we have never met in person.  She is a big fan of historical romances and kindly agreed to be in my Reader Spotlight!

Why do you love romances?
I love romances because they show the very natural growth of a relationship from first meet, to budding awareness, to falling in love. And they show how two different individuals face and overcome obstacles in life to find a way to be together whether those obstacles are internal or external via family, culture or political times.

Do you remember the first romance book that you ever read?
I started out reading Harlequin romances when there was just one line 😉 and fell in love with those written by Barbara Cartland. Then I went to the longer stories. My first single title romance was probably HEARTS AFLAME by Johanna Lindsey or SKYE O’MALLEY by Bertrice Small. I’ve been reading romances for almost 40 years so its hard to remember LOL

What are some of your favorite genres of romance?
My heart belongs to the historicals LOL but I also read paranormals and contemporaries. Give me a strong heroine and a hunky hero and I am happy LOL

Do you read other genres other than romance? If so, what?
Not really. I really love that HEA (Happy Ever After) ending that romances give me. After a long day of work I want to be entertained with a love story….not depressed or forced to think about serious matters…subjects mostly found in the mainstream fiction or non-fiction genres.

Who are some of your favorite authors?
Oh Lordy…that could take all day and then more 😉 My favorites change thru the years. I used to read Judith McNaught, Catherine Coulter, Julie Garwood, Linda Lael Miller, LaVeryle Spencer, Susan King. But many either left writing totally or went to other genres that I didnt like as well as I liked their historicals. Authors that remain favorites are Bertrice Small, Terri Brisbin, Madeline Hunter, Eloisa James, Sherrilyn Kenyon, Linnea Sinclair, Annette Blair, Carly Phillips, Susan Grant and many more.

What books are on your keeper shelf?
Keeper shelf? More like a keeper room LOL I have every book written by Terri Brisbin as well as many of Carly Phillips’ books. I have all of Annette Blair’s witch books which are awesome even if they ARE contemps LOL I have kept the entire Skye O’Malley series written by Bertrice Small as well as the Orphan Trail series by Linda Lael Miller.

If you could switch lives with any character in a book who would it be and why?
Hmmm…I guess the one female character that has stayed etched in my mind and heart would be Skye O’Malley. A very strong woman, she survived many challenges in life. Even spending time in an Ottoman harem didnt break her spirit and she was a noble adversary to Queen Elizabeth I. And in the end she came out on top and lived a long happy life as matriarch to a big family, outliving several husbands and living to see grandchildren grow up to have their own kids.

What influences your reading choices? Author, blurb, excerpts, cover, reviews, etc.
Author, if already known to me. If it’s a new-to-me author, rarely do reviews count at all. Mostly word of mouth by friends who read similar books or if I’ve met the author in a chat and the promo blurb sounded appealing, then I’ll buy. If standing in a bookstore…the cover will catch my eye and make me pick the book up…but its the back cover blurb that will get me to buy it.

Have you discovered any good new-to-you authors lately?
Yes…tho I hear she isn’t a new author LOL I just found Monica McCarty’s Highlander books. Read one and immediately went out and got the other two in the series 😉 

I’ve also found two new authors…Cara Carnes and Marly Mathews. IMHO they bear watching. As does Patti Fischer. 😉  

Where is your favorite place to read?
Usually at my desk while also on the computer LOL

When you aren’t reading, what else do you do for fun?
LOL what don’t I do is more like it 😉 I am publicist and online assistant to romance authors Carly Phillips, Linnea Sinclair, Susan Grant, Annette Blair, Alexis Fleming and Linda Bleser through CSA Author Publicity. I love promoting their work!

When not doing that, I am found over at Noveltalk.com as their Chat Coordinator. We do author chats every Wed and Thurs nights. I also moderate the monthly chats done by New Jersey Romance Writers at Noveltalk. NJRW is my local writing chapter and I am also busy writing my first book, a Scottish medieval. My love affair with romance is life-long 😉 

Thank you Mo for the interview!! 

Readers, if you are interested in being spotlighted (interviewed) contact me!!!

5 Responses to Reader Spotlight…

  1. fedora says:

    How fun! Thanks Jen, and thank you, Mo, for giving us the chance to get to know you a bit better–I feel the same way about romances (vs. other genres). I’ll occasionally read something else, but love romances for the reasons you do–the HEA, and chance to watch a relationship develop.

    And I totally get the keeper room concept! That would be a dream house–one with a library for me! 🙂

  2. Eva S says:

    I think I have found my long lost twin!! Mo, it was so fun reading about you because it was like reading about myself! All from Harlequin and Barbara Cartland to todays historicals, even the 40 years of reading romance…Your authors were much like mine and thanks for some new ones, too.

    I have a library of my own, since my girls have moved my hubby has given me two rooms with bookshelves he has built especially for my books! I can spend hours there, he knows where to find me…

    Thanks Jennifer!

  3. fedora says:

    Eva–what a fabulous husband you’ve got! Two rooms! With shelves!! 🙂

  4. Cara Carnes says:

    I love Skye too, Mo!

    Eva – I am totally envious of those two rooms of yours. Oh my. I’m seeing green….lol.

    What an awesome interview. You are certainly extremely busy. I have no idea how you manage to do everything that you do.

    Thanks for the great feature, Jennifer!

    ~Cara

  5. ThatBrunette says:

    Great questions…and answers. Jennifer, I think you might have a new career in the interview field. Somehow, you got our darling Mo to give straight answers to your questions.

Leave a Reply

